Stats: 3,151,321 members, 7,811,951 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 01:11 AM

Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation - Agriculture (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Agriculture / Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation (67377 Views)

Aregbesola Interacts With Farmers In Their Cocoa Plantation (pics) / Cost Analysis/How To Setup Plantain Plantation In Nigeria With Pictures / Meet Tomtato – A Plant That Grows Tomatoes Above Ground And Potatoes Below (2) (3) (4)

Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by Nobody: 5:41pm On Aug 04, 2014
felixzo1: can i do this with mangoes ,citrus
it will work but your mango will experience a difficult physical outlook. Mangoes need a vigorous root system. citrus :OK no problem
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 10:00am On Aug 05, 2014
happybrother:
it will work but your mango will experience a difficult physical outlook. Mangoes need a vigorous root system. citrus :OK no problem
. Exactly what Happybrother said. You could try making your rooting medium receptacle (the Nylon sack) bigger. Also, leave it for a longer period than specified here. You could leave it for more than 3 months. Also make your rooting medium richer by adding organic manure like cow or chicken dung.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 10:02am On Aug 05, 2014
If you are attempting this, kindly upload pictures of your progress or your techniques. Let's share. cheesy
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 10:10am On Aug 05, 2014
anienge001:

I am still in search of pomegranate(rumman in hausa). Do you have it?
. I'm afraid I don't have it.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by anienge001: 6:51pm On Aug 05, 2014
irukandji89: . I'm afraid I don't have it.

OK.
I'll keep right searching till I find ---- (Bongos Igwe)
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 7:03pm On Aug 08, 2014
anienge001:
OK.
I'll keep right searching till I find ---- (Bongos Igwe)
. I found this pic on the net. Air layering done on pomegranate.

Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by anienge001: 9:07pm On Aug 08, 2014
irukandji89: . I found this pic on the net. Air layering done on pomegranate.

This is cool. So, whenever I see this wonderful plant, I will only need to buy few seedlings. Thanks for the update. Abeg, if you know where I can buy the plant, let me oooooooooo!
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 4:12pm On Aug 09, 2014
anienge001:

This is cool. So, whenever I see this wonderful plant, I will only need to buy few seedlings. Thanks for the update. Abeg, if you know where I can buy the plant, let me oooooooooo!

have u ever come across the plant in Nigeria? Or the fruit.

i guess it will be in the north, since it has a local hausa name.

if you are able to, you could go to the north to find it.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by anienge001: 5:44pm On Aug 09, 2014
irukandji89:

have u ever come across the plant in Nigeria? Or the fruit.

i guess it will be in the north, since it has a local hausa name.

if you are able to, you could go to the north to find it.

Someone once told me that he saw it in Niger state, but since then, the number he gave me is not going through.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by akomst: 8:49am On Aug 10, 2014
Nice information you've provided here and free of charge !
Don't worry it didn't make fp, not all good topics do on nairaland. I have in no doubt benefit from it and am bookmarking it for future reference. smiley

Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 7:09am On Aug 11, 2014
akomst: Nice information you've provided here and free of charge !
Don't worry it didn't make fp, not all good topics do on nairaland. I have in no doubt benefit from it and am bookmarking it for future reference. smiley

well i believe we came to this world with nothing, and will leave with nothing.

am sure some ppl will laugh ar my naivety, but i don't mind.

i feel good that ppl are reading and taking the time to comment.

Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 7:15am On Aug 11, 2014
if you reside in ijebu/ ogun axis, and you need assistance, pls let me know.

request for my number and i will give to you.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by Itydee(m): 4:06pm On Aug 11, 2014
Can one also propagate African pear tree and apple?
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 10:58am On Aug 12, 2014
Itydee: Can one also propagate African pear tree and apple?
. Yes, it can be done.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 5:11pm On Aug 19, 2014
Its hard to perform air layering while its raining non stop daily.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by Praktikals(m): 6:24am On Aug 22, 2014
Thanks for sharing.

Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 6:14pm On Sep 04, 2014
Air layering 100 seedlings for the month of September is in progress. Pictures will follow soon.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by Nobody: 10:37pm On Sep 04, 2014
Do you know of any citrus specie that can be harvested 2years after planting ?
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 8:46am On Sep 05, 2014
aguiyi: Do you know of any citrus specie that can be harvested 2years after planting ?
. I think the closest one is lemon which is 3 years. It matures after 5 years. It all comes down to how much care you give them. Weeding, fertilizer application, training of ∂ branches to grow upwards etc. This is based on my own experience though.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by Nobody: 9:14am On Sep 05, 2014
irukandji89: . I think the closest one is lemon which is 3 years. It matures after 5 years. It all comes down to how much care you give them. Weeding, fertilizer application, training of ∂ branches to grow upwards etc. This is based on my own experience though.

am thinking of something i can harvest after 2yrs (24 months).

is there no enhanced specie ?
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 8:42pm On Sep 05, 2014
aguiyi: Do you know of any citrus specie that can be harvested 2years after planting ?

Marcotted lemon trees start bearing fruits in a little over a year.

This is possible with good care.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 12:54pm On Sep 15, 2014
More proof that this method actually works, and is faster than budding (for citrus plants).
This is my air-layered lemon plant. Its a little over 1 year (a year and a month).

It is about 1.5m high.

It is already bearing fruits.

Attached picture of the young plant in my farm with another showing the fruit.

Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by coluwagbemiga(m): 9:49pm On Sep 26, 2014
Nice post I ve learnt a lot

Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by Praktikals(m): 2:46pm On Oct 13, 2014
Praktikals:
Thanks for sharing.
Wow! It works. Thanks

Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by Walexz02(m): 9:43am On Oct 14, 2014
Wao! this awsome, weldone op

Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by Beedee777: 6:22am On Oct 29, 2014
irukandji89:

if you reside in ijebu/ ogun axis, and you need assistance, pls let me know.

request for my number and i will give to you.

Hi.

Thank you so much for this post! God bless your heart!

Can this be combined with grafting? If not, what are the practical pros and cons of both practices? In your experience, which trumps the other?

As you also stated here, my farm is in Ogun state and I will delighted to get your telephone number for further talks.

Thank you so very much!
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by ikenga67: 2:59pm On Oct 29, 2014
irukandji89:
MARCOTTING/ AIR LAYERING: TURN A PLANT INTO A PLANTATION

Hello, I would like share a method of plant propagation that I feel has a lot of potential.

Marcotting, also called Air Layering is an asexual or vegetative method of plant propagation in which a new plant is made from a mature, established parent plant.

It is a very easy and quick way to multiply or propagate woody plants. In this method of plant propagation, roots are induced to form on a part of the parent plant (by causing a sort of “wound” or “cut” and then covering it up) while it remains aerial (above ground), hence the term Air Layering.

I have tried and tested this method of propagation of many plants which include Citrus plants (Lemon, Orange etc.), Moringa, African Apple, African Star Apple (agbalumo), Teak, Molina, Rubber, Basil (Ewuro), Thyme (Efinrin) and some woody decorative plants, and I have recorded success.

I hope to share my methods with fellow NLanders because I have searched on this forum and I haven’t found a related, comprehensive article on this method of propagation and I believe it would be beneficial to agriculturists who may want to start a plantation of some plants listed above.

I am interested in the teak. Do you have any pictures and how well do they perform through this process?
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 5:06pm On Oct 29, 2014
ikenga67:

I am interested in the teak. Do you have any pictures and how well do they perform through this process?

A pilot scheme/ test will be carried out in the next few days.

Result will be in abt 8 to 12 weeks time.

Pictures of progress will be uploaded.

Kindly check often.

Thanks.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 5:15pm On Oct 29, 2014
Beedee777:

Hi.

Thank you so much for this post! God bless your heart!

Can this be combined with grafting? If not, what are the practical pros and cons of both practices? In your experience, which trumps the other?

As you also stated here, my farm is in Ogun state and I will delighted to get your telephone number for further talks.

Thank you so very much!

Both methods are good, and both have arguably the same pros and cons. E.g transfer of xteristics to offsprings etc.

Can't say which is better, it depends on choice.

That is, what the person prefers.

But if both methods are rated based on duration, marcotting beats grafting marginally because of shorter time.

I personally prefer this method.

Its so easy, a 7yr old can do it.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by irukandji89(m): 5:19pm On Oct 29, 2014
..... And thanks for the nice words....

,,,, Av Been scarce on this thread.

Preparing for two weddings .....

My brother and sister.

.... One after the other .....

.....Has Been taking my time .....

Will be back fully (soon) with pictures.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by ikenga67: 8:26pm On Oct 29, 2014
irukandji89:

A pilot scheme/ test will be carried out in the next few days.

Result will be in abt 8 to 12 weeks time.

Pictures of progress will be uploaded.

Kindly check often.

Thanks.

I sure will. Thanks.
Re: Marcotting/Air Layering: Turn A Plant Into A Plantation by drake2(m): 9:00pm On Oct 29, 2014
irukandji89:
Its hard to perform air layering while its raining non stop daily.

Great topic, many thanks for sharing. Please how does d potting mixture get moisture?

Big Python I Killed In My Farm Today And What Has Become Of It. / Yam Growing On Tiles (Pictures) / The Puff Adder My Workers Killed On My Yam Farm (Pictures)