Stats: 3,154,762 members, 7,824,186 topics. Date: Saturday, 11 May 2024 at 03:37 AM

Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? (4166 Views)

Sub-tribalism(clanship) In South-east Nigeria / What's The Point Of Carnivals In Nigeria? / Increase In Bleaching Rate In South East Nigeria(snapshot) (2) (3) (4)

Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 2:12pm On Dec 27, 2011
Just curious. I know there are thriving yearly carnivals in Calabar and Port harcourt. Can someone who knows throw more light if about any carnival culture in any South-Eastern cities-
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Afam4eva(m): 3:45pm On Dec 27, 2011
We have festivals and not carnivals. Carrnival is alien to us.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 3:58pm On Dec 27, 2011
Well. Thanks. I wasn't talking of religious festivals. I meant real party carribean styled carnivals.

Are the ones done in Calabar and PH indigenous to them?
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Afam4eva(m): 4:34pm On Dec 27, 2011
Why should wz be hosting a carribean styled festival in Nigeria. Why can't we be ourselves. We should try and elevate festivals like offala, Osun/oshogbo, the eyo festival etc to international standards,
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 10:20pm On Dec 27, 2011
Well, You are entitled to your own opinions. People are having fun and you are here complaining.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 10:23am On Dec 28, 2011
@ OP,

if I understand you clearly there is none. Moreover people of South East all move to their respective villages during the festive period leaving the cities empty. But I believe that most of the villages have their own "mojos" during the celebration.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by ReachRich(m): 10:36am On Dec 28, 2011
Igbo Uturu cultural carnival taking place at Uturu,Abia state.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by slap1(m): 10:42am On Dec 28, 2011
We had a carnival in Imo State about two weeks ago.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Diligence: 10:45am On Dec 28, 2011
Hey Guz enof of southeast nigeria - henceforth, it shld be addressed as Biafra - and if u're Onye-Igbo u shld say - 'i'm travellg to Biafra or Ana Biafra,
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by kizito96(m): 10:48am On Dec 28, 2011
We perform new tame festivals. However, the Ibo man only worship anything Money and may not have time for festival.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 10:53am On Dec 28, 2011
Okija shrine festival.just come with two human heads.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 11:09am On Dec 28, 2011
slap1:

ahj harem. u no d tire o.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by ebam(m): 11:14am On Dec 28, 2011
Maybe we should start a Nairaland carnival, abi?
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by slap1(m): 11:36am On Dec 28, 2011
kcswat:

I'm not Alj Harem.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Wislet(f): 11:57am On Dec 28, 2011
ya.
Slap1 is right.
There was something like that in Imo state.
Pity i couldn't take pictures.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by dadicvila(m): 12:44pm On Dec 28, 2011
If Owerri people could call that Masquerade Parade a Carnival then dia is problem,it seems u Owerri guys havnt seen a real carnival cry cry
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by PAGAN9JA(m): 12:48pm On Dec 28, 2011
If you want carribean-style carnival, go to South America. We are not caribs.

it is like asking the british to do masquerades. tongue
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by tcurl(f): 1:10pm On Dec 28, 2011
we had Imo carnival
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by dadicvila(m): 1:17pm On Dec 28, 2011
I saw Pics of the Imo Carnival on FB,it look like a Scene from Pre Cambrian period,how do u people call dat a Carnival??who heard of it by the way? undecided undecided
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 1:34pm On Dec 28, 2011
kcswat:

slap1:

I'm not Alj Harem.

Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 1:55pm On Dec 28, 2011
slap1:

Are you for real? A real carnival with street party, no masquerades festival, no juju nonsense. Any links?
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 2:11pm On Dec 28, 2011
odiaero:

. No mind alj harem. Odiaero I guess u knw much about forex.hw profitable is forex tradin. A friend of mine invested 1.5mill naira in a forex tradin company that they will pay him 40percent in 6month. Is it a scam.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by sniperwolf(m): 2:19pm On Dec 28, 2011
Imo State had one before Christmas
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Afam4eva(m): 2:57pm On Dec 28, 2011
If you want a carribean-like carnival just go to the west indice. If a chinese carnival is your thing, the chinese embassy is still open. We shoyuld strive to promote the various festivals in our country instead of doing copy and paste.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by okstol: 3:05pm On Dec 28, 2011
Some peeps talk with their azzses. Imo state had their festival about a week ago. @Mbatuku, u asked a question and an answer was given to u but u started sounding like a broken record. Everything in life has its origin. Ph just stated theirs some two or three years ago. It gets better every year. Ndi ala!
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Okijajuju1(m): 3:54pm On Dec 28, 2011
~Bluetooth:

Okija shrine festival.just come with two human heads.

Shey if Okija no commot for your mouth, your post no go complete?! angry

@ Post

No!

Reason; The Eastern Governors are all under-performing mofos. From Rochas with his Chief comedian to Peter Obi who is yet to recover from the Ojukwu fever to Kalu in Abia state to the persona-non-grata in Ebonyi State.

If any Eastern State has what it takes to hold a carnival of Calabar standards right now, its Enugu State.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 4:43pm On Dec 28, 2011
kcswat:

. No mind alj harem. Odiaero I guess u knw much about forex.hw profitable is forex tradin. A friend of mine invested 1.5mill naira in a forex tradin company that they will pay him 40percent in 6month. Is it a scam.

Anyway, i dont know the company, but 40% with that deposit in 4 months is achievable
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by slap1(m): 5:32pm On Dec 28, 2011
mbatuku2:

Are you for real? A real carnival with street party, no masquerades festival, no juju nonsense. Any links?
We called what we did in Imo a carnival. If it doesn't fit your idea of one, set up your own Mbatuku2 Carnival and invite us, or you save money and go to Brazil, Puerto Rico or Ixtapa.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by ifyalways(f): 5:55pm On Dec 28, 2011
Na wao!

Must we copy every thing? Do the western worlds celebrate new yam festivals? @ op, what do carnivals represent, its origin and why must we have one?

If anyone is bored with Orisha, iwa ji and co festivals he/ she should jump on the next flight to the carib. Simple.
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Nobody: 7:12pm On Dec 28, 2011
The nottingham carnival in England is copied from the West Indies.

Are we allergic to change?
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Afam4eva(m): 7:47pm On Dec 28, 2011
We've had enough change to last a life time. We speak english, wear suits and evening gowns etc. Wha else do you want?
Re: Any Carnivals In South East Nigeria? by Rgp92: 7:49pm On Dec 28, 2011
mbatuku2:

The nottingham carnival in England is copied from the West Indies.

Are we allergic to change?

What change are you talking about? Tell please.

An Interview between Southern and Northern Nigerians / Why Cultural Tribalism Is Good / A Call For Alarm: The Fake History Of Ogba And Ekpeye People In Wikipedia