Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,158,198 members, 7,835,969 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 06:26 PM

Why You Should Keep A Journal - Nairaland / General - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Why You Should Keep A Journal (224 Views)

How To Save Money On Wall Street Journal Subscription Fee? / Good News For Wall Street Journal Subscribers – Getting Best Deals Is Easier Now / Start A Journal Of Your Spiritual Journey. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply)

Why You Should Keep A Journal by kmaster007: 8:11am On Mar 18, 2019
I am a writer and beyond it being my source of income, it
has aided my growth in more ways than I can count. It has helped me network because I get to be part of awesome creative communities with people who are slaying in various careers. But let me stop here because we are not talking about me. Why should you keep a journal?

1. It gives clarity

Usually, when things are jumbled up in my head, I write it out so I can find a semblance of clarity as I weigh the pros and cons of something. You don’t always have to go running to someone else for a second opinion. It also helps you see things from other perspectives.

2. It heightens your awareness

The fact that you write drives you to be more aware of things around you. You tend to be more attentive to your environment and people around you because when you settle in later in the day to chronicle how your day went, you may want to give details. Before long, you will gain insights into how things work or what people around you think.

3. It gives you a medium for expression

There are things you have thought of but may not have ever had the guts to say out. In your journal, you are free to express yourself as you wish without being censored Whatever pent up energy you have can be freely vented out.

4. It ensures accountability