Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,152,850 members, 7,817,517 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 01:37 PM

Lecturers' Job Or White Collar Job..pls Advice. - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Lecturers' Job Or White Collar Job..pls Advice. (2743 Views)

Enugu State University Sacks 153 Lecturers / Salary Scale Of Lecturers In Nigerian Universities / Blue-collar Job In The UK Or White-collar Job In Nigeria? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Lecturers' Job Or White Collar Job..pls Advice. by czay(m): 9:55pm On Jul 30, 2012
Hi nairalanders, pls I need your suggestions on this.
I am a first class graduate of mathematics from unilag, and I have just concluded the compulsory NYSC program. I sought for job placement but most of the advice I got from people who I submitted my CV to was for me to continue my academy pursuit in view of becoming a lecturer. Personally, becoming a lecturer was my secondary option of my choice of career but as it stands now am at a crossroad even my dad strongly advice me to continue with my academics. The question now is, which one will be a better option to choose from, been a prospective lecturer or seeking for job and why? Thanks..
Re: Lecturers' Job Or White Collar Job..pls Advice. by Nobody: 10:42pm On Jul 30, 2012
First, you need to ask yourself what you desire to be.
After doing the self test, then pursue the dream.

But as a mathematician myself, I'd advise you to pick up a second degree. It may not be necessarily be in Mathematics. You may choose to diversify. And its easier for you to pick a scholarship since u have a first class.

All the best.

2 Likes

Re: Lecturers' Job Or White Collar Job..pls Advice. by paulokwudiri(m): 11:18pm On Jul 30, 2012
Guy read more and impact on others.U will enjoy and make lots of money too.Most first class guys i know dont work with their first degree.