Tranglatar's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Tranglatar's Profile › Tranglatar's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 10 pages)
Zeemoor:For you to accept your friend's (and the Church's) statement and not go against it implies the grace of GOD is in you. You see, the Holy Eucharist is the source and summit of the Catholic faith, so we guard it so jealously and also to ensure it is received worthily!!! For you to receive the Holy Eucharist/ communion/ blessed sacrament, you have to; Believe in what we Catholics believe. 1) That HE (JESUS CHRIST) is REALLY/ TRULY/ ACTUALLY PRESENT Body, Soul and Divinity in it NOT representation 2) be in state of grace 3) observe the Eucharistic fast - no food or drink for at least 1hr before the Holy Communion 4) be free from ecclesiastical censure These obligations ensures one does not receive condemnation instead of life. |
Getting married and Personal revelations - contd 10) Be careful of Personal revelations a) When you start dreaming or seeing visions of who your life partner is/ should be, be very careful. All personal revelations are suspicious till confirmed. fear and anxiety can make you see whatever you conceive in your mind, etc b) Such revelations can be manipulations – The devil will try all his tricks c) It can distract you d) Don’t pray/ wish for them rather pray the Holy Spirit to direct you. And HE would direct you in HIS own way Not your own way e) Continuously ask the GOD for meaning of any revelations f) IF the revelations persists, seek wise counsel – in your Church first !! g) Remember you are not a Saint !! so don’t keep focusing on supposed partner’s sins h) Look at the partner through the glass of GOD i) GOD doesn’t just give for today or tomorrow, HIS gift lasts a life time and add no sorrow j) Allow the Holy Spirit to illuminate your mind that you see through HIM k) A poor guy today may be a billionaire in 5yrs time l) The illiterate today maybe a Medical doctor in 10yrs time m) The proud virgin today may end up not being able to conceive n) The repentant lady may end up being a model wife and mother o) The obedient lady today may end up being jezebel in 10yrs time p) The beautiful woman today may end up disfigured in 3yrs time q) The handsome man today may end up disfigured in 2yrs time r) The saintly guy today may end up being a chronic womanizer in 5yrs time s) If your parents disagree with your choice, use prayer to win them (God will soften their heart). You need at least one to be with you. t) Don't be disobedient to them. - Don't be too wise u) the times of conviction, may be like delays to you but HE knows what HE is doing - much later would you realise and continue to thank HIM v) Allow HIM that knows all to lead you - don't hop into bed (or engage in sinful sexuality) with the partner (in anticipation of HIS approval) before marriage proper w) Whoever HE leads you to implies HE has bestowed upon both of you the requisite grace to have a blissful family life in accordance with HIS will not una will OO!! |
Zeemoor:Yes. (if it's Catholic Holy Communion) - The source and summit of our faith !! Thou has given the people bread from heaven, having all sweetness in it !! You just need to partake or watch the procession during the solemnity of Christ the King to have an idea how we adore and worship the Blessed Sacrament Believe in HIS true presence in the Blessed Sacrament is only by faith ".. Faith our outward sense befriending makes the inward vision clear" And you cannot force/ coerce/ cajole/ goad HIM to reveal/ prove HIS presence - HE will do what HE wants when HE wants to the glory of GOD !! |
Getting Married and Personal Revelations contd Steps and reactions from the world – be prepared. Remember don't ever think you can deceive GOD by pretending with plans to return to your former self after HE gives you a good partner. - FEAR GOD HE already knows all before you even thought of anything !! that's why it's a journey. 7) Present your marriage intentions before GOD and pray to the Holy Spirit for guidance. Now be on high alert as the devil may present his own to you passively wait to be your father-in-law Financial challenges Career challenges It’s retribution or pay-back time from the devil It would be as if all your sins were never forgiven Listen to direction from GOD on how to remove/ overcome obstacles that you were blind to when in the sinful world. He will lead you or bring forth the helpers Foundation issues Witches and wizards Idolatory Hardness of heart Lack of humility Pride The Holy Spirit would illumine your minds to what you need to take care of for that moment – remember that it’s a journey 8 - Using HIS Word as your guide, look out for your marriage partner in Holiness Expect lots of rejections Expect the Trojan gift from the devil DON’T sleep with any Never you think you know or understand anyone in particular Be very sensitive to the leading of the Holy Spirit Avoid any form of sexual exploit including pornography, etc Don’t preclude where or how the partner would come from Subject and acceptance to HIS word in prayer Don’t lead GOD !!! Listen to your parents 9) Confirmation of partner Be not hesitant/ fearful in proposing as nothing would work if the person is not for you, so far you put GOD first DON’T FLEECE OR VISIT PROPHETS If you are about to stray HE would bring you back in HIS own way. He may send helpers, etc but allow HIM to do it HIS own way be not afraid as you would know it’s HIM that is leading you. Focus on God to make you and your marriage happy not the partner !!! |
Getting Married and Personal Revelations Steps and reactions from the world – be prepared. Remember don't ever think you can deceive GOD by pretending with plans to return to your former self after HE gives you a good partner. - FEAR GOD HE already knows all before you even thought of anything !! that's why it's a journey. Though these steps are written with those that were involved in premarital sex, it suffices for everyone as we often commit lots of sexual sins without the actual sex proper. 1) Awakening that it’s time: This is principally by the Holy Spirit but your cooperation is required Tactful parental pressures The devil will keep your mind noisy and distracted to make sure you don’t heed the prompting of the Holy Spirit 2) Decision that I want to get married: This is our responsibility !! Nothing like waiting for GOD’s time. You take the decision then GOD leads you but the decision is ours The devil will initiate his own project to distract, discourage and stop you Objects of your sexual fantasies will all of a sudden want to be with you All environment readings would indicate you are about to make a mistake You would always stumble on married friends family wahala Financial challenges may arise 3) Confess and Repent of all forms of sins especially sinful sexuality, etc and being truly sorry for them. Sex is a covenant, so you need to extricate yourself from all previous sexual covenant. Purge yourself of sinful desires Objects of your sexual fantasies will now literally be pursuing you Former exs’, etc would be constantly calling, etc Temptations in all facets of life would double 4) Having perfect contrition for sins committed Serious war to conquer yourself Flesh Vs Spirit Always in battle to convince the flesh of the worthiness of your course Trying to reason out GOD 5) Ask for forgiveness Prayerfully ask GOD to forgive you Do penance Expect to always encounter people you know that lived ‘horrid” sinful sexual lifestyle but are now married happily Expect to always encounter people you know that lived ‘horrid” sinful sexual lifestyle and continued after marriage 6) Decision to live a life of Holiness Working out and living a holy life in fear and trembling (don't expect the devil to let go just like that): Become active in Church Meditate daily on HIS word Pray always Avoid people that may “contaminate” you Pray for the grace of GOD to persevere in Holiness Expect to always encounter people you know that lived ‘horrid” sinful sexual lifestyle but are now married happily Expect to always encounter people you know that lived ‘horrid” sinful sexual lifestyle and continued after marriage Expect encounters with lustful “men/ women of GOD”, in the church, etc |
Every year i so much anticipate the celebration of the Solemnity of Christ the King. 'have never dreamt of missing it. To praise and adore our LORD JESUS in the Blessed Sacrament is so sweet. What else are we in this life for? At Enugu it was awesome, the trek, the songs, dancing, the kneeling, praises, wow !! It is always a good opportunity to praise GOD using our traditional musical instrument. 'Already anticipating that of the year 2015 |
Getting Married and Personal Revelations When you start feeling that urging/ prompting to marry, have your own family and settle down, what do you think about? Must I marry to settle down? Can I cope with married life? Can I be faithful to marital vows? How can I see my ideal wife? Are my expectations realistic? Can i get all my expectations/ desires in one woman? How would I recognize my ideal wife? Would she accept me? Has GOD forgiven my sins and help me? How do I know when GOD is directing me? Should I consult pastors, prophets, etc? Can I trust them? What of my Parents? Why can’t GOD just reveal to me my wife in a vision, etc? Provision for the family nko? How did my parents manage? Can I copy them? What about friends? |
removed |
removed |
ebankole:@ ebankole I pray and hope i am not taking HIM for granted and being negligent of the reason. God bless and keep you |
Sins of Omission and passive Christianity (contd) Revelations 3:15-16 15 I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were cold or hot! 16 You are lukewarm, neither hot nor cold so I will spit you out of my mouth. To be Cold is to be an unbeliever in words, thoughts and actions To be lukewarm is to be a passive Christian To be hot is to be an active Christian Given the opportunity to make a choice based on the passage from the scripture above, which option would you chose? to be an unbeliever in words, thoughts and actions? to be vomited? How do you like your vomit? to be submissive to HIM? Our GOD is not contented with just not being offended HE wants positive active actions. “You must be perfect as your heavenly Father is perfect” Matt 5:48 How can a man on this evil infested world be perfect? But “What is impossible to man is possible for God” Lk 18: 27 Yield/ submit to the Holy Spirit/ let HIM have HIS way in your life – this is the solution. Sometimes I feel it’s the liberty and freewill that GOD gave man is what become our albatross. But for GOD to give it us means it is for good !! “everything worketh for the good of those that believe in HIM” Freewil/ liberty is not freedom to do what you like without boundaries/ rather freedom to do what you like within HIM/ HIS laws not outside !! We should never take the love of GOD for granted like the foolish son in the parable of the prodigal son – that is why some theologians prefer to call it the parable of the prodigal father. Saying that GOD is so wasteful with love !! (Prodigal means wasteful) Next topic we will discuss is getting married and Personal Revelations - OR DO YOU HAVE A BETTER IDEA/ TOPIC |
ebankole:@ ebankole Thanks so much !! |
May GOD continue to bless the people that are puting social media to good use and providing succour for souls. GOD bless you all |
Sins of Omission and passive Christianity (contd) The parable of the talents: Matt 25: 14 - 30 what did being afraid of the environmental risk and pressures earn the servant with one talent that went and hid it? What did their believing and having active faith do for the servants that invested their talents? We as Christians should "ascertain our standing with GOD" (repent, purge and have life sanctified), then pray to the Holy Spirit to illumine their mind on what GOD has given them and where best to use it to HIS glory and not just on their own make an ignorant fearful and selfish decision. For every Christian GOD has given the talent to be active in this life and glorify GOD. But, many Christians and non-Christians are suffering for our acts of omission It is time for all of us to put our GOD given talent to work (invest our allocated talents). Remember we would be held accountable for how we invested/ put our talent to use for the salvation of souls. If any feels he/ she doesn't know his/ her talent, let him/ her prayerful ask GOD to enlighten his/ her ignorance and the Holy Spirit will to the glory of GOD And whenever we use our talent the considerations should be in the following order: 1) Glory of GOD 2) Succour for (benefiting)souls 3) Our own joy And as we do this, we should pray that we continue to decrease and the Holy Spirit continue to increase and all glory and honour ascribed to GOD. This is very important to avoid pride |
removed |
@tismoney If you need further clarifications, you can visit this thread on Practical Christian Life Counseling https://www.nairaland.com/1993524/practical-christian-life-counselling It contains more or you can ask here. It is well |
@ tismoney Don't despair. You are so favoured but check out your route 1) Before you gave your life to Christ, you prayed and GOD blessed you with successful business - unmerited favour (HIS grace was always with you and will manifest if you go closer to HIM) 2) You started doing shady deals - (implying HIS blessings are not enough) - abusing and mocking HIS blessings (we do it a lot) but HE kept you 3) You repented and chose GOD - very good 4) JESUS appeared to you in Dream and blessed you - unmerited favour. did you pray and confirm the favours? But you just concluded on your own authority what it meant. 5) you took steps to find the girl - Good. you were not passive. but did you seek wise counsel? ask for further directions? you concluded on your own that the dream meant a girl for you? Did you bother to find out if the gifts are compulsorily complimentary? e.g maybe you need to be active in church to be in constant Spiritual alert and be protected from making wrong choice in woman. Since as HE has blessed you with one that will manifest, the devil will also try to thwart it by offering you his own 6) You found whom you assume is the girl - active faith? But did you prayerful confirm the girl? was it just for sex you went searching? 7) You started cohabiting and engaging in sexual relationship with her - Rewarding JESUS with sin. mocking HIS blessings. Inviting devil into your life. choosing to fulfil desires of your flesh. Not even praying for GOD to confirm the girl and relating with her Christ like Sleeping with her and praying - Haba !! if you are GOD, what would do when you guys finish fornicating and start praying to you?9) Now you have challenges, you blame JESUS. - Did you notice that when you started cohabiting and sleeping with the girl, your prayers turned to talking sessions (which you call passionate prayers) with no indication the you got feedback from HIM. Even at that HE continued to show you the truth by exposing the girl but lust made you deaf and blind to HIS guidance. Remember how you prayed before and heard HIM. Did you try to read the bible and find out how HE guided people in your situation to HIS glory and followed suit? In all you prayed, believed that as JESUS has appeared and blessed you, you decided you can now continue on your own. Hence you took off in-front and put GOD behind but HE never abandoned you!!! even for a moment. You are indeed so favoured and loved by JESUS. But the devil wants to make you despair, become despondent, cause GOD, abandon HIM ('cos HE will never abandon you) and turn to embrace him the devil. But thank GOD for HIS grace in you. You are HIS own. Remember HE loves to hear us laughing when we are in an awkward spot (but devil likes to see us weeping, etc), so Don't give up. End the relationship with the girl, accept you have sinned, repent, ask GOD for forgiveness, do penance, continue praising HIM and worshipping HIM, continue praying to HIM. HIS plans for you will manifest. IT IS WELL For interpretations to your dreams, visit this thread. https://www.nairaland.com/1863925/dreams-interpretation-dreams-interpretation-dreams |
Sins of Omission and Passive Christianity The parable of Lazarus and the rich man - Lk 16: 19-31 If I may ask what sin did the rich man commit? As you go thru the passage, note the following: We were not told the rich man was dishonest, greedy and very corrupt - maybe he made his money honestly The rich man was aware of Lazarus condition and did nothing Maybe he was waiting for Lazarus to ask LOUDLY that everyone would notice He may not even be aware of what his dogs do to Lazarus Lazarus was never vengeful nor demanding Lazarus maintained his humility The rich man was even kind hearted and didn't want his brothers to join him in hell – where as a lot of us would pray and hope for that, since we never made heaven, so how can they enjoy the wealth I left behind and still make Heaven Lazarus never replied the rich man from Abraham’s bosom – maybe filled with pity but he cannot do anything So what was the rich man guilty of - Sin of omission !!! Not doing what he ought to do !!! beings passive instead of doing good works As a Christian it is our duty and responsibility to pray to the Holy Spirit to illumine our minds and soften our heart to those GOD wants to favour using us. You maybe holding onto what is not yours in the name of saving for your future generations. Love of GOD and neighbour demands good works as directed by the Holy Spirit. So don't shut the Holy Spirit out and keep worrying about yourself and your own alone. Be a Simon of Cyrene or Veronica and someone's life to the glory of GOD. But do it as directed/ led by the Holy Spirit. |
ebankole:@ ebankole Thanx so much. By the grace of GOD I'll follow up on my cousin Though i feel so incapable. but i'll ask HIM to guide, help and be with me Thank you once again and GOD bless |
removed |
Sins of Omission and Passive Christianity Our discussion would be based on the following The parable of Lazarus and the rich man - Lk 16: 19-31 The parable of the talents: Matt 25: 14 - 30 Revelations 3:15 |
The Extra ordinary faith of the ten lepers : Lk 17: 11-19 When people read and meditate on this passage, they normally focus on the leper that came back to thank our Lord Jesus. Permit to paste the passage here while we discuss it: 11 On the way to Jerusalem, Jesus was passing along the border between Samaria and Galilee, and 12 as he entered a village, ten lepers came to meet him. 13 Keeping their distance, they called to him, "Jesus, Master, have pity on us!" Even in their distress they had humility. There wanted to be healed, were desperate but believed in abiding by the law, being respectful and orderly, never forceful. It was a request, prayer, supplication not an order or instruction 14 Then Jesus said to them, "Go and show yourselves to the priests." Now, as they went their way, they found they were cured. Imagine faith of these Lepers !! They believed that if HE said we should go and show ourselves, then it is done already !! They did not demand for prayers like Naaman. And see what their simple and total faith did for them – they were healed. Remember how the servants at the wedding in Cana took water to the chief of the occasion? Same here. 15 One of them, as soon as he saw he was cleansed, turned back praising God in a loud voice, and 16 throwing himself on his face before Jesus, he gave him thanks. This man was a Samaritan. 17 Then Jesus said, "Were not all ten healed? Where are the other nine? 18 Was no one found to return and give praise to God but this alien?" 19 And Jesus said to him, "Stand up and go your way; your faith has saved you." HE is waiting to do same fo all of us. Just yield/ allow/ submit and have faith. |
what did being afraid of the environmental risk and pressures earn the servant with one talent that went and hid it? Christians should "ascertain their standing with GOD" (repent, purge and have life sanctified), then pray to the Holy Spirit to illumine their mind on what GOD has given them and where best to use it to HIS glory and not just on their own make an ignorant fearful and selfish decision. For every Christian GOD has given the talent to be active in the political arena but is not, many Christians and non-Christians are suffering for that act of omission |
removed |
removed |
OasisofRefuge:Thanks. But it annoys when Christians tow the line of the servant given one talent in the parable of the talents. Passive Christianity is not good enough. We should try and if we fail our successors would stand on the "mountain" of our failures to excel. |
italo:Or commend her to the Blessed Virgin Mary. She doesn't have abandoned projects. She may end up being to the Catholic Church what Saul/ Paul was to the early disciples. From Saul to Paul. with all her criticism converted to fervent and zealous love for the Holy Eucharist and the Blessed Virgin Mary. Another Marian Soldier is around. |
Do you still doubt HIS steadfastness? How would I be sure that HE would be there for me when the challenge arise? I’ll discuss the Miracle at Cana a little so we may realize that GOD is ever present and at work in our lives whether we realize it or not. And constantly protect us from shame and defeat without our knowledge. Vs 1 - Two days later there was a wedding in the town of Cana in Galilee. Jesus’ mother was there, Vs 2 - And Jesus and His disciples had also been invited to the wedding. Commentary: Divine providence is always provided by God for those that trust in Him Vs 3 - When the wine had given out, Jesus’ mother said to Him, “They have no wine left”. Commentary: The Saints and Angels in Heaven are ever ready to intercede for us before Christ. Nobody that puts his trust and faith in God will ever face shame or defeat. Vs 4 - You must not tell me what to do,” Jesus replied. “My time has not yet come”. Commentary: Our prayers and desires must be subordinate to the will of God and His time. The prayers of the saints and angels can win us GOD’s favours like the persistent widow. Vs 5 - Jesus’ mother then told the servants,” Do whatever he tells you.” Commentary: Total faith and trust in God is required for in prayers as exemplified by Jesus Mother. “… whatever thou asketh Thee in prayer, believe that Thou has answered it ..” The Mother right from time always believed that God can do all things!!! Vs 6 - The Jews have rules about ritual washing, and for this purpose six stone water jars were there, each one large enough to hold about a hundred litres. Commentary: The jars were empty but cannot stop God. We don’t qualify and provide what God needs to use in helping us. Only (an enabling environment) a faithful heart is required Vs 7 - Jesus said to the servants, “Fill these jars with water.” They filled them to the brim, Commentary: Importance of faith and trust. Don’t ask if He can change water into wine, why not miraculously fill the jars? Why do we have to work to fill it? He does it His own way that we also may bear witness in cooperation Vs 8 - and then He told them, “Now draw some water out and take it to the man in charge of the feast.” They took him the water, Commentary: Total and child like trust in God is a prerequisite for efficacious prayers. He tests our faith. Even though he had done the miracle, He still referred to the content as water but the humble faith of the servants and trust in Him made them believe and not question it. Vs 9 - which now had turned into wine, and he tasted it. He did not know where this wine had come from (but, of course, the servants who had drawn the water knew); so he called the bridegroom Commentary: The Lord provides for His own while they sleep. Even the bridegroom did not know where the wine came from. Not even the “earthly” master of the ceremony - chairman Vs 10 - and said to him, “Everyone else serves the best wine first, and after the guests have had plenty to drink, he serves the ordinary wine. But you have kept the best wine until now!” Commentary: No need filling ourselves with vain things when the things of the Lord will surely come at His time. We should wait on Him and prepare for Him Vs 11 - Jesus performed this first miracle in Cana in Galilee; there He revealed His glory, and His disciples believed in Him. Commentary: We should allow God to glorify Himself in our lives and not interfere in His divine work. In all these, the bridegroom was seated at the high table not knowing that the beautiful occasion was about to be cut short for lack of wine. Even if he knew at that time, what could he have done. Notice how the LORD let him stay unperturbed while HE provides. Then check out the quality of the wine HE provided as testified to by the chief of the occasion. This kind GOD!! |
When you do all these be sure that challenges would arise, but HE has provided the solution already. Be wise, prudent and follow HIS direction Why would challenges arise: We are constantly at war in this world till Heaven You “risk” avoiding hell and are headed for Heaven which the devil doesn’t/ won’t like The world (agents of the devil) would hate you and want to pull you down to their level You may be standing on a faulty foundation – like Gideon. And as HE showed Gideon how to rebuild his foundation, so also HE would show and direct you Your life (words, thoughts and actions) make you a soul winner You become a cause/ source of joy for the Heavenly Church (remember “.. that there is great joy in Heaven over one repentant sinner…”). What do you think the Heaven would think of you? |
Fear of the Unknown and Parable of the talents I am sure most of us are familiar with the talents; where a man going on a journey gave his servants different quantities of talents to each of his three servants. “… to each according to his ability” The servants that received five and two talents respectively were active, overcame fear of failure, invested and had returns. The servant with one talent submitted to fear of failure, went passive and did not invest rather waited with excuses to report to the master when he comes back. And what did that earn him from the master? GOD created us to be active Christians in faith not passive Christians. Believing in HIM and having faith in HIMN without good works is passive Christianity due to fear of failure We have to trust in HIS steadfastness and be active in our Christian lives with good works Remember HIS words; "i would prefer that thou wert cold or hot....you are lukewarm, neither hot nor cold so I will spit you out of my mouth" |
Courtship for ten years does not guarantee that you know your fiancé/fiancée when she/ he does not even know herself/ himself. Have you not heard people say of themselves: I was surprised I could do that. I never knew I had it in me. My actions that time amaze me. I wondered if I was the one. I didn’t know how I did that How can one be sure of HIS presence? Believing in the sacrifice of the cross Striving not to mock the cross by sins, etc Purging of oneself of sinful desires Forgiving people who offend us Showing love and mercy to our neighbor Try to live a Holy life. When we fall, get up and continue. Don’t stay down brooding. Having a repentant heart and perfect contrition for our sins Offering HIM worthy praises and adoration (remember that our worship and praises adds nothing to HIS greatness. Rather it is a gift from HIM that profits us for our salvation). So don’t get puffed up with HIM because you’ve rendered praise hence should be blessed in return. Laying our desires at HIS feet Submitting to HIS will Avoid pride and arrogance – (none of the above gives you automatic merit to HIS presence, this is what is expected of you in the first instance. “…afterall the servant when he comes back from the farm would wait on the master before ..”). But doing all these put you in a better disposition for HIS unmerited grace |
Sleeping with her and praying - Haba !! if you are GOD, what would do when you guys finish fornicating and start praying to you?