Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,153,042 members, 7,818,090 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 07:30 AM

Black Sunday - Literature - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Black Sunday (600 Views)

My 8hours At Erinjesha Waterfall Story By Okewale Sunday Ife / Black Sunday / That Sunday Vibe. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply)

Black Sunday by Elmeerah: 11:03pm On Nov 09, 2015
It’s been 13 years and 9months since the January 27 2002 bomb explosion shook Lagos state, more than a thousand lives were lost, the explosion occurred in Ikeja military cantonment now called Nigeria Army barrack. I was really surprised when I was talking with my friends about the day we would never forget and I mentioned the blast and none of them knew about it except one of them who said her uncle that stayed in Lagos told her about it, this inspired me to write about this terrible day from my perspective.

This is my first time writing so constructive criticism is highly welcomed.

I was little when it happened but I can still remember almost every detail of what happened on that tragic day. It was a Sunday and usually Sundays are usually very uneventful in our barrack, people used this last day of the weekend to catch up with friends and do last minute running around in preparation for Monday. My mum had asked our aunt who was living with us to take my younger brother and I to our family friend’s house who lived just a stone throw away from our own house. In our barrack every residential area was given a nickname and it was like a little community, our own area was called 1004 up till today I don’t know why it was called that. It consisted of 6 3 storey buildings facing each other and two streets, each building had six flats. We stayed on the first floor of block B while our family friend stayed on the first floor of block A.