Stats: 3,162,967 members, 7,852,259 topics. Date: Thursday, 06 June 2024 at 02:48 PM

Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) (83) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds (64002 Views)

Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion / Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds / Manchester United Fan thread: Forever Reds (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (80) (81) (82) (83) (84) (85) (86) ... (98) (Go Down)

Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Sauron1: 5:51pm On Jan 06, 2009
@ EastBay n Cristalz,

I have warned u peops times without number not to believe everything u READ:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Joorabchian denies rift talk

No problem between Tevez and Ferguson

Kia Joorabchian has insisted there is no problem between Carlos Tevez and Sir Alex Ferguson.

The Argentina striker is currently in the second year of a complicated loan move with the deal set to expire at the end of the season.

Tevez, who has not been able to hold down a regular starting place this term, has yet to agree a permanent contract with Manchester United.

Speculation has suggested that Tevez's days at Old Trafford could be numbered and the 24-year-old has been quoted as saying he would be interested in playing for Real Madrid.

However, Joorabchian maintains that his client is happy at United and has a good relationship with Ferguson.

Asked if there was an issue between Tevez and Ferguson, Joorabchian told Ole: "No. Tevez just wanted to clarify that he hadn't received an offer. Everything's fine.

"He gets on very well with Ferguson. Everything started with a lie written by an English journalist who wrote that Ferguson had said they made an offer.

"The truth is there are no problems and he's going to carry on playing for Manchester United until the end of the season."

Ferguson recently stated that he had 'no idea' about when Tevez's future would be resolved and Joorabchian concedes that he does not know if a permanent deal will be agreed.

"It's hard to know," he said. "From my experience I'd say that anything can happen."
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Cristalz(f): 6:06pm On Jan 06, 2009
@Sauron

What in the above you posted is different from what we've said?

Nobody said Tev doesn't have a good relationship with Fergie. Tevez said so himself that he has a good relationship with everyone in the club and if he leaves, he wants to leave on that good note.
His only issue is that Ferguson hasn't said anything positive about his contract. If Ferguson wants to keep him, he knows what to do/ how much to pay. Anything short, he'll walk. He wants to remain at United but not for less than he desires. End of story.

Same thing Mr Joorabchian is saying. Exact same thing. Tevez just wants to be certain about his future, and Fergie is acting like he doesn't want Tev to stay, as in, stalling unnecessarily. I mean, how many minutes will it take for Fergie to let Tev know that the club plans to keep him but just want to settle some issues before facing his?
What's the idea keeping the guy in suspense? When a manager wants a player he makes sure that player knows it. Fergie isn't doing that.

''Say something concrete coach'' is what Carlos is screaming, that's all. That's what Tev is saying in his interview, and that's what I've been in agreement with thus far.
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Sauron1: 6:12pm On Jan 06, 2009
@ Cristalz,

The media are making it sound as if Tevez would leave this Janaury for Real Madrid.
Besides that, a moronic English journalist lied Fergie actually offered Tevez a contract and Apache rejected the contract.
All those were lies cooked by the media to unsettle Man Utd.
Apparently, they are still sore about the Ronaldo saga--after 5 months of consistent lies, they were pissed Ronaldo stayed at Man Utd.

On Fergie's reluctance to sign Tevez. . . . .He has been in the game long enough to know what is right for Man Utd.
Sir Alex is not Wenger. In the end, I have no fears nor worries.
SAF will know what the right thing is FOR THE CLUB. And thats all that matters for me.
For the record, despite liking Tevez, I can imagine us without him and don't think it will affect us too much if he leaves.
Pretty much like Hargreaves, he is a 'nice to have' rather than a 'must have'.

In Fergie i still TRUST. cool
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by dayokanu(m): 9:22pm On Jan 06, 2009
Do you think Man Utd would be affected if berbasulk leaves?
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Nobody: 7:48am On Jan 07, 2009
Sauron,
I hope to God that you are right.
I know the media wants to feast on this as much as possible.
But the truth is, Fergie,no matter how much of a genius he has been,is prone to the occassional gaffe (Veron),and the way I see it,he sounds wary.And by his stance,he is allowing the door open for the media to do what say what they want.
But like Criz (I'll come to you later) said,he could have out this whole thing to bed a long time ago.
I personally feel Tev deserves a contract on the strength of last year's performance alone.The guy rescued us on a number of occassions.The "nice to have" tag on him isn't really fair.I think everybody is essential to the team's progress,and given his contributions to last season's success,I'd label him a vital player for us.

Criz,
I want my hug!!!!!!Nothing more or less.Or you fail to convince me that we're pretending to discuss sports whereas we're really on the romance thread!!!
Anyway,thanks sha.
I like your stance on the Tevez issue.
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by tkb417(m): 7:56am On Jan 07, 2009
Criz,
I want my hug!!!!!!Nothing more or less.Or you fail to convince me that we're pretending to discuss sports whereas we're really on the romance thread!!!
Anyway,thanks sha.
I like your stance on the Tevez issue.
huh! lipsrsealed lipsrsealed
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Nobody: 11:05am On Jan 07, 2009
tkb,
What's ya own?Na only you wan collect hug?
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by tkb417(m): 11:27am On Jan 07, 2009
tkb,
What's ya own?Na only you wan collect hug?
im sawryy oo say i put mouth lipsrsealed
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by dani1luv: 4:24pm On Jan 07, 2009
hey
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Sauron1: 5:19pm On Jan 07, 2009
Eastbay:

Sauron,
I hope to God that you are right.
I know the media wants to feast on this as much as possible.
But the truth is, Fergie,no matter how much of a genius he has been,is prone to the occassional gaffe (Veron),and the way I see it,he sounds wary.And by his stance,he is allowing the door open for the media to do what say what they want.
But like Criz (I'll come to you later) said,he could have out this whole thing to bed a long time ago.
I personally feel Tev deserves a contract on the strength of last year's performance alone.The guy rescued us on a number of occassions.The "nice to have" tag on him isn't really fair.I think everybody is essential to the team's progress,and given his contributions to last season's success,I'd label him a vital player for us.

Tevez deserves a contract but so many things are in play right now.
Firstly, MSI would prefer another club buying Tevez(to maximise their profits). Besides, United have already paid £10 milla(we need about £22 million to make the deal permanent).
However, due to the current climate and the pound sterling taking a massive fall against the dollar. . . .United might cough up to £30 milla.

Until the £ recovers (which could be a long while if you believe all the doom and gloom in the media), the balance of power is clearly moving back to continental clubs.
People laughed at Real paying £20 milla for Lassana Diarra but many dont realise that 12 months ago £20m = €30m, whereas today £20m = €20m - a huge difference.
The $64,000 question remains. . . . . .Is Tevez worth that kind of money??

If KJ sells Tevez to anutha club(Man City). . . . .they would cop out 35 milla pounds from him PLUS the 10 milla United paid 2 years ago.
That is good business to them as far as they are concerned because Tevez's economic rights is exclusively owned by them.
Tevez's deal stunk from the start so i am not really surprised it has really come to this.
Personally, i would keep Tevez in Man Utd but i am not sure SAF is willing to offer him a 5-year contract Apache is asking for.
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by chamotex(m): 5:27pm On Jan 07, 2009
To be honest I think Tevez deserves a new contract but at the same time, football is not always about sentiments.

Fergie is not a PLANK, if he lets him go, there must be a good reason for that. At the end of the day, what matters most is Manchester United.

Whichever decision Fergie makes, he's making it for the benefit of the club and not himself or Apache.

I want him to stay and I think he will.
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by debosky(m): 5:30pm On Jan 07, 2009
chamotex:

Fergie is not a PLANK if he lets him go, there must be a good reason for that. At the end of the day, what matters most is Manchester United.

I agree with that, he's MUCH denser than that - try block head  grin grin
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Sauron1: 5:38pm On Jan 07, 2009
debosky:

I agree with that, he's MUCH denser than that - try block head grin grin

If Fergie is a blockhead with his avalanche of club titles, then u gotta admit Wenger suffers from autism. grin
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by chamotex(m): 5:49pm On Jan 07, 2009
debosky:

I agree with that, he's MUCH denser than that - try block head  grin grin

So what is ARSEne self-servicer? grin
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by debosky(m): 5:56pm On Jan 07, 2009
Arsene is a mathematical genius - trophies are not the measure of intelligence. tongue

Everyone knows Gazza (the original one) is a blockhead, but he had natural talent to play excellent footie, ditto with Roy Keane. However, players like Bergkamp and Messi are geniuses. grin
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Sauron1: 6:06pm On Jan 07, 2009
debosky:

Arsene is a mathematical genius - trophies are not the measure of intelligence.  tongue

Classic hogwash. . . .If trophies are not the measure of intelligence then what is? Stupidity?? grin

Mathematical genius with no managerial nous. Arsene Wenger is the most spastic manager i know in the Premier League.
With the wage bill of Arsenal(barely less than Man Utd's), one would expect both clubs to be neck and neck. . . .
What has this mathematical genius done with his mathematics?? Nuthing.
In the field Arsene has chosen, he is a failure. Whether he is a genius in voyeurism or porn producing is open to anutha debate.

Everyone knows Gazza (the original one) is a blockhead, but he had natural talent to play excellent footie, ditto with Roy Keane. However, players like Bergkamp and Messi are geniuses.  grin

Gazza has no natural talent. U cannot even compare him to Rooney, Scholes or Fabregas.
He is just one of em British hype whose skills woulda been ignored if he was African.
Did u just say Roy Keane is a blockhead?? He is more brilliant than Arsene Wenger.
I have seen Roy Keane on quiz programmes in the UK and that wigga knows his general knowledge.
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by debosky(m): 6:10pm On Jan 07, 2009
Keane is an area boy, any 'general knowledge' he has is from hanging out with Scholes and a few others. tongue

Arsene has won trophies too, and I insist, trophies are not the measure of intelligence. tongue

A Blockhead remains a blockhead, regardless of whether he is successful or not, in the same way living in London and speaking with a posh accent doesn't make Eboue British. grin grin
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by chamotex(m): 6:12pm On Jan 07, 2009
Debosky,

Just watch how we are going to spank Derby tonight. You might want to record it and show your useless manager. grin
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by rikkyjen(m): 6:15pm On Jan 07, 2009
Man, this Tevez deal stinks to high heaven!

Sauron, thanks for the math though. From inception, I figured United dilly-dallying with MSI and Jorbachim was absolutely stupid.

Only if SAF had taken Tevez when he was first offered, we might have bought him for peanuts and chicken feed. But since he showed at West Ham, his valuations ballooned high. Ofcos, Tevez has always been good, but we couging out as much as 30 million AGAIN in the same fiscal year is not only gut-wrenching but economically senseless!

I mean, how de we service and re-finance our debts. Not to paint a doom and gloom scenario, but United has to start cutting its coats accrding to her size!. Good thing most of our loans has its roots with Chase Bank and inspite of the financial implosions around, Chase has been aiight.

But hei, its still United, I believe we are a bit healthy especially with our staggering net profits!  United going down to "administration" like Leeds is like finding a solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Its just not possible.

However, we've got to stop this cavalier spendings! With a forward line worth almost 90 million pounds or more (Factor inflation since Rooney was purchased) we betta win ALL the trophies otherwise. . . . this would be a monumental loss. Did we even have to buy Berbatov?

We can buy a cheap Eastern European/West African import a la Wenger style and still win the same set of trophies 30million pound Berbatov would pull. And maybe SAF is senile and so powerful that his requests can't be turned down. This is too much for a power for a single person! undecided undecided undecided
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by debosky(m): 6:22pm On Jan 07, 2009
Rikky remains one of the few astute scumtwats out there. Berba is a LUXURY that MU don't need - it's like Fergie decided to reward himself with a gift after winning the EPL and CL, and it was Berba or nothing, neglecting to sort out problems at home.

Now Tevez is crying out and people are surprised?? Tell me - where in the world would a player of Tevez' class be ON LOAN for TWO WHOLE years? At Real? Barca? Milan? Juventus? Chelsea? Arsenal?? None - he'd be signed permanently or sold on.

MU didn't need
chamotex:

Debosky,

Just watch how we are going to spank Derby tonight. You might want to record it and show your useless manager. grin
On the contrary, Wenger sent the 6-0 demolition of Sheffield Utd as a Christmas gift. cool
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Sauron1: 6:46pm On Jan 07, 2009
rikkyjen:

Man, this Tevez deal stinks to high heaven!
Sauron, thanks for the math though. From inception, I figured United dilly-dallying with MSI and Jorbachim was absolutely stupid.

U can't blame Ferguson for what he did in 2007. . . . .Louis Saha was the donkey that forced Ferguson's hands to buy a Premiership striker.
Besides, u cannot say Tevez didn't contribute immensely to United's European double last season.
He was imperious and when other players got zapped against Barca at OT. . . .Apache didn't stop running.

Only if SAF had taken Tevez when he was first offered, we might have bought him for peanuts and chicken feed. But since he showed at West Ham, his valuations ballooned high. Ofcos, Tevez has always been good, but we couging out as much as 30 million AGAIN in the same fiscal year is not only gut-wrenching but economically senseless!

It is. . . . . . .especially if u add the Serbian dudes into the equation.
To be honest, Tevez's deal had loads of stench oozing from it when Fergie was told about him in 2006.
SAF didn't want to dip his hands into it then but as soon as Liverpool prised Mascherano away from the Hammers. . . .Things got a bit clearer.

I mean, how de we service and re-finance our debts. Not to paint a doom and gloom scenario, but United has to start cutting its coats accrding to her size!. Good thing most of our loans has its roots with Chase Bank and inspite of the financial implosions around, Chase has been aiight.
But hei, its still United, I believe we are a bit healthy especially with our staggering net profits!  United going down to "administration" like Leeds is like finding a solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Its just not possible.

I don't believe Man Utd don't have £(20-30) million required to make Tevez's deal permanent but is he really worth that amount??
David Gill/SAF are scratching their heads and working out the indices.
In today's crazy world of football, i think Apache is worth every penny of that amount.
Darren Bent was 16 mil. . . . . .Eduardo(Mr. Matchstick) was 16 mil. . . . .One has to think Tevez is worth double that amount(in ma opinion). grin

However, we've got to stop this cavalier spendings! With a forward line worth almost 90 million pounds or more (Factor inflation since Rooney was purchased) we betta win ALL the trophies otherwise. . . . this would be a monumental loss. Did we even have to buy Berbatov?

We are RICH, We are RICH, We are RICH!!!!!
United is FORBES' number one. . . . . . .What do u think this is?? grin cheesy
SAF should spend all the money he made copping EPL, UCL and CWC and tie up Tevez's deal.
Sell Giggsy, Gazza, O'Shea and Malcom Glazer to recoup.

We can buy a cheap Eastern European/West African import a la Wenger style and still win the same set of trophies 30million pound Berbatov would pull. And maybe SAF is senile and so powerful that his requests can't be turned down. This is too much for a power for a single person! undecided undecided undecided

I saw this coming when United went goo goo ga ga for Berbatov.
Huntelaar woulda been the last piece of the jigsaw to make Man Utd work but then Berbatov is class.
My days. . . . . . .If u watched Man Utd's game against Southampton on sunday. . . . .Berbatov's display was worth £100 million. cool

It was like he has seen n played the same game before. Laughs at defenders who try to dispossess him.
Cheese n Rice. . . Is this guy a cheat or what? Put the spiders out of business he was that silky, each pass was like he had pressed pause, got a protractor out, tested the pass a few times before continuing.
It was an absolute masterclass.
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by tkb417(m): 6:51pm On Jan 07, 2009
where in the world would a player of Tevez' class be ON LOAN for TWO WHOLE years? At Real? Barca? Milan? Juventus? Chelsea? Arsenal?? None - he'd be signed permanently or sold on.
shocked shocked shocked i tot Tevez was in West Ham b4 he came to UTD?
didnt Real and co see him fighting for survival in west london?
ah!! na wa o for debosky
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by ndumart: 7:03pm On Jan 07, 2009
The tevez issue really worries me.I feel the lad should be offered a permanent contract because his contributions are invaluable. It then behooves on SAF to manage the situation carefully without making any player feel left out. the way he has been carrying on has made Tev look ike a bit-part player which does not augur well for a player of his class. I pray commonsense prevails in the whole affair.

Berba is class no doubt but we have not seen the berba that played in spurs. May be he is still learning the ropes of the united game, may be. With his display against S'ton, the guy was more of a midfielder than a striker. That was his best match in a united shirt but the quality of the opposition makes it less appreciable. He is light years ahead of the whole southampton team joined together.If he can't be the predatory come fox-in-the-box striker we need then he should keep producing such displays against other teams.
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Sauron1: 8:29pm On Jan 07, 2009
PIG

Rafael Evans Vidic O'Shea

Gibdon Scholes Anderson

Welbeck Tevez Nani

Bench:
Amos
Ronaldo
Giggs
Fletch
Carrick
Possebon
Rooney
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by ndumart: 8:35pm On Jan 07, 2009
~Sauron~:

PIG

Rafael Evans Vidic O'Shea

Gibdon Scholes Anderson

Welbeck Tevez Nani

Bench:
Amos
Ronaldo
Giggs
Fletch
Carrick
Possebon
Rooney

This line-up should tear Derby to Shreds
However, am not a Gibson fan
Hope SAF isnt overworking Vida? We can win good without him in this team. W have the Chavs on Sunday. I just pray he does not get injured or get red-carded
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Sauron1: 8:41pm On Jan 07, 2009
ndumart:

This line-up should tear Derby to Shreds
However, am not a Gibson fan
Hope SAF isnt overworking Vida? We can win good without him in this team. We have the Chavs on Sunday. I just pray he does not get injured or get red-carded

We have come of age to the point that we don't miss any player.
Did u miss Hargo?? Scholesy earlier in the season?
Have u missed Evra? Rio??
I can remember Vidic didn't play at Stamford Bridge and a young Johnny Evans put up a magnificent display!!

Fergie has built a nuclear weapon at Old Trafford. Derby would be pulverised.
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by chamotex(m): 8:49pm On Jan 07, 2009
Where's everybody??
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by tkb417(m): 8:52pm On Jan 07, 2009
We have come of age to the point that we don't miss any player.
Did u miss Hargo?? Scholesy earlier in the season?
Have u missed Evra? Rio??
I can remember Vidic didn't play at Stamford Bridge and a young Johnny Evans put up a magnificent display!!

Fergie has built a nuclear weapon at Old Trafford. Derby would be pulverised.

whaT about against Barca. Brown was readily available. this squad is so large that the fringe players can win the epl grin
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by Sauron1: 8:56pm On Jan 07, 2009
tkb417:

whaT about against Barca. Brown was readily available. this squad is so large that the fringe players can win the epl grin

Vidic missed both legs against Barcelona.
Rooney didn't play the 2nd leg at OT and we were fine.

Anyways, Derby is putting serious pressure on our defence.
Nani has been wasteful again.
His decision-making is so appaling sometimes i feel like putting bulletz in his portugese cranium.
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by presido1: 8:57pm On Jan 07, 2009
Derby is attacking us like tomorrow no dey. They had three decent chances so far.

I know they will run out of gas very soon.
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by chamotex(m): 8:59pm On Jan 07, 2009
Ando to score tonight, anyone?? grin
Re: Manchester United Fan Thread: Forever Reds by chamotex(m): 9:01pm On Jan 07, 2009
presido1:

Derby is attacking us like tomorrow no dey. They had three decent chances so far.

I know they will run out of gas very soon.

Yeah they are just doing 'agidi' the same way Southampton did on Sunday grin

(1) (2) (3) ... (80) (81) (82) (83) (84) (85) (86) ... (98)

Manchester United Fan Thread! We Are The Red Devils! / Manchester United Vs Sevilla :UCL (1 - 2) On 13th March 2018 / Arsenal Vs Chelsea: Community Shield (4 - 1) penalties On 6th August 2017

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 76