Stats: 3,154,850 members, 7,824,537 topics. Date: Saturday, 11 May 2024 at 12:02 PM

890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market (7327 Views)

Tears As Lagos Demolishes Oshodi Market (PHOTOS) / Kaduna Government Demolishes All Islamic Movement Properties, Cemeteries - Musa / 4 Priests Beaten To Pulp As Enugu Govt Battles Anglican Church (2) (3) (4)

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by meforyou1(m): 10:08am On Sep 13, 2013
in reconstruction, you compensate or relocate the victims. it's like everywhere in the world except nigeria. especially abuja, lagos and enugu.
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Erotex(m): 10:11am On Sep 13, 2013
Prof. Ogogoro:
I'm happy that many folks can now see through the hypocrisy and Bigotry of the Ibos who usually scream when issues concerning their people in SW comes up. The hypocrites are all silent, they've lost their voices since there's no Yoruba or APC person to blame.

shut up!! I feel more COMFORTABLE to be beating by my Father than someone's Father. Bewise!!

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Nobody: 10:14am On Sep 13, 2013
fresh_dude: That must have been Fashola's idea. He hates ibos so much he's gone to disturb them in their homelands.
senseless mofo.. Werin concern fashola with enugu?
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Nobody: 10:22am On Sep 13, 2013
D oppression of d masses by d government happens in every region in Nigeria, and will likely continue until d masses wake up to their rights.
Wat d govt of Enugu state has done is very condemnable. When d govt of Anambra state wanted to relocate traders dealing on building materials, it built a market in anoda location first, b4 carrying out d relocation. Dat is d ryt way to go about it. I won't blindly support Chime's action cos he's Igbo. And dat's how we Igbos are. We speak d truth d way it is, and not allow tribal sentiments becloud our judgement, unlike ppl from d oda side of d country.
Wat has hapnd still does not change d fact dat Fashola has issues wit Igbos, like most Yorubas in dis forum. D hatred I feel here is palpable.

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by ketoprofen(m): 10:39am On Sep 13, 2013
ILIDEFI: D oppression of d masses by d government happens in every region in Nigeria, and will likely continue until d masses wake up to their rights.
Wat d govt of Enugu state has done is very condemnable. When d govt of Anambra state wanted to relocate traders dealing on building materials, it built a market in anoda location first, b4 carrying out d relocation. Dat is d ryt way to go about it. I won't blindly support Chime's action cos he's Igbo. And dat's how we Igbos are. We speak d truth d way it is, and not allow tribal sentiments becloud our judgement, unlike ppl from d oda side of d country.
Wat has hapnd still does not change d fact dat Fashola has issues wit Igbos, like most Yorubas in dis forum. D hatred I feel here is palpable.

God will keep blessing u till u say u are saturated, till u say , God am done,give some to my neighbour'.

Its only igbos dat condemn their govt when necessary,eg TA orji , unlike some peepz that will support a one lane bridge at a busy road just because its built in sw.

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Nobody: 10:46am On Sep 13, 2013
waiting for d development.

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by gratiaeo(m): 10:47am On Sep 13, 2013
chai! Business people don surfer. Na curse to be a business man?our unemployed youth no see work work even the ones who engage them self in business govt continue pushing them up and down. I never like this Enugu state governor apart from taring few roads in Enugu town which other meaningful development have he bring to Enugu state?
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by danot1030: 10:51am On Sep 13, 2013
xplicity1: END TYM THINGS
u ar so clueless
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Nobody: 10:53am On Sep 13, 2013
gratiaeo: chai! Business people don surfer. Na curse to be a business man?our unemployed youth no see work work even the ones who engage them self in business govt continue pushing them up and down. I never like this Enugu state governor apart from taring few roads in Enugu town which other meaningful development have he bring to Enugu state?
and who cares if u liked him or not
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by naptu2: 10:54am On Sep 13, 2013
Obiagelli: Enugu government is anti poor

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by danot1030: 10:59am On Sep 13, 2013
Mr Aboki:

Why are you trying to start a war that you cant fight?!
he is nt startin a war rather d igbos ar d war mongers n hypocrites, neva sincer wit facts, dey always c evry steps 4 development in d SW as anti igbo

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by njideoby(f): 10:59am On Sep 13, 2013
All of you condemning de demolition of those shanties at old park are doing so becos you have never being there to see de eye sore called shops for yourselves.
Old park was never built for market or trading,it was meant for vehicles to be parked and for passengers,but our people drove out de vehicles out of de park to the road to constitute nuisance for innocent road users while they take over the park for market.
Ogbete main market is just across the railway close to de park,what prevents these aggrieved traders from going inside de main market for their business.
My people love sentiment die!

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by telexfree1: 11:04am On Sep 13, 2013
Did I just read somewhere that the same govt had collected millions of naira as rent in advance ?

Why does govt keep trying to make sweeping changes without first providing a viable fall back alternative

Same thing I commented on this topic :

https://www.nairaland.com/1436223/onitsha-shut-down-over-drugs-ban/2#18072778
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by danot1030: 11:05am On Sep 13, 2013
SimonAndal: [b][color=#990000]Good! That place is a pigsty. Highly unfit to be called a market in this age. It belongs in the 2nd century.
i agree wit ur view bt y is it dat igbos c such steps taken in SW as anti igbos?
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Nobody: 11:08am On Sep 13, 2013
Erotex:

shut up!! I feel more COMFORTABLE to be beating by my Father than someone's Father. Bewise!!
That is why you need to remain under your father's roof for crying out loud! Or when even your father can no longer bear your nuisance, you expect a stranger to accept you with open arms?

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by danot1030: 11:14am On Sep 13, 2013
Obiagelli] Enugu government is anti poor [/quote] can u c another anti-progressive? always setling 4 backwardness n always blaming some1 4 their misfortunes, nw is no longer gej against naigerians nor fashola against igbos is nw chime against d poor.
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Updatenewsarena(m): 11:22am On Sep 13, 2013
Despite this unemployment crisis again? God have mercy and that is why you need to follow what you see under my signature o
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by beautyng(f): 11:25am On Sep 13, 2013
This is a sin against humanity, God will surly judge u Chime for treating his people like this
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Nightshift(m): 11:36am On Sep 13, 2013
For those screaming hell, Old Park was never meant as a market with dozens of shops, but as a motor park for vehicles. It was during the decades long decay of Enugu Urban that people started erecting shops there.

Nevertheless, the state government should help those affected relocate to New Market where many empty shops are available.
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by isleman(m): 11:36am On Sep 13, 2013
we need to sacrifice to pave way for development. its for the good. lets be patient.

Also, lets know that business goes where it is invited. if the governor builds another market and asks the traders to move there, will they move?
since there is already a market there, let it be developed to standard.

Lagos had tried to move computer village in Ikeja for ages. its been very difficult. its hard to create or move a market. something ignites a market and if those things are not there, there would be no market. TINAPA is an example. why is it functioning as expected? Nigerians should learn to embrace development.
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by seanet02: 11:42am On Sep 13, 2013
king arizona:

..... they will say FASHOLA hate IGBO's

Abi no be wetin u wan talk!! undecided
abi o. this people are hypocrites.

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Gorrbachev: 11:46am On Sep 13, 2013
Enugu government is anti igbo, My pepu let us go back and develop our land and leave this amala and oyel pepu................Oh wait, we are in Alaigbo already? Chai Shineke!!!!!
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Nightshift(m): 11:48am On Sep 13, 2013
From my understanding, Enugu state government has leased the place to a foreign company that wants to build a Shoprite- like mall there.
For over almost two years now, the affected shop owners where informed about the state government's plan. They were also advised to look for shops elsewhere.

I believe what the state government should do is to compensate those affected by the demolition. An alternative motor park should also be provided.
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Ewarrior: 12:01pm On Sep 13, 2013
Obiagelli: Enugu government is anti poor

WRONG!!!

The Enugu state government has no hand in this.. It is fasholas idea sad
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by mekaboy(m): 12:04pm On Sep 13, 2013
Enugu govt take it easy oo. There no companies in enugu to employ pple. Okada has been banned now traders about to loose their source of livelihood.

The should have provided a new location for them first. If they. Knew the had plans to rebuild the place. They should not have taken rent from them.

Well this is naija for u, survival of the fittest. Last note for the president "people are suffering oo" .

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Tinyemeka(m): 12:16pm On Sep 13, 2013
tchidi: Noooooo!!

Meaning my utara n ofe onugbu woman don go?! shocked shocked angry
Why? cry cry
That woman soup na die! Ewo!! *sigh of nostalgia* embarassed embarassed
Choi! So you go there? smiley
How come we no jam?

Try Mama Onyinye, besides Polo Mall. For a jazzifying experience. wink
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Nobody: 12:34pm On Sep 13, 2013
The hypocrisy of some people on this thread is so loud...

Their silence is louder than the church bells..they've gone AWOL from the thread

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by agbameta: 12:38pm On Sep 13, 2013
oshea44: Fashola What again, We are igbos and we know u hate us so much. Oh my Bad, its Enugu not Lagos

lmao..
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by agbameta: 12:39pm On Sep 13, 2013
ALAKE_OF_EGBA: The hypocrisy of some people on this thread is so loud...

Their silence is louder than the church bells..they've gone AWOL from the thread

We know they are cowards and hypocrites... grin

Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by eaglechild: 12:43pm On Sep 13, 2013
ALAKE_OF_EGBA: The hypocrisy of some people on this thread is so loud...

maybe
ur
brain
skipped
these
mekaboy: Enugu govt take it easy oo. There no companies in enugu to employ pple. Okada has been banned now traders about to loose their source of livelihood.

The should have provided a new location for them first. If they. Knew the had plans to rebuild the place. They should not have taken rent from them.

Well this is naija for u, survival of the fittest. Last note for the president "people are suffering oo" .
ILIDEFI: D oppression of d masses by d government happens in every region in Nigeria, and will likely continue until d masses wake up to their rights.
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by Nobody: 12:48pm On Sep 13, 2013
eaglechild:
maybe
ur
brain
skipped
these

Who are these ones?

I want the known bigots that will heckle any SW government morning day and night....if this has taken place there.

Those one you quoted are nonentities as far as am concerned. undecided
Re: 890 Traders Displaced As Enugu Demolishes Old Park Market by agbameta: 12:48pm On Sep 13, 2013
eaglechild:
maybe
ur
brain
skipped
these

But we are not seeing the dumb claims like Fashola is anti poor people, we are not seeing all theretarded utterances you people spew all the time..

Ordinary Fashola telling you to clean your shops sent you people berserk, but here your shops are getting demolished and you people are not even enraged talk less going berserk..

Your hypocrisy stinks and it's pathetic..

$9.6b Judgment: Ex-cjn Belgore, Others May Face Trial / Muslim Leaders Vow To Defend Islamic Banking / Tears, Tributes At Azazi’s Funeral

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 59