Stats: 3,152,770 members, 7,817,123 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 06:34 AM

Is “pomo” A Poor Man Food? - Food - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / Is “pomo” A Poor Man Food? (1520 Views)

Breakfast-plantain,egg And Pomo Sauce / Is More Than One Piece Of Meat In A Man's Food Really A Sign Of Respect? / Why Do People See Garri As A Poor Man's Food? (2) (3) (4)

Is “pomo” A Poor Man Food? by adeokunade: 10:01am On May 07, 2013
NL I remember that we use to have this perception that Pomo a local delicacy made from animal skin does not have any nutritional value and more so it is a poor man food. I met a guy recently that developed my taste for pomo, this guy is not a poor man by any standard and whenever we are outside eating either in an event or a restaurant this guy usually ask for pomo and this made me to be interested and it became one of my favourite.You know pomo can be prepared in different ways there is a dark brown type that can be made with Efo Riro and Egwusi it folds and the Efo and Egwussi usually get stucked in between the folds. There is this thick whitish one too they call it Bokotoo in Yoruba language and there is this one that they cut together with meat. I learnt that they normally burn the animal skin when making the dark brown type and it is the one that does not have any nutritional value. My question is this,generally is Pomo a poor man s food?
Re: Is “pomo” A Poor Man Food? by maingwaest(f): 11:21am On May 08, 2013
Pomo complements almost all d soup i make. hubby likes it so much he always demand for it whereabout if its not dish alongside his meal.lol So NO it's no poor man meal.
Re: Is “pomo” A Poor Man Food? by PrettySpicey(f): 4:32pm On May 08, 2013
Slicing pomo in cubic form to garnish my soups, stew and veg sauce is a fave wt me. I simply can't do wtout pomo n Oga hubby enjoys it too.
No way do I consider it 'poor man's food'.
Re: Is “pomo” A Poor Man Food? by tpia5: 6:39pm On May 08, 2013
in nigeria it is.

outside nigeria it isnt [its very expensive actually].
Re: Is “pomo” A Poor Man Food? by dayokanu(m): 8:59pm On May 08, 2013
Ponmo tastes nice in Soups though
Re: Is “pomo” A Poor Man Food? by adeokunade: 10:25pm On May 08, 2013
tpia@:
in nigeria it is.

outside nigeria it isnt [its very expensive actually].
where outside nigeria
Re: Is “pomo” A Poor Man Food? by Tolexander: 5:32am On May 09, 2013
I order for pomo mostly when am richer than my usual being!

Club Sandwich/cuban Sandwich / Why Nigerians Prefer Smuggled Frozen Chickens / (photo) What Will You Do If You Caught Him Doing This At Your Party

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 11