Business › Re: Is Nigeria A Truly Wealthy Nation? See What Economic Facts Say by tstx(m): 8:14pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
Speak2klein: In 2003, Dangote set out to build his first cement plant with a budget of about $480 million. On completion of the project in 2007, he had borrowed an extra $175 million, built a dam, a gas pipeline (92km long) and more than 400 new houses. But guess what? No Nigerian bank was big enough to fund this project. In fact, the capital in more than 90% of the banks in Nigeria that year was just a little over $20 million. He had to look elsewhere.
Simple economic terms GDP — in straightforward terms, the GDP or Gross Domestic Product is the monetary value of all finished goods and services in a country within a specific period. It is used to estimate the size of an economy and growth rate. GDP per capita — If all the money Nigeria made in a year was split evenly amongst every single Nigerian, what each person gets is called the GDP per capita. National Budget — The government gets money from taxes and fees and spends it on things like healthcare, infrastructure, education and general expenditures.
Nigeria’s economy
Poverty level by State in Nigeria (image 1) Nigeria has the largest economy in Africa with a GDP of $398 billion compared to its closest competitor; South Africa, which has a GDP of $368 billion. However, the real wealth of a nation is calculated by its GDP per capita, and Nigeria ranked 140 out of 186 in GDP per capita global ranking. Nigeria’s GDP per capita stands at $1,963 compared to South Africa’s $6,100 and Egypt’s $12,000. (Luxembourg ranks the highest in the world with GDP per capita of $144,000). Nigeria is one of only 8 ‘World Bank red zones’. These are the only countries on the planet where GDP per capita (an indicator of individual share of wealth) has fallen steadily over the past 20 years. Nigeria’s budget for the health sector in 2018 was $938 million for a population of over 190 million people compared to South Africa’s $17.6 billion for a population of just 56 million people. This means that as an average Nigerian, the government’s health budget for you for a whole year was just $4.5. Don’t forget the UK which set aside over $250 billion for the healthcare of its citizens in the same year (more than 10x Nigeria’s entire 2018 budget). That means each citizen was entitled to health funds of $4,000.
How did others do it? You see, money is a coward; when money goes somewhere, and there’s trouble, money runs away. But when it goes to a place, and there is peace, it stays there. You don’t see money go to Iraq or Syria or Afghanistan, but you see it go to the UK, Singapore, London, China, etc. If you scare money, it runs away.
China Poverty Decline from 1981–2005 (image 2) In a single generation, China has had over 600 million people move out of poverty. Three hundred million people (about the population of the US) move from rural to urban areas every ten years. This is because China is still experiencing its economic take-off phase; this describes a situation where the majority of the working population move from agricultural jobs to tech and industry and move from the country-side to cities. The level of urbanisation that took place in China in 22 years is equivalent to the UK’s level that took 120 years and USA that took 80 years. So maybe there is hope for Nigeria.
Other Indicators
Number of Billionaires in China — 2015 (image 3) According to BBC, China produces two (2) new billionaires every week and one million (1,000,000) millionaires every year. I wanna be a billionaire, billionaire yeah yeah, I wanna be a billionaire, billionaire yeah yeah (Verse 2) I wanna wake up in a Lamborghini, I wan chop life on Santorini, oh yeah. -Teni the entertainer, Billionaire
Meanwhile, according to the NDIC, 98% of Nigerians don’t have up to N500,000 ($1,250) in their accounts. According to Mckinsey & Co, only 2m people in Nigeria have purchasing power and annual incomes over $10,000.
2. In India, the city of Mumbai alone has almost 60,000 millionaires; meanwhile, in Nigeria, there are just 12,300 millionaires in the entire country.
3. One of the measures for the economy and middle class of a society is the records of airport passengers compared to its population. In one year, Nigeria had 15.2 million airport passengers compared to Singapore Changi Airport, which served over 65 million passengers. (Singapore population — 5.6 million). The metropolis of Shenzen alone in China had over 400 million airport passengers in a single year. (Shenzen population — 12.5 million)
4. South Africa’s fourth-largest bank — Nedbank has a market cap of $72 billion. This is bigger than the market cap of all the banks in Nigeria put together, including GTB, Zenith, FirstBank and Ecobank.
So what do we do? The real wealth of a nation is in its people and like Dangote would say, “Nobody will fix Nigeria for us until we take the lead”. One of the greatest assets that have helped China and India grow is its population. So is Nigeria a truly wealthy nation? The answer is No. However, it can be so. If an average Nigerian produces half the GDP per capita of the average UK citizen, our GDP will not be $398 billion but $3.9 trillion.
The growth of businesses drives the economy, and therefore, the government must put in place suitable policies to promote business growth. We must increase our productivity as a nation. And it begins with you. Do better, work smarter and grow bigger. Please comment and share if you find this useful. I am Klein Udumaga.
This article was originally posted on my medium page. Please follow as I shed more light on the Nigerian economy and how to sell to Nigerians. https://medium.com/@kleinuduh/is-nigeria-a-truly-wealthy-nation-7f839d838a6c Permission to repost this on my site.. |
Crime › Re: Hisbah Raids Gay Party In Kano, Arrests 15 Homosexuals by tstx(m): 7:38pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
Hmm |
Education › Re: Let's Build A Professional Website For Your School, No Advance Payment by tstx(op): 4:05pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
Business is still open |
Web Market › Re: Get A Professional Website / Blog Today, No Advance payment by tstx(op): 4:04pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
Business is still open
Properties › Re: Let's Build A Professional Website For Your Real Estate Business by tstx(op): 4:02pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
Business is still open |
Agriculture › Re: Let's Build A Professional Website For Your Agric Business, No advance payment by tstx(op): 4:01pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
Business is still open |
Politics › Re: 20 Things In 2020 That Will Shape And Shake The Year by tstx(m): 2:31pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
World War III |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Iran Hackers Hack Into American Government’s Website by tstx(m): 1:55pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
MERCHANDISER: who told u it's between two of them? leave the ignoramus |
Romance › Re: Beautiful Photos Of The Naked Philanthropist Who Raised $60k For Australian Vict by tstx(m): 12:43pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
White ladies are beautiful in photos |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Animals In Australia Emotional Due To Loss Of Homes (photos) by tstx(m): 12:41pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
If only these animals know how lucky they are |
Politics › Re: Shehu Sani Vs Dauda: EFCC Mulls Lie Detector Test To Determine Liar by tstx(m): 12:19pm On Jan 05, 2020 |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Kaylen Ward Raises $60k For Victims Of Australia Wildfires In 24 Hours by tstx(m): 10:38am On Jan 05, 2020 |
nnaeyes6: Using sin to donate the CURSE of sin is more CURSE to the world.
World is just ending gradually Who is more evil:: The one who sees evil and looks away or the one who sees evil and tries to stop it. |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Kaylen Ward Raises $60k For Victims Of Australia Wildfires In 24 Hours by tstx(m): 10:37am On Jan 05, 2020 |
saheedbadmus: the power of nude..God have mercy on we men..so we cant help without seeing nude.. If you ever need a website for your security company '' I'm your guy. My services are affordable |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Kaylen Ward Raises $60k For Victims Of Australia Wildfires In 24 Hours by tstx(m): 10:32am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Christianity Etc › Re: Signs You Are Losing Faith In God by tstx(m): 10:31am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Focusmind: It is easy to loose faith in God in Nigeria because of the enormity of the problems and challenges that we face and most of them remain unresolved even after our fasting and prayer.
Sometimes, it could be difficult to believe God in the midst of huge unemployment, unsafe road, occultic people and other man - made challenges that good governance should ordinarily solve without any recourse to God or spiritual intervention.
During my student's days in Scotland more than 10years ago, I had so much trust in God. I wasn't asking for many things as what I would ordinarily asked have been provided by the government.
It is very comforting and fulfilling being a good Christian and believing so much in God in a developed world than in Nigeria where the worries of life could make you to loose faith and compromise big time. Exactly. |
Christianity Etc › Re: Signs You Are Losing Faith In God by tstx(m): 10:31am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Blakewilli: I think we should care less about the historical foundation of the Bible and focus on it's content. I don't know for you but there's this experience I had once, in my life. I know that it's only God that saved me. God works in mysterious ways. who are we to question our Creator Even Muslims, traditionalists, Hindus have those experiences and just like you, they too are convinced that it's only their God that saved them |
Christianity Etc › Re: Signs You Are Losing Faith In God by tstx(m): 8:46am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Christianity Etc › Re: Signs You Are Losing Faith In God by tstx(m): 8:45am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Blakewilli: -Frequently raising arguments as to the authenticity of the Bible and the accounts within But there are so many contradictions in the Bible... Are you saying as good christains.. One needs to turn a blind eye? Do you even know that the Bible was influenced by other religions? Religions that are way older than Christianity..? 5 Ways The Bible Was Influenced By Other Religions So we shouldn't ask questions about that too? |
Christianity Etc › Re: The Right Prayer For Repentance From Sin by tstx(m): 8:42am On Jan 05, 2020 |
5thAngel: My prayer for repentance have always been centered on the fear of hell, which i am 100 per center sure exist. You lost me when you said this. The worst kind of Christians are those who spew lies. |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Kaylen Ward Raises $60k For Victims Of Australia Wildfires In 24 Hours by tstx(m): 8:30am On Jan 05, 2020*. Modified: 10:35am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Lovelife433: hell fire is ur home, Eleribu omo ale. Mumu... She's trying to make a change in her home country and you are here spewing trash your colonial masters told you about instead of just looking the other way.. Since them born you have you ever donated money to any cause? Have you ever visited an IDP camp? When was the last time you gave money to a beggar? Mr 'HEAVEN MAN' |
Foreign Affairs › Re: Kaylen Ward Raises $60k For Victims Of Australia Wildfires In 24 Hours by tstx(m): 8:29am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Humans and nudity |
Politics › Re: Chad Soldiers Leave Nigeria As Their Boko Haram Fighting Mission Ends by tstx(m): 8:26am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Politics › Re: Chad Soldiers Leave Nigeria As Their Boko Haram Fighting Mission Ends by tstx(m): 8:24am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Politics › Re: Boko Haram Kidnaps Lawan Andimi, CAN Chairman In Adamawa by tstx(m): 8:23am On Jan 05, 2020 |
itsme01:

So the CAN of worm Pasta CAN'T protect himself with his annoiting oil or cast and bind boka haram spirits away...
scammer them
.. The spirits wey dey this universe dey watch you |
Politics › Re: Boko Haram Kidnaps Lawan Andimi, CAN Chairman In Adamawa by tstx(m): 8:22am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Maxcollins042: When will they kidnap MURIC's chairman? Will never happen |
Politics › Re: Boko Haram Kidnaps Lawan Andimi, CAN Chairman In Adamawa by tstx(m): 8:22am On Jan 05, 2020 |
Storm is coming |
Politics › Re: Ekiti: Labour Writes Fayemi, Protests Mass Sack Of Workers by tstx(m): 10:32pm On Jan 04, 2020 |
Hmm |
Politics › Re: Beroro Efekoro Elected As Albany County Legislator In New York by tstx(op): 2:50pm On Jan 04, 2020 |
SUFFERInSMILIIN: Nigerians and illiteracy is like one and two. Nigerians in America have one of the highest unemployment rates. Also Nigerians going to America have dropped by more than 20%. Nigerians have a high number of people in American prisons. this is what we Nigerians are good in vote for ourselves and suffer even in another man's land. In America right now Nigeria is number 9 African in employment. But Nigerians will tell you they have to vote for themselves. Once an illiterate is always an illiterate no matter what country they are in.. Get a life |
Celebrities › Re: Stainless Precious Weds Ima-Obong Ndiana Nwaokike. Onyeama, MC Tagwaya Spotted by tstx(m): 12:22pm On Jan 04, 2020 |
Ok |
Food › Re: Kalada Belema Meshack-hart Feeds 1100 Children At IDP Camp In Abuja by tstx(m): 9:58am On Jan 04, 2020 |
Cool...
If you must take food to IDPS take already prepared food..
If you do mistake take raw just take it that you are giving it as gift to those running the IDP..
Nigerians can be very terrible.. |