Stats: 3,150,704 members, 7,809,681 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 12:59 PM

How MTN Defrauds Nigerians Through Who Wants To Be A Millionaire - Nairaland / General - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / How MTN Defrauds Nigerians Through Who Wants To Be A Millionaire (7422 Views)

Nigeria's Version Of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire Game Application For PC / How Jumia Nigeria Defrauds Its Customers / Now You Can Become A Millionaire By Playing QUICKLOTTO. (2) (3) (4)

How MTN Defrauds Nigerians Through Who Wants To Be A Millionaire by timmy1999(m): 9:16am On May 29, 2012
Seun pls put this thread on the home page..nigerians need to hear this...

Who Wants To Be A Millionaire: How MTN Rips-Off Nigerians

In a newly released report, we learnt South African telecoms company, MTN Nigeria defrauds Nigerians of several billions of Naira yearly through its many scam promotions and poor services.

The most annoying part is how MTN defrauds thousands of innocent Nigerians through its TV-quiz game show tagged “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?”.

How MTN Defrauds Nigerians Through Who Wants To Be A Millionaire

While many innocent Nigerians believe that the company is doing a corporate social responsibility programme (CSR) by helping those they say deserve to be millionaires by bringing them on set and trying to make them play for ten million naira, a money believed by many comes out of MTN’s coffers.

But on the contrary, Nigerians themselves sponsor the show while the telecom giant carts away the profit, thus exploiting Nigerians.

MTN’s Profit From Who Wants To Be A Millionaire

Further investigation revealed that MTN Nigeria makes the following profit

N1.665 billion in a week

N6.660 billion each month

N79.920 billion yearly.

This is based on the conservative estimate that at least a quarter (8,325,000) of MTN’s 33.3 million subscribers send an SMS each (costing N200) to participate in the TV game show “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire”.

With the home-play version, using the same estimate, the firm makes N39.960 billion each year. With the combined figures (excluding proceeds from other promos), MTN Nigeria earns at least N119,880,000,000 in a year.Also,the home game that the viewers always played is another means of defrauding Nigerians of another billions of naira. Unknown to the viewers, the programme watch all over the country is not a live programme but a recorded one and the unsuspecting Nigerians always rush to be part of it for hundred naira per message for a recorded programme that is on air on different stations at different hour.

Where a contestant mounts the stage, he or she plays for N10 million and in most cases they don’t win completely. So where are the remaining billions if truly it is a charity programme?

Besides, MTN appears to be a corporate entity of rippers and scammers in the area of service delivery to its teeming clients. According to its users, the telecoms company charges exorbitantly for its bad internet services. A user who goes by the name Patrick Oparaocha explained a situation where he paid for MTN’s 24-hour internet service and gets cut off for five days without refunding the cash or sending an apology for the error. Our findings revealed that the story goes on and on with many Nigerians who have also complained about its expensive call tariffs which is far higher than other networks.

Two weeks ago, the network operator switched off its network in Lagos and its environs thereby giving its subscribers unbearably low quality service, and ripping off their monies.

Though the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) has promised to place serious sanction on the network provider, concerned Nigerians are compelling the agency to look into the fraudulent activities of the telecom company.

My people shine your eye well well oooooooo

Re: How MTN Defrauds Nigerians Through Who Wants To Be A Millionaire by amaba: 1:44pm On Jun 14, 2012
Thanks for you "detailed"information. By the way, some nigerians are benefitting from it. Keep ur statistics. I advise you focus more on the government of the day...

Re: How MTN Defrauds Nigerians Through Who Wants To Be A Millionaire by timmy1999(m): 8:49am On Jun 15, 2012
amaba: Thanks for you "detailed"information. By the way, some nigerians are benefitting from it. Keep ur statistics. I advise you focus more on the government of the day...

Are you serious..do u know how much they make from that programme..and not everybody wins too in a country of 140millions. U can see how dey defrauding us..- I never like mtn.dey came all d way from south africa to milk us and take our money back to their country
Re: How MTN Defrauds Nigerians Through Who Wants To Be A Millionaire by Haroseng: 8:19am On Sep 04, 2013
How do you mean when you say MTN is defrauding nigerians?...its a plain business strategy...instead of you to focus on what idea you can sell to the world...you are busy gathering useless statistics about a successfull entity...did MTN came to nigeria to do charity works?...who wants to be a millionaire isn't even an MTN stuff to start with...is an European franchise brought into the country by Ayeni(who is a nigerian)...the show is only hyped by MTN...produced by ENDEMOL and the profit is shared between the stakeholders.....people play "MONEY DROP" in the U.S....and that one is even worse than WWTBM...I never played any of them though but still...these 'guys' are just doing business here...

Re: How MTN Defrauds Nigerians Through Who Wants To Be A Millionaire by Cornel88(m): 9:49am On Sep 04, 2013
Lmao... Op no dey disturb urself abeg. Which day 'making huge profit' come mean 'defrauding'? Haba... Na business stratagy o... Next time, complain about their poor service and not the game, WWTBAM.

Re: How MTN Defrauds Nigerians Through Who Wants To Be A Millionaire by mycobacterium: 7:38pm On Dec 19, 2015
amaba:
Thanks for you "detailed"information. By the way, some nigerians are benefitting from it. Keep ur statistics. I advise you focus more on the government of the day...
U re sick ....stupid you..... You are one of those nigerians who would sell their future for stupidity
Re: How MTN Defrauds Nigerians Through Who Wants To Be A Millionaire by okwabayi(m): 9:57pm On Nov 05, 2018
Endemol broadcasts Big Brother. Nigerians: this show is immoral and does not pass educative ideas. We need a show which stimulates the minds of the citizens.
MTN broadcasts WWTBAM. Nigerians: this show is a ripoff. MTN makes billions off it and gives only peanuts as the main prize.
DSTV broadcasts numerous soccer leagues. Nigerians: ...

2014 Glo Free Browsing Magic Sim Settings / Eve And Svs Thread,keep Out / Opera Mini's Olist Is Stealing Jiji's Account Details