Stats: 3,153,152 members, 7,818,482 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 05:00 PM

The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) (31471 Views)

10 Questions To Ask Yourself Before Tweeting To A Hashtag / Meaning Of LOL, LMAO, LMDAO And BTW / Full Meaning Of Some Common Slang's Use In Chatting (2) (3) (4)

The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by Nobody: 10:31pm On Dec 04, 2014
What is the meaning/importance of hashtag(#). E.g #bringbackourgirls e.t.c. A hashtag is a word or an unspaced phrase prefixed with the hash character, #, to form a label. It is a type of metadata tag. Words or phrases in messages on microblogging and social networking services such as Facebook, Google+, Instagram, Twitter, or VKmay be tagged by entering # before them, [ 1 ]either as they appear in a sentence, e.g., "New artists announced for #SXSW2014 Music Festival" [ 2 ]or appended to it. The term hashtag can also refer to the hash symbol itself when used in the context of a hashtag. [ 3 ]
A hashtag allows grouping of similarly tagged messages, and also allows an electronic search to return all messages that contain it.
Because of its widespread use, the word, hashtag, was added to the Oxford English Dictionary in June 2014. To search any related topics on facebook or twitter you can just enter #topics and click search. Know how you use the hashtag!

30 Likes 5 Shares

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by REB3L(m): 10:48pm On Dec 04, 2014
that awkward moment when the op creates a topic and has 254 views and no single comment. grin grin grin
op to move your ministry forward take.
#mycharitycomment

MODIFIED.
on behalf on Nairaland and garri warriors,end time things and students of France,I hereby proclaim #mycharitycomment to be the next trending thing grin grin grin

78 Likes 5 Shares

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by osamaBUSH(m): 11:15am On Dec 05, 2014
@op weldone #charitycomment

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by Joskiro50: 12:39pm On Dec 05, 2014
Op make I just move ur ministry small. #ANOTHERCHARITYCOMMENT grin grin grin

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by dreydee(m): 2:34pm On Dec 05, 2014
To add to your ministry on HashTag importance, I donate Nairaland on behalf of my Comment

#AnotherCharityComment grin

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by REB3L(m): 2:46pm On Dec 05, 2014
me self make I kuku ma join and add another charity comment.
#Nairaland grin grin grin

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by DeHero1: 2:51pm On Dec 05, 2014
#eeyah

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by Ayotricks(m): 3:00pm On Dec 05, 2014
hehehe... make I just join my bros dem above me #charitycomment

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by Oluwatosean(m): 3:32pm On Dec 05, 2014
Lol #ACC

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by akashi01(m): 3:35pm On Dec 05, 2014
#teammoveministry

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by braintext(m): 4:46pm On Dec 05, 2014
#Nairaland

My space booking wasn't in vian....
I think the # really works

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by nwaobitex: 5:42pm On Dec 05, 2014
pls wats d meaning of hashtag
btw this is #anothercharitycomment

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by Nobody: 5:53pm On Dec 05, 2014
#lemmeJustComment

yes, I made it today.... FP tinz
I dedicate this moment of joy to all members of Nairaland who saw and ignored this thread thinking it will not make the FP... and to those who can't wait any longer, never say never. you will surely get there.....

#EvenThoseWhoAreSchoolingInFranceHaveSeen/ReadThisComment

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by nwimo22(m): 6:32pm On Dec 05, 2014
#Is that what you mean?
Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by motherlode: 7:32pm On Dec 05, 2014
#WDYM

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by akinsadeez(m): 7:51pm On Dec 05, 2014
Honestly I no wan comment before, but as people don donate comment, make I join move ur ministry to permanent site.

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by benuejosh: 7:55pm On Dec 05, 2014
#OPStopLying
Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by lilmax(m): 8:29pm On Dec 05, 2014
# grin
Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by Collinz2(m): 8:33pm On Dec 05, 2014
#Lol
Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by Varagous(f): 8:43pm On Dec 05, 2014
yah.. with it widespread usage, it realy had to be included in d dictionary.

on a lighter note,@ op, mark d charity donators and revenge. after all, one gud turn deserves another.

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by Hollyb(f): 8:47pm On Dec 05, 2014
lwkmd @ all d posters before me

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by Elparaiso(m): 8:52pm On Dec 05, 2014
On behalf of 700 hashtags I donate my family...
#CharityNowBeginsAtNairaland!
#ACC

13 Likes

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by saqo(m): 8:52pm On Dec 05, 2014
#TeamCharityComment

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by johndwayy(m): 9:30pm On Dec 05, 2014
# grin grin grin

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by DBlackCeazer(m): 9:32pm On Dec 05, 2014
i no even understand one thing,u just use big big words dey explain something thats already complicated.

30 Likes 1 Share

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by DBlackCeazer(m): 9:39pm On Dec 05, 2014
here is a better explanation
If you have been on Twitter, you may have seen a "hashtag." To
put it simply, a hash tag is simply a way for people to search
for tweets that have a common topic and to begin a
conversation. For example, if you search on #LOST (or #Lost or
#lost, because it's not case-sensitive), you'll get a list of
tweets related to the TV show. What you won't get are tweets
that say "I lost my wallet yesterday" because "lost" isn't
preceded by the hash tag.
Hashtags believed to have originated on Twitter but,
interestingly enough, it is not a Twitter function. Some believe it
began when the broken plane luckily landed in the Hudson River
in early 2009, some Twitter user wrote a post and added
#flight1549 to it. I have no idea who this person was, but
somebody else would have read it and when he posted
something about the incident, added #flight1549 to HIS tweet.
For something like this, where tweets would have been flying
fast and furiously, it wouldn't have taken long for this hash tag
to go viral and suddenly thousands of people posting about it
would have added it to their tweets as well. Then, if you wanted
info on the situation, you could do a search on "#flight1549"
and see everything that people had written about it.
Take this ashtag for example: #worstjobeverhad. This Hash tag
would compel many others to share the worst jobs they've ever
had, thus contributing to a fun conversation. It can be used for
specific searches or individual twitters that begin them for their
followers.

40 Likes 3 Shares

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by wheesin(m): 9:39pm On Dec 05, 2014
REB3L:
that awkward moment when the op creates a topic and has 254 views and no single comment. grin grin grin

dude u are wiked.. grin nwanne e di too bad

Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by mencade4: 9:54pm On Dec 05, 2014
naira
Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by Innodon(m): 9:54pm On Dec 05, 2014
honestly dunno
Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by iheanyi40(m): 9:54pm On Dec 05, 2014
Re: The Meaning/importance Of Hashtag(#) by lexdino: 9:55pm On Dec 05, 2014
#.

Unboxing Apple's new N450,000 10.5-inch Device. / Mtn Happy Hour Data Plus How It Works / 5 Simple Mistakes We Make Daily While Communicating On Phone

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 18