Stats: 3,153,229 members, 7,818,774 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 02:32 AM

5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization - Travel - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization (20616 Views)

COVID-19: Nigerian Airports Set For Reopening, Passengers Issued Warnings / See The Huge Crowd From Central America Heading Towards U. S. Border(Pics) / Nigerians Are Walking Into Canada From U.S. Seeking Asylum - Washington Post. (2) (3) (4)

5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by jellyfish86: 10:14pm On Oct 17, 2018
a person holding a sign: Canadian border guards are silhouetted as they replace each other at an inspection booth at the Douglas border crossing on the Canada-USA border in Surrey, B.C., on Thursday, August 20, 2009. Canada's border agency has quietly begun sharing information with U.S. Homeland Security about the thousands of American citizens who cross into Canada each day.© Darryl Dyck/CP Canadian border guards are silhouetted as they replace each other at an inspection booth at the Douglas border crossing on the Canada-USA border in Surrey, B.C., on Thursday, August 20, 2009. Canada's border agency has quietly begun sharing…
In the wake of marijuana legalization in Canada, U.S. Customs and Border Protection has a main message for people crossing into the country: don't bring any pot into the U.S.

U.S. border agents held a media conference Wednesday to spell out the rules for crossing through the Canadian-American border now that weed is legal.

Here are five major takeaways.

A pot pardon in Canada does not translate to the U.S.

On Wednesday, Ottawa announced plans to pardon Canadians with simple pot possession convictions in the past (30 grams or less).

READ MORE: Canadians with past pot convictions won’t have to pay or wait to apply for a pardon

But U.S. border officials said the U.S. does not recognize foreign pardons. So you could be "deemed inadmissible" to enter into the U.S. even if Canada has given you a pot pardon.

Heading into the U.S. for weed-related business

If you're a Canadian government employee working in the weed business and head to the States on a work-related trip, you may not be let in.

Even if you're heading to a U.S. state for pot business where cannabis is legal, such as California or Colorado, a U.S. border agent may still deem you inadmissible.

MORE: For the launch of our weekly newsletter Cannabis IQ, we’re giving away $100 Visa gift cards. Click here to find out more.

However, if you work in the weed industry in Canada and are heading into America for pleasure, not business, you may be let in.

U.S. citizens coming into Canada for 'pot tourism'

If you're an American travelling in Canada and smoked weed after it became legal, you may be OK to head back into the States — even if you admit it to a border official.

But border officials stressed that if your vehicle smells like weed you will probably get searched.

Don't lie

American border officials stressed that if you're heading into the U.S., don't lie about getting high. The honesty policy applies to those who used cannabis before it became legal too.

"Border officials are going to find out if you're lying. Being honest is always the best. If you are dishonest then you could be denied entry and it's misrepresentation," a U.S. border guard said.

Don't bring weed of any form into the U.S.

This may seem like the most obvious warning, but U.S. border officials made sure to reiterate the statement.

READ MORE: Where can I buy pot? A coast-to-coast guide for marijuana legalization day

Advertisement

Whether you're a Canadian or U.S. citizen, if you bring marijuana of any form into the U.S., you could be fined, arrested and face state and federal charges.

http://www.msn.com/en-ca/news/cannabis/5-warnings-from-us-border-agents-after-weed-legalization/ar-BBOvDoC?ocid=ientp

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by itiswellandwell: 4:54am On Oct 18, 2018
Hmm
Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by lonelydora: 4:55am On Oct 18, 2018
Something is bothering me

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by inoki247: 4:56am On Oct 18, 2018
Weed Is Bea. I know after this News Sowore will want to Migrate to Canada to go learn more about weed...

43 Likes 6 Shares

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by Eraddray(m): 4:56am On Oct 18, 2018
ok
Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by mikhe2(m): 4:56am On Oct 18, 2018
Dis weed go soon enter stock market lol

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by Ochiske(m): 4:56am On Oct 18, 2018
Those guys above me are all mad grin

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by MANNABBQGRILLS: 4:57am On Oct 18, 2018
Too much of everything is bad....

RED EYE .......... RED EYE......

1 Share

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by GodblessNig247(m): 4:57am On Oct 18, 2018
What's so special about WEED?

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by MANNABBQGRILLS: 4:57am On Oct 18, 2018
lonelydora:
.....a problem shared is a problem halved!
There are many problem solvers here on NL.
They got you Dora!

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by Nobody: 4:58am On Oct 18, 2018
Atikulated

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by Rseven(m): 4:58am On Oct 18, 2018
Same should be done in 9ja legalize dis tin make some boiz hammer
Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by lonelydora: 5:00am On Oct 18, 2018
post=72186461:

.....a problem shared is half solve.
There are many problem solvers here on NL.
They got you Dora!

My dear, a problem shared these days often becomes a topic for gossip

34 Likes 4 Shares

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by lonelydora: 5:01am On Oct 18, 2018
post=72186454:

What are you typing now?
Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by Blckb3ard(m): 5:01am On Oct 18, 2018
Where are my ojuelegba brothers them?? grin grin grin grin
Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by MANNABBQGRILLS: 5:02am On Oct 18, 2018
lonelydora:

What are you typing now?
This is it....

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by MANNABBQGRILLS: 5:04am On Oct 18, 2018
lonelydora:

My dear, a problem shared these days often becomes a topic for gossip
......and you are right too sha.
Especially on this craziee forum.

Tell it to Jesus then.
He always got time for you, as in ALWAYS!

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by apesinola001: 5:05am On Oct 18, 2018
Weed in this early morning,
Na wao
Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by Onyenna(m): 5:10am On Oct 18, 2018
lonelydora:
Kedu ihe n'echegbu gi?....

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by fnep2smooth(m): 5:15am On Oct 18, 2018
This Na country way get sense......

Upon say we get professors.......
You go still de surprise to hear say weed de make someone mad.

My bro check wella ....... The mad guy add am with something stronger.

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by FOWOSHERE01(m): 5:21am On Oct 18, 2018
inoki247:
Weed Is Bea. I know after this News Sowore will want to Migrate to Canada to go learn more about weed...
Weed is wisdom.

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by FOWOSHERE01(m): 5:21am On Oct 18, 2018
Blckb3ard:
Where are my ojuelegba brothers them?? grin grin grin grin
We dey here...
Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by cocolacec(m): 5:23am On Oct 18, 2018

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by cocolacec(m): 5:25am On Oct 18, 2018
inoki247:

Weed is legal in some states of America.
Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by JailBreaker(m): 5:45am On Oct 18, 2018
wow
Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by Internet247(m): 5:47am On Oct 18, 2018
*Hits blunt*

Next post !
Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by dykedarlyn(m): 5:51am On Oct 18, 2018
Nigeria should follow suit and legalize marijuana

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by Hoodbilonia: 5:53am On Oct 18, 2018
legalise it
yeah ah
yeah ah
and i will afvertise it

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by Olatunji1929: 5:53am On Oct 18, 2018
Govt should not try to legalize weed in Nigeria make dem no come spoil business for us the only way cocaine and indica remain a lucrative business till today is because cacaine and canabis sativa business are for the strongest among the niggas the moment govt legalized it even dangote wil venture into cacaine and weed business and that will spell doom for the real niggas wey dey in the business before please govt dont legalize weed protect this bussiness for us

Re: 5 Warnings From U.S. Border Agents After Weed Legalization by Riversides2003(m): 5:58am On Oct 18, 2018
Justin Trudeau is only concerned about the money he is going to make from it.

Bahamian Visa From Nigeria / IATA Reacts To Emirates Suspension Of Flights From Nigeria / Nigerian Government Engages US Over Suspension Of Drop Box Visa