Stats: 3,152,432 members, 7,815,976 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 10:39 PM

Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil - Car Talk - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil (1409 Views)

Domestic Production Of Vehicles Hit 45,000 Units Per Annum / 45 Automobile Acronyms And Their Meanings / Why Does My Honda Accord Consume More Fuel Than It's Counterparts (2) (3) (4)

Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by NEROSKY(m): 8:29am On Jul 01, 2015
When i bought the car Dec, i serviced it n the oil was 100%, then it began dropping as i use it, till it drops to about 15% Oil Life, then i serviced it again (that's 3 months + from Dec) .. the Oil Life keeps dropping, it didn't go back to 100%, mechanic did all he can but the oil life remains @ 15%, now it has been dropping and what i see is[b] - 45, B service[/b] .. pls what is this? Note; the gauge is fine when you ever i check, even now
Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by sammieblaize: 8:31am On Jul 01, 2015
It needs to be reset using a system

Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by abatically(m): 10:04am On Jul 01, 2015
Very funny op, so how did ur mechanic try to reset the oil life? The person above me is even funnier saying it has to be reset with a system, abeg which kind system be that? Anyway sha some professional scanners can be used to reset oil life, but do we really need that?

Follow these simple steps.

1. Turn on ur ignition to on position (do not start the car)
2. Press the reset /select knob (it is on ur instrument cluster) until it shows oil life
3. Hold the reset /select knob for about 15 seconds until the oil life and service indicator starts blinking, then release.
4. Hold the reset/select knob again for like 10 seconds until the maintenance required light (spanner) disappears.
5. Voila, oil life is back to 100%. Do this whenever u change ur oil.

Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by NEROSKY(m): 11:11pm On Jul 01, 2015
abatically:
Very funny op, so how did ur mechanic try to reset the oil life? The person above me is even funnier saying it has to be reset with a system, abeg which kind system be that? Anyway sha some professional scanners can be used to reset oil life, but do we really need that?

2. Press the reset /select knob (it is on ur instrument cluster) until it shows oil life
3. Hold the reset /select knob for about 15 seconds until the oil life and service indicator starts blinking, then release.
4. Hold the reset/select knob again for like 10 seconds until the maintenance required light (spanner) disappears.

Thanks bro, i will try this 1st thing tomorrow morning or anytime i change the oil
Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by NEROSKY(m): 2:25pm On Jul 02, 2015
Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by markjones12345: 3:38pm On Jul 02, 2015
Am mr dayo I can repaire it for u .our stand is located sokoto wamako contact 09033107391
Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by ZIMDRILL(m): 4:05pm On Jul 02, 2015
markjones12345:
Am mr dayo I can repaire it for u .our stand is located sokoto wamako contact 09033107391

whats there to repair

Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by abatically(m): 4:17pm On Jul 02, 2015
ZIMDRILL:

whats there to repair

I wonder oh

Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by NEROSKY(m): 9:58pm On Jul 02, 2015
markjones12345:

Lol... Sokoto grin what of simbasa forest

So as abokii! wey i be i go drive come north from East
Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by Barywhyte(m): 7:17pm On May 25, 2023
abatically:

All the way from 2015, I got saved today after my mechanic concluded he doesn't know how to reset oil life after he serviced my car. Thank you, man!

Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by chinachukwu(m): 7:37am On May 26, 2023
Barywhyte:

All the way from 2015, I got saved today after my mechanic concluded he doesn't know how to reset oil life after he serviced my car. Thank you, man!

Next time don't waste such time to discover what is readily available on Google Search...

Cheers!
Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by Barywhyte(m): 8:12am On May 26, 2023
chinachukwu:

Next time don't waste such time to discover what is readily available on Google Search...

Cheers!

lol how then did I get here?

Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by chinachukwu(m): 9:23am On May 26, 2023
Barywhyte:

lol how then did I get here?

Re: Pls Help, My Honda Accord Oil Life Reads -45, Even Tho I Serviced & Changed Oil by Pickmycall: 12:02pm On May 27, 2023
Barywhyte:

Kazeem them.

Help 04 Accord Parking Light Stays On..(now resolved) / How To Identify Fake Policemen / Ford Recalls 1.4 MILLION Cars Because The Steering Wheel Can Come Off(photos