Stats: 3,153,017 members, 7,818,013 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 04:16 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (11493) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11676892 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (11490) (11491) (11492) (11493) (11494) (11495) (11496) ... (16152) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Napoleon55(m): 2:06pm On Oct 29, 2021
robosky02:

Balogun what?

Still very average. More like. "Calamity Balogun"

We haven't gotten defenders in the mold of

Taribo west, Celestine babayaro, etc
I have always said it,we no longer have defenders,
balogun and ekong did ok intially,but they r no longer trusted.
Even our wing backs r not trusted
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 2:14pm On Oct 29, 2021
Rangers have already contacted Rohr begging him to allow them have Balogun and Aribo for the old firm derby to be played on the 2nd or 3rd of January
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 2:27pm On Oct 29, 2021
nairalandankrah:
It's taiwo awoniyi vs Lewandowlski this weekend tongue

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3PBRat8f9M

Just love the way this dude is doing his thing quietly...no hype, no pressure.
see the kind deadly striker we have but rohr and pinnick are hell bent on bringing ighalo back

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chrisooblog: 2:31pm On Oct 29, 2021
Rohr is just lazy to do the work of coming up with a formation that brings out the best in our forwards.

Infact just change the name from Ighalo to any other ex-player and the statement will ring true.

jihday:
When asked why he’s trying to recall ighalo he said ‘we miss his leadership, we miss his experience, we miss his goals we have a lot young strikers and they could learn from him’.

The way this man is describing Ighalo I had to make sure he’s not talking about Luis Suarez. I think he doesn’t have faith in his present crop of strikers which is very bad

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TFLASHOGEE(m): 3:31pm On Oct 29, 2021
Rorh matter is like who the gods want to kill they will first make him run mad so I will just watch him use his own hand to kill him self like a powerful man with lot's of charms (players) and still you same charm(players) to kill him self grin grin grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Meliforme: 3:35pm On Oct 29, 2021
lyricaldaboss:

We are so poor defensively, thats why I chose 352. Flood the midfield, protect the back 3 and hit the opponents on counter. Unfortunately our lack of pace since the departure of Victor Moses is evident..
U can sub in Chukwueze and ejuke if chasing a goal.

Instead of trying to beg Victor Moses back our mumu coach wants to beg Ighalo.

Nice points though

Please can you explain what you meant when you said that our lack of pace since the departure of Victor Moses is evident,

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 3:36pm On Oct 29, 2021
well said sir!
Kog45:
I remember Keshi press conference with journalists before Cote d' voire match Afcon 2013...he said I have Mikel,Enyeama when people were saying can your team beat Cote d'Voire team with Drogba,Yaya Toure.

Rohr just need to improve on his press statement when meeting better team,well what can one say about a coach that is ready to call Ighalo back despite having two good strikers doing it very well every weeks in Europe top five leagues.

Initially the World always see Nigeria as a very arrogant team cos we don't give a damn even if you have Messi and Ronaldo combined in a team but now that confidence is no longer there...the team just need that mentality back.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 3:40pm On Oct 29, 2021
I have no issues with Ighalo coming in as an impact player especially at this qualification stages. But I think the player we really need is Victor Moses at least for another couple of years.

Kog45:
Sir it seems you are getting it wrongs.The issue is not about Ighalo benching Osimehn cos Ighalo of today cannot bench Osimehn and I want to say it without sentiment that level playing ground,Ighalo will find it tough to play ahead of Awoniyi,I might sound funny for saying this but that's my opinion.

Rohr is the coach and he said he want Ighalo back,no issue,everything stop at his desk as a coach.

Osimehn,Taiwo,Onuachu,Moffi and Ighalo,no lele,na the same eagles.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 3:49pm On Oct 29, 2021
I remember when Osimhen was getting invitation by virtue of special young player tag. Do you guys remember, during Rorh's early days with the team? I think Amoo can come in to train with the big boys. It won't hurt us.
joelsteron:

I personally believe there is a room for Amoo in terms of exposure and training with the big boys. I still feel he can Iwobi and Chukwueze's position perfectly.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by joelsteron: 3:53pm On Oct 29, 2021
Joebie:
I remember when Osimhen was getting invitation by virtue of special young player tag. Do you guys remember, during Rorh's early days with the team? I think Amoo can come in to train with the big boys. It won't hurt us.

Thank you . Is not young at all.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chrisooblog: 3:54pm On Oct 29, 2021
Exactly! we have wasted too many invitations on carpenters in the past to now bulk at giving a genuine talent like Amoo a chance.
Joebie:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TFLASHOGEE(m): 3:57pm On Oct 29, 2021
grin grin grin In case you want to laugh listen to mr Roth's interview because I don't see anything we miss here out of everything he mentioned

https://www.instagram.com/p/CVmyY7EtsHG/?utm_medium=copy_link
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by 2lola: 4:07pm On Oct 29, 2021
12large1:

Anyone that dribble is an attacking midfielder in you guys village? He is a right winger or support forward at best. Let him prove himself at a decent league and he will be invited

Some thing about national team is that sometimes you invite Exceptionally talented player inrespective of Age, League or experience, it gives time and exposure to better teams,
Cameroon did it with Eto
Rhor did it with Oshimen and Okoye
Germany with Adeyemi
Italy with Moise Keane,

To even think Amoo natural position is a place we lack depth in currently

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 4:11pm On Oct 29, 2021
So what's his excuse when we are meeting an underdog. We want to be humble? grin
zuchyblink:
Rohr loves to trick his opponents into underrating his team but I don't like that strategy

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by timay(m): 4:13pm On Oct 29, 2021
Joebie:

Rohr has lost his own way.

He has left the path that gave him success when he first came in 2016 and he's now chasing shadows with the NFF.

The Rohr of 2016/2017 would have invited Amoo even if it's to train with the senior players, like he did for Nwakali brothers and Osimhen, even when Osimhen had unstable club situation with Wolfsburg.

The Rohr we have now is different.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elunico: 4:37pm On Oct 29, 2021
12large1:
It is actually insulting to the likes osimehn and Ndidi when their national team coach downplays his players by saying, that they don’t have players in the mould of a Salah and mane. By voicing such derogatory comments, you’re disrespecting your own superstars “osimehn and Ndidi” and also motivating your direct opponents/Rival. Rohr is lucky that he is dealing with an incompetent FA because some of his comments are terminable offenses at bigger club. Can you imagine Barcelona coach saying that Barcelona don’t have a good squad as Real Madrid? For example, 1 v 1 Algeria didn’t had the strongest squad at the last ANC, but they won it despite Senegal and Ivory Coast having a stronger squad on paper. It was simply down to their coach motivation and believe. He was saying from the on set, that Algeria are aspiring to win the nations cup and look at what happened

This you?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 4:49pm On Oct 29, 2021
Joebie:
I have no issues with Ighalo coming in as an impact player especially at this qualification stages. But I think the player we really need is Victor Moses at least for another couple of years.

They will come for you at the sight if vicmo name on your comment grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elyte89: 5:10pm On Oct 29, 2021
andrewbaba44:

I need vicmo more dan Iggy in dis team...all d wingers wey we get na ote dem b most especially dt simon
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 5:26pm On Oct 29, 2021
Who even said Amoo can play AM

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by edi287: 5:30pm On Oct 29, 2021
Kog45:
Sir it seems you are getting it wrongs.The issue is not about Ighalo benching Osimehn cos Ighalo of today cannot bench Osimehn and I want to say it without sentiment that level playing ground,Ighalo will find it tough to play ahead of Awoniyi,I might sound funny for saying this but that's my opinion.

Rohr is the coach and he said he want Ighalo back,no issue,everything stop at his desk as a coach.

Osimehn,Taiwo,Onuachu,Moffi and Ighalo,no lele,na the same eagles.
Rohr is being ridiculous. Our problem is in the midfield. Why not go and bring Mikel back since he pines so much for experience?
We're okay upfront. There's no need to bring Ighalo back. Rohr and his scouts should be thinking of our midfield.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by edi287: 5:31pm On Oct 29, 2021
Subzero047:
I've been wondering the same thing bro. The few highlights I've seen of him suggests otherwise.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by 12large1: 5:39pm On Oct 29, 2021
Subzero047:

Some of them feel like any player that dribbles is an AM that’s why I asked them if they know the main duty of an AM
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elyte89: 5:41pm On Oct 29, 2021
edi287:

I've been wondering the same thing bro. The few highlights I've seen of him suggests otherwise.

Come shey na only me watch u-17 world cup ni...d guy played mostly as an amf na undecided
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 5:42pm On Oct 29, 2021
let them come! grin
andrewbaba44:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by CoolJulian: 5:49pm On Oct 29, 2021
forgiveness:

Which of our players is like Salah and Mane?

Some people here even claimed all our strikers are better than Ighalo and from what I deduced they believe those players have surpassed Ighalo’s achievements.

I couldn’t but shake my head and move on because I no wan waste my time arguing.

If we say Ighalo will block the chances of those strikers doing well currently, I can agree with that but don’t out to claim Ighalo was trash.

Which of them don play for big club like ManU?

Hahahaha... Forgiveness, dis wan na bomb o!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 5:52pm On Oct 29, 2021
Well since Europe and South America are not in support of a biennial World Cup, let's have an Afro-Asian (or the rest of the world) Cup every 2 years. grin Opportunity to try many players

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 5:59pm On Oct 29, 2021
When it gets to the next round of WC qualification players with more experience who are still active and performing can prove to be the difference. They may not be necessarily better than the current players in the team but they can bring that extra thing that may be crucial. After our qualification is sealed I do not think we need Ighalo. You guys should not forget that Rohr will not change overnight. As long as we have a coach like Rohr, we would need a little more individual brilliance in the team. Our WC qualification is far from being sealed. The next round will be very tricky.

Modified,

Don't expect Sadiq to come to the team tomorrow and make an immediate impact. They would need a little time to grow into the team. Awoniyi showed potential in that game against CAR but did not score. Moffi has not scored despite a couple runs in the team. That is what I am talking about. Ighalo can come tomorrow and make immediate impact. No stage freights, no pressures at all. For him, it is familiar terrain. We will have two legs after the group stage, and we would need players that can guarantee qualification. There will be no second chances.

Modified(2)
ADD VICTOR MOSES

Modified(3)
I would trade Musa for VicMo in a heartbeat. No sentiments, no disrespect to the former. Ahmed Musa remains an SE legend if you want to go by his exploits at the WC and more. But he can no longer give it. When a player cannot compete favorably with the new players, it already tells you his time is up.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 6:05pm On Oct 29, 2021
Subzero047:

Maybe after he plays 2 games they will change their mouth

Amoo is a young talent but wont start in my current eagles team, iwobi is far better than that guy for now
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 6:15pm On Oct 29, 2021
12large1:

Salah has 15 goals so far Osimehn has 9 and awoniyi 12. As a coach, you shouldn’t be downplaying your team

Rohr is wrong in downplaying our team sha
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TFLASHOGEE(m): 6:20pm On Oct 29, 2021
Joebie:
When it gets to the next round of WC qualification players with more experience who are still active and performing can prove to be the difference. They may not be necessarily better than the current players in the team but they can bring that extra thing that may be crucial. After our qualification is sealed I do not think we need Ighalo. You guys should not forget that Rohr will not change overnight. As long as we have a coach like Rohr, we would need a little more individual brilliance in the team. Our WC qualification is far from being sealed. The next round will be very tricky.

Modified,

Don't expect Sadiq to come to the team tomorrow and make an immediate impact. They would need a little time to grow into the team. Awoniyi showed potential in that game against CAR but did not score. Moffi has not scored despite a couple runs in the team. That is what I am talking about. Ighalo can come tomorrow and make immediate impact. No stage freights, no pressures at all. For him, it is familiar terrain. We will have two legs after the group stage, and we would need players that can guarantee qualification. There will be no second chances.

Modified(2)
ADD VICTOR MOSES

Modified(3)
I would trade Musa for VicMo in a heartbeat. No sentiments, no disrespect to the former. Ahmed Musa remains an SE legend if you want to go by his exploits at the WC and more. But he can no longer give it. When a player cannot compete favorably with the new players, it already tells you his time is up.
God bless you for this some people on here don't know that it takes a while for young talent's or rookies to hit the ground running in the national team as it is different from club football, check out this screenshot below just because of one miss chance and am sure the person will clamour for more young players into the team but one mistake on match day you will see their true colours on here grin grin grin

1 Share

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by edi287: 6:20pm On Oct 29, 2021
elyte89:

Come shey na only me watch u-17 world cup ni...d guy played mostly as an amf na undecided
I no watch the U17 WC sha.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 6:23pm On Oct 29, 2021
TFLASHOGEE:
God bless you for this some people on here don't know that it takes a while for young talent's or rookies to hit the ground running in the national team as it is different from club football, check out this screenshot below just because of one miss chance and am sure the person will clamour for more young players into the team but one mistake on match day you will see their true colours on here grin grin grin

Look at what this guy is saying , awoniyi should not be called to the eagles again because he missed a chance or what ?

See people wey i dey follow argue ball

Beer parlour grin

If amoo manages to be invited and he had a bad game and the beer parlour people here comes for him, i will surely be here to defend him

(1) (2) (3) ... (11490) (11491) (11492) (11493) (11494) (11495) (11496) ... (16152) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Christology(m) and 21 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58