Stats: 3,150,849 members, 7,810,277 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 04:26 AM

Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders (8273 Views)

Senators, Reps Want SAN Title / Senators, Reps Want SAN Title-punch / Reps Want Quarterly Allowances Increased To N35M (2) (3) (4)

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by PointB: 10:29am On Apr 26, 2013
I support the idea of perimeter fencing, especially at the Northern borders to prevent the upsurge of terrorists, and weapon smuggling through neighbouring countries. It should however complement the border patrols.

A good fence, actually, makes good neighbours!

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Okijajuju1(m): 10:33am On Apr 26, 2013
PointB: I support the idea of perimeter fencing, especially at the Northern borders to prevent the upsurge of terrorists, and weapon smuggling through neighbouring countries. It should however complement the border patrols.

A good fence, actually, makes good neighbours!

Do you know how much that would cost?!

Imagine what you want to fence...

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Luciouspaps(m): 10:34am On Apr 26, 2013
Euroclydon: Reps Want Nigeria Fenced

The House of Representatives has proposed the construction of a perimeter fence with sensors and cameras to check illegal influx of foreigners into the country.

The house at its proceedings on Thursday, directed its Committee on Immigration to work with the Ministry of Interior and Immigration service for the construction of the border fence.

The motion which was moved by Hassan Saleh, was unanimously adopted following the spate of insecurity in some parts of the country.

The motion also proposed better working conditions for those posted to the nation’s borders.

The lawmakers are particularly concerned about the influx of foreigners through the nation’s borders and they resolved that urgent steps must be taken to check this trend.

Meanwhile, a bill for an act to amend the 2013 Appropriation Act to authorise the release of N4.9trillion from the consolidated revenue fund was put on hold.

The Speaker of the house, Aminu Tambuwal suggested that appropriate steps must be taken by the budget office so that the 2013 supplementary budget is not affected.

Another matter which came up for discussion by the lawmakers is the need to curtail the activities of piracy on the nation’s water ways.

The house mandated the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) as well as other health agencies to provide relief materials for survivors of tanker collusion in Mokwa, Niger state

http://www.channelstv.com/home/2013/04/25/reps-want-nigeria-fenced/?utm_source=&utm_medium=twitter
. If i may ask, are they planin on fencing the whole nigeria or some selected parts cos its 9ce to see people coming through the front gate.......
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by DoffMan2: 10:34am On Apr 26, 2013
Dibiachukwu: Secure our borders cry Patrol, satelite surveillance, hidden cctvs. Ground radar systems can help a lot. No more islamic almajiris from our north western borders. Fencing is outdated and expensive.

Right on bro!

A permiter fence alone will only keep out some animals and snag some bush meat. Criminals, smugglers and illegals will just cut in and pass. They will have to spend much more on all you mentioned above plus sentry mounts, unmanned patrol drones, quad patrols, even camel patrols for the desert region.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Luciouspaps(m): 10:34am On Apr 26, 2013
Euroclydon: Reps Want Nigeria Fenced

The House of Representatives has proposed the construction of a perimeter fence with sensors and cameras to check illegal influx of foreigners into the country.

The house at its proceedings on Thursday, directed its Committee on Immigration to work with the Ministry of Interior and Immigration service for the construction of the border fence.

The motion which was moved by Hassan Saleh, was unanimously adopted following the spate of insecurity in some parts of the country.

The motion also proposed better working conditions for those posted to the nation’s borders.

The lawmakers are particularly concerned about the influx of foreigners through the nation’s borders and they resolved that urgent steps must be taken to check this trend.

Meanwhile, a bill for an act to amend the 2013 Appropriation Act to authorise the release of N4.9trillion from the consolidated revenue fund was put on hold.

The Speaker of the house, Aminu Tambuwal suggested that appropriate steps must be taken by the budget office so that the 2013 supplementary budget is not affected.

Another matter which came up for discussion by the lawmakers is the need to curtail the activities of piracy on the nation’s water ways.

The house mandated the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) as well as other health agencies to provide relief materials for survivors of tanker collusion in Mokwa, Niger state

http://www.channelstv.com/home/2013/04/25/reps-want-nigeria-fenced/?utm_source=&utm_medium=twitter
. If i may ask, are they planin on fencing the whole nigeria or some selected parts cos its 9ce to see people coming through the front gate.......
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Nobody: 10:35am On Apr 26, 2013
....I like the idea smiley

And for those people ranting "our money", "our money" b4 nko?, of cos it ur money (if u even pay tax) dat they would use to secure the border! Would they use their salaries?? Nigerians luv to cry wolf everytime *hiss* undecided

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by brabus(m): 10:38am On Apr 26, 2013
To serve and protect Nigeria is one task that must be done. Lets build a fence, put gate and locks. - GEJ

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Goldenheart(m): 10:38am On Apr 26, 2013
I think its a welcome Idea.....
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by honeric01(m): 10:40am On Apr 26, 2013
Everything in Nigeria is fenced, church fenced, mosque fenced, shrine fenced, phone booth fenced, play ground fenced, amusement park fenced, houses are fenced, should we also move around with fence since we can't do anything right when it comes to security?

BTW, most streets are fenced too with gates (esp in lagos)

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Okijajuju1(m): 10:43am On Apr 26, 2013
carr96: ....I like the idea smiley

And for those people ranting "our money", "our money" b4 nko?, of cos it ur money (if u even pay tax) dat they would use to secure the border! Would they use their salaries?? Nigerians luv to cry wolf everytime *hiss* undecided

You sound like a mason thats about to get employed by the National Fencing commission..

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by papabaks(m): 10:47am On Apr 26, 2013
Electronic fence with no constant power supply in Nigeria is just a waste of time and resources at the wrong time.
FIX the power sector and see it working perfectly before proposing a Nigeria Electronic wall.

Personal Opinion.

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Ejiekwu1(m): 10:50am On Apr 26, 2013
Red-Light:
u cnt please Nigerians.... If government decides to leave the border the way it is... Nigerians will complain that the border is too porous... Now they have decided to do something yet they'r still complaining that its avenue to loot.... Omo naija nawa

That is †нє kind of country we found ourselves, instead of encouraging or making contrary suggestions, they talking rubbish. As for me its a good idea cos their is no harm in trying something new.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Osuman(m): 10:51am On Apr 26, 2013
Guapo: yes we need a fence, and a gate too...a big one. Buy padlock and give Jona the key!
Bench warmers.
No going out till after counting of two thousand and fifteen election. In case Jona lost his election, then one chance to declear state of emergecy in the country.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by PointB: 10:52am On Apr 26, 2013
Okija_juju:

Not as much as a lives that would be saved if terrorists are restricted. In any case, not the whole border should be fenced. A combination of fences, ditches, and natural terrain will do a good job hindering the terrorists.

Everything shouldn't be about money.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Okijajuju1(m): 10:53am On Apr 26, 2013
PointB:

Not as much as a lives that would be saved if terrorists are restricted.

Everything shouldn't be about money.

Fencing should be the last option after all else have failed..

QUESTION 1: What measures have we tried to use in border protection before now?! Because using the US mexico Border fencing as an example, that shiit isnt as effective as we think..

So what other measures have been taken by immigrations to protect our borders before now?! Fences can be destroyed by dynamites, or cut (in case na wire fence)..

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by PointB: 10:55am On Apr 26, 2013
Okija_juju:

[b]Fencing should be the last option after all else have failed..

QUESTION 1: What measures have we tried to use in border protection before now?!

Obviously border patrol has not worked, and you can cover the massive border with patrols. A combination of fences, ditches, etc will help the situation.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Nobody: 11:00am On Apr 26, 2013
Okija_juju:

You sound like a mason thats about to get employed by the National Fencing commission..

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Nobody: 11:00am On Apr 26, 2013
Okija_juju:

Innit?

More to the point, this idea is DOA in the current age of globalisation.

The following is an excerpt taken from a book which I would urge these ahistorical parliamentarians to look up for bedside reading grin

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by tolex34(m): 11:04am On Apr 26, 2013
It seems like business is not moving for one of the reps making blocks, he wants to use border fencing to move on. #God dey
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Okijajuju1(m): 11:06am On Apr 26, 2013
PointB:

Obviously border patrol has not worked, and you can cover the massive border with patrols. A combination of fences, ditches, etc will help the situation.

[b]We are talking about a mighty stretch of land and water borders here.

My problem with Nigeria is their half assed approach to solving a problem. Example:

1. Armed Robberies and Car snatchings: The Nigerian Police set up Checkpoints all over the country. Still yet, these things prevailed.

2. Kidnappings: More checkpoints. Still they were kidnapping people by the dozen a day. Infact in Aba where the checkpoints were manned by the Nigerian Army, A bus full of school children was kidnapped and driven out of the city.

3. Kidnapping (Post removal of Checkpoints): They ban tinted glasses. LOL! Forgetting that most people that were kidnapped were taken away in Police Pickups and not tinted vehicles..

4. Boko Haram: Send in the Army (Brute force).. This is obviously not working..

5. Boko Haram insurgency: Fence the country.. grin

6. Fuel Subsidy Scam: Increase the pump price of fuel..

Like seriously!! Are we seriouos in this country at all.. What happened to;

Increased border patrol?!
Helicopter patrols?!
Electronic sensors?
CCTV
Neighbourhood watch patrols
Building watch towers?!
Animal patrols
UAVs

Na wah o!! Fencing Nigeria would be outrightly ridiculous and you know it![/b]

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Artsman(m): 11:15am On Apr 26, 2013
For most of us here , who don't know what perimeter fencing is all about, find out first before running your mouth on issue you don't know much about. Everyone want to contribute, everyone wants to feel among, no one wants to listen first, its a pity, the kinds of brains we have in naija. Perimeter fencing is more like a high barbed wire fence, with steel support and its a welcome development if it can be properly implemented by those at the helm of affairs. its not a wall or block fencing. perimeter fencing is cheaper than block fencing I guess.Even Isreal, USA have it.

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by boron10(m): 11:16am On Apr 26, 2013
Build the fence in ten years, and have it destroyed by boko haram in just a day.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by PointB: 11:18am On Apr 26, 2013
Okija_juju:

My problem with Nigeria is their half assed approach to solving a problem. Example:

1. Armed Robberies and Car snatchings: The Nigerian Police set up Checkpoints all over the country. Still yet, these things prevailed.

2. Kidnappings: More checkpoints. Still they were kidnapping people by the dozen a day. Infact in Aba where the checkpoints were manned by the Nigerian Army, A bus full of school children was kidnapped and driven out of the city.

3. Kidnapping (Post removal of Checkpoints): They ban tinted glasses. LOL! Forgetting that most people that were kidnapped were taken away in Police Pickups and not tinted vehicles..

Helicopter patrols?!
Electronic sensors?
CCTV
Building watch towers?!
Animal patrols
UAVs

Some of the options you propose are cheaper, some are expensive but not effective.

My point remains that, a combination of fencing with some of these option will work better than any the above option with perimeter fencing.

The fact that the Reps proposed fencing does not necessarily means that the whole stretch of the border must be walled.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Ironi: 11:24am On Apr 26, 2013
What is the fence for, to keep Nigerians in Nigeria from going out or keep foreigners from coming in?

Last time I checked it's Nigerians who are all over the place craping in other people's countries.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Capnd143(m): 11:40am On Apr 26, 2013
Joeblis: am sorry i think you hapend to be the illitrate here cause even the USA has something similar to this in their border with mexico..the fence is just for security
if isreal had not fence their border with Gaza sucide bombers could have leveled them by now...nigeria borders are just to open, fencing them will help alot.
So the move is a good one causa most of this boroharam jihadist are not nigerians.
you seem to be the only person with brain around here, the rest are just bunch of retards! The just keep critisizing everything the govt do, be it good or bad, all the do is paint the already black nation blacker! Even develop countries employ these methods, so i dnt see why nigeria shouldnt, given the rate or level to which our porous borders are infitrated by miscreants and islamist! Fencing the damn nation is a good move since Nigeria is not technologically ready at the moment to deploy aeroSpace technology, satellite technology and drone survillance to protect our borders! Nigerian Drones are stil in development stages, and deploying them down will be grossly counter-productive if not adversely ineffective. Untill we are ready technology wise, i will vote with 10 fingers any referandum that envisages fencing our dear Nation Nigeria
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by wellmax(m): 11:44am On Apr 26, 2013
I am a qualified bricklayer, with experience in wall building.
Contact me in case this bill passes second reading.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by AlphaBravoIndia: 11:55am On Apr 26, 2013
I wonder how we reason in this country. Most of us don't know the challenges faced by security agencies at some of these borders.
For example in 2009 at kongolam(katsina)-Niger border, 2 custom officers were killed by irate mob(smugglers) to retaliate d death of some smugglers who died in accident trying to maneuver custom check point. The same incident would have re- occurred if nt for quick intervention of some military chaps.
If d project is approved,its sure some ppl will benefit frm it,but if properly executed - I'm sure the perimeter fence with sensors n camera combined with effective border patrol will curb a lot of sy challenges at d borders with multiple effect on d economy as well.
On a lighter mood u need to watch d drama between custom and motorcycle riders smuggling contrabands, the villagers will come out en masse to watch d drama n to worsen d situation they would help d smugglers to escape wt their load whenever it fell off their bike.
Its not enough for us to sit behind our computer screen or hold our media devices n type rubbish about issue we know little about.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Emusan(m): 12:00pm On Apr 26, 2013
Okija_juju:

Helicopter patrols?!
Electronic sensors?
CCTV
Building watch towers?!
Animal patrols
UAVs

Gbam!

Some people will come to Nairaland jump to a post and word will just jump out from their mind.

They think Rep is talking about fencing Abuja or Ondo state alone when we are talking of over 40,000km sq areas of land.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Nobody: 12:26pm On Apr 26, 2013

Perimeter fencing. Like really? Are our leaders this dull?

We don't even have a national database of Nigerian nationals, and they want to erect perimeter fencing? How will they differentiate between Nigerians and non-Nigerians?

And what about border towns like Seme? Will they be split in two? Oh I get, we're gonna have our own "Seme wall".

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Emusan(m): 12:28pm On Apr 26, 2013
Artsman: For most of us here , who don't know what perimeter fencing is all about, find out first before running your mouth on issue you don't know much about. Everyone want to contribute, everyone wants to feel among, no one wants to listen first, its a pity, the kinds of brains we have in naija. Perimeter fencing is more like a high barbed wire fence, with steel support and its a welcome development if it can be properly implemented by those at the helm of affairs. its not a wall or block fencing. perimeter fencing is cheaper than block fencing I guess.Even Isreal, USA have it.

Oga too gud, hmmmm so you can't differentiate between 1 & 2.

Let me teach you
Perimeter=Area in square mm/m
Fence=enclosure.
In combination; Perimeter fence=an enclosure area

@red bolded,
You're talking about one materials which is less expensive that can be use not the meaning of perimeter fence. Either steel, wood, blocks e.t.c it's not the major problem we are facing in this country now.
Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by BIODUN78: 12:34pm On Apr 26, 2013
PERIMETER FENCE GOOD IDEA, BUT NOT OUR PRIORITY RIGHT NOW. IF THAT PROJECT IN EMBARK ON, SO MANY BILLIONS OF NAIRA, THAT SUPPOSE TO GO FOR PRESSING PROJECT WILL BE USED. ALSO WITH THE BAD AND CORRUPT PROFILE OF HANDLING PROJECT BY THE CURRENT GOVERNMENT, LETS HOLD IT FOR NOW.

Re: Reps Want Perimeter Fencing Of Nigerian Borders by Nobody: 12:35pm On Apr 26, 2013
GOOOOODDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD!!!!!!! grin grin grin *dancing*

(photo+video) - Aba Angry Youths Celebr8 Biafra; Set Nigerian Flag On Fire Today / Tension As Bakassi Militants Send Strong Message To Avengers / Senate Talks Hot On How To Tackle Youth Unemployment, Poverty, Poor Education

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57