Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,930,463 members, 7,085,895 topics. Date: Saturday, 24 September 2022 at 05:31 PM

Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract - Sports (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract (18335 Views)

Three Players Keshi Should Drop For South Africa Clash / Do You Still Say Keshi Should Go ? / List Uncapped in-form Players Keshi Should Call-up (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by Kabikala(m): 7:14pm On Jul 13, 2014
JideTheBlogger: Yes oo. Imagine, a team without a player that can play free kicks.. We wasted corners, free kicks. No pattern, nothing.

God bless you bro.

Under 3 years of Keshi, Nigeria Super Eagles did not score any goal via corner kick and maybe scored one or two through free kicks. And we had dozens of both.

What kind of coach would develop a team that does not know how to optimize dead ball situations? Recall how Argentina and France both defeated us at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil by capitalizing on the opportunities provided through free kicks and corner kicks. How do the big teams excel? By not wasting the opportunities they get in a match.

Keshi has just been one lucky fella. He is no tactician. Simple.

5 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by vislabraye(m): 7:15pm On Jul 13, 2014
Keshi is good. He's not perfect but he needs some assistant. The post should atleast acknowledge his strengths.

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by blasterman(m): 7:19pm On Jul 13, 2014
ichidodo: Keshi should be given a long term contract,we cannot stress enough how much we,at this critical point of our first football golden age since the class of 94-96, stand to lose if S.A successfully poaches the Big boss....

Gabon, Senegal, Guniea are interested in him
Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by Nobody: 7:25pm On Jul 13, 2014
vislabraye: Keshi is good. He's not perfect but he needs some assistant. The post should atleast acknowledge his strengths.

Like someone previously said Keshi/Oliseh should be a good combo. They should both keep their egos aside and work together

If Keshi is too much of a big head let's give it to Oliseh. I am confident he will deliver

Football is not rocket science, you either got it or u don't!

The current Swansea coach was a central defender and captain of the side and took over after Michael Laudrop was sacked! He did alright in my view.

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by adekayo1234(m): 7:27pm On Jul 13, 2014
what the Op said is true. Gone are the days when brute strength and power are all that matter in football. Modern football is about tactical discipline and cohesion between the team and coaching crew.

Nigeria and Africa as a whole need to raise her game and I believe we don't need a foreign coach to do that for us. Let the NFF give the job to someone who is ready to put the pride of the nation first; someone ready to bring up young players from Academies, U17 and U20 level; someone who hungry for glory and someone committed to taking Nigerian football to the next level.

I believe if we could achieve so much with our U17 and U20, then I believe this country is well able to produce coaches and players that will do us proud.

On this note, I will advise Keshi to kindly resign and leave when the ovation is loudest because this man is not setting a good example for upcoming players who think country football is all about the money.

We need people who will see wearing the Nigerian colour as a privilege rather than a right.... This is my humble logomaki and is without logopatial

3 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by Empredboy(m): 7:29pm On Jul 13, 2014
@op i think u got it very very wrong abt football tactics. See free u bias mind n reason it like this : (1) aw do u know a quality coach? What re the criterias? To my understanding a quality professional coach is d one who manage or stays in tune with his profession over a long period gaining xperience with it. Eg sir alex feguson had constantly been in biz wit man utd gaining experince n d result we got since yr 2000 until he left, mounrinho started frm porto to chelsea to milan n people call them good coaches cos they re always engage. Now look at kechi, he started from been an assistant to amodu to become a chief coach in togo n mail then nig. And d result re there to see. All d coaches around how many of them can u say av been regularly engage for the past ten yrs now. From siasia to olishe to anyone u can think of. My bro to analys is diff from to practices.. Eg when we were younger n we see the past question of an exam we will say its simple bt when we get to the exam hall d ball game is always diff. So dopnt olishe let him go n get some xperience.
Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by showby: 7:33pm On Jul 13, 2014
According to the OP:

Keshi's team organisation is poor
Keshi's substitutions and choices are mediocre
Keshi sacrifices merit
Keshi's awareness and proactiveness is low
Keshi has poor man-management skills

Meaning that Keshi lacks all the basic "pillars" of good coaching. Can a coach that has all these weaknesses qualify for the Nations cup or World cup; lets not even talk of winning the Nations Cup. Na wa everybody wan talk football.

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by Wahala90: 7:36pm On Jul 13, 2014
showby: According to the OP:
Keshi's team organisation is poor
Keshi's substitutions and choices are mediocre
Keshi sacrifices merit
Keshi's awareness and proactiveness is low
Keshi has poor man-management skills
Meaning that Keshi lacks all the basic "pillars" of good coaching. Can a coach that has all these weaknesses qualify for the Nations cup or World cup; lets not even talk of winning the Nations Cup. Na wa everybody wan talk football.

Good question.

Conclusion: The OP is a big fvoooooooool.
Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by searay(m): 7:38pm On Jul 13, 2014
mikeansy: Keshi is not behaving like a man who has learnt anything from his mistakes at the World Cup

how do you know?
Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by ogawisdom(m): 7:41pm On Jul 13, 2014
Keshi contract shld nt b renewed he ws a disaster at d confed cup n world cup. He only has goodluck dts all tongue

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by tete7000(m): 7:47pm On Jul 13, 2014
This OP reminds me of an incident that happened last season and involved Arsenal Wenger and Paul Schole. Schole criticised Arsenal for lack of leadership and went further to criticised the coach's approach to games. Later during a press conference a journalist asked Wenger what he has to say about Paul Schole's criticism to which he reply: ' The wonderful thing about our job is that those who have never manage a team no matter how small also have opinion and can criticise'. Everyone including those who have not successfully managed their homes criticise and totally condemn a man that won a nation cup, qualified his country for world cup and took them to second run, a feat the nation couldn't achieve since 1998.

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by Generalkorex(m): 7:50pm On Jul 13, 2014
like a nairalander signature
keshi should be hanged.lol

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by toprealman: 7:51pm On Jul 13, 2014
A country were mediocrity thrives. I won't be surprised if Keshi's contract is renewed despite the young man not deserving it.

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by Wahala90: 7:53pm On Jul 13, 2014
Kabikala:

God bless you bro.

Under 3 years of Keshi, Nigeria Super Eagles did not score any goal via corner kick and maybe scored one or two through free kicks. And we had dozens of both.

What kind of coach would develop a team that does not know how to optimiize dead ball situations? Recall how Argentina and France both defeated us by capitalizing on the opportunities provided through free kicks and corner kicks. How do the big teams excel? By not wasting the opportunities they get in a match.

Keshi has just been one lucky fella. He is no tactician. Simple.

Luck to win Nations cup, qualify for the World cup and get to the second round? Talk is cheap!

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by amadice(m): 7:55pm On Jul 13, 2014
DeeMain: I think Nigeria should use this transition period to find a great coach who can fit into our system.

I have issues with Keshi. Keshi is not tactically savvy. Yes, he has won us the Nation's Cup, but we shouldn't allow that to cloud our judgement. His team has no shape, his team lacks basic organization (they are all over the place). The commentators were even alarmed and made fun at how poorly organized we were. His substitutions and choices are mediocre (remember Reuben Gabriel for Onazi). What of his choices of players to the WC? How can an ambitious coach go to the World Cup without a bench? And yes, he sacrifices merit (remember Chigozie Agbim, etc). His awareness and proactiveness is low. France hounded us for all of 25 minutes before they scored without a reaction from Keshi. Save for Enyeama it would have been another tale. Lastly, Keshi has poor man-management skills.

I believe we had a bad World Cup. If the Ref had allowed Dzeko's goal maybe we wouldn't have qualified for the 2nd round. 1 draw, 1 ref assisted win, 2 losses and a bad team is not good enough 4 me. Keshi should not be rewarded for his mediocrity.

What's our vision for our team? Where are we going? These questions should inform our decisions not sympathy or emotional interest.

We house a quarter of all black people on earth. We are a giant. We are the hope of Africa. Let's raise our standards. Africa is looking up to us.

My submission
....what a trash...what do u expect from keshi...thw truth is dat we dont havnt the caliber of players fit to compete at d level of the world cup....all our super stars ar flop amd bench warmer...pls dont disturb keshi even MOU, fegie will do nothing with dat team...free keshi abegii

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by revelationuche: 7:56pm On Jul 13, 2014
Well, sentiment shuld nt be accomodate.The boss deserves anoda contract [img]http://www.hostsleek.com/clients/?aff=052[/img]
[img]http://www.?aff=580[/img]
[img]http://clients.utiware.net/?aff=595[/img]

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by Nobody: 8:00pm On Jul 13, 2014
amadice: ....what a trash...what do u expect from keshi...thw truth is dat we dont havnt the caliber of players fit to compete at d level of the world cup....all our super stars ar flop amd bench warmer...pls dont disturb keshi even MOU, fegie will do nothing with dat team...free keshi abegii

Mourinho and fergie will not take Ramon Azeez and Gabriel Rueben to World Cup ahead of Nosa Igiebor and and Fegor Ogude

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by vislabraye(m): 8:01pm On Jul 13, 2014
mikeansy:

Like someone previously said Keshi/Oliseh should be a good combo. They should both keep their egos aside and work together

If Keshi is too much of a big head let's give it to Oliseh. I am confident he will deliver

Football is not rocket science, you either got it or u don't!

The current Swansea coach was a central defender and captain of the side and took over after Michael Laudrop was sacked! He did alright in my view.

. They can't work together because of ego.

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by Nobody: 8:07pm On Jul 13, 2014
Nigeria's problem is not Keshi, our problem is that we do not have any truly world class players other than Enyeama. Omeruo may become one in the future but other than that out players are in the average to poor bracket. nothing much any coach could do with this lot.

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by toprealman: 8:08pm On Jul 13, 2014
Someone should drill Keshi in a live broadcast let us hear what he has got to say. So far, most of his post World Cup ranting is just shocking.

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by enomasly: 8:10pm On Jul 13, 2014
Am so ashamed of Nigerians so getting to the round of 16 is an achievement when our mates are playing the world cup finals ohhhh i weep

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by amadice(m): 8:16pm On Jul 13, 2014
mikeansy:

Mourinho and fergie will not take Ramon Azeez and Gabriel Rueben to World Cup ahead of Nosa Igiebor and and Fegor Ogude
.....both players are bench warmers in there respective clubsides

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by checkdate(m): 8:20pm On Jul 13, 2014
DeeMain: I think Nigeria should use this transition period to find a great coach who can fit into our system.

I have issues with Keshi. Keshi is not tactically savvy. Yes, he has won us the Nation's Cup, but we shouldn't allow that to cloud our judgement. His team has no shape, his team lacks basic organization (they are all over the place). The commentators were even alarmed and made fun at how poorly organized we were. His substitutions and choices are mediocre (remember Reuben Gabriel for Onazi). What of his choices of players to the WC? How can an ambitious coach go to the World Cup without a bench? And yes, he sacrifices merit (remember Chigozie Agbim, etc). His awareness and proactiveness is low. France hounded us for all of 25 minutes before they scored without a reaction from Keshi. Save for Enyeama it would have been another tale. Lastly, Keshi has poor man-management skills.

I believe we had a bad World Cup. If the Ref had allowed Dzeko's goal maybe we wouldn't have qualified for the 2nd round. 1 draw, 1 ref assisted win, 2 losses and a bad team is not good enough 4 me. Keshi should not be rewarded for his mediocrity.

What's our vision for our team? Where are we going? These questions should inform our decisions not sympathy or emotional interest.

We house a quarter of all black people on earth. We are a giant. We are the hope of Africa. Let's raise our standards. Africa is looking up to us.

My submission
YOU ARE WRONG
Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by Nobody: 8:38pm On Jul 13, 2014
amadice: .....both players are bench warmers in there respective clubsides

Which players are bench warmers?

Do you even know their clubs?

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by Calebosko(m): 8:42pm On Jul 13, 2014
somebody told me mikel was a snail,but d Germans are more like a milipeed,dats class......sometimes footbal is more dan run run,mikel was class.

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by korel9: 8:49pm On Jul 13, 2014
tonytony208:


you pple keep on flogging this tactical/ technical competency issue. How did he beat CIV and Mali at NC? how did he beat Morocco at chan from 3 goals down? How will you describe musa's first and second goals against Argentina? So you think a tactically incompetent coach would have been able to bring that out of a team (i mean musa had never been a regular scorer for SE)? If you call his achievements mere luck, then it means you will go to any length to make his achievements look like nothing; a disgusting sign of pure hate.

Mr man a beg leave keshi alone. He has shown he is better than any other coach nigeria had ever employed aside westerhof and as a result, he deserves to be retained. What he needs is time and not your pullhimdown tactics and pitiably destructive criticism.

I was about mentioning u before I got to your comment.
Thank God you are seeingsame thing I said from another persons' views.
I don't hate him as a coach, he has tried. But the fact is, that tactical ability to read a game and change it to favour his team is lacking.
No hating! sad sad

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by victorazy(m): 8:50pm On Jul 13, 2014
Keshi na local champ, he is not world class coach.

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by ijechikky(f): 8:52pm On Jul 13, 2014
Babyboy1986: Na so you they think?
yes na so!
Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by victorazy(m): 8:53pm On Jul 13, 2014
Calebosko: somebody told me mikel was a snail,but d Germans are more like a milipeed,dats class......sometimes footbal is more dan run run,mikel was class.

The Germans that flugged Brazil 1-7 or another one?

Mikel or watever is anus!
Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by lakecyd(m): 8:54pm On Jul 13, 2014
in my opinion, keshi should not be given a new contract, he is not a good tactician. dunno if politics are being played underneath but I think he is best elsewhere. wink

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Keshi Should NOT Be Given A New Contract by victorazy(m): 8:57pm On Jul 13, 2014
blasterman:

Gabon, Senegal, Guniea are interested in him

As a local champion he be grin

1 Like

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (Reply)

Sergio Ramos Becomes Europe's Most Capped Outfield Player / Solskjaer: I Would Understand If The Season Is Cut Short Because Of Coronavirus / All African Games 2019: Flying Eagles Face Hosts In Race For Gold Medal

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2022 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 169
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.