Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,152,759 members, 7,817,094 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 05:11 AM

#20in2020: This Time 20 Years Ago, I Was A Driver Salesman... - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / #20in2020: This Time 20 Years Ago, I Was A Driver Salesman... (203 Views)

"The Girl I Dumped Years Ago Became My Boss At Work" / The Key Differences Between A Chauffeur And A Driver / “one Year Ago, I Disgraced My Friends & Family On National Tv" - Nigerian Lawyer (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply)

#20in2020: This Time 20 Years Ago, I Was A Driver Salesman... by greaterbay: 2:33am On May 25, 2020
This time 20 years ago, I was a driver salesman. I sat for an interview with hundreds of candidates. The interview was handled by a foremost fast moving consumer goods company. We initially thought we would be employed by the company. It was when the final 8 candidates were selected that we were informed we would work for a distributor. Salary was N8,000 monthly. Scope of job? Driver salesman- you'll pick up goods from the warehouse, load into your bus, sell along an allocated route and meet specific daily targets.

I needed a job badly. I was tired of sitting at home. So I picked up the offer. I couldn't drive well then but I wasn't going to fold my hands and do nothing. I wouldn't allow what I couldn't do well interfere with what I could do. At least, I can try. I still recall the first time the key of my bus was handed over to me. It was a branded bus, with images of items sold all over- from shampoo to sanitary pads, confectionaries and other items. A lady was paired with me on that first day. The bus was a manual drive and I started the ignition with the vehicle in gear. It lurched forward. My partner was scared and the look on her face was as if she doubted if I could actually drive. I told her I was used to driving cars and not buses. Sometimes, all you need is just courage.