Stats: 3,165,177 members, 7,860,232 topics. Date: Friday, 14 June 2024 at 08:06 AM

Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture - Properties (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture (23125 Views)

4 BEDROOM DUPLEX (A New Dimension To Nigerian Architecture) / New Dimension To Nigerian Architecture (construction Of 4 Bedroom Twin Duplex) / Why Is Nigerian Architecture So Uninspiring? (2) (3) (4)

Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by mufutau55(m): 2:28pm On Jul 30, 2013
Fhemmmy:

I think with padding, what do you think?

Uncle Fhemmmy, even with padding..as I do see some white padding already inside.. but I think you will still need to cool the place with that our Nigeria weather..as I don't see too many windows. But it does look beautiful, I must agree.

Hajji Mufutau
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Fhemmmy: 2:33pm On Jul 30, 2013
mufutau55:

Uncle Fhemmmy, even with padding..as I do see some white padding already inside.. but I think you will still need to cool the place with that our Nigeria weather..as I don't see too many windows. But it does look beautiful, I must agree.

Hajji Mufutau

I feel you, Bro
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Nobody: 6:03pm On Jul 30, 2013
Solar powered whole house fans will take care of cooling.

Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Fhemmmy: 6:05pm On Jul 30, 2013
Somorin#1:
Solar powered whole house fans will take care of cooling.

how about security?
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by blank(f): 7:43pm On Jul 30, 2013
This glass house is definitely not for me. Everyone can see you in your house. Absolutely no privacy.
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by mufutau55(m): 7:48pm On Jul 30, 2013
blank: This glass house is definitely not for me. Everyone can see you in your house. Absolutely no privacy.

Not so.. There are glass house you can not see the people inside from outside.. but they can see you outside from inside.
A friend of mine has that of house here in New York.

Hajji Mufutau
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by spyder880(m): 11:39pm On Jul 30, 2013
mufutau55:

Not so.. There are glass house you can not see the people inside from outside.. but they can see you outside from inside.
A friend of mine has that of house here in New York.

Hajji Mufutau

Plus, Those who live in glass houses...........

This is not a joking matter but its a concern also. Those kids hunting birds and squirrels with catapult in your neighborhood nko?

Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by mufutau55(m): 11:46pm On Jul 30, 2013
spyder880:

Plus, Those who live in glass houses...........

This is not a joking matter but its a concern also. Those kids hunting birds and squirrels with catapult in your neighborhood nko?

Oga Spyder... "Plus, Those who live in glass houses..........." Wrong proverb.... that was in the days.
It's a very strong glass.. some of them here are even bullet resistant, like the ones we use for protection
in Banks around here.. In Nigeria, yes, it may be a problem.

Hajji Mufutau
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by spyder880(m): 11:56pm On Jul 30, 2013
mufutau55:

Oga Spyder... "Plus, Those who live in glass houses..........." Wrong proverb.... that was in the days.
It's a very strong glass.. some of them here are even bullet resistant, like the ones we use for protection
in Banks around here.. In Nigeria, yes, it may be a problem.

Hajji Mufutau

I think the type of glass that will be strong enough to withstand attack will be costly, (might even be costlier than block walls) remember our aim in this thread is primarily to reduce the costs of building.
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by mufutau55(m): 12:14am On Jul 31, 2013
spyder880:

I think the type of glass that will be strong enough to withstand attack will be costly, (might even be costlier than block walls) remember our aim in this thread is primarily to reduce the costs of building.

You got it. Just trying to correct the initial poster that there other types of glass.
But Yes, you are right, we are looking for cheaper and alternative options. Thanks.

Hajji Mufutau
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Fhemmmy: 12:33am On Jul 31, 2013
mufutau55:

in Banks around here..
In Nigeria, yes, it may be a problem.

Hajji Mufutau

Then the purpose will be defeated . . . .
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by bebe2(f): 1:01am On Jul 31, 2013
If anyone think they can build with hydro foam or other materials that are cheaper pls contact me, I have a job for u.

3, 2 bed flat.opic estate agbara.

Tnks
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Nobody: 4:53am On Jul 31, 2013
Fhemmmy:

how about security?

It has to be considered on an individual basis.
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by tushbobo(m): 9:20am On Jul 31, 2013
Anytime humans try to move away from nature...there are dire consequences.Clay has been bestowed upon us in abundance and this is the way to go interms of cheap and sustainable building materials.Clay can be made into a variety of high quality materials like bricks,ceramics,roof shingles,floor tiles,wall tiles etc.There are glazed ceramic tiles that have similar characteristics with granite.
They are fire proof(generally very safe),cheaper(when optimised),durable,aesthetically pleasing amongst other positives.Other building materials have come up over time and have their good sides but I think natural materials are best for us and the environment.Our production process is marred by many uneccessary costs hence materials are expensive.Importing doesnt help either.
By the way...Dont know why 't.ush' is replaced with 'behind'.
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by playmode(m): 4:29pm On Aug 02, 2013
mufutau55:

EmperorOlu, this container house na wah o! But I love it very much.. very nicely built. I am not sure this can survive in Nigeria with all those glasses and lack of electricity to keep the place cool.

Hajji Mufutau

EmperorOlu is a business partner of mine and we have worked together on a few of these container homes here in South Africa.To cool the container homes we use insulation foam.

First we frame the container with wooden frames:

After the electrician and plumber fix the wires and pipes,Then we apply insulation foam:

The foam insulates the house 100%

One the insulation foam is installed we now apply cement boards and paint over and wala you have a house

Like EmperorOlu said ,we wanted to bring the idea to Nigeria but were discouraged by the price of containers in Nigeria.We even found three companies in Nigeria who were dealing in insulation foams so we ready to start until we discovered the outrageous cost of shipping containers in Nigeria.The truth is that Nigeria makes simple thing become extremely hard.In South Africa many people are starting to build shipping containers home because they are stronger than brick,fire resistant,easy to manipulate to ones design and quick to build.Here are pictures of some containers homes from all over the world.

This is a contianer home built in Malaysia:

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-4.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-3.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-17.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-18.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-6.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-8.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-9.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-12.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-11.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-13.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-16.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-19.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-10.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-14.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-15.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-7.jpg[/img]

This home would cost around N9Million with finishing in South Africa but to achieve such in Nigeria we may spend up to N25Million because of overpriced materials.

I created a thread a few years ago about this : https://www.nairaland.com/656655/open-advice-south-west-governors

Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Chekitaut: 6:00pm On Aug 02, 2013
playmode:

EmperorOlu is a business partner of mine and we have worked together on a few of these container homes here in South Africa.To cool the container homes we use insulation foam.

After the electrician and plumber fix the wires and pipes,Then we apply insulation foam:

The foam insulates the house 100%

One the insulation foam is installed we now apply cement boards and paint over and wala you have a house

Like EmperorOlu said ,we wanted to bring the idea to Nigeria but were discouraged by the price of containers in Nigeria.We even found three companies in Nigeria who were dealing in insulation foams so we ready to start until we discovered the outrageous cost of shipping containers in Nigeria.The truth is that Nigeria makes simple thing become extremely hard.In South Africa many people are starting to build shipping containers home because they are stronger than brick,fire resistant,easy to manipulate to ones design and quick to build.Here are pictures of some containers homes from all over the world.

This is a contianer home built in Malaysia:

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-4.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-3.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-17.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-18.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-6.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-8.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-9.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-12.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-11.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-13.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-16.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-19.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-10.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-14.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-15.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.containerhome.info/wp-content/gallery/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia/shipping-container-building-in-malaysia-7.jpg[/img]

This home would cost around N9Million with finishing in South Africa but to achieve such in Nigeria we may spend up to N25Million because of overpriced materials.

I created a thread a few years ago about this : https://www.nairaland.com/656655/open-advice-south-west-governors
What is the estimate of this home?

Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by mufutau55(m): 6:34pm On Aug 02, 2013
playmode:

These are very nice container houses.. I will love if they implement something like this in Nigeria..
I don't know why everything has to bee too expensive when it gets to us.. I know.. Corruption.. smiley
Thanks for p[osting the various houses..

Hajji Mufutau
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Chekitaut: 8:10pm On Aug 02, 2013
Nigeria jaga jaga...9m to 25m. "Oju re da Oluwa"(God where is your eyes) Just help me punish our wicked leaders just for 1 day.

Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Nobody: 5:43am On Aug 03, 2013
playmode:

Is there a local source for 2X4 studs of this quality in Nigeria? Also what about steel studs?

Also since the wood walls are not load bearing, why so much spacing in between and also why use 2X6 for the roof? I saw the stacked headers, is that just to make up the space or there is really a need for their heft?

Not criticizing just trying to learn.
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by kunlekunle: 6:10am On Aug 03, 2013
do we need an insulated container in nigeria?
where can you get the plaster board in nigeria
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Nobody: 7:01am On Aug 03, 2013
kunlekunle: do we need an insulated container in nigeria?

In my experience yes you should have insulation, I would.

With insulation you will be able to control the interior temperature better with less external temperature influence.
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by kunlekunle: 9:00am On Aug 03, 2013
Somorin#1:

In my experience yes you should have insulation, I would.

With insulation you will be able to control the interior temperature better with less external temperature influence.

insulation is usually to trap heat indoors to reduce cost of heating the house in winter.
i think its weather related, we live in temperate region, u need fan and air condition.

Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Nobody: 8:28pm On Aug 03, 2013
kunlekunle:

insulation is usually to trap heat indoors to reduce cost of heating the house in winter.
i think its weather related, we live in temperate region, u need fan and air condition.

I disagree. Insulation is also used to keep temperature cold on the inside. Think about your fridge, does it have insulation?

It amazes me that folks think Nigerian temperature and weather is vastly different from some parts of the US.

When a structure is properly insulated then you'll need less energy to maintain a set temperature.

"Thermal Insulation[edit source | editbeta]

Thermal insulation in buildings is an important factor to achieving thermal comfort for its occupants. Insulation reduces unwanted heat loss or gain and can decrease the energy demands of heating and cooling systems. It does not necessarily deal with issues of adequate ventilation and may or may not affect the level of sound insulation. In a narrow sense insulation can just refer to the insulation materials employed to slow heat loss, such as: cellulose, glass wool, rock wool, polystyrene, urethane foam, vermiculite, perlite, wood fibre, plant fibre (cannabis, flax, cotton, cork, etc.), plant straw, animal fibre (sheep's wool), cement, and earth or soil, but it can also involve a range of designs and techniques to address the main modes of heat transfer - conduction, radiation and convection materials.[1][2"
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by bebe2(f): 9:43pm On Aug 03, 2013
kunlekunle: do we need an insulated container in nigeria?

Can some one pls answer the question,
Do we have plaster boards in Nigeria??
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by oderemo(m): 10:09pm On Aug 03, 2013
Yes I have seen quite a few before, I think with Julius Berger in Abuja.
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by bebe2(f): 1:12am On Aug 04, 2013
ode remo: Yes I have seen quite a few before, I think with Julius Berger in Abuja.

Do they sell it in building material shop??
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by kunlekunle: 7:00am On Aug 04, 2013
Somorin#1:

I disagree. Insulation is also used to keep temperature cold on the inside. Think about your fridge, does it have insulation?

It amazes me that folks think Nigerian temperature and weather is vastly different from some parts of the US.

When a structure is properly insulated then you'll need less energy to maintain a set temperature.

"Thermal Insulation[edit source | editbeta]

Thermal insulation in buildings is an important factor to achieving thermal comfort for its occupants. Insulation reduces unwanted heat loss or gain and can decrease the energy demands of heating and cooling systems. It does not necessarily deal with issues of adequate ventilation and may or may not affect the level of sound insulation. In a narrow sense insulation can just refer to the insulation materials employed to slow heat loss, such as: cellulose, glass wool, rock wool, polystyrene, urethane foam, vermiculite, perlite, wood fibre, plant fibre (cannabis, flax, cotton, cork, etc.), plant straw, animal fibre (sheep's wool), cement, and earth or soil, but it can also involve a range of designs and techniques to address the main modes of heat transfer - conduction, radiation and convection materials.[1][2"

u r giving us a copy and psste information.
u need to understand reason and why some technologies are in use.

summer times i pray i never had any insulation at all.
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Nobody: 7:35am On Aug 04, 2013
kunlekunle:

u r giving us a copy and psste information.
u need to understand reason and why some technologies are in use.

summer times i pray i never had any insulation at all.

Not true.

I give you my opinion and then back it up with professional opinion from the web.

Are you able to follow and differentiate between the quotes and my own ascertations?

It is clear that we won't agree on this so I'll let it go but you should take your advice and do indeed try to understand what insulation is used for.
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by megainvest: 8:03am On Aug 04, 2013
@ Somorin#1, you are absolutely correct. Insulation works both ways. Your definition is spot on and this actually reveals another area where we haven't given sufficient attention to in Nigeria. Our buildings need to incorporate insulation systems that will make them more energy efficient.

Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by kunlekunle: 10:49am On Aug 04, 2013
Somorin#1:

Not true.

I give you my opinion and then back it up with professional opinion from the web.

Are you able to follow and differentiate between the quotes and my own ascertations?

It is clear that we won't agree on this so I'll let it go but you should take your advice and do indeed try to understand what insulation is used for.

its quite understanding that you agreed we wont agree.
would you insulate a 200 unit housing in nigeria?
do we actually need it ?
thats the big question, the main point of arguement.
anyway i rest my case.
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by 2baga(m): 9:53am On Aug 06, 2013
Hmmm nice argument for and against.....
learning mode activated
Re: Alternative Building Technology And Its Application To Nigerian Architecture by Nobody: 3:02pm On Aug 06, 2013
megainvest: @ Somorin#1, you are absolutely correct. Insulation works both ways. Your definition is spot on and this actually reveals another area where we haven't given sufficient attention to in Nigeria. Our buildings need to incorporate insulation systems that will make them more energy efficient.

Absolutely, it only makes sense. Unfortunately this "na so we dey do am for 9ja" thinking has to be overcome first and that will be hard.

It's nice to see another enlightened and progressive person on the forum.

ABUJA FCT PROPERTIES; SELLING Houses, Lands(CofOs)Katampe, Asokoro, Etc+PICTURES / Affordable Fairfield Apartment For Sell ( Lekki ) / Cost Per Sq M Of Aluminium Roofing Step Tiles

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 70