Stats: 3,152,003 members, 7,814,422 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 May 2024 at 12:38 PM

How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job - Jobs/Vacancies - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Jobs/Vacancies / How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job (19125 Views)

A Call For Help - Dismissed EFCC Diploma Trainees / Help !! What Is Wrong With My Cv! Why Is The Job Not Coming! / Should I Include Every Job I Hold On My CV? (2) (3) (4)

How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Nobody: 3:22pm On Jul 29, 2015
Dear Nairalanders,

I will like seek your counsel on something.

I was recently dismissed from my company.

Some friends have advised that I delete everything about this company from my cv. If I follow their counsel, my cv will almost look bare.

Please advise me on what to do.

Best Regards.

Mods, please help me do the needful.

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by eluquenson(m): 3:26pm On Jul 29, 2015
Simply remove the company you were dismissed on your work experience, it's better you start from the beginning than spoil your image that is if you intend working in a reputable company that verifies every bit of your data...simple grin

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Nobody: 3:35pm On Jul 29, 2015
Why were you dismissed? This forms the basis for your decision. ..

36 Likes

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by snadguy007(m): 3:39pm On Jul 29, 2015
Its better you remove every damn thing about the company from your cv because it might pose dangers for you in the nearest future if you cant justify the reason why you were sacked......It's never too late to start again

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by ojun50(m): 4:18pm On Jul 29, 2015
Op it all depend on yr faith, every tin about getting a job is btw u God.
I was also dismiss frm my place of work because of reason ABC, i never remove the company name frm my CV because i wil nt allow my one year experience to waste, after staying home for 2 month God answer my prayer i was called for and interview i went, the second question i was ask y did u leave yr formal working i went silent for few mint and i explain every tin to them, they move to the next question after five question they said they wil get back to me and i left three days later i was called, has am talking to u now hv started traning with them by nextweek i wil start fully and get my employment letter.

In few weeks i wil share my story here jst hv faith and pray.

54 Likes 3 Shares

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by LaurelP(m): 4:23pm On Jul 29, 2015
depends on d reason behind ur dismissal. if its as a result of a serious misconduct (like theft), then dont include it in ur cv.

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Nobody: 4:30pm On Jul 29, 2015
K

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Ephemmm: 4:31pm On Jul 29, 2015
imagodei:
Dear Nairalanders,

Some friends have advised that I delete everything about this company from my cv. If I follow their counsel, my cv will almost look bare.

Best Regards.

By the word 'summary dismissal', it is clear that you have committed a grave offence which if revealed might deny you of any further job if reference is sought for. So, I hereby implore you not to relate your past experience in the coy with your present CV.

However, if it is a termination of appointment and your previous company take such decision in relation to huge financial problem/inflow/indebtedness which results in down-sizing, it can be included in your CV as the termination of your appointment is neither related to your job performance nor grave offence you have committed.

Wishing you goodluck under Buhari's administration tongue tongue tongue

18 Likes

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by chukslawrence(m): 4:31pm On Jul 29, 2015
Brb
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by veekid(m): 4:32pm On Jul 29, 2015
here to read comments. oya make it flow
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by ubaobi: 4:32pm On Jul 29, 2015
It's a dicey situation and logic needs to be applied here. One way to do it would be to include the company name and address but exclude phone numbers. That way it would be a little less easy for the company to contact your former employer.
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Nobody: 4:32pm On Jul 29, 2015
F
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Gamesmart: 4:32pm On Jul 29, 2015
imagodei:
Dear Nairalanders,

Best Regards.

Why were you dismissed?

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by free2ryhme: 4:32pm On Jul 29, 2015
Delete everything associated with that company
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by wildchild1: 4:32pm On Jul 29, 2015
Op needs to tell us why he was dismissed, till then i reserve my comment

In other news,order your football jerseys
https://www.nairaland.com/2447345/2015-2016-new-jerseys-available/1
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Nobody: 4:33pm On Jul 29, 2015
Press a RESET button on your CV, very simple.

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by bigerboy200: 4:33pm On Jul 29, 2015
Why were u dismissed
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Nobody: 4:33pm On Jul 29, 2015
Why were you dismissed, Uncle? ?

I see no reason why I/you should delete experience that I/you hustled and suffered to attain in this era that fresh graduates are asked for '5yrs experience'.

Did you commit fraud? lipsrsealed

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by preserver231(m): 4:33pm On Jul 29, 2015
Bro you laboured 4 them 4 that duration so the work experience is ur right. Most companies tend to be more cautious with people with huge gaps in their cv. As long as the reason for them letting you go is not criminal then just add it nd have faith

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Justicealh3(m): 4:34pm On Jul 29, 2015
@Gotocafe.
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by lonelydora: 4:34pm On Jul 29, 2015
If your dismissal is not because of theft or fighting, please add that experience and look for an excuse to back it up, when they see your job end date. You can even say because of family relocation to another state.

Good luck in your future endeavours(job hunt)

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by ladyF(f): 4:35pm On Jul 29, 2015
Eeyah
Front Page Chilling grin
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by barry40: 4:35pm On Jul 29, 2015
There is no need for deleting your working experience. But if I may ask, what is the reason for your dismissal? Employers will be more interested in the reason you were dismissed. They can even carry out some underground checks to confirm the reason you gave them. So, while working as an employee, skill is not enough, attitude is very key.

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Nicepoker(m): 4:35pm On Jul 29, 2015
Destroy all the evident that can be used against u.
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Brytawon(m): 4:35pm On Jul 29, 2015
Consult a consultant

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Nobody: 4:36pm On Jul 29, 2015
Depends on the reason for your dismissal but i'll suggest you include the experience on your CV.

Sad Truth is only very few companies bother to check these things. Good luck!

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by idbami2(m): 4:36pm On Jul 29, 2015
Put am under WorkExperience.. Dismissal sef na part of experiencee grin

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by damiloladuke: 4:36pm On Jul 29, 2015
no need to panic, just don't include the work in your next CV

MY FUNNY SECRET DIARY on www.wenogetjob.com
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by Teeboy15(m): 4:36pm On Jul 29, 2015
I think u shld b honest about it.
Tho it depends on d reason for dismissal.
But I believe honesty will pay off for u at d end.
Good luck

Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by wellmax(m): 4:36pm On Jul 29, 2015
Why were you dismissed?
It is something you can defend with the next employer?
Do you think if any prospective employer asked for a reference, your former employer will say bad of you?

Answers to these should help you make a decision. All the best.
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by scachy(m): 4:37pm On Jul 29, 2015
Re: How Can I Package My Cv After Been Dismissed From A Job by MRBrownJ: 4:38pm On Jul 29, 2015
@Imagodei
please reply to the most important question for clarification: WHY WERE YOU FIRED?!

Wedding Preparations Without A Job!! / An Appeal To Dragnet And Co / Help Advice Me; Can It Be Real?