Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,153,106 members, 7,818,302 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 12:15 PM

Literary Icon, Isidiore Okpewho Laid To Rest 17/9/2016 - Literature - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Literary Icon, Isidiore Okpewho Laid To Rest 17/9/2016 (472 Views)

So Isidore Okpewho Is Dead! / AMADIEU: Nigerians Bid Literary Icon, Elechi Amadi Farewell / Literary Icon And Author Of 'the Concubine' Elechi Amadi, Dies At 82 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply)

Literary Icon, Isidiore Okpewho Laid To Rest 17/9/2016 by Badirukehinde(m): 10:41am On Sep 18, 2016
Features: REWRITING THE PAGES OF ISIDIORE OKPEWHO (For Isidiore Okpewho 1941-2016) By Badiru Kehinde

It was Markus Zasak who wrote; "time will tell, I suppose, or at least these pages will". Indeed, for Isidiore, his pages have told great stories which would not elude from our memories. I remember the time I studied pages from your book; 'Oral Performance in Africa', there was a connection and innuendo which each page resonated.  The rhythms were beyond what my lips could carry and like Finnegan opined in her 'An introduction to African Oral Literature', I could feel a performance going on in my head.
        You wrote those pages from a chain of words which would later touch , reach, preach, inspire, reawaken the literary giants in our hearts and create more literary converts. I think. Did I just say think? I meant know, pardon me.  I know I am one of those who wished to meet you personally sometime in life and talk to your muse and not just the meetings we have had consistently on your pages and letters which the forest of letters would miss now that you are gone. Days ago, your death was announced and it shook the literary world. Even Osundare lamented, "a great tree has fallen in our forest of letters". You therefore leave us with tender moments and reverberating sounds.