Stats: 3,158,451 members, 7,836,793 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 12:44 PM

Corruption And Culture - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Corruption And Culture (855 Views)

The Igbo And Culture Of Apprenticeship / Brief History And Culture Of Babur/ Bura People. / The Ancient Town Of Awka: Fragments Of Its History, Traditions And Culture (2) (3) (4)

Corruption And Culture by strangleyo: 9:01pm On Jul 17, 2009
When you make money your immediate family, your cousins, your cousin’s cousins, and random people in your village expect money. Hence people either become discouraged to work hard because all their money will be sucked out from them, or they go into public services, where they can just steal it from the coffers and toss it to expectant family members.

Question, will a little cold heartedness and individuality bring order in Naija?
Re: Corruption And Culture by mccloud224(m): 8:15pm On Aug 15, 2009
@Topic

In as much as we all know that 9ja has a serious corruption problem, your topic doesn't relate to it.People tend to flock around a person with wealth anywhere in the world.If you listen to the lyrics of music a lot, you'd hear them at some point talking about how their life's changed and everyone starts coming around.It's everywhere.A guy who won an $18 million lottery 5 years ago gave candid advice to this years current winner (almost $200 million) to avoid publicity and move away from his current location asap.He narrated that he's currently in debt in spite of the huge amount.His house became a sort of "shelter".Relations he never knew existed started coming around for one help or the other.Strangers continuously knocked on his door at odd hours and you know how human beings are : if you refuse to help them, they will turn against you, tell bad stories about you and sometimes, cause you harm (a black guy got killed by a lady who he dated before and her current bf).That's life.It's everywhere, so rule out the 9ja factor in this one.
Re: Corruption And Culture by oyinda3(f): 7:11am On Aug 16, 2009
strangeleyo u make a very good point.  corruption and nigerian culture are definitely sort of intertwined. only i don't know to what extent

strangleyo:

When you make money your immediate family, your cousins, your cousin’s cousins, and random people in your village expect money. Hence people either become discouraged to work hard because all their money will be sucked out from them, or they go into public services, where they can just steal it from the coffers and toss it to expectant family members.

Question, will a little cold heartedness and individuality bring order in Naija?

especially the bolded part where pleasing your family is more important than personal integrity. nobody cares nowadays how you made ur money as long as you send some to cousins and nephews and neighbors.

U kno I was reading a related paper about how some economist carried out a study on foreign diplomats in NY and parking violations to show that corruption can be part of a society's culture and values. diplomats are immune from getting parking tickets so the researcher collected data on which diplomats abused this power  and which ones obeyed the laws even though they won't be punished.
corruption meaning "the abuse of entrusted power for private gain." Although Nigeria didn't make top 10 of countries with diplomats that abused this immunity, we made top 20 out of like 150 countries. that's pretty bad that we have this lack of morals ingrained in us.
what was most interesting was that a few countries' diplomats that managed to violate the law paid the fines even though they didn't have to. goes to show their honesty!!
http://www.nytimes.com/2006/12/10/magazine/10section1B.t-5.html

Re: Igbo Kwenu! Kwezuo Nu! Join Us If You're Proud To Be An Igbo Guy/lady / 2nd Version, Reasons Why Igbo Girls Marry Late. / Ghana Vs Nigeria, Check Below Out Folks

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 15