Stats: 3,164,129 members, 7,856,508 topics. Date: Monday, 10 June 2024 at 09:15 PM

Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) (2243) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 (10713606 Views)

Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Pride Of London / Offical Bayern Munich Fan Thread: 6x Champions Of Europe / Manchester United Fan thread: Forever Reds (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2240) (2241) (2242) (2243) (2244) (2245) (2246) ... (19377) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by sinizia: 11:37pm On Oct 19, 2016
chic2pimp:

That's the point I have been making all day. Doesn't necessarily has to be 'park the bus'. Pep is a genius as far as the beautiful game is concerned. He just needs to add that to his repertoire.

I feel he's rigid though. Like he feels locking up shop in some scenarios or using a closely knitted formation at some stages in a match is a curse. He'd know that defensive football is also a tactic. A bit of it is not bad especially against tactically superior opponents.

Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by Diademk07: 11:37pm On Oct 19, 2016
donjazet:
You definitely don't know what you are saying!! Drogba was purely mourinho's signing.

Ok. But others weren't his signings, right?
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by donjazet(m): 11:42pm On Oct 19, 2016
Diademk07:

Let's agree that he signed Drogba even though Raineri put the plan in place, there's no way he woulda refused to play Abramovich signings which were Cech and Robben. Also, Cech just had a wonderful euro performance and was part of the euro team of the tourny.. Terry was already part of the team..

It was a very huge call dropping the former keeper for Cech. What about carvahlo, essien, Damian duff(spell check), makalele?.

I don't know what you're trying to say but there is no doubt the squad that won the league in 2005 was purely in mourinho's image.

Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by donjazet(m): 11:45pm On Oct 19, 2016
Ibime:

Stop exagerrating. Jose spent £275m in his first spell, some of that on Sheva who Roman signed. That same team carried us 10 years..

How many top managers in the 90s stayed at the top a decade later? Football changes and rivals adapt tactics so any manager that can win for 13 years at the top is a great manager. Even the Pep Guardiola whose been going for 8 years is planning retirement in 5 years because no be beans to stay energetic with fresh ideas for that long.

So I have news for you. Jose has already stood the test of time. You've been writing the same obituary for him since 2007, yet he has won numerous titles since then, including a 2nd UCL. Quit it!
You for use pictures dey spice am up small grin

Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by Diademk07: 11:46pm On Oct 19, 2016
donjazet:

It was a very huge call dropping the former keeper for Cech. What about carvahlo, essien, Damian duff(spell check), makalele?.

I don't know what you're trying to say but there is no doubt the squad that won the league in 2005 was purely in mourinho's image.

Nope! Makele, duff were signed by Raineri..

Essien and Carvalho were obviously signed by Jose..
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by sinizia: 11:47pm On Oct 19, 2016
I understand why you guys are hard on Pep. His lack of defensive acumen in some certain aspect of football. I agree that he'd work on that, but I feel Pep is a great tactician coz he's someone thats not in for a short term success but a long term one. He's not about just winning for the moment, he's about laying a solid foundation for future success.

He brings his own ideologies, tactics and plans aimed at changing the entire thought and playing process of a club. If such tactics succeed, he ends up revolutionizing the club's style of football. He wants to leave his mark on a club even while he's long gone. That's why he's wanted so much. The three most successful club in recent times, Barca, Madrid and Bayern are well rooted in attacking football. It's not a coincidence, and that's what he wants to impact on City. He might pull it off.

Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by weedtaker: 11:54pm On Oct 19, 2016
oga sinizia how is pep a great tactician?

e be lyk say some people don forget say tactics and identity no mean de same thing.
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by donjazet(m): 11:58pm On Oct 19, 2016
sinizia:
I understand why you guys are hard on Pep. His lack of defensive acumen in some certain aspect of football. I agree that he'd work on that, but I feel Pep is a great tactician coz he's someone thats not in for a short term success but a long term one. He's not about just winning for the moment, he's about laying a solid foundation for future success.

He brings his own ideologies, tactics and plans aimed at changing the entire thought and playing process of a club. If such tactics succeed, he ends up revolutionizing the club's style of football. He wants to leave his mark on a club even while he's long gone. That's why he's wanted so much. The three most successful club in recent times, Barca, Madrid and Bayern are well rooted in attacking football. It's not a coincidence, and that's what he wants to impact on City. He might pull it off.

Lots of credits still go to jupp henykens(spell check) and van gal for the modern Bayern success. Pep is not really rated in Germany, many fans still feel he underachieved there. There simply wasn't any higher difference from what was earlier done there.
Records weren't really set.
He doesn't have the highest goal scored/least goal conceded or consecutive league wins. Stuff like that! He couldn't even go unbeaten at home for even a season. What jose did for nine years. Pep might be good but he hasn't really been tested.
Now is the time!! We would know his full abilities. Today, he has just failed his first big test. If care is not taken in that group., borussia moncheglabach might even come 2nd.

Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by sinizia: 12:00am On Oct 20, 2016
weedtaker:
oga sinizia how is pep a great tactician?

e be lyk say some people don forget say tactics and identity no mean de same thing.

His titles, his brand of football makes him a great tactician. If he's a poor tactician, most clubs won't be scrambling for his signature. United, Chelsea, PSG, etc were all chasing him. A poor tactician cannot command such respect
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by raumdeuter: 12:00am On Oct 20, 2016
sinizia:

Attacking football and possesion football is more desirable to people than defensive football. Its why every club and team wanted to play like Pep's Barcelona even CHelsea owner wants an attacking team.

Benitez one advocate of defensive football is in division 2, DiMatteo another one has been sacked in division 2, Mourinho was sacked last season

While all the coaches people are hailing now are attacking coaches even the younger ones Pochettino, Tuchel etc look up to Peps style, Pray tell how many coaches come out to say they want to play bunker ball get 40% possession like Mourinho, Benitez Pulis have patented

Mourinho won his treble after Pep yet people are still making reference to Peps team. Bayern City every top club want Pep. Wenger said once Pep declares he is available, every coaches job became uncertain, whereas the bunker coach is being asked to write an affidavit to get a job

Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by raumdeuter: 12:01am On Oct 20, 2016
donjazet:

Lots of credits still go to jupp henykens(spell check) and van gasp for the modern Bayern success. Pep is not really rated in Germany, many fans still feel he underachieved there. There simply wasn't any higher difference from what was earlier done there.
He doesn't have the highest goal scored/least goal conceded or consecutive league wins. Stuff like that! He couldn't even go unbeaten at home for even a season. What jose did for nine years. Pep might be good but he hasn't really been tested.
Now is the time!! We would know his full abilities. Today, he has just failed his first big test. If care is not taken in that group., borussia moncheglabach might even come 2nd.

Yet Bayern management would do anything to resign him on another contract.

other bundesliga teams are happy Pep is gone
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by donjazet(m): 12:03am On Oct 20, 2016
sinizia:

His titles, his brand of football makes him a great tactician. If he's a poor tactician, most clubs won't be scrambling for his signature. United, Chelsea, PSG, etc were all chasing him. A poor tactician cannot command such respect
He hasn't been adequately tested. That's a fact.
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by sinizia: 12:05am On Oct 20, 2016
donjazet:

Lots of credits still go to jupp henykens(spell check) and van gasp for the modern Bayern success. Pep is not really rated in Germany, many fans still feel he underachieved there. There simply wasn't any higher difference from what was earlier done there.

I hope you know Jupp didn't revolutionize Bayern alone? It's a gradual process, even Van Gaal played a part, ask Raumdeuter. That's what I'm trying to say, that attacking system has been embedded in Bayern's DNA by years of attacking tactics. That's what Pep is trying to bring to City. Yes, he hasn't been really tested that much, but let's see what he does in his tenure at City. He might put it off.

I hope he fails though, coz I'm scared of what he might do to my team if he succeeds. grin
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by sinizia: 12:07am On Oct 20, 2016
donjazet:

He hasn't been adequately tested. That's a fact.

Let's wait till his tenure is over to judge him. I feel it's too early to call him a fraud. He's not doing bad at all, we all knew he won't win last night.
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by SIRcumalot: 12:09am On Oct 20, 2016
raumdeuter:

Attacking football and possesion football is more desirable to people than defensive football. Its why every club and team wanted to play like Pep's Barcelona even CHelsea owner wants an attacking team.

Benitez one advocate of defensive football is in division 2, DiMatteo another one has been sacked in division 2, Mourinho was sacked last season

While all the coaches people are hailing now are attacking coaches even the younger ones Pochettino, Tuchel etc look up to Peps style, Pray tell how many coaches come out to say they want to play bunker ball get 40% possession like Mourinho, Benitez Pulis have patented

Mourinho won his treble after Pep yet people are still making reference to Peps team. Bayern City every top club want Pep. Wenger said once Pep declares he is available, every coaches job became uncertain, whereas the bunker coach is being asked to write an affidavit to get a job
Simeone nko?
Is he not a well sort after manager ?
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by donjazet(m): 12:09am On Oct 20, 2016
raumdeuter:

Yet Bayern management would do anything to resign him on another contract.

That's highly debatable! Considering the way he left. He left on acrimonious terms!
The last few months were very hectic for him with the press constantly bombarding him with questions about his future. The focus left the field of play, he walked out a few times from press conferences. There is no doubt that pep is a coach in demand but many people believe he hasn't been adequately tested.
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by raumdeuter: 12:12am On Oct 20, 2016
donjazet:

That's highly debatable! Considering the way he left. He left on acrimonious terms!
The last few months were very hectic for him with the press constantly bombarding him with questions about his future. The focus left the field of play, he walked out a few times from press conferences. There is no doubt that pep is a coach in demand but many people believe he hasn't been adequately tested.

What is highly debatable about it

Its a well known fact that Bayern management did everything to persuade Pep to stay the media were simply looking for stories to write, Is the same media not on Ancelottis neck right now?

The people that matter are Bayern management and they love Pep they will have him back if he ever decides to come back
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by raumdeuter: 12:14am On Oct 20, 2016
SIRcumalot:
Simeone nko?
Is he not a well sort after manager ?

Playing like Simeone is sweet when you are a serious underdog like Atletico is vs Barca and Madrid

Madrid, Bayern Barca City other top clubs wont accept Simeones type of football never
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by sinizia: 12:14am On Oct 20, 2016
raumdeuter:

I think everyone can choose which tactics best suit him. As for me, I fell in love with United seeing their breath-taking football attack, so I choose attack over defense. The only team that makes defence look sexy to me is Atletico. Attack wins you more titles and accolades than defense after all attack they say, is the best way to defend.

I think my only major problem with Pep is not knowing when to defend. A bit defending when a man down is not bad at all.
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by sinizia: 12:16am On Oct 20, 2016
donjazet:

No o. It's not debatable. Bayern never wanted to let Pep go. They fought hard to keep him.
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by donjazet(m): 12:18am On Oct 20, 2016
raumdeuter:

What is highly debatable about it

Its a well known fact that Bayern management did everything to persuade Pep to stay the media were simply looking for stories to write, Is the same media not on Ancelottis neck right now?

The people that matter are Bayern management and they love Pep they will have him back if he ever decides to come back
Very wrong!! The people that matter are the fans and can you boldly say, most Bayern fans revere/adore pep?. To the best of my knowledge after the consecutive deep anal rapings in 3 consecutive semis, some fans felt enough was enough. Henkenys work had been betrayed!!
Dayo can you boldly/honestly say many Bayern fans wish for peps reunion??
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by raumdeuter: 12:19am On Oct 20, 2016
sinizia:

I think everyone can choose which tactics best suit him. As for me, I fell in love with United seeing their breath-taking football attack, so I choose attack over defense. The only team that makes defence look sexy to me is Atletico. Attack wins you more titles and accolades than defense after all attack they say, is the best way to defend.

I think my only major problem with Pep is not knowing when to defend. A bit defending when a man down is not bad at all.

Everyone loves an underdog thats why Simeone is popular.

Atletico is only sexy because most of their top opponents are significantly richer have more talents and they arent even close, Check Deloitte money league and see where Atletico is, Thats why people think Simeone is doing wonders with a relatively small budget/team

if Simeone is given Barca/Madrid type money and he plays that type of football see what will happen. I think he is being startegic by staying in Atletico for now

Let Simeone go to a big club and the onus is on him to win and win attacking then lets see how he copes

Are you wondering why top clubs even the type of Tottenham or Everton are not hiring Tony Pulis rather going for attacking coaches like Pochetinno Koeman AVB and Roberto Martinez

Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by raumdeuter: 12:22am On Oct 20, 2016
donjazet:
Very wrong!! The people that matter are the fans and can you boldly say, most Bayern fans revere/adore pep?. To the best of my knowledge after the consecutive deep anal rapings in 3 consecutive semis, some fans felt enough was enough. Henkenys work had been betrayed!!
Dayo can you boldly/honestly say many Bayern fans wish for peps reunion??

In the last 2 weeks some Bayern fans are already wishing for the years of Pep as we are not as dominant as we used to be. Bayern management decide who becomes the coach and they all trust and wish Pep would have extended

Many Bundesliga teams are happy that Pep is gone that at they now have a chance, if Dortmund had been up to par, Bayern might not be on top of the league now
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by donjazet(m): 12:27am On Oct 20, 2016
raumdeuter:

In the last 2 weeks some Bayern fans are already wishing for the years of Pep as we are not as dominant as we used to be. Bayern management decide who becomes the coach and they all trust and wish Pep would have extended
Many Bundesliga teams are happy that Pep is gone that at they now have a chance, if Dortmund had been up to par, Bayern might not be on top of the league now

Well if you say so. Fine. But pep is still untested.
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by sinizia: 12:33am On Oct 20, 2016
raumdeuter:

Everyone loves an underdog thats why Simeone is popular.

Atletico is only sexy because most of their top opponents are significantly richer have more talents and they arent even close, Check Deloitte money league and see where Atletico is, Thats why people think Simeone is doing wonders with a relatively small budget/team

if Simeone is given Barca/Madrid type money and he plays that type of football see what will happen. I think he is being startegic by staying in Atletico for now

Let Simeone go to a big club and the onus is on him to win and win attacking then lets see how he copes

Are you wondering why top clubs even the type of Tottenham or Everton are not hiring Tony Pulis rather going for attacking coaches like Pochetinno Koeman AVB and Roberto Martinez

You've a point. I support Atletico as the underdog to break Barca and Madrid dominance. If they were in the same rich league as Madrid and Co, I probably would've wanted another underdog to spring up. I used to support Dani Alvez and Kanoute's Sevilla back then too before Alvez left and they became weak. But Atletico are a good side irrespective of the underdog tag. Having less money and staying competitive yet deserves commendation.

Night bros. Make man crash small. Time don pass.
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by raumdeuter: 12:38am On Oct 20, 2016
sinizia:

You've a point. I support Atletico as the underdog to break Barca and Madrid dominance. If they were in the same rich league as Madrid and Co, I probably would've wanted another underdog to spring up. I used to support Dani Alvez and Kanoute's Sevilla back then too before Alvez left and they became weak. But Atletico are a good side irrespective of the underdog tag. Having less money and staying competitive yet deserves commendation.

Night bros. Make man crash small. Time don pass.

Always nice debating you, You should consider being a Bayern fan
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by tess1(m): 12:44am On Oct 20, 2016
donjazet:

Well if you say so. Fine. But pep is still untested.

People are really not addressing the real issue. They are really trying very hard to justify Pep's tactical blunder in tonight's game. If it were JM that did what pep did tonight, they would've spammed this section with story that he went to park the bus.

Pep went to Camp Nou to face a Barca team that has one of the best front three in football and didn't deem it fit to play a recognize striker or his best striker. A place he knows that chances will be hard to come by for that matter. To me, that's a tactical blunder. And nobody is really saying anything about that!

I'm quite sure that if he had started Aguero who is one of the best striker in the world today, some of the chances they created would've been converted.

KDB that he used as a false 9 was crossing the ball out for an invisible striker. He gave Man City no chance right from the beginning of the match.

Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by Greatihex(m): 12:52am On Oct 20, 2016
raumdeuter:

He is really getting that result thats why he is currently 5th in the table and Pep first. Remember both started on 0 points the same day
okay nah. The end justifies the means.
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by Greatihex(m): 12:53am On Oct 20, 2016
Nihilist:

Once you're a goal and a man down against Barca, it's practically over.

And Pep cannot be expected to account for the utter stewpidty of Bravo when formulating his tactics.

I say go to the Barca thread and see where Barca fans were openly musing if they had a midfield during the match.

Bravo killed city today, aided and abetted by John Stones
don't forget what Chelsea did in 2012. Just wanted to remind you. Nothing else.
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by A40(m): 1:11am On Oct 20, 2016
nateevs:

Perhaps if he thinks like that, Barcelona won't be what they are now. That idea has carried them through almost a decade now.

What's to say he cannot re-create it?

If he can, then it begins with an absolute conviction in a philosophy. You don't park the bus no matter what. You pass the ball.

Once you understand this, you know the loss means nothing in the course of history.

Baba this is easy to do when you have Eto'o Messi and Henry with Iniesta and Xavi conducting the orchestra. You don't carry that pattern with a team you just started managing less than 3 months. Just look at Bravo, what silly stunt was he trying to pull there?

His last two results at the Nou Camp are 0-7. Atleti packed bus and scored twice. Playing 1-1 and 2-1, and its not even about packing bus but just showing some defensive nous and organization when faced with a team with equal or superior firepower.

Combined 360minutes at Bernabeu, Calderon, Nou Camp. 0 goals scored 9 conceded. I defend Pep on a good day but he shouldn't be getting crushed that badly with our squad and City's

Infact what these numbers show is that he is neither attacking nor defending. Just losing

11 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by A40(m): 1:19am On Oct 20, 2016
nateevs:

Bros.Bros Abeg. Na that match I dey find for YouTube make I post for here make them see. People with short memories.

Parking the bus doesn't get you the hammer but Jose got 5-0.

To be fair Madrid didn't park the bus that day. They actually came out to play. It was on subsequent meetings they started doing so
Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 by Greatihex(m): 1:20am On Oct 20, 2016
I said it here that pep will put bravo in trouble with this his pass-the-ball madness; now it has happened.

(1) (2) (3) ... (2240) (2241) (2242) (2243) (2244) (2245) (2246) ... (19377) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Kimbeast, raumdeuter and 2 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 80