Stats: 3,150,604 members, 7,809,205 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 05:15 AM

Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows (17809 Views)

APC Loses Six Rep Seats In Lagos As Igbo Political Clout Grows. / Nazim Mimiko Nominated To Replace Jega From March 1, 2015 / Foreign Investors Pour Into Nigeria As Economy Accelerates (Updates) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by Bidvest2020: 12:57pm On Sep 12, 2013
El Guapo: Where is Ghana when u need her? cheesy
what has Ghana got to with this crap? You obviously need a brain transplant or something. abi na generator fumes don pafuka your brain?
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by DaLover(m): 12:57pm On Sep 12, 2013
jaiykem: I'ld like governors, chairmen 2 key into dis transformation. Work and leave a good legacy. Fed.govt is not d only govt.

Very true, but this vann be achieved when monthly subventions from Abuja is stopped and they are forced to think creatively about making their states attractive for investors, this will create competition
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by Horus(m): 1:23pm On Sep 12, 2013

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RasaSSk3Mu0

[size=15pt]Stabilizing the Nigerian economy in 2013[/size]
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by bibina: 1:57pm On Sep 12, 2013
[quote author=maxwello.yg]If Nigeria joins the G20 Summit, it still does not guarantee food for the common man in Nigerian streets.[/quote

Are you a common Nigerian? please speak for yourself
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by justplainpaul(m): 1:58pm On Sep 12, 2013
AG.gal:
Your mates are making useful contributions,yours is to insult the president. All those years when there was no 'RETARDeen'(according to u),was there constant power supply? Why not advice your dad who's not a retardeen to go for the 2015 presidential election,he might be the change Nigeria is waiting for. Mtchewwwwwwwwww!
You`re spewing poo. He`s absolutely right. GEJ deserve to be use for ritual. cuz he is as good as nothing!
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by miky(m): 2:46pm On Sep 12, 2013
If South Africa is qualified as of now, and our economy gets closer or bigger than SA, then there should be two African countries there... This idea of out competing our African brothers is old, we should be rising together as an african force..

Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by ghananotnaija(m): 2:52pm On Sep 12, 2013
LMFAO!!! Dream on, Nigerians. Replacing South Africa??!!!
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by Theben(m): 2:57pm On Sep 12, 2013
ghananotnaija: LMFAO!!! Dream on, Nigerians. Replacing South Africa??!!!
No, Ghana is replacing S.Africa. Fool embarassed
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by qhiwegh(m): 3:22pm On Sep 12, 2013
ghananotnaija: LMFAO!!! Dream on, Nigerians. Replacing South Africa??!!!

I'm sure ambition and hope is something people from a small country like Ghana knows nothing about. overtaking South Africa is only the beginning for Nigeria. It's only a matter of time before this giant of Africa becomes a Giant of the World, overtaking most European countries as well, as China and India have done in Asia.

Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by Rossikk(m): 3:25pm On Sep 12, 2013
agrovick: My brother GDP growth doesnt necessarily mean reduction in poverty

Name one country on earth that has seen persistent GDP growth over several decades where poverty has not been reduced drastically.

If you people don't know economics, kindly keep shut.

Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by Rossikk(m): 3:30pm On Sep 12, 2013
Mavor: All this is rubbish. Can someone tell me how the life of the common man is being bettered? Only the top 1% and those in government are reaping the benefits of this so-called "expanding" economy.

You are wrong. Just because you are suffering and failing doesn't mean others are. Many Nigerians are doing very well in this economy. Ten million Nigerians have been added to the middle class in the last 5 years according to investment group Actis International.

Since PDP came into power in 1999, the gap between the rich and the poor is bigger than ever and the Nigerian middle class is very weak in terms of purchasing power.

Sure... which is why Shoprite is planning 700 more outlets in Nigeria in addition to their current 10 or so following the massive success and demand for them. ''Very weak purchasing power'' indeed. Sometimes I think some of you just wake up and blab the first rubbish that comes into your head without doing the most basic research.

Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by Tellymiri(f): 4:13pm On Sep 12, 2013
[color=#990000][/color]I hope so, bt 4 nw i dnt see dat feasible anyway
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by auhanson(m): 4:24pm On Sep 12, 2013
All we need is power and good road network, hence the story would change sooner than thought, else later than expected. The boys are industrious even on their own, but the environment is so rough and unfriendly.Give us enabling environment and watch out the ingenuity in us.

Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by Adamskuty(m): 5:30pm On Sep 12, 2013
Rossikk: Nigeria’s growth rate may see it replace SA in G20

September 11 2013

If Nigeria and South Africa keep growing at their current paces, Nigeria could replace South Africa in the Group of 20 (G20) countries within nine years, according to Stanlib chief economist Kevin Lings. In a recent note he says: “It is entirely feasible that, by then, Nigeria’s economy will have overtaken South Africa’s, making it eligible for G20 membership, possibly at the expense of South Africa. “

The G20 is a group of 19 advanced and developing countries plus the EU, set up in 1999. South Africa is the only African country to be represented.

Lings points out that 20 years ago, the domestic economy was 7.5 times the size of the Nigerian economy, in dollar terms. But by the end of 2012 it was only 1.4 times the size of Nigeria’s.

“This narrowing of the gap is mainly because Nigeria’s economic growth rate has accelerated meaningfully in recent years, though off an extremely low base, while South Africa’s growth rate has moderated.”

According to Nigeria’s central bank, growth in gross domestic product (GDP) averaged 6.8 percent between 2005 and 2013. From 2005 until the global recession of 2008/09, South Africa’s growth rate averaged a little over 5 percent. Since then it has not topped 3.5 percent.

Nigeria’s central bank said the fastest growing segments were wholesale and retail trade, and telecommunications. Nigeria’s 170 million people make it the most populous country in Africa and the seventh-biggest in the world.

This creates a massive market, attracting investment from across its borders, including from South Africa, which is becoming increasingly aware of the opportunities in servicing this population.

In contrast, South Africa’s population is estimated at 51.1 million (5.7 percent of the population in sub-Saharan Africa), making it the fifth most populated country in Africa, Lings says.

http://www.iol.co.za/business/opinion/business-watch/nigeria-s-growth-rate-may-see-it-replace-sa-in-g20-1.1575846#.UjBcPtKsg6Y
ooooh! This is good oooh,we are kicking them out small small,so many are blind to see that we are the future of this disastrous continent... Uuuuuuuuhhh....baaaaaaaybeeee grin
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by GHKWAME(m): 5:38pm On Sep 12, 2013
**M0DIFI3D**
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by Rossikk(m): 8:07pm On Sep 12, 2013
Adamskuty: ooooh! This is good oooh,we are kicking them out small small,so many are blind to see that we are the future of this disastrous continent... Uuuuuuuuhhh....baaaaaaaybeeee grin

Actually, the continent is far from ''disastrous''. It is currently experiencing its most dynamic and persistent economic growth period in the last 200 years. Reasons commonly adduced by analysts include greater political stability, the spread of democracy, less wars, and better economic management by African governments.

Six of the world's ten fastest growing economies are on the African continent. There are several emerging success stories - Kenya, Ghana, Ethiopia, Angola, Namibia, Senegal, Botswana and of course, the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by DaLover(m): 12:08pm On Sep 13, 2013
chief batiatus: useless article, why not go to SA and see for yourself if we can match what they have in 50yrs of hard labor? my brothers economy is more than the volume of sales o, its just like the way people ignorantly compare china to america because china is selling more second-hand goods, the value of an economy ultimately comes to the quality of life enjoyed by its citizens. The infrastructure in South Africa will take Nigeria nothing LESS THAN 50 SERIOUS YEARS WITH HARD LABOR AND NO SINGLE CORRUPTION TO BUILD. South Africa has more than 25 cities that can measure with any european city, Nigeria has only Abuja and it is even been hurriedly underdeveloped by all the ignorant FCT ministers that came after El Rufai (first position to Aliero and then Bala). Lagos is a dilapidated old city though fashola is trying, besides this, every other thing are shambles shambles shambles. Starting with Kano it is the biggest dust bin i have ever seen, Port Harcourt is nothing chaos, Ibadan old, dirty and unassuming.

Given the average attitude of most blacks, we cant build or maintain cities, even the cities in SA were built and are been maintained by whites and their policies, i live in an estate where people that went to the university dump their dirt in the gutters so that the rain can wash away - they dont understand where it washes it to and it dosent bother them. I was driving along the airport road one day in abuja and a very clean-looking woman riding in a clean 2000 toyota camry threw away a complete weave-on in a leather bag unto the highway and nobody turned a face!
Nigeria might get better but please lets not overlook the enormous work and responsibility ahead

Batiatus, please take a look at the link I got from Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Government_budget_by_country
Showing revenues by national governments for different countries in 2011

On line 33, South African govt earned $102bn to cater for about 40 million people
On line 43, Israel earned $66bn to cater for about 6 million people
On line 53, Angola earned $43bn to cater for about 22 million people

On line 66, Nigerian government earned $23bn to cater for about 150million people
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by NASTILL: 12:18pm On Sep 13, 2013
All what i noticed is,we Nigerians have excess materials to survive in harmony but we intentionally not using it in proper way because of our personal interest,we know d truth and we find it so difficult to act towards a faithful loyal and honest citizen.is not the the matter of our head in government only,but we all fall victim into this except you can swear that you never inconvnient your other fellow(s) for once for the convinience of yourself irrespective of how long he or she feels the pains,so whats the tendency you will not get worst when you opportune to be in government as our traitor government leaders.let us check ourselves and make adjustment of our wrongdoing,close your heart and open your heart and say God bless Nigeria today...................
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by PastorKun(m): 1:37pm On Sep 13, 2013
DaLover:

Batiatus, please take a look at the link I got from Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Government_budget_by_country
Showing revenues by national governments for different countries in 2011

On line 33, South African govt earned $102bn to cater for about 40 million people
On line 43, Israel earned $66bn to cater for about 6 million people
On line 53, Angola earned $43bn to cater for about 22 million people

On line 66, Nigerian government earned $23bn to cater for about 150million people

The figure quoted for Nigeria's earnings in this article is glaringly wrong. Totally federal revenues in Nigeria is over nine trillion naira which is in excess of $60 billion. Kindly verify your sources well before posting misleading information for others to read.

Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by DaLover(m): 1:46pm On Sep 13, 2013
Pastor Kun:

The figure quoted for Nigeria's earnings in this article is glaringly wrong. Totally federal revenues in Nigeria is over nine trillion naira which is in excess of $60 billion. Kindly verify your sources well before posting misleading information for others to read.

Did you see the link from Wikipedia I posted?
Anyhow, $23bn or $60bn is exceptionally small for a country the size of nigeria.

Secondly you cannot count the monies shares to the states as part of the FG revenue.
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by PastorKun(m): 1:51pm On Sep 13, 2013
DaLover:

Did you see the link from Wikipedia I posted?
Anyhow, $23bn or $60bn is exceptionally small for a country the size of nigeria.

Secondly you cannot count the monies shares to the states as part of the FG revenue.

I checked the wikipedia link and their analysis is very faulty. And what is wrong in counting money shared to states Is it not being spent on Nigerians? After all it's still part of federal revenue.
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by DaLover(m): 5:02pm On Sep 13, 2013
Pastor Kun:

I checked the wikipedia link and their analysis is very faulty. And what is wrong in counting money shared to states Is it not being spent on Nigerians? After all it's still part of federal revenue.

Why is it wrong to count the revenue shared to states?
Lets take the USA for example, the FG earns $3tn and does not share to states, the 50 states earn their own money individually, see the link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._state_budgets

If we add all the money earned by the states plus the American government then we will be talking about $4-5trn.

Back to nigeria where everybody's job is to sit and wait for oil to be shared, if the FG earns $60b as you said, the revenue allocation formula gives the states and lgas 55%, hence the FG is left with 45% of $60b or $27bn.

Hope you see why we urgently need to restructure and generate wealth and not fantasize on how to get rid of GEJ to control the 9ja delta oil

Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by PastorKun(m): 5:26pm On Sep 13, 2013
DaLover:

Why is it wrong to count the revenue shared to states?
Lets take the USA for example, the FG earns $3tn and does not share to states, the 50 states earn their own money individually, see the link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._state_budgets

If we add all the money earned by the states plus the American government then we will be talking about $4-5trn.

Back to nigeria where everybody's job is to sit and wait for oil to be shared, if the FG earns $60b as you said, the revenue allocation formula gives the states and lgas 55%, hence the FG is left with 45% of $60b or $27bn.

Hope you see why we urgently need to restructure and generate wealth and not fantasize on how to get rid of GEJ to control the 9ja delta oil

I see your point but using the US system actually defeats your argument. You forget that states in Nigeria also generate revenue independent of Federal govt. If we are to add state IGR then we would be talking of at least $80 billion for Nigeria. That said I agree with you that our economy needs to be structured in such a way that all states can survive without depending on federal allocation largesse. We need to start practising true federalism. However as we all know we would soon have our power sector in order and it promises to usher in a new wave of economic boom all over the country.
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by Judek2(m): 12:29am On Sep 17, 2013
I believe in Naija.. I believe they will overtake SA, or even become no 1..

But its gonna happen at the TIME when all THINGS will finally END...
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by nworanco(m): 6:19pm On Nov 17, 2014
Thanks my dear, with only steady electricity supply to all part of the nation. Then the issue job scarcity will be a thing of past. Bcs there will be creativity in the society. The Japanesse started this way. Let our govt be sincere in terms of power generation. THAT'S IS THE ONLY CURE TO OUR AILING ECONOMY.

Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by Horus(m): 6:40pm On Nov 17, 2014

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=usId-7Gbde8

[size=15pt]South Africa satisfied with G20 discussions on economic growth[/size]
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by otokx(m): 6:40pm On Nov 17, 2014
They say breeze has blown and the chickens anus has shown.

Our oil dependent economy is not looking too good.
Re: Nigeria To Replace South Africa In G20 As Economy Grows by donmalcolm21(m): 7:01pm On Nov 17, 2014
Vote in GEJ and let the miracles continue

Police Rescue Woman From Ritualists’ Den In Ogun / Buhari, APC Reps’ Meeting Ends In Deadlock. / Okonjo-iweala, A Failure —henry Boyo

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51