Stats: 3,329,216 members, 8,439,332 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 July 2026 at 02:20 AM

Yinkzy03's Posts

Nairaland ForumYinkzy03's ProfileYinkzy03's Posts

1 2 3 4 (of 4 pages)

TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 12:43pm On Sep 19, 2018
lmao, keep trying, its really hilarious...

Lexusgs430:
Oga, you must translate o .....

I don try to, but woefully failing .....

Wonlase - They are licking my leg
Wonimi - They own me

They are licking my leg and they own me ?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 9:56am On Sep 19, 2018
Really @wonlasewonimi, all this while it never occurred to me until @Hardeybohwarley made me pay attention to details o.

Chai, it just brought back memories of Salawa Abeni's oldies...Please you can share the story abeg wink.

Anyway, I finally opened my bank account with Halifax, quite straight forward, documents presented were International Passport, BRP, Original utility bill (if you are new and you don't have this, you can get whoever you are staying with to add your name to the bill and remove it as soon as the purpose is fulfilled).

I have also sent out my BRP with duly filled DVLA form to Swansea (carried it with first class o and to be signed for), counting down to receipt of my Provisional Drivers Licence. I intend to start going through the theory so that i'll write the exam ASAP.

Meanwhile I have started paying my dues o, let me start listing the various goofings:

1. I travel via train within the southwest of England, entered the wrong train as I was panicking not to miss my train cos I only had 1min change time, that extended my travel time for another 40mins, finally got to my final destination, no taxi, no Uber, I had to leg it and it was one of those cold nights.
2. I went to the studio to take passport photograph o, paid 10quid for just 6pieces instead of going to a store and take by myself.

To be continued...

wonlasewonimi:
Ahhh story for another day..
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 8:53am On Sep 07, 2018
Lexusgs430:
The best solution while renting, either get a fully furnished flat/house or buy very minimal furnitures while still renting.

No point buying heavy duty goods, or else you would hate yourself when it's time to move on again.......

I personally doubt your Nigerian insurance history would make any difference to your overall premium. Your best solution is to buy a very low insurance rated vehicle and build up... If you buy a Lexusgs430, expect to pay a very high insurance premium, on the other hand if you buy a small Ford fiesta, Toyota Aygo, Citroën C1, Peugeot 106 etc etc. Your premium should not exceed £700 per annum....
Thanks @Lexusgs430, who will buy your kind of car before, na person wey don chop belleful go fit do that o...Will go with any of those 1.0 capacity engine cars abeg, its just to get you from point A to Point B, as long as wind no go carry am for motorway like Daewoo Racer of those days,lol....
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 11:09pm On Sep 06, 2018
fatima04:
Congratulations and thanks for sharing. Prince2 is a catch but the 5days type of training doesn't count. Changing careers could be a good thing just research well based on what you are really interested in and you can still search for banking jobs or statistician roles in the meantime.

You never can tell, If your past bank experience can be presented as an international company that may also help. Just write a very good CV and see how it goes.

Account wise, it's best you open one immediately because you are building your friends credit history with that while you should start with yours asap.
Thanks a lot @fatima04, i already packaged my CV to show that the bank is an international bank and has a branch in the UK. I will research well on the career path before spending money on any certification.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 11:06pm On Sep 06, 2018
DaveChapelle:
Interesting, also had issues assembling my flat pack furniture... Luckily, the sofa wasn't flat pack! Took 2 days to assemble the ottoman... The whole week was assemble. Assemble, call utility companies, etc... Infact, i am dreading when I have to move out again, because we have acquired more furniture now! And my previous landlord refused to release my deposit early and the council was still debiting council tax... They've given me my money back now sha.

Bros, goodluck with your driving lessons, that one na another UK headache and also the headache of paying autoinsurance as a new immigrant... They sure know. How to welcome new people in this country!
Thanks a lot, i now understand why when some people are moving out they tend to leave some furnitures behind. Moving with those things are not pleasant and you even pay to dispose them off if you are unable to take them to recycling sites.

About insurance, i heard the premium is always high for new drivers as the risk is high. Someone told me you can get a letter from the insurance company you were using in Nigeria showing details of your driving history and all, i heard that will bring down the cost...(not confirmed yet o)
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 3:14pm On Sep 06, 2018
dustydee:
Very easy to open and pretty much the same with traditional banks.
oh great, thanks very much
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 2:50pm On Sep 06, 2018
dustydee:
Welcome and congrats.
On the certifications, there is no hard and fast rule to it. If you are thinking of changing careers, it may take a while except if you are already in a job and switch departments. You can consider cloud computing and cyber-security if you are into IT.
On banking, why not open an account with one of the Digital banks mentioned here - Starling and the the rest? What if something happens and you are unable to access your friend account?
thanks a lot @dustydee, i don't mind IT really, my first degree is Mathematics but my work experience in Nija was banking. I will research on Cloud Computing and Cyber-Security and see if i have interest in any of those and probably take it up from there. I just dont want to keep hopping from one thing to the other considering the fact that these exams dont come cheap.

I guess i don't need to go and bring my Father's Grand Mother's birth certificate before i'm able to open an account with Digital banks, but do they do everything banks with physical presence does? Don't they have their odds?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 1:12pm On Sep 06, 2018
Hello Guys,

Great work you all are doing on this thread. It has really helped me and my family to settle in well. Will share some of my experiences here to help people who might want to go same path.

I'm on a dependant permit, my wife's employer sponsored her and that covers for spouse and children under 18 (i think max of 4 children, i'm not sure about this).

To get my National Insurance Number, i had to call, they scheduled me for an interview as Nigerians now fall under the category of people to be interviewed. I'm still expecting that as it takes a while, max of 6weeks i think. You don't need this to work, you just need to show your employer that you had initiated the process. My wife did't have to do this as she had hers already at the back of her BRP as the principal applicant.

I got a temporary job in about a month after i got in to the country through an agency. I was made to understand that UK experience is key to enable you get a reference, and you know what, the moment i started and updated my CV, it really and truly enhanced my chances as i got more interview calls and all. I have been eating cold sandwich as lunch at work since o and looking for cheap meal deals up and down, that wont be for long sha as i need to start bringing food to work and save money.

We got a flat through Rightmove, inspected and settled for our best bet. That cost us a fortune though, deposit and agency fees attached to it. Bought sofa, bed and mattress through Argos and was delivered but the bed was a big deal to set up, i screw tire so tay my hand sore the next day. (i forgot to write a review of that on Argos website)

Now i'm considering changing career, spoken to some people but i need opinions here, you guys have always been so on point. here is my question, which professional exam can one go for now and you are assured of jobs all over? is Prince2 still a catch? Does the 5days training and certification realistic as i don't want to just go throw way money wey i no get give any academy. Just wana get it right plssssss.

Now childcare is a hell of stress, if you sabi sit down for armchair and be ordering people around in Nija, then you must have loads of money to be able to do same here otherwise you will just be frustrated. Even to get Nursery that is not fully booked is a challenge. I have seen a lot of arrangements asper childcare o,going to the Nursery for 3days in the week and going to stay at a Church member's house for the remaining 2days at a cost.

On Bank Account, I'm yet to open one, they need the original utility bill in my name and the available appointment days seems far away so i just left it jare, will go back next week. I get my salary paid into a friend's bank account.

I have just paid for the Provisional Driving Licence, as soon as i receive the form, will fill and push it out. Pls how long does it take to be issued?

Sorry for my long epistle, just thought to share.

Will update as things unfold.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 11:04pm On Jul 22, 2018
fatima04:
Not too sure for NI but for driving license it's good it's your final/personal home because that's what will be on your license when issued and also when you change house you must always update DVLA about that.

Also for the NI, I think a form will be sent for you to fill first and then you send back so if it's not your permanent abode maybe quite difficult ***not too sure about this

All in all I will advise sorting out the house first because it will be very key in getting you sorted for a lot of things
Oh okay, thanks a lot.

Points taken, will expedite action on renting a place of our own since everything is hinged on that.

Many thanks
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 8:36pm On Jul 22, 2018
fatima04:
Welcome.
1. Call this number 0800 141 2075 and follow the process from there and also as mentioned in earlier post be careful of answer given to "where was your visa issued?" Answer is Nigeria and BRP was just picked in the UK.

A friend got called in to verify his details for this and further delayed the processing

2. You can apply for prov license on gov.uk. Appt booking,theory test and all those things will determine if it will be sorted before winter but if you have a Nigerian license you should be able to drive for a yr on that.

You can read up on this on the gov.uk website and also suggest learning to drive before embarking on UK roads and if possible get the theory test done as this will help with understanding dre road rules and regulation.

Hope you have sorted out your accommodation because for a lot of this processes *proof of residence* Is key.
Thanks a lot @fatima04,i will kick start the process as said in 1&2 above asap.

I honestly don't want to go through the route of using a Nigerian Drivers Licence, i don't want want to make a mistake of driving at the opposite direction and risk a jail term, lol and not to talk of the bad driving habits i had picked up over the years.

I am yet to sort out accommodation as we are still with family at the moment but i'm hoping i should be able to do the NI & Provisional Drivers License without having to show utility bill/rent receipt in my name (correct me if i'm wrong pls).

Many thanks.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 3:10pm On Jul 22, 2018
sutelk:
Welcome.
Don't know if this applies to everyone but I didn't apply for NI, mine was at the back of my brp. Check yours.
yeah, that's for the principal applicant, dependants would still have to apply for theirs
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 2:39pm On Jul 22, 2018
Good afternoon guys,

Landed in the UK safely and picked up our BRP already, thanks to you all for your help. Well appreciated. I'm back again for questions o abeg...

1. What is the process of applying for NI?
2. What is the process of applying for Provisional Drivers License, need to speed this up before winter is here...
3. What are the other important things i need to do pls.

Your answers will go a long way..

Many thanks for your usual help
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Yinkzy03: 9:42am On Jul 10, 2018
Thank you ma’am, the fear of VOs is the beginning of wisdom o, don’t want to take chances too.
DeeandGLady:
You can travel with this visa in Nov get stamped in for 6 months which will be valid for your stay in the US, this is my own advice oooo considering we don’t know the outcome if you go reapply for a medical Visa, those VO people are not smiling.
TravelRe: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Yinkzy03: 9:04am On Jul 10, 2018
Good day Mothers in the House, you guys are wholesome and I pray that it shall all end in praise and thanksgiving in Jesus name.

Please I need advice from Veteran Mothers, see my request below;

So I applied for a medical Visa Oct 2013 and was granted , went to the embassy with my medical bills paid . We lost the baby but still travelled May 2014. Asked me at POE and I explained we got a medical Visa coz we were expecting a baby which we lost , the officer sympathized with us and stamped us in. Then we did a drawbox entry for renewal jan 2017. We planned to use the Visa 2018 but now I m pregnant again. I m due feb 2019 and my Visa expires jan 2019. Now we re confused on what to do . Either
1. Should I go to the Us say Nov 2018 and I should be probably stamped in for 6months . Meaning on leaving Us , my Visa would have been expired
2. Do another draw box renewal, even without using the 2 years Visa that is expiring soon.
3 . Reapply for a Medical Visa and pay all my bills and visit the embassy .
Please appreciate your quick response to enable plan properly. Thank you
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 10:27am On Jul 03, 2018
Mamatukwas:
Hi Guys.

Please has anyone come into the country with dried/smoked meat? Wanna know of it will pass. Not kilishi oh... normal smoked goat or beef. Thanks.
I have done fried beef a couple times and will still do again, I beleive smoked should pass too
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 11:33pm On Jul 01, 2018
Good evening people,

Thanks to everyone that has made constructive contribution towards the growth of this thread, most especially the initiator @fatima04, God bless you all and your hustles.

A lot of personal experiences being shared, just to encourage and show people which pathway to follow, that is not what money can buy, I commend you all...

We, a family of 3, just got our Vignette on Friday.. application was submitted on the 21st of June using priority service, a mail was received by 28th of June that passport was ready for pickup, picked it up on 29th of June, application granted, one year inlne with the COS.

IHS surcharge was debited for 3years for the dependants Knowing full well the contract was for
One year, they sha don hold my money and waiting for a refund shapshap abeg.

BRP will be picked up and the hustle begins.

Had 10years Work experience in banking but I’m open to learn new things or change career outrightly, not just something to sort the bills but more than that. So help us God.

BTW-Tickets are hitting the roof now o, but I had to buy cos it’s gonna keep going up.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 7:18pm On Jun 23, 2018
fatima04:
Lol @lesson learnt. Congratulations everything happens for a reason and with God's timing, Dre are so many what ifs, but thank God you did not give in to the pressure oo. The greatest battle may have been won but this is life more will still come but you have God so you will be fine.

All the best. @yinkzy03 one way visa is good with Tier 2 visa, unless u plan going back home soon sha then it may be cost effective
Thanks very much @fatima
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 6:03pm On Jun 23, 2018
sutelk:
We are in the same boat bro. I made the same IELTS mistake, the last one month has been the most depressing of my entire life, I was just waiting for someone to wake me up from that bad dream, but boy it was not a dream oh, it was reality, my tier 2 Visa application was refused for failing to meet the English language requirement. But thank God its all over now, got my visa on Thursday on my second attempt, with serious financial injury but lessons have been learnt the hard way.
Actually I have myself to blame, cos I actually saw the link for IELTS for ukvi and I chose the normal IELTS general, because the next available date for ukvi IELTS was too far for me, I opted for the closest IELTS general which was in calabar flew from Lagos to calabar for the exam passed and felt happy with myself, made my visa application and started counting my days in naija.
I got my passport back sometime in may and it was God that kept me from jumping off 3rd mainland bridge. What made my case so bad was that one oga in my office that I used as referee went yo share testimony for me in the office that I got a job in UK. so everybody was waiting for me to take off in June. When my visa was declined the news that went out was that I failed English exam, it was a very depressing period in my life.
Thankfully my UKNARIC certificates that got misplaced by NIPOST suddenly reappeared. I picked myself up, contacted my employer to shift resumption date, raised another 800k+ and reapplied this time using UKNARIC, didn't even have the cash for walk in or priority, just used standard and got a decision in about 11 working days.
One of the lessons I learnt is that if ur right hand gets a job abroad don't even let your left hand know, man is wicked, some are just waiting to hear that you have been put to shame and such people abound in my office. They won't even see my face there again, I have applied for my leave, they think I just went to hide my face, but the next thing they will see is my resignation, nobody will even know I have Left, all their calls go just de enter voicemail. Maybe all this happened to expose those that don't wish me well, but God pass them. Make I go arrange my load.
Congratulations bro...funny @ the lesson learnt.

One quick question, do you buy a one way ticket on this type of visa?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 10:07pm On Jun 20, 2018
Okuhoc:
To the glory of God, I got my passport today with 3 years tier 2 visa. I took the IELTS for ukvi, passed. Did my biometrics at Ikeja on June 8, using walk in and priority. Got my passport today, decision was made June 18 that's 7 working days.
Thank God my priority payment wasn't in vain but Ikeja show me pepper for walk in, walk in turned to stand out, they didn't attend to us until after all those on appointment had been attended to. Well all is well that ends well, decision was made on the day I would have had my appointment if I didn't use walk in.
Those UK people have chopped my money plenty, I must retaliate when I land UK, not coming there to count bridge.
Thanks to all that contributed to my matter.
Congratulations!!! That’s a great milestone you just achieved, all the best
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 4:17pm On Apr 24, 2018
Nice piece. If each one teach one, this world will be a better place. I wonder why people withhold such information.
Aphrodite007:
So I want to give an update on my job search.

I have applied for a few BA roles on jobsite, Reed, Indeed, etc.. but it seemed that they want someone with more experience so I decided to step downwards and apply as a Jnr, but this still wasn’t easy as I’m in the North, which isn’t as great as the south. Also, the few offers I got cake with strict requirements of a car, so that ruined my chances 3 times (as the work places aren’t easily commutable).

I’m an IT BA, but the most BA roles they have are for finance BAs (people with financial background/experience), so this seemed to hinder my search a bit.

My husband’s friend then introduced me to huntswood/momenta/hazellcarr to work as a complaint handler. Apparently they paid quite well, and they are all financial services institutions, so I jumped at the offer and applied- this is the much needed financial background. But I didn’t get a call back. I then toned down my CV to include my student jobs, and admin work, but I still didn’t get a call back.

Finally, I was advised to call them up, which I did, and lo and behold, it was as if they were begging me to come work for them. That’s when I realised that it’s best to call the organisation to inquire about vacancies, then they would give you their personal-official email to mail your CV to, instead of the generic email that the CVs get dumped into.

I’ve written this to inspire someone like me who didn’t know where to start applying from, and didn’t have anyone to ask questions- I asked a few friends in the south to give me tips on how to start but they were being secretive or just not being helpful. I want to make sure I’m different from them hence this epistle!
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 3:01pm On Apr 20, 2018
Thanks for wishing us well o, much aopreciated.
To answer your question, We don’t run a charity o, it’s circumstances surrounding when the COS would come out and when you are to resume. It’s gonna be too tight if we don’t do priority visa. We have tried waving this but it seems It’s our best bet.
Mamatukwas:
Amen on your behalf! @yinkzy And make more provision oh coz this journey eh! Meanwhile why do people pay for priority? Is it not dashing those folks money ni? The application is already expensive huh
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 12:27pm On Apr 20, 2018
fatima04:
@yinkzy It will be an individual payment for each applicant made on the TLS website

May God enrich your purse.
Thanks a bunch for the clarification @fatima04, and I say a big Amen to your prayer because right now, it’s a lot o, hmmmm...
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 11:16am On Apr 20, 2018
Whaooo, thanks for your response @sutelk, I think it’s advisable we make provision for £212 x 3 so that we are not caught unawares...this journey is not beans o
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 9:36am On Apr 20, 2018
Good morning guys, good job you are doing here. Very informative thread I must say. Big ups to
You all.
Now to my question, a family of 3 is considering doing a priority visa because of time constraint, please does it mean that the priority visa fees will be in 3 places? i.e. £184 each?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by Yinkzy03: 7:22pm On Feb 19, 2018
spacyzuma:
If you're with a Tier 2 work visa or interested, you need to read this. Wahala dey o.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2018/feb/18/uk-hits-skilled-worker-visa-cap-third-month-home-office-refuses-applications

Britain has hit its cap on visas for skilled non-European workers for an unprecedented third month in a row, deepening the staffing crisis facing the NHS and other key employers.

When the monthly quota was reached in December and January for the first time in seven years immigration lawyers had expected it would prove to be a blip, but they now fear it is turning into a long-term problem.

More than a third of the tier-2 work visas issued by the Home Office go to medical and other staff recruited to work in the NHS. Migration experts expect that among the first group to be turned away will be doctors and other healthcare staff, software developers and scientists.

The next set of quarterly immigration figures will be published on Thursday. They are expected to show increasing evidence of a “Brexodus” over the past year, with an accelerating decline in the numbers of EU nationals coming to work in Britain while increasing numbers return home.

The Home Office sent out hundreds of emails to UK employers and businesses last week telling them that their applications for the certificates of sponsorship required to recruit mostly highly skilled workers from outside the EU had been refused because they did not meet the minimum points score set for the February quota.

The cap on skilled worker numbers operates on an annual quota of 20,700 with a fixed number of spaces available each month. Until last December the monthly quota had only been exceeded in one month since the cap was introduced by Theresa May as home secretary in 2011.

The Home Office confirmed that the minimum salary for a job to qualify for a skilled work visa was normally £30,000, or £20,800 for a graduate recruit. However, in December it was set at £55,000 and in January tier-2 visa applications for jobs paying less than £46,000 a year were refused unless they were PhD-level roles or were for jobs on the official shortage occupation lists.

The points-based immigration system prioritises applicants according to their advertised salary, with the minimum annual pay changing according to the number of applicants above the quota and their points rating. This hits the NHS particularly hard.

Nichola Carter, an immigration specialist at Carter Thomas solicitors, said: “From the information I’m receiving it is starting to look like the threshold for rejection in February could be around the £50k mark. Initially it was thought that December and January were just blips. Now it’s starting to feel like this could be a long-term issue.”

She said employers were increasingly seeking to sponsor skilled workers because they needed certainty in their recruitment plans.

“The government has to step in now and either change the points or the criteria or create exemptions. Calls for NHS workers to be removed have already been made.”

Carter added that she had seen two applications refused for clients last week: a software developer and a designer for a bespoke luxury goods manufacturer.

All jobs offered to skilled workers from outside the EU that are not on the official shortage occupation lists have to be advertised in Britain first for a set period unless the salary will be at least £159,600.

“I know of employers who are now willing to pay £65,000 for a job they were previously offering a salary of £35,000 for just to make sure they get a visa in the next round of allocations,” Carter added.

The immigration law firm Fragomen confirmed that the cap had been reached for the third time. “Since the quota has been exceeded three times consecutively it is highly likely to be exceeded again next month due to the volume of reapplications. Applicants can reapply next month provided the job advertisement is still valid. There is no right of appeal following refusal.”

Danny Mortimer, the chief executive of NHS Employers, has pressed the Home Office to exempt medical staff from the quota, saying NHS organisations were “increasingly concerned at their inability to obtain permits for essential medical colleagues”.

More than a third of tier-2 work visas issued by the Home Office go to medical and other staff recruited by the NHS.
A Home Office spokesperson said: “It is important that our immigration system works in the national interest, ensuring that employers look first to the UK resident labour market before recruiting from overseas.

“The tier 2 visa route is intended to fill gaps in the labour market. When demand exceeds the month’s allocation of tier 2 (general) visas, priority is given to applicants filling a shortage or PhD-level occupations.

“The published shortage lists include a range of medical professionals, including consultants specialising in clinical radiology and emergency medicine, and we estimate that around a third of all tier 2 places go to the NHS.

Also, read this too https://www.forum-expat-management.com/users/10520-fragomen/posts/30344-united-kingdom-tier-2-general-cap-reached-for-the-third-time
thank you for the information. I beleive that the NHS CEO should be able to push for NHS potential employee to be exempted from this quota thing. Health is very essential and shouldn’t be handled in such manner. It is clear that the only reason why employers would want to employee from overseas is because they couldn’t find anyone to fill the positions within. A new quota starts in April so there should be enough sponsorship certificates approved by then
TravelRe: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Yinkzy03: 11:46pm On Dec 30, 2017
wonlasewonimi:
Haaaa me I still paid till 2012 when I passed CISA. I just borrowed myself brain.
nice and very informative thread. You all active participants should keep it up...
I’m to decide on whether to take up SAP FI OR CISA, anybody wishes to elaborate on the both
TravelRe: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Yinkzy03: 11:29pm On Dec 30, 2017
Ilekokonit:
I'm not a sister o. I am a grown man with beards.

Regarding ACCA, I feel like swearing for the whole ACCA Institute management in Glasgow for wasting my time on a qualification that in the UK [i](its country of origin) [/i]does not guarantee you a job.

The ACCA is only interested in making money from the "mass" of international students, affiliates and members in terms of exam and annual subscription fees so that their fat cat salaries and bullet proof pensions are secured.

Whenever I meet any one studying for the ACCA exams in the early stages of the exams, I always advice them not to waste their "lives" and instead switch to an IT certification course if den no want make hunger finish them.
this is just hilarious, damnnnn
TravelRe: General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration. by Yinkzy03: 11:33am On Sep 13, 2016
Gurus please i need help:

See below the details;

MBA major in Finance and Accounting.
Work experience: Banking -Credit Risk.

Here are my questions;

Can i choose Accountant as occupation in SOL?
Will i be able to get a positive accessment from any of these accounting bodies (IPA/CPA/CA)?
TravelRe: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program Connect Here by Yinkzy03: 4:39pm On Sep 09, 2016
Bosayo:
Hello House,

I want to appreciate everybody that has contributed to this thread. I have been reading the infos for a while now but dont know how to calculate the CRS score . My husband will be the principal applicant and he is 35 yrs with more than 3 years experience in accounting.

He has MBA and ACCA,BSC. Pls wot score should we target in the IELTS to maximize being selected. I have only Bsc.

Please assist a sister.

God bless

See link below, this would help you know where you stand in terms of points.

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/express-entry/grid-crs.asp#a1

Also, as high as you can target in terms of IELTS, the higher the better...All the best
TravelRe: New Zealand Skilled Worker Category by Yinkzy03: 3:25pm On Sep 05, 2016
hartson:
Have a great time
thanks a lot
HealthRe: Nigerian Doctors Forum (locum Jobs, Residency Offers Etc) by Yinkzy03: 11:28pm On Sep 03, 2016
justirich:
Mandatory Steps involved in getting medical registration & job in Australia as Nigerian trained doctors:

1. Apply to AMC for Standard pathway AMC examinations. You are just lodging application to be assessed by AMC, not yet to sit exam.(http://www.amc.org.au/assessment/pathways/standard)

2. Lodge your MBBS certificate for verification by AMC Australia via EICS/ECFMG
and be issued AMC Verification certificate, (see this website for details:
(http://www.amc.org.au/index.php/img/ver.<http://www.amc.org.au/index.php/img/ver.>),

3. When U're stuff ready to sit d exam, apply online for the AMC CAT MCQ exam in UK centre- nearest to Nigeria. The exam is done abt 3-5 times per month, so give yourself at least 6 months serious preparation before sitting for it, although you can register for it a year ahead.(http://www.amc.org.au/assessment/mcq-exam/mcq-apply).

4. After passing the MCQ exam, then sit for IELTS (academic module), and score minimum of 7.0 in each band (see http://www.ielts.org/default.aspx), it's needed to get employed, medical registration & working visa.

5. The two above (IELTS & AMC CAT MCQ) must be completed before u can be registered with the medical
board to practice, see http://www.medicalboard.gov.au/Medical-Registration/Limited-Registration/Postgrad-Training.aspx

6. Begin to search for medical jobs online once you are ready to come down to Australia,

7. After getting a job, your employer will lodge Visa application with the Immigration
for you and your family for working visa 457. See;
http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/skilled-workers/sbs/

8. These recommended books will help you to prepare for and pass the the AMC MCQ exam easily;

a. Handbook of AMC MCQ Exam by AMC (https://store.amc.org.au/)

b. John Murtagh general practice for Australian medical practice knowledge

c. Anthology of medical conditions (for conditions photo samples): https://store.amc.org.au/

d. Then try to register online MCQ practice questions on "Canada QBank, choose AMC CAT MCQ module, this will help you to have a solid grasp of the exam and pass the AMC MCQ exam at once without tears! (http://www.canadaqbank.com/MCCEE.php).
Thank you for this info @justirich, God bless you.

This is my first time of coming accross such a detailed information about the easiest way for a Nigerian Doctor to practice in Australia.

May i ask, it seems this pathway can only get you a limited registration to practice, which is a step in the right direction but how easy is it to get a job without a PR or Citizenship. I observed that most jobs are asking for atleast a PR in addition to the AMC MCQ exam to enable you qualify to apply for the job...

Kindly throw more light on this as the exam would gulp some good money and would want to be sure before taking such decisions..

Thank you
TravelRe: New Zealand Skilled Worker Category by Yinkzy03: 4:10pm On Sep 03, 2016
Etfash:
Unfortunately, Business/Finance is where your qualifications fall into where only Procurement manager is skill in shortage.
If you were working with smaller companies, chances are you will be doing more than one thing.

Okay, here are my suggestions:
1. You can research more into the cost implications (in Naira and time) should your wife stand in as PA and if both of you are ready.
2. Over time, I have seen a lot of interdependencies in business processes. As a Credit Analyst, do you think you can function well, if you were to be moved to Procurement? I believe YES. If so, you can still be the PA...
Thank you for your help guys; @hartson, @Etfash. You are far too kind, God bless you.

From the look of things, i would require CIPS qualification awarded by the United Kingdom to be able to fit into procurement.

We would have to work towards my wife sitting for the next diet of their medical examination and hope for the best. Ofcourse that would cost us some money and time, guess thats our best bet.

I have also tried to secure jobs via the suggested jobsites but they all seem to want a PR or NZ Citizen.

We would keep looking for other means of getting this done regardless of how long it takes.

Thank you all...

1 2 3 4 (of 4 pages)