Stats: 3,155,204 members, 7,825,771 topics. Date: Sunday, 12 May 2024 at 10:54 PM

How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE - Education (211) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE (1356604 Views)

10 Youngest People Ever To Achieve A Doctorate Degree / Learn The Gre Word List / Tips On How To Pass The GRE. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (208) (209) (210) (211) (212) (213) (214) ... (618) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iseoluwa89(m): 7:45pm On Mar 08, 2017
temmitats:
where are you having issues? RCs, TCs,SEs or Mastering new vocabulary?
Mastering new vocabulary..because most of d words are new to me..and I think it's d bedrock to SEs and TCs too..
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by temmitats(f): 7:51pm On Mar 08, 2017
iseoluwa89:

Mastering new vocabulary..because most of d words are new to me..and I think it's d bedrock to SEs and TCs too..
You're right it is, download the memrise app, it has helped me a lot. Alternatively I have audio files to the 1000 high frequency gre vocabulary, the fellow speaking has a strong Indian accent though
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Cephas0009: 9:07pm On Mar 08, 2017
Scholastica16, it's been a while..How av u been bro?
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by OnlyTheBrave: 9:30pm On Mar 08, 2017
SEE JAMB 2017 SUBJECT COMBINATION FOR ALL UNIVERSITY AND POLYTECHNIC COURSES, HOPE U GUYS HAVE STARTED REGISTRATION?

http://www.9jaedu.com/jamb-utme-2017-correct-subjects-combination-for-all-courses/
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Nobody: 4:59am On Mar 09, 2017
I've got decisions from all 4 schools I applied to. So far I've got 3 admits and unfortunately 1 reject. In that order;
UMass Lowell
SIU
CSU
UNL.
The problem is, no funding yet. I'll still try to put all I've learned from this forum to use and see if I can get funded. I wish all other aspirant of fall 17 success.

Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by OluDare01(m): 6:56am On Mar 09, 2017
UNL rejected you
I'm surprised[quote author=fredoricko post=54408522][/quote]
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Nobody: 7:30am On Mar 09, 2017
OluDare01:
UNL rejected you
I'm surprised

I'm as shocked as you are. No particular reason was given for the rejection. It was just some generic email talking about how there is a limited number of qualified students they can admit. And from my pre applicatiom correspondence with the grad program specialist, I was confident I'd make a great fit for the program. I guess it was all a hoax to get my application fee. Though I'm sad about it, I'll not pine over it for too long. At least I've got UMass.
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Ndawe(f): 7:46am On Mar 09, 2017
Funding will come. Looks like many schools will make funding decisions later in the month; keep the faith up.. and Congratulations!!![quote author=fredoricko post=54408522][/quote]
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Nobody: 7:49am On Mar 09, 2017
Ndawe:
Funding will come. Looks like many schools will make funding decisions later in the month; keep the faith up.. and Congratulations!!!

Thanks dear. I wish I were a PhD candidate. Then I'd have prolly been as confident as you are.
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Ndawe(f): 7:50am On Mar 09, 2017
I sent an email yesterday inquiring about the need to make a separate application for an assistantship position in Tennessee Tech, and she was quick to respond as follows: "Thank you for your inquiry about the EVS PhD assistantships. I believe you have been recommended for an assistantship, but no decisions will be made until the EVS PhD Graduate Review Committee meet on March 23rd. We should have their recommendations by March 24th. We are also waiting on possible State Legislature funds to become available". Basically, by month end, there should be an update regarding that.
Now I wouldn't know if this is peculiar to the department I'm applying to or it cuts across board. Did you get a response yet?
Topiipii:
Note: For those with admission offers who are seeking funding, I'd advise you check with your department/graduate admissions if you need to apply for TA/RA. I was told I'd need to do so by Colorado State and on checking Tennessee Tech's website, I noticed I'd also need to apply as well (the deadline for ECE Fall 2017 is March 15). I intend to mail the department to confirm this.
cc Ndawe
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Ndawe(f): 7:54am On Mar 09, 2017
Don't give up just yet hun smiley
fredoricko:

Thanks dear. I wish I were a PhD candidate. Then I'd have prolly been as confident as you are.
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Scholastica16: 8:15am On Mar 09, 2017
Cephas0009:
Scholastica16, it's been a while..How av u been bro?

I am well brother. Nothing much has happened on my end as the other 6 schools are yet to make decisions (I enquired). How have your decisions been? I know you made one Application to LSU. Anyword?
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Scholastica16: 8:16am On Mar 09, 2017
Ndawe:
I sent an email yesterday inquiring about the need to make a separate application for an assistantship position in Tennessee Tech, and she was quick to respond as follows: "Thank you for your inquiry about the EVS PhD assistantships. I believe you have been recommended for an assistantship, but no decisions will be made until the EVS PhD Graduate Review Committee meet on March 23rd. We should have their recommendations by March 24th. We are also waiting on possible State Legislature funds to become available". Basically, by month end, there should be an update regarding that.
Now I wouldn't know if this is peculiar to the department I'm applying to or it cuts across board. Did you get a response yet?

He is not applying for a PhD. You are. PhDs as a matter of fact get priority with respect to funding.
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Scholastica16: 8:18am On Mar 09, 2017
fredoricko:

Now is the time to confidently ask for it. If they are going to fund you, they would let you know your chances now rather than later. I also know most schools make their decisions on funding in April.

Sorry about Nebraska, Lincoln. Very difficult to know why the decision swung that way, but I am guessing they couldn't secure a professor to take you on. Sometimes, it just boils down to compatibility more than one's fit-for-purpose. You'd be alright.
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Nobody: 8:20am On Mar 09, 2017
Scholastica16:

Now is the time to confidently ask for it.

Thanks. I have and still will.

How're yours? I'm sure you'll get a lot of juicy offers. I hope well all do.
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Ndawe(f): 8:23am On Mar 09, 2017
Oh okay, I wasn't aware that he applied for an MSc; indeed PhDs get priority for funding. No wahala, thank you and fingers crossed grin
Scholastica16:

He is not applying for a PhD. You are. PhDs as a matter of fact get priority with respect to funding.
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Scholastica16: 8:24am On Mar 09, 2017
fredoricko:

Thanks. I have and still will.

How're yours? I'm sure you'll get a lot of juicy offers. I hope well all do.

Some of my schools said decisions will be made mid-march. I am just observing with a pin-hole camera.

Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by OluDare01(m): 8:37am On Mar 09, 2017
fredoricko:

I'm as shocked as you are. No particular reason was given for the rejection. It was just some generic email talking about how there is a limited number of qualified students they can admit. And from my pre applicatiom correspondence with the grad program specialist, I was confident I'd make a great fit for the program. I guess it was all a hoax to get my application fee. Though I'm sad about it, I'll not pine over it for too long. At least I've got UMass.
Maybe there was no potential supervisor.
At times, a good profile won't get you admission.
A friend with a first class and 320+ in GRE 103 in Toefl got rejected by my school cos there was no supervisor in his area of interest.
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Topiipii(m): 12:52pm On Mar 09, 2017
Ndawe:
Oh wow. I'll check and do so asap.Thank you. Did you also apply to Tennessee Tech and for what program?
MS Electrical Engineering
Ndawe:
I have to apply based on the reply I got, the person that replied me even said it might be up to July before decisions are announced as usually get their funds late.
It might be peculiar to my department though since the person I mailed works in the ECE department.
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Ndawe(f): 1:30pm On Mar 09, 2017
Okay, seems like different departments, different MO. So now we wait, pray and hope for the best smiley
Topiipii:

MS Electrical Engineering

I have to apply based on the reply I got, the person that replied me even said it might be up to July before decisions are announced as usually get their funds late.
It might be peculiar to my department though since the person I mailed works in the ECE department.

Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by strictlynaija: 4:56pm On Mar 09, 2017
Cephas0009:

For IELTS, u can send ur scores to 5 schools for free during about 1month after u write the test but anything after that u will pay 2k5 to apply 4 ur result to be sent any courier charges for sending to the desired destination. U can go to their office if u r in lagos for further clarification. Thanks

Boss, no be 2k5 oooo..na 10k and it even took 2 weeks before it got delivered in US. Thanks though
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Nobody: 5:27pm On Mar 09, 2017
Link to Mathematics Graduate Programs with Financial Support for MA/MS Students

http://www.math.ku.edu/~jmartin/masters.html

Please, I suggest you still do your research and mail the Graduate Coordinators before applying. All the best to future applicants.

Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Sbrainy(m): 6:23pm On Mar 09, 2017
Thanks Andradeze

Pls has anyone applied to Georgia Southern Uni here?? M.S Mathematics

andradaeze:

Please, I suggest you still do your research and mail the Graduate Coordinators before applying. All the best to future applicants.

Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Nobody: 7:48pm On Mar 09, 2017
andradaeze:

To put an icing on the cake for prospective graduate maths student go to www.ams.org/programs/students/findgradprograms/fgp-search and search for the course under mathematics with funding that suit your profile

Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Cephas0009: 9:47pm On Mar 09, 2017
Scholastica16:

I am well brother. Nothing much has happened on my end as the other 6 schools are yet to make decisions (I enquired). How have your decisions been? I know you made one Application to LSU. Anyword?

I didn't eventually complete that application. I am as hopeful as u are on the two schools I await decision from... Hopefully before the month runs out...
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by ikes9(m): 9:58pm On Mar 09, 2017
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Cephas0009: 11:04pm On Mar 09, 2017
strictlynaija:

Boss, no be 2k5 oooo..na 10k and it even took 2 weeks before it got delivered in US. Thanks though

I mean just the application after the 1month free window have expired. Of course u will pay for courier charges separately... I sent mine by post office n 2/3 of it was delivered,.. Its a risk sha
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Ndawe(f): 8:07am On Mar 10, 2017
Good morning house, a quick update. I've received 3 decisions out of 4 applications:

Tennessee Tech: Admitted; admission letter was sent early this morning and funding decision will be known in the last week of March.
Michigan Tech: Denied sad. The email just dropped. Reason for denial: "There currently is no advisor available in your specified area of interest"
Clarkson Uni: Admitted (This is a private school though): Some funding was provided actually but not enough, so I may have to decline.

Still waiting on Mississippi State Uni.

*modified*

Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Nobody: 8:21am On Mar 10, 2017
Ndawe:
Good morning house, a quick update. I've received 3 decisions out of 4 applications:
Tennessee Tech: Admitted; admission letter was sent early this morning and funding decision will be known in the last week of March.
Michigan Tech: Denied sad. No email or anything, I just checked the portal and saw the decision.
Clarkson Uni: Admitted (This is a private school though): Some funding was provided actually but not enough, so I may have to decline.

@bolded. All that's needed is just one juicy offer. I'm confident you have it already. Congratulations ma
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by iCool(m): 8:47am On Mar 10, 2017
Good morning house, a quick update.

@bolded. All that's needed is just one juicy offer. I'm confident you have it already. Congratulations ma

Just ONE! Still hoping on LSU and Auburn for the offer too good to be rejected.
Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Ndawe(f): 8:52am On Mar 10, 2017
Exactly, one juicy offer cuts it. Thank you so much and I pray same for you too smiley. It will all be worth it in the end
fredoricko:

Re: How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE by Ndawe(f): 8:53am On Mar 10, 2017
That one offer just has to come through biko.
iCool:

Just ONE! Still hoping on LSU and Auburn for the offer too good to be rejected.

(1) (2) (3) ... (208) (209) (210) (211) (212) (213) (214) ... (618) (Reply)

The medical students and aspirants thread / Unilorin Utme 2015/2016 Aspirants / UNIBEN STUDENTS ADMISSION THREAD, 2015/2016

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 53