Stats: 3,162,048 members, 7,849,236 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 04:56 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (2150) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11854968 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2147) (2148) (2149) (2150) (2151) (2152) (2153) ... (16247) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 10:11pm On Nov 16, 2017
Icon4s:

That is why we need that AFCON qualifiers game against Seychelles. We start Ebuehi and Idowu and they are capped for life.

After that Seychelles game there is no other full international debut opportunity before the world cup.

Pinnick should go and withdraw that his proposal to CAF.
Is there any news about these guys wanting to switch nationality or you're just being afraid of the possibility?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:12pm On Nov 16, 2017
BascoVanVeli:

After watching the match again I don't think we were that poor. The boys really were unlucky to go 2 goals down because I don't see anything special in what Argentina played. I am not sure that the second goal wasn't offside in the build up and Akpeyi's really was a freak accident.
When I rewatched the match I realised that tension puts an entirely different color on things. Actually prior to that goal Argentina did nothing order than knock the ball around. The goal gave them the illusion of effectiveness. But in second half we came on strong. The commentator said 5 shots on target, 3 goals(that was before iwobi's last goal) and said we are very accurate. Meanwhile Argentina were still knocking the ball around.
I like the way Argentina presses sha although it made us take them apart with our counters.
One should be wary how he takes match analysis here during and shortly after a match. It's mostly tinged with emotion

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:12pm On Nov 16, 2017
Mujtahida:

This is either sophistry on your path or your misconceptions or we are using the same words to talk about different things because for me set up means tactical formation while personel means the players. Both the personel and the tactical formation must match if a coach's strategy must pay off. So Please how can the bolded be done because what I see is just words flying around.

It's simple Bro. Rohr simply brought in Ebuehi and Idowu and that changed the game. The set up, the formation remained the same. The approach in terms of formation and tactics remained the same whether conservative or radical. Rather perhaps you mean to say he removed the 'Conservative' Shehu and Aina and brought in the 'offensive' Ebuehi and Idowu.

If you play Sanchez as a top striker in a particular formation and play Giroud as top in the same formation, the game play will be different. That is how personnel affects the play. Set-up is not restricted to just formation alone. You can set-up the team to play in a different manner through personnel changes.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 10:17pm On Nov 16, 2017
Mujtahida:

Na we been dey cry say Rohr dey 'conservative' oo.(I know you didn't sha)
Lol.. nice post
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:17pm On Nov 16, 2017
We were not poor in the first half but conservative. Argentina worked well in the best part f that first half. Pressing fine when they lost the ball to retrieve the ball back in a short time.

They also made it difficult for us to keep the ball. Their build-up plays was also well crafted. It more of had to do with how well the Argentines played than how poor we played.

In a more offensive set-up, they could not stand our force.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:17pm On Nov 16, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

You must not change formation to change the team's set-up. I have already explained to you that you can play the same formation with a different set-up through change in personnel.

The point is too clear.
What is formation what is set up? Are they not the same thing biko? It's just like saying you must not change the system to change the team's method. It's tautology Bro. Unless you have your own special definition of the words 'set up' and 'formation' because to me they are the same.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 10:18pm On Nov 16, 2017
Humility017:
can't we play afcon qualifiers and friendly match same week in Match... at least play one on Friday the other on Tuesday....?
Gud Idea
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:22pm On Nov 16, 2017
Mujtahida:

What is formation what is set up? Are they not the same thing biko? It's just like saying you must not change the system to change the team's method. It's tautology Bro. Unless you have your own special definition of the words 'set up' and 'formation' because to me they are the same.

Set-up and formation is not the same thing. You can set up the team with an offensive formation. Meaning you have more offensive players in the build. A good example is a 3-3-4 attacking formation. You can play a 4-4-2 formation and have the team set-up to play offensively or defensively.

A 4-3-3 formation with a defender like Ramos in dmf and two DMFs in the CMF positions will make the formation negative.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 10:22pm On Nov 16, 2017
Chrismario:

This Sone Aluko, Is he messi?
He has been playing in below par league all his life save for one or two seasons in EPL. If he is so good, he would be in mid table team.

Even if he chosed England, there's higher possibility that he would remain capless till today.
" Some Aluko is he Messi?" you made me laugh hard there. And I concur with you on the matter
If he's that good..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrew444(m): 10:24pm On Nov 16, 2017
MetalJigsaw:
I know but as far as FIfA is concerned, there is nothing like Central America because there are only two WC qualifying outlet in America: CONCACAF and CONMEBOL so both Peru and Costarica probably qualified from the same outlet so they can't be in the same group unless one from CONCACAF and the other from CONMEBOL, that North and South America. understand

Peru and Costa Rica did not qualify from the same outlet,Peru is from South America which include Brazil and co then Costa Rica is from North America which include Mexico USA and co,and mind you last FIFA World Cup,Uruguay and Costa Rica was at the same group so please check your fact, thank you
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:27pm On Nov 16, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

That is not an assumption. It is more of a suggestion. They should know it is easier to get reached when they declare.

Gerrit?
You are talking from your perspective as a naija born but you've not considered their own side, their own fears and inhibitions as people who are outside the bounds of our culture . You want to manage your fears and shield your ego, while pushing them to face theirs so as to make it easy for you. Joebie calls it lazy. I'd call it cowardly.

We have suggested a better way : let both parties meet and talk. This way everybody's fear-the FB fear of stepping into the unknown waters of a culture he's not familiar with and the NFF' s fear of public rejection and disgrace is well managed and the risks for all minimised.
Is it still difficult to understand?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 10:28pm On Nov 16, 2017
somehow:
He should move back to Russia, there are top teams there he can play for. I for one don't like he EPL, kills creativity except you find yourself in man city or arsenal not to talk of the championship

I cannot completely disagree with you but things have and are changing quite a lot.

You have to look yourself as a player and critically evaluate your strengths and weaknesses. The reason why Leicester was always going to.be hard fit for KC. Then choose a club that complements your attributes not just consider the money.

In the EPL there are mostly footballing sides and effective delivery outweighs entertainment football and playing for the gallery. De Bruyne doesn't do unnecessary rainbow flicks, drag backs, step overs and cruyff turns to please the crowd. But he is considered one of the best midfielders in the EPL as it stands now, with the highest number of assists Some of these unnecessary skills and show boating slow the team down.

So in the EPL since the demise of Stoke under Pulis you will not find kick and rush teams anymore. Speed intension effective delivery with end product has become more pronounced. It's not flair football but very effective and intense. Skill is used for competitive advantage not just entertainment for the gallery.

The championship has a lot of kick and rush teams. However a lot of them will play good quality in the deck football. Fulham. Hull, Reading, Derby. Wolves Middlesbrough to name a few will play on the deck.

League 1 you will find Charlton Athletic, MK Dons, Peterborough and a very few other play good technical on the go football.

It's a different set of skill sets required to dominate in the EPL and Championship. Where skill has to be merged vwith physical resilience, speed and intensity
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:31pm On Nov 16, 2017
terzurum5:

Collin (not Collins) Udoh
Colin not Collins

But I wonder why he'd bear the name and not go with the popular spelling.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:33pm On Nov 16, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

For a start, Balogun declared. I knew we stood a big chance with Aina when he sent kits home and tagged the picture with sending it to his fatherland. We can not reach out to everyone or make a catalogue of those to visit and enquire. The easiest way is to declare.
Lazy way is to declare.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:34pm On Nov 16, 2017
Mujtahida:

You are talking from your perspective as a naija born but you've not considered their own side, their own fears and inhibitions. You want to manage your fears and shield your ego, while pushing them to face theirs so as to make it easy for you. Joebie calls it lazy. I'd call it cowardly.

We have suggested a better way : let both parties meet and talk. This way everybody's fear-the FB fear of stepping into the unknown waters of a culture he's not familiar with and the NFF' s fear of public rejection and disgrace is well managed and the risks for all minimised.

You can do what you want. My own is do not make Mikel Obi or Rohr asking a player when he is willing to wear our Jersey the same as some I do not feel Nigerian players. It is different.

You can meet your innit crew. Anyone willing to declare, no beef. Let him declare. Not with our technical crew and nff members rolling out red carpets for them.

"GIVE THE QUEEN TO HE THAT'S WANTS HER."
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:36pm On Nov 16, 2017
Icon4s:

That is why we need that AFCON qualifiers game against Seychelles. We start Ebuehi and Idowu and they are capped for life.

After that Seychelles game there is no other full international debut opportunity before the world cup.

Pinnick should go and withdraw that his proposal to CAF.
CAF has approved Pinnick's suggestion to move the Seychelles match to a time after the WC
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:36pm On Nov 16, 2017
Mujtahida:

Lazy way is to declare.

So, the not felling Nigerian crew who are sitting down and want us to do everything for them to play for us are doing it the hard way. Abi?

Let them be waiting for red carpet or Rohr to call and say I have been following you. Because, that is not the lazy way.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 10:37pm On Nov 16, 2017
Humility017:

i think he has alot of plegmaric character...

he is someone that is not radical and too proactive....

that statement he just made on ebuehi is something else....right now the dude should be cap tied immediately...let Idowu be left alone for the now....till the world cup then he will be cap tied....

Honestly, Rohr should have capped him against Algeria. The fact he didn't make use of the 3rd substitution and yet allowed Ebuehi warmed the bench really annoyed me but people always thought I talk too much.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 10:37pm On Nov 16, 2017
Mujtahida:
I just read on OGN that CAF has approved Nigeria's request to move the Afcon qualifiers from March till November 2018

I talk am oo. Ee don happen

That's no good. only 5 teams would be going to the WC out of the 54, so those who didn't qualify should wait for about a year before playing competitive football?

These qualifiers can also serve as a warm up game to the Mundial.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 10:38pm On Nov 16, 2017
tbaba1234:

Rohr is looking to strengthen his team. Idowu and Ebuehi have made the decision to play for Nigeria and i believe they would for a long time. Netherlands were not interested in Ebuehi, Russia was not interested in Idowu.
Abi oo.. I wonder what's causing all his unnecessary panic. Is there any news that brings up the possibliy or whatIt should have been both.

but the decision has been made already.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by neighy(m): 10:38pm On Nov 16, 2017
Humility017:

Netherlands Yet To Give Up On Luring Eagles Latest ‘Oyibo’ Sensation Ebuehi

Dutch journalist Jermain Leitbig says the Netherlands are still hopeful of convincing Super Eagles right full back Tyronne Ebuehi to play for their senior national team.
Born in the Netherlands to Nigerian parents, the ADO Den Haag full back impressed a lot of Nigerians when he came on as a substitute for the Super Eagles in their 4-2 win over Argentina on Tuesday.
Despite playing for Nigeria in that game, he is still eligible to represent Holland and Jermain Leitbig says he will definitely be considered as the Dutch begin a process of rebuilding following failure to qualify for the World Cup in Russia.
” I hope you know he only played in a friendly game for Nigeria, and not a competitive game hence he can still play for the Netherlands. He plays in a position where the Dutch are short of options, so he could be an option”, Leitbig told Owngoalnigeria.com.
” Unless he plays for Nigeria next year, the Netherlands are still in with a chance to convince him, afterall it wasn’t like they didn’t try to stop him when he made the move to switch to Nigeria.

” Let’s wait but for now Nigeria hold the advantage of having him but no doubt Holland will be monitoring his performance for ADO Den Haag. The battle for his future is far from over”.
Ade Emmanuel

source: OGN
dead on arrival.. Shebi na team wey qualify go fit lure player

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 10:39pm On Nov 16, 2017
How is that a suggestion? A suggestion for the NFF to announce to the world that anyone who wants to play for Nigeria should just declare?
How do we achieve that since that is your suggestion?

TheGoodJoe:

That is not an assumption. It is more of a suggestion. They should know it is easier to get reached when they declare.

Gerrit?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:39pm On Nov 16, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

If you play Sanchez as a top striker in a particular formation and play Giroud as top in the same formation, the game play will be different. That is how personnel affects the play. Set-up is not restricted to just formation alone. You can set-up the team to play in a different manner through personnel changes.
Hahahaha hahahaha hahahaha goodjoe. We are saying the same thing na. He changed the personel to suit the set up. Not all players are suited to a particular set up. Rohr has learnt a vital lesson about our team as far as the 3-5-2 formation is concerned.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 10:40pm On Nov 16, 2017
I don't pay attention to such stories. I don't even read Nigerian papers..lol

Humility017:

Netherlands Yet To Give Up On Luring Eagles Latest ‘Oyibo’ Sensation Ebuehi

Dutch journalist Jermain Leitbig says the Netherlands are still hopeful of convincing Super Eagles right full back Tyronne Ebuehi to play for their senior national team.
Born in the Netherlands to Nigerian parents, the ADO Den Haag full back impressed a lot of Nigerians when he came on as a substitute for the Super Eagles in their 4-2 win over Argentina on Tuesday.
Despite playing for Nigeria in that game, he is still eligible to represent Holland and Jermain Leitbig says he will definitely be considered as the Dutch begin a process of rebuilding following failure to qualify for the World Cup in Russia.
” I hope you know he only played in a friendly game for Nigeria, and not a competitive game hence he can still play for the Netherlands. He plays in a position where the Dutch are short of options, so he could be an option”, Leitbig told Owngoalnigeria.com.
” Unless he plays for Nigeria next year, the Netherlands are still in with a chance to convince him, afterall it wasn’t like they didn’t try to stop him when he made the move to switch to Nigeria.

” Let’s wait but for now Nigeria hold the advantage of having him but no doubt Holland will be monitoring his performance for ADO Den Haag. The battle for his future is far from over”.
Ade Emmanuel

source: OGN

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 10:40pm On Nov 16, 2017
contradicting himself lol

Mujtahida:

Hahahaha hahahaha hahahaha goodjoe. We are saying the same thing na. He changed the personel to suit the set up. Not all players are suited to a particular set up. Rohr has learnt a vital lesson about our team as far as the 3-5-2 formation is concerned.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:42pm On Nov 16, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Set-up and formation is not the same thing. You can set up the team with an offensive formation. Meaning you have more offensive players in the build. A good example is a 3-3-4 attacking formation. You can play a 4-4-2 formation and have the team set-up to play offensively or defensively.

A 4-3-3 formation with a defender like Ramos in dmf and two DMFs in the CMF positions will make the formation negative.
You have a knack for making simple things look difficult. Just say the coach should use players who are suitable for a particular formation. Finish.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 10:43pm On Nov 16, 2017
Hi
Mujtahida:

You are talking from your perspective as a naija born but you've not considered their own side, their own fears and inhibitions. You want to manage your fears and shield your ego, while pushing them to face theirs so as to make it easy for you. Joebie calls it lazy. I'd call it cowardly.

Very informed and intelligent approach.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 10:43pm On Nov 16, 2017
Just say Shehu and Aina played to instruction, at least we can start arguing from there.. When you say set up, it looks like you are talking about formation

TheGoodJoe:

Analysis is making assumptions by watching playing patterns. I even went as far as pointing out our turnover rate to express that we were playing conservatively in the first half. It is something I have sang about repeatedly and called for a more offensive set up.

Rohr played in a conservative manner and Shehu played it well. When Rohr switched to a more offensive set-up, Ebuehi excelled. So I am against tagging Shehu poor because he played well with respect to the set-up.

Do you remember Chelsea playing a similar formation against Manchester City but the set-up was negative.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 10:44pm On Nov 16, 2017
Mujtahida:

Though I'd do such a thing too but women also like men to fight for their love. It makes them feel they've been 'won'.

Na so una dey una own!?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 10:46pm On Nov 16, 2017
You still havn't explained the process of enquiring.

Who is the not feeling Nigerian crew, at what moment do you realize they are not feeling Nigerian? When they fail to declare? Please explain the process of enquiring. I would so love to understand.

TheGoodJoe:

So, the not felling Nigerian crew who are sitting down and want us to do everything for them to play for us are doing it the hard way. Abi?

Let them be waiting for red carpet or Rohr to call and say I have been following you. Because, that is not the lazy way.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 10:46pm On Nov 16, 2017
Humility017:

so.....oga icon4 you've shifted goal post...
I thought you were among those...still hoping for the young lad to mature up ...supporting rohr keeping ebuehi on the bench.....

sometimes what I have noticed wit my experience elites here on nairaland and beyond is fear to take risks....

just that fear.......
forget all those words of rohr...he never expect ebuehi to play so well....had it been he knew this all this while...he would have played him before now....

Kkkkk grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:47pm On Nov 16, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

That's why I said BOTH parties should meet and talk. More like meet each other at half way of the road rather than one person seating down saying 'declare first before I invite you' and another person seating down saying 'invite me first before I declare'. The middle way is more effective.

(1) (2) (3) ... (2147) (2148) (2149) (2150) (2151) (2152) (2153) ... (16247) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: dkay51(m), elyte89, opes, Jefersoun, Amedino99(m), Cecco90, Christology(m), TheGoodJoe(m) and 9 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 76