Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,740,310 members, 6,498,760 topics. Date: Monday, 20 September 2021 at 04:15 PM

Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan - Properties (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan (18626 Views)

How Much Will It Cost To Finish This Building Please? (pics) / Please Help Criticze This Building Plan. / How Much Will It Cost Me To Develop This Building Plan To Roofing (photo) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 7:33pm On Sep 25, 2016
iamjayprone:
not that,what am saying is am a draughtsman and where I learned even the worst of us won't do a sketch this bad,and if you see my works they are a lot better than some architects work,I even work for some civil engeeniers.what am saying in essence, some draftsmen are very good at what they do..
I blame the architects in power for giving other building professionals too much power to look down on the real persons with said profession. It will change tho... I don't look down on draughtsmen, I use the skills of some but what you said is very bad
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 7:36pm On Sep 25, 2016
jammy12:


You have not met a real architect... Google Frank Ghery

I don't live my life based on Google searches so I'll have to decline your suggestion.

My brother owns one of the most successful architectural company in California.

I'm a deep student of Frank Llyod Wright.

My Nigerian architect, Darynex, a Nairalander, who polished the design on "Casa Saltillo" - my main bungalow (I purchased a plan here in the US) and designed my Garage Apartment, is fantastic and I highly recommend him to anyone.

Others may find your suggestion useful however, but not me.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 7:42pm On Sep 25, 2016
jammy12:

It is wrong to say your draughtsman work is better than some architect's work. That can't be true at all levels. I am a graduate architect not an architect. Your work can be better than mine but not better than a real architect.

You should show us your work so that we can judge.

Anyone can climb atop a pulpit and make claims.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 7:43pm On Sep 25, 2016
iamjayprone:
not that,what am saying is am a draughtsman and where I learned even the worst of us won't do a sketch this bad,and if you see my works they are a lot better than some architects work,I even work for some civil engeeniers.what am saying in essence, some draftsmen are very good at what they do ..

I agree.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 7:50pm On Sep 25, 2016
EgunMogaji:


I don't live my life based on Google searches so I'll have to decline your suggestion.

My brother owns one of the most successful architectural company in California.

I'm a deep student of Frank Llyod Wright.

My Nigerian architect, Darynex, a Nairalander, who polished the design on "Casa Saltillo" - my main bungalow (I purchased a plan here in the US) and designed my Garage Apartment, is fantastic and I highly recommend him to anyone.

Others may find your suggestion useful however, but not me.
Your ego gets the better of you. I was simply trying to point out that the client's need is just as important as an architects knowledge and perceived style.

1 Like

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 7:51pm On Sep 25, 2016
EgunMogaji:


You should show us your work so that we can judge.

Anyone can climb atop a pulpit and make claims.
I don't need to prove myself to you. After all you are bigger than me. I agree...

1 Like

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 7:57pm On Sep 25, 2016
EgunMogaji:


You should show us your work so that we can judge.

Anyone can climb atop a pulpit and make claims.
And mind you. Whatever I say is meant to be a personal opinion. You choose to accept or let go. If you think I am atop a pulpit, I would rather be in a dungeon.
Also frank is not one to consider clients too... Showing by his Priare style principles which was unorthodox at that time.

1 Like

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 8:00pm On Sep 25, 2016
jammy12:

And mind you. Whatever I say is meant to be a personal opinion. You choose to accept or let go. If you think I am atop a pulpit, I would rather be in a dungeon.
Also frank is not one to consider clients too... Showing by his Priare style principles which was unorthodox at that time.

Likewise, a personal opinion of mine too.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 8:02pm On Sep 25, 2016
jammy12:

I don't need to prove myself to you. After all you are bigger than me. I agree...

And the fastest display of inferiority complex to date on Nairaland.

I'm not in competition with you and you were an unknown entity until you quoted me.

PS: You've already proven yourself.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 8:04pm On Sep 25, 2016
jammy12:

Your ego gets the better of you. I was simply trying to point out that the client's need is just as important as an architects knowledge and perceived style.

Likewise you ego got the better of you.

I don't need nor requested your assistance in clarifying my thoughts.

I don't need you at all, trust me on that.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Arnoldfish(m): 8:08pm On Sep 25, 2016
A lot to be said tho, what happens in that store? Even a WC can't fit in there for a toilet. Why do we have a large terrace at the back at the detriment of the store. Rather collapse it. The guestroom had an opportunity to be cross-ventilated, why spoil it with toilet. Dinning so squeezed up, I bet you it won't function. Guest room totally out out of the building. A lot of minor corrections. I feel all the spaces are not needed. You can have few spaces but make it functional. The entrance spaces are Large while some internal spaces are suffering
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 8:09pm On Sep 25, 2016
EgunMogaji:


And the fastest display of inferiority complex to date on Nairaland.

I'm not in competition with you and you were an unknown entity until you quoted me.

PS: You've already proven yourself.
I was expecting a picture of someone giving me an L. You think this is inferiority complex? Lol ... Well you just met someone with a totally different mindset. Things like winning an argument or showing I am better don't matter much to me. I live the happiest life there is. Also I am a Christian. #unashamed
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Jethrolite(m): 8:41pm On Sep 25, 2016
iamjayprone:
not that,what am saying is am a draughtsman and where I learned even the worst of us won't do a sketch this bad,and if you see my works they are a lot better than some architects work,I even work for some civil engeeniers.what am saying in essence, some draftsmen are very good at what they do..
Sure, there are good draughtsmen but the chances of meeting a bad one is very high. I know a draughtsman that talks like an architect and his drawings are great and make both structural and environmental sense. Most draughtsmen do not have environmental sense because they were only thought how to draw. If you know an architect that you're better than, thats something but I'll have to see some of your drawings to prove you always put design rules into your designs.

1 Like

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 9:01pm On Sep 25, 2016
jammy12:

I was expecting a picture of someone giving me an L. You think this is inferiority complex? Lol ... Well you just met someone with a totally different mindset. Things like winning an argument or showing I am better don't matter much to me. I live the happiest life there is. Also I am a Christian. #unashamed

Frankly your religion means squat to me and I don't really care. Sell that to nimrods that does.

Oh, happiest life? Why should I GAF?

Let your work speak for itself or STFU.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 9:16pm On Sep 25, 2016
EgunMogaji:


Frankly your religion means squat to me and I don't really care. Sell that to nimrods that does.

Oh, happiest life? Why should I GAF?

Let your work speak for itself or STFU.
Seen. Ok
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 10:03pm On Sep 25, 2016
jammy12:

Seen. Ok

Good.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Shawls: 2:23am On Sep 26, 2016
@jammy 12
Please , I will advise you not to engage in any UNNECESSARY exchange of words with this NOTORIOUS guy, Egunmogaji. He is definitely suffering from grandiose illusion.Check his responses on any section on NL and you will save your breath.Discard his garbage brag about his California architect brother, it is bs.The noise he is making about his poo Garage bungalow is beyond belief.You will think he is building a "White house", yet there is this other guy who has almost finished his beautiful bungalow without much ado "The Nigeria Retirement Home Mastering The Odyssee" This tells you that empty barrels make the most noise.
I know he will attack me after reading this post, but I have long ceased to reply him lest I become like him.

2 Likes

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 2:48am On Sep 26, 2016
Shawls:
@jammy 12
Please , I will advise you not to engage in any UNNECESSARY exchange of words with this NOTORIOUS guy, Egunmogaji. He is definitely suffering from grandiose illusion.Check his responses on any section on NL and you will save your breath.Discard his garbage brag about his California architect brother, it is bs.The noise he is making about his poo Garage bungalow is beyond belief.You will think he is building a "White house", yet there is this other guy who has almost finished his beautiful bungalow without much ado "The Nigeria Retirement Home Mastering The Odyssee" This tells you that empty barrels make the most noise.
I know he will attack me after reading this post, but I have long ceased to reply him lest I become like him.

Yep I will. Like I promised earlier, anytime any of you dolts mention my userid then I will respond. This inferiority complex heavy pass grin

About half of your post are on and/or about me. You keep track of my every post, where I live and what I'm building. Shey na by force to accept Nairaland email from you ni? No matter how much you try you and I can never talk outside of NL as level get as e be wink

Yep, I'm notorious and I love it.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Arnoldfish(m): 9:04am On Sep 26, 2016
Jethrolite:
Sure, there are good draughtsmen but the chances of meeting a bad one is very high. I know a draughtsman that talks like an architect and his drawings are great and make both structural and environmental sense. Most draughtsmen do not have environmental sense because they were only thought how to draw. If you know an architect that you're better than, thats something but I'll have to see some of your drawings to prove you always put design rules into your designs.
I second you. I bet most ppl don't know who an Architect is. You all think architecture is just about drawing buildings so you equate then with draughtsman. Architecture is much more than all of that. Pls read up and correct yourselves. A draughtsman can not be close to an "architect" in quote. If so, then the so-called architect is not qualified to be one. Draughting is just a Little course in architecture as well as planning, so if you meet a draughtsman that's good in planning, you still dont make any sense equating both @iamjayprone. Thanks

2 Likes

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Jethrolite(m): 9:16am On Sep 26, 2016
Arnoldfish:
I second you. I bet most ppl don't know who an Architect is. You all think architecture is just about drawing buildings so you equate then with draughtsman. Architecture is much more than all of that. Pls read up and correct yourselves. A draughtsman can not be close to an "architect" in quote. If so, then the so-called architect is not qualified to be one. Draughting is just a Little course in architecture as well as planning, so if you meet a draughtsman that's good in planning, you still dont make any sense equating both @iamjayprone. Thanks
Do not blame anybody jare, I only have the privilege of knowing who an architect is because I have a brother who studied architecture and we discussed a lot, if not I wouldn't know. The same thing happens to university trained artists, people think all they do is drawing whereas drawing is a 2 unit course from 100l to final year.

1 Like

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 12:45pm On Sep 26, 2016
Shawls:
@jammy 12
Please , I will advise you not to engage in any UNNECESSARY exchange of words with this NOTORIOUS guy, Egunmogaji. He is definitely suffering from grandiose illusion.Check his responses on any section on NL and you will save your breath.Discard his garbage brag about his California architect brother, it is bs.The noise he is making about his poo Garage bungalow is beyond belief.You will think he is building a "White house", yet there is this other guy who has almost finished his beautiful bungalow without much ado "The Nigeria Retirement Home Mastering The Odyssee" This tells you that empty barrels make the most noise.
I know he will attack me after reading this post, but I have long ceased to reply him lest I become like him.
I figured as much. Just let him be... He thinks because he can brag makes him better... I did not come to nairaland to brag about what I have. Thanks for the heads up cheesy
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 12:53pm On Sep 26, 2016
jammy12:

I figured as much. Just let him be... He thinks because he can brag makes him better... I did not come to nairaland to brag about what I have. Thanks for the heads up cheesy

You just came here to make nonsensical ramblings and have been called out on it by almost all visitors to your inane posts.

Don't take solace in the fact that you heard from an EgunMogajiHolic whose meaningless life revolves around my postings grin

OP and his architect have come up with a good plan and you're just a jealous hack for not seeing it.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 1:11pm On Sep 26, 2016
Jethrolite:
Do not blame anybody jare, I only have the privilege of knowing who an architect is because I have a brother who studied architecture and we discussed a lot, if not I wouldn't know. The same thing happens to university trained artists, people think all they do is drawing whereas drawing is a 2 unit course from 100l to final year.
The thing is that there are very few architects in nigeria. Just about 6,000 of them (or more). It is very hard to become one and they are usually very very expensive; that's why people go to draughtsmen.

1 Like

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 3:09pm On Sep 26, 2016
EthiiDesign:


Welcome everyone,
It's my pleasure to introduce you to Ethii Design. Its a freelance company that is based on providing it's customers a beautiful design as they like. We don't only provide only 2D architectural design but 3D realistic, visualisation and animation so you can see your buildings come to life. Our goal:
To bring the world of Architecture to life here in Nigeria
To improve building design and estate managing

What we do:
Estate: 2D Design
3D Design
Animation for Advertisement

Home: 2D Design
3D Design
Animation for Advertisement

We also deal with logo, business, accessories, wedding card designs etc

Its all affordable, so give us a call or message

Number: 08098017005
Whatsapp: 08098017005
Email: ethiidesign@gmail.com


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3evMxRWADts
Lumion. Love this software
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Jethrolite(m): 3:46pm On Sep 26, 2016
jammy12:

The thing is that there are very few architects in nigeria. Just about 6,000 of them (or more). It is very hard to become one and they are usually very very expensive; that's why people go to draughtsmen.
That's true and they are mostly used when the project demands real technical knowledge. Even some large projects still cut architects and make use of just structural engineers.

1 Like

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 4:45pm On Sep 26, 2016
Jethrolite:
That's true and they are mostly used when the project demands real technical knowledge. Even some large projects still cut architects and make use of just structural engineers.
This is why I said its the architect agency's fault. There are too many loopholes in the sector. There are far too many to list...

1 Like

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Jethrolite(m): 6:02pm On Sep 26, 2016
jammy12:

This is why I said its the architect agency's fault. There are too many loopholes in the sector. There are far too many to list...
I doubt they have any organization at all, just take a look at estate surveyors and NIESV. They're at par with the NBA. Even with that, quacks abound greatly in the sector.

1 Like

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by Nobody: 6:13pm On Sep 26, 2016
Jethrolite:
I doubt they have any organization at all, just take a look at estate surveyors and NIESV. They're at par with the NBA. Even with that, quacks abound greatly in the sector.
Very well said sir. It will change soon tho... Its actually changing. I remember 6 years ago there were only about 2,000 architects - since the 1960s. But now over 6,000.
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by yosmen: 6:15pm On Sep 26, 2016
draughtsman claiming architect because he can d
raw residential builds that looks beautiful...all the principles they copy who originates them?.. architecture is more than just design of buildings especially residential buildings.
Let a draightman go and design institutional buildings,industrial designs and environmental designs then we can know who is the boss

1 Like

Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by iamjayprone(m): 1:08pm On Sep 27, 2016
Jethrolite:
Do not blame anybody jare, I only have the privilege of knowing who an architect is because I have a brother who studied architecture and we discussed a lot, if not I wouldn't know. The same thing happens to university trained artists, people think all they do is drawing whereas drawing is a 2 unit course from 100l to final year.
no one is equating architect and draftsman,no,infant we are fully aware that we are not covering every part of architecture especially the theoretical part of it,but it seems we have deviated from the point.I simply said don't conclud the work is by a draughtman because the work is not good enough,no, if a draughtsman no what he is doing he will be good at sketching or drawing a plan and let me note this,my boss is working at Lagos town planning office and that really helps with the requirements of a building and let note another thing some architects are really bad at drawings really bad I mean,I have seen a lot of their works been rejected because it did not meet standard requirements, and those clients will pay my boss another money for remodification of the work so that they will be able to register it,so i have corrected a lot their works, not implying am better than them,am just telling my experience...and I will say whenever I saw the work of a professional architect whether the work is very good or average or not good enough, I always see the reasons to conclude we didn't know enough,the reasons we cannot claim to be as good as architects so I am not comparing us to them and am still going to srtudy it in the school so don't misunderstand me.sorry am slow at replying am a little bit busy with a plan....I will post what am working on later,I will let you do the comparison..
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by iamjayprone(m): 1:27pm On Sep 27, 2016
yosmen:
draughtsman claiming architect because he can d
raw residential builds that looks beautiful...all the principles they copy who originates them?.. architecture is more than just design of buildings especially residential buildings.
Let a draightman go and design institutional buildings,industrial designs and environmental designs then we can know who is the boss
you are definitely mistaken BRO,I don't know about any draftsman but me,in short where I learned no exception to the kind of projects we do...
Re: Professionals Should Help With Their Opinions On This Building Plan by iamjayprone(m): 1:56pm On Sep 27, 2016
jammy12:

It is wrong to say your draughtsman work is better than some architect's work. That can't be true at all levels. I am a graduate architect not an architect. Your work can be better than mine but not better than a real architect.
okay you right maybe even graduating from school as an archictectural student is not good enough to say you can professionalise what you did in school,i don't know but their is certainly no excuse for not being not good at the profession your are doing,if you are graduate and you have clients and you are working and charging them and you still not good,well i dont know what to say.......then you word REAL ARCHICTECT, kindly help differentiate them from fake ARCHITECTS please

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (Reply)

Stop Your Fraudulent Attitude To Your Folks Based Overseas / SCAM ALERT!!!! Beware Of A Builder Called Egbosajohnny / Brand New 5bedroom Duplex Ensuite With 2room Bq Selling Cheap

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2021 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 211
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.