Stats: 3,153,845 members, 7,820,944 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 04:24 AM

Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest (19699 Views)

Pope Accepts Bishop’s Resignation After Affair With Married Parishioner / Pope Accepts Bishop’s Resignation After Affair With Married Parishioner / Sex Abuse: Pope Accepts Resignation Of Irish Bishop (2) (3) (4)

Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Symphony007: 10:15am On Sep 12, 2013
An Italian priest has given Pope Francis a 20-year-old white Renault 4 to drive himself around Vatican city.

The car - which has 300,000 km (190,000 miles) on the clock - was presented to the Pope by Father Renzo Zocca at the weekend. The pontiff later drove it.

Known for his humble lifestyle, Francis said he used to drive the same car in his native Argentina.

In a bid to encourage austerity in the Church, the Pope has urged officials to avoid using expensive limousines.

Father Zocca said he was moved by the Pope's effort to create "a Church for the poor", and told the Italian magazine Famiglia Cristiana that he wanted to give him a gift.

"What better than my old Renault 4?" he asked.

Father Zocca said he was surprised to receive a phone call from the pontiff accepting the gift.

The priest turned up at his Vatican residence on Saturday to present the car.

The BBC's David Willey in Rome says the Pope's bodyguards were amazed when he took the keys and drove off.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-24036965

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by eye4eye: 10:32am On Sep 12, 2013
Show this to Nigerian conmen called "pastors".

28 Likes

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Eledan: 10:36am On Sep 12, 2013
If any church member "sowed" this type of "seed" into the church....such member will be summarily exorcised from the church for having evil spirit

47 Likes

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by gleaf: 10:37am On Sep 12, 2013
TU ES SACERDOS!!! THIS IS REAL HUMILITY !!

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Nobody: 10:42am On Sep 12, 2013
Eledan: If any church member "sowed" this type of "seed" into the church....such member will be summarily exorcised from the church for having evil spirit

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Nobody: 12:23pm On Sep 12, 2013
i love this pope for his good example

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Noraokon: 12:26pm On Sep 12, 2013
honestly, those armed robbers need to see it.
eye4eye: Show this to Nigerian conmen called "pastors".

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Nobody: 1:04pm On Sep 12, 2013
The humble Pope.

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by alienvirus: 1:04pm On Sep 12, 2013
I have VW beetle for Mr Adeboye and Peugeot 504 (300, 000km) mileage for Oyedepo.

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by colombiana: 1:04pm On Sep 12, 2013
Till tomorow I go still yarn say catholic is the only church the others na business venture. For all of u that want to attack my post i think it wud be a waste of time if u and ur family members avnt givin ur 1b naira for ur auditorium

27 Likes

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Nobody: 1:04pm On Sep 12, 2013

Oyedepo, Oyakholime, Joshua, Adeboye, Mouka, others, shey una dey see? Una dey see?

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by IAMBREEZY: 1:04pm On Sep 12, 2013
Cool
Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Orikinla(m): 1:04pm On Sep 12, 2013
You dare not give this kind jalopy to many Nigerian pastors o.
Dem go swear for you. grin

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by tunnex190: 1:06pm On Sep 12, 2013
This is good. But I'm sure this will never happen in Nigeria.

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by alphaconde(m): 1:06pm On Sep 12, 2013
This pope and everything around him continue to waoh me.
Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by condralbede(m): 1:06pm On Sep 12, 2013
I blve d Pope.
Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Iaz93: 1:06pm On Sep 12, 2013

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by bigx(m): 1:07pm On Sep 12, 2013
Eledan: If any church member "sowed" this type of "seed" into the church....such member will be summarily exorcised from the church for having evil spirit

LMAO
Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by calculusx(m): 1:08pm On Sep 12, 2013
Humility is the pride of greatness in life. GOD bless Pope Francis

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by christejames(m): 1:08pm On Sep 12, 2013
God bless us and may he also bless nigeria
Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by FOLYKAZE(m): 1:09pm On Sep 12, 2013
Though I am an atheist but I give kudos to the Pope for this.

If only our pastorpreneur can emulate this, I would have reconvert to christianity or live by their example even without accepting their doctrines.

Once again, kudos to Pope

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by mars123(m): 1:09pm On Sep 12, 2013
90% of Nigerian pastors become pastors just because of money!some pastors even physically abuse church members...lol.tho its not funny!

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by vicfajeze: 1:10pm On Sep 12, 2013
9ja Pastors and extravagance !!! Olorun lomo eni tohun sin oun.

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by 3ace(m): 1:10pm On Sep 12, 2013
Does living poor amount to Godly life? Impressed with the pope though.
Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Vanityupnvanity(m): 1:11pm On Sep 12, 2013
What a humble popw
Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by jigawatts(m): 1:12pm On Sep 12, 2013
ALLAHU AKBAR .... what an admirable gesture...... God bless him

The part I love most: Create a church for the poor

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Omen100(m): 1:13pm On Sep 12, 2013
Pope self, hmmmmmm grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by westcodes(m): 1:15pm On Sep 12, 2013
Well done sir. Now, lets put this in perspective... The catholic faith is more popular than redeemed, Christ embassy, Synagogue et all but the pope flies commercial/charters and that's the popes-mobile. I hope our celebrity pastors are taking note.

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by Confusionist(m): 1:16pm On Sep 12, 2013
colombiana: Till tomorow I go still yarn say catholic is the only church the others na business venture. For all of u that want to attack my post i think it wud be a waste of time if u and ur family members avnt givin ur 1b naira for ur auditorium
u are more like a gay-venture!
Idol worshippers and hypocrite!

Who will reject such an offer wen the world will be watching?

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by 3ace(m): 1:17pm On Sep 12, 2013
Confusionist: u are more like a gay-venture!
Idol worshippers and hypocrite!

Who will reject such an offer wen the world will be watching?
Thank you.

Re: Pope Accepts 20-year-old Car Gift From Italian Priest by idealsico(m): 1:17pm On Sep 12, 2013
Catholics and all these their new pope's drama.Headship of a church goes beyond these posturing.Apart from the humility drama in what way has he imparted spirituality into his followership.In as much as I believe in humility I dont accede to the recent dramatization.Pope Francis please preach and teach your followers how to make heaven and quit drama for entertainers.Don't get me wrong.If the poor gives a car like this because it is all he can offer,that's okay but if on the other hand a wealthy man in his right senses donate such car while cruising in exotic cars it will amount to an act of wickedness.

Pastor Paul Adefarasin And Wife, Ifeanyi Celebrate 24th Wedding Anniversary / Use Traditional Means To Find Ozubulu Killers - Aloysius Ikegwuonu To Monarchs / Valentine: True Love Could Only Be Found In God (Pic)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 20