Stats: 3,152,563 members, 7,816,375 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 10:24 AM

Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? - Politics (7) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? (12383 Views)

Who Was Nigeria's Bravest Soldier? / Trade By Barter Market Effective In Cross River After 63 Years / Awka Should Be Ashamed Of Itself - Why Is It Underdeveloped? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by deedeedee1: 12:08am On Jul 19, 2017
Obi1kenobi:
You know....I've often pointed out that there's a huge difference between patriotism and nationalism. The OP's frequently absurd apologetics in defense of a failed nation represents the toxic face of nationalism. Listening to him at times, you'd think Nigeria, rather than a shithole with barely superior living standards to war and famine ravaged countries, was like Switzerland. I've had amusing interactions with British people about British politics and what I always find funny is how virulently critical they are of their governments. They portray all those Etonians and Oxbridge politicians and elites who are actually skilled, competent people, as utter imbeciiles. I was watching a BBC hosted debate during the UK elections between May and Corbyn which was hosted in York University with an audience of mostly teenage university students and the utter impertinence with which they confronted, contradicted, interrupted, criticized and ridiculed May in particular was a shock to my system. Accountability matters. This is a country where an SAS soldier was prosecuted and jailed for finishing a wounded Taliban militant who was part of a team that ambushed the SAS soldiers, just because the militant was apparently too wounded to be a threat. grin France, a beautiful country with one of the greatest welfare standards on earth is the protest capital of the world. French workers are well renowned and often parodied for railing against the government.

It's utterly bizarre squaring reality like this with a troll who thinks we should somehow be grateful to exist in an utterly useless country ruled by kleptocrats at every administrative tier and every arm of government. And we dare not point out that life could and should be so much better and we have to convince ourselves that a big-for-nothing shithole is paradise. Paradise that tens of thousands of Nigerians are risking their life to flee from in crossing the Mediterranean. What in the world is the matter with you? Are you fuccking mad? grin
Yes he is. He is a mad person

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 12:21am On Jul 19, 2017
Obi1kenobi:

Since you're a rabid nationalist, I simply wanted to prick your deluded bubble. Of course Japan is centuries ahead of Nigeria and will always be till the extinction of humanity. grin One became an industrialized power from a developing nation. The other is not even a developing nation. Nigeria is an underdeveloped nation: full-stop. There's absolute fucckk all that is "developing". The only development we get in your useless country is we get to see newer, shinier gadgets developed in civilized places.

WRONG. Infrastructure is developing at a smooth pace. Lagos today and Lagos of 1985 are like two different cities.

Awka of 1990 was a village. Today it houses major industries, high-end retail services, including shopping malls, industrial estates, and major road and housing developments. Cities like Uyo have grown from impoverished villages to shining examples of sensible urban planning and development. Many other signs of a developing nation abound throughout Nigeria. Not to mention indigenous vehicle and computer manufacturing, and the growth in the services, such as the financial sector. Today, we have micro loans available for business startups who can present a viable idea. That's an incredible development considering where we are coming from.

Go to Yaba in Lagos. Nigeria's Silicon Valley. It is a haven and centre of startups. Many of its startups have attracted private investor support from across the globe to the tune of hundreds of millions of dollars in total. It was the first place Mack Zuckerburg visited on his last trip to Nigeria. The place is run by Nigerians, trained right here in Nigeria. That's progress. That's development.

Yaaaaawn.....predictable jealous drivel. No, the overwhelming majority of Israel's immigrants were not rich settlers. Most left a hostile European continent with little to nothing and spent years and decades before independence skirmishing with Arabs and toiling in kibbutzes as mostly farmers. And America's $3.5b in security aid for Israel has squat to do with Israel's $300b economy. Israel is a successful country because Jews are an immensely successful, enterprising group. When you grow out of your jealousy, you might get to digest that simple fact.

Sorry. But throwing BILLIONS OF DOLLARS ANNUALLY at a tiny country of 8 million ALREADY RICH/MIDDLE CLASS Europeans in Israel WILL produce a prosperous nation. Saudi Arabia is equally successful. Tiny country with billions of dollars falling into its lap daily.

You don't compare Nigeria with those countries. We ain't as LUCKY as them.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Litmus: 12:38am On Jul 19, 2017
Seems as if some of the confused, sometimes desperate, responses to Rossiki's clear and concise position are informed by the unconscionable fear that acsepting his submission amounts to supporting his political party affiliation.

Funnily enough it seems to me that much of what beegeagle wrote recently on his blog, about some Nigerian people penchant for lying (as he saw it) owes much to this inability among politically minded Nigerians to be objective, the inability to separate matters without wanting to superimpose political needs on top in such a way that it skews the argument in favour of thire biases....

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 1:06am On Jul 19, 2017
oyatz:
What was the source of electricity used in Nigeria between 1897-1960?
Who constructed the railways, Posts &Telegraph (NIPOST &NITEL)?
Apapa ports, ports of P/Harcourt Warri,calabar,Koko?

The colonialists provided electricity to select communities, usually middle class/colonial-inhabited parts of big cities..(the places we call GRAs today). They used huge imported generators which guaranteed 24/7 power, but had very limited coverage. Total national capacity was about 200 megawatts. A national grid wasn't actually built until after independence, together with real power stations.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 2:03am On Jul 19, 2017
freshest4live:

OP was not blaming the whites, he was educating those who believe we were better under the whites than what we have now.
Thank you my brotha. You have sense.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by ezeagu(m): 2:19am On Jul 19, 2017
Obi1kenobi:

Stop kidding yourself, Mr. The entrepreneurial drive, resourcefulness, hard work and strong, visionary leadership made those Asian countries what they are today. Stop always looking to blame the failures of our intellectually lazy, corrupt black asses on "the West". Countries invest where they can profit and they accordingly assess the risk of investment. They're not running charities. The success of Japanese or South Korean or Hong Kong or Taiwanese or Singaporean or Malaysian people or whoever belongs to them. Even an isolated, hungry, miserable country like North Korea under the most severe international sanctions ever imposed on a nation for decades demonstrate far greater ingenuity and technological innovation than we do. If they had unbridled access to international markets, they'd be just like their Southern brothers. It's a cultural thing.

To say that 50 years is not enough time to advance as a nation is utterly absurd. I'm a little busy right now and can't be bothered digging up the stats again, but over the last couple of decades, Nigeria is the only major country on the planet where instead of dragging people out of poverty, have actually seen a considerable rise in their poverty level. Most of the marginal growth in our economy have been absorbed by an exploding population and the ruling class getting richer. A situation where cost of living continues to skyrocket even as standard of living plummets. Do you honestly think your silly propaganda here convinces anyone about the hopeless state of this country? Do you actually live in this country? Cos I hope you don't type all this horseshit you do from outside this country.

Please ask the Hebrew African dreamer about Vietnam, which western country is behind their growing success today. Even North Korea shows and tells when they do their propaganda, so called Nigerians just talk out of their backside.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 2:30am On Jul 19, 2017
ezeagu:

Please ask the Hebrew African dreamer about Vietnam, which western country is behind their growing success today. Even North Korea shows and tells when they do their propaganda, so called Nigerians just talk out of their backside.

What is in Vietnam? Their GDP per capita is half that of Nigeria's, and their GDP about one fifth of Nigeria's, even though their population is half that of Nigeria's at 92 million. They are trying, but we are ahead of them.

''In 2012, Vietnam's nominal GDP reached US$138 billion, with a nominal GDP per capita of $1,527.''

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vietnam
Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by ezeagu(m): 2:55am On Jul 19, 2017
Rossikki:

What is in Vietnam? Their GDP per capita is half that of Nigeria's, and their GDP about one fifth of Nigeria's, even though their population is half that of Nigeria's at 92 million. They are trying, but we are ahead of them.

''In 2012, Vietnam's nominal GDP reached US$138 billion, with a nominal GDP per capita of $1,527.''

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vietnam

You're ahead of them in a stagnant state, only giving the illusion of progress through averaged data and unreliable statistics. Funnily enough, you've been very quick to mention how the other Asian states were helped by the United States, but there's no elongated discussion about Vietnams history here and how the US is known to have isolated them for years.

The nominal per capita for Viet is 2,553.987 projected for 2017, and 2,741.226 for 2018, that is how fast they are growing. They have set their sights firmly on developed status, by 2020 Nigeria will be officially behind them (Nigeria is already behind them). In 2016 they grew by over 6% while Nigeria lagged at 1.6%.

http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/weo/2014/02/weodata/weorept.aspx?pr.x=73&pr.y=7&sy=2014&ey=2018&scsm=1&ssd=1&sort=country&ds=.&br=1&c=582&s=NGDPD%2CNGDPDPC%2CPPPGDP%2CPPPPC%2CLP&grp=0&a=

They have huge growth in tourism, while people actively avoid Nigeria, even those that travel to Africa regularly.

First of all, Nigeria completely relies on oil, while Vietnam has a more diversified economy. The average life expectancy of a Nig is 52 years and for Viet it's around 75. Vietnam still has issues, but it's an investment magnet that's being eyed by everyone, the political climate is sturdy, and there aren't a whole bunch of IDP camps and mumus blowing themselves up all over the place, etc.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-16567315
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-13949550

Now which magical Europeans did this for them?

Not to mention Ho Chi Minh city, commercial capital, has nothing nearly like Makoko or are removing them and upgrading the people living, it isn't a huge heap of garbage like Lagos, Vietnam has steady electricity and running water.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mmm1L6blxLM

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Nobody: 3:14am On Jul 19, 2017
Because we allowed the northerners to rule over our intelligence. That means the rest of us are not intelligent to allow bunch of fools rule over us
Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 3:49am On Jul 19, 2017
ezeagu:

You're ahead of them in a stagnant state, only giving the illusion of progress through averaged data and unreliable statistics.

For you and your disgruntled ilk, everything in Nigeria is always stagnant and bad. Everyone is suffering and dying in your dark little world. To hell with your pessimism. You can migrate to Vietnam. Many of us are thriving here, and have plans for the future. We are not lazy, self hating folks who don't see anything good in themselves. Go abroad. You will see thousands of Vietnamese in menial jobs, washing toilets all over the place. The same Vietnam you're calling a paradise on earth here.

The nominal per capita for Viet is 2,553.987 projected for 2017, and 2,741.226 for 2018, that is how fast they are growing. They have set their sights firmly on developed status, by 2020 Nigeria will be officially behind them (Nigeria is already behind them). In 2016 they grew by over 6% while Nigeria lagged at 1.6%.

Actually Nigeria's was 2.11% for 2016. And growth rate year-on-year is normally fluctuating for most countries. All nations experience recession. If you were honest you would measure GDP growth rate over a ten year period, rather than just measuring the growth rate for last year. On a general 10 or 20 year period, our GDP has grown by an average 5% per annum.

First of all, Nigeria completely relies on oil, while Vietnam has a more diversified economy.

Wrong. Oll and gas accounts for less than 20% of Nigeria's annual GDP of $529 billion.

The average life expectancy of a Nig is 52 years and for Viet it's around 75.

Stop quoting silly figures. If you really believe the average Nigerian kicks the bucket at age 52, you need help!

Vietnam still has issues, but it's an investment magnet that's being eyed by everyone, the political climate is sturdy, and there aren't a whole bunch of IDP camps and mumus blowing themselves up all over the place, etc.

There's a huge rise in violence in Vietnam according to this report:

http://thediplomat.com/2017/06/whats-behind-vietnams-rising-violence/

Not to mention Ho Chi Minh city, commercial capital, has nothing nearly like Makoko or are removing them and upgrading the people living, it isn't a huge heap of garbage like Lagos

This is Ho Chin Minh city. They didn't show you this part in their tourist brochure, did they?

Onukwu.

Vietnam has steady electricity and running water.

No they don't.

Power cuts bite Hanoi residents:

http://vneconomictimes.com/article/society/power-cuts-bite-as-hanoi-swelters

Vietnam's power crisis:

http://www.amchamvietnam.com/vietnam-s-electric-power-crisis/

SEE, YOU CANNOT COME HERE AND LIE, BECAUSE I WILL BURY YOU WITH TRUTH AND FACTS.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by freshest4live: 3:59am On Jul 19, 2017
ezeagu:

You're ahead of them in a stagnant state, only giving the illusion of progress through averaged data and unreliable statistics. Funnily enough, you've been very quick to mention how the other Asian states were helped by the United States, but there's no elongated discussion about Vietnams history here and how the US is known to have isolated them for years.

http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/weo/2014/02/weodata/weorept.aspx?pr.x=73&pr.y=7&sy=2014&ey=2018&scsm=1&ssd=1&sort=country&ds=.&br=1&c=582&s=NGDPD%2CNGDPDPC%2CPPPGDP%2CPPPPC%2CLP&grp=0&a=

They have huge growth in tourism, while people actively avoid Nigeria, even those that travel to Africa regularly.

First of all, Nigeria completely relies on oil, while Vietnam has a more diversified economy. The average life expectancy of a Nig is 52 years and for Viet it's around 75. Vietnam still has issues, but it's an investment magnet that's being eyed by everyone, the political climate is sturdy, and there aren't a whole bunch of IDP camps and mumus blowing themselves up all over the place, etc.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-16567315
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-13949550

Now which magical Europeans did this for them?

Not to mention Ho Chi Minh city, commercial capital, has nothing nearly like Makoko or are removing them and upgrading the people living, it isn't a huge heap of garbage like Lagos, Vietnam has steady electricity and running water.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mmm1L6blxLM
You are right, Vietnam is way better today and has made steady progress after the war though still not there yet.
One thing we must consider though is that Nigeria for a large part of her history after independence has been under military rule following a series of coups and political instability till 1999, and obasanjo also did little in terms of infrastructure. The military made some positive improvements though but not enough compared to what they looted and the years of stagnancy.
Nigeria is on the path of great change, the problem now is the internal crises and the structure that allows such high corruption, and old school/clueless men to lead her in this age. The biggest problem however in my opinion is the dependence on oil for revenue (considering that oil only makes up 10% of Nigeria's GDP), as well as her lack of unity along religious and ethnic lines.
Notwithstanding l would not deny that Nigeria is on the path of great progress punching below her weight slowly.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 4:21am On Jul 19, 2017
I don't even see what is so great about those pics. I've seen pics of Lagos and Abuja that look more impressive.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by freshest4live: 4:29am On Jul 19, 2017
Rossikki:
I don't even see what is so great about those pics. I've seen pics of Lagos that look more impressive:
Some Nigerians mix up their arguements, they believe if they admit something about us which could be slightly positive in a myriad of problems, then it's tantamount to being totally satisfied with the way Nigeria is at the moment, so they accuse you of misplaced patriotism.
But despite her problems and the statistics that put 70% under the poverty line, it is a fact that Nigerians everywhere are also making it big time, with a rising and strong middle class, even though this has little to do with the Government, it is also a fact that those who clamour for white rule or a return to the colonial days argue from ignorance and emotion.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by freshest4live: 4:41am On Jul 19, 2017
Rossikki:
I don't even see what is so great about those pics. I've seen pics of Lagos and Abuja that look more impressive.
Lol, these are pictures of Nigeria comparable to what he posted.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 4:53am On Jul 19, 2017
freshest4live:

Some Nigerians mix up their arguements, they believe if they admit something about us which could be slightly positive in a myriad of problems, then it's tantamount to being totally satisfied with the way Nigeria is at the moment, so they accuse you of misplaced patriotism..

Exactly... It's a strange thing about them, isn't it? It's as if they're programmed to be negative. Even when something positive occurs, you will see them scrambling to find a negative angle to it.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by austinvsb1(m): 5:10am On Jul 19, 2017
mikolo80:
slave mentality this slave mentality that, yet 1 example of the 'doctorate ' you no fit come up with

still quoting and using the world 'doctorate' is why he reffered to you as brainwashed. why he kept responding to you is why i cant even phantom as you obviously have self esteem issues.

my best friends are whites and even they make similar and worse assertions like the OP that the west was and still pillages african countries! 'Former' british colonies like nigeria and ghana even have it better. Visit or Read up on the true economic state of most of the 'Former' french colonies and you'd understand the true concept of Neocolonialism.

while our leaders absolutely share portions of the blame for the sorry state of nigeria and most african countries, trying to dismiss the huge impact the west had and still has in limiting the continent's progress is the height of folly

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by ezeagu(m): 5:10am On Jul 19, 2017
Rossikki:

For you and your disgruntled ilk, everything in Nigeria is always stagnant and bad. Everyone is suffering and dying in your dark little world. To hell with your pessimism. You can migrate to Vietnam. Many of us are thriving here, and have plans for the future. We are not lazy, self hating folks who don't see anything good in themselves. Go abroad. You will see thousands of Vietnamese in menial jobs, washing toilets all over the place. The same Vietnam you're calling a paradise on earth here.

Actually Nigeria's was 2.11% for 2016. And growth rate year-on-year is normally fluctuating for most countries. All nations experience recession. If you were honest you would measure GDP growth rate over a ten year period, rather than just measuring the growth rate for last year. On a general 10 or 20 year period, our GDP has grown by an average 5% per annum.

Wrong. Oll and gas accounts for less than 20% of Nigeria's annual GDP of $529 billion.

Stop quoting silly figures. If you really believe the average Nigerian kicks the bucket at age 52, you need help!

There's a huge rise in violence in Vietnam according to this report:

http://thediplomat.com/2017/06/whats-behind-vietnams-rising-violence/

This is Ho Chin Minh city. They didn't show you this part in their tourist brochure, did they?

Onukwu.

No they don't.

Power cuts bite Hanoi residents:

http://vneconomictimes.com/article/society/power-cuts-bite-as-hanoi-swelters

Vietnam's power crisis:

http://www.amchamvietnam.com/vietnam-s-electric-power-crisis/

SEE, YOU CANNOT COME HERE AND LIE, BECAUSE I WILL BURY YOU WITH TRUTH AND FACTS.

What does it say when power cuts make the news from 2010 and 2015? How many articles on Nigerian papers headline power cuts in Lagos? Please go and check the electricity production of Vietnam vs. Nigeria, even the article you googled talked about one power cut per day, and that was under certain circumstances in 2010. Maybe you also don't know that the Nigerian economy operates on oil? Is that an argument? How many articles are you going to Google till you find the Vietnamese version of Boko Haram or Fulani Herdsmen?

You don't know how life expectancy works, life expectancy is calculated in a number of ways including the average age of a siblings death. Yes, people in Nigeria live much shorter, this is even reflected in entertainment. That's not even counting the deaths from Fulani terrorists, Boko Haram, road accidents which are some of the worst in the world, pollution which are some of the worst in the world, malnutrition which are some of the worst in the world, bad or nonexistent health care, and so on. No matter how many images of shacks you find, an average westerner which is where the huge amount of tourism money comes from will run a mile before picking dirty Nigeria over Vietnam. You're lucky you have monopolists like Folorunsho and Dangote to up your statistics.

Lost, wandering desert tokunbo Jew, you still haven't added Vietnam's backstory. At the end of the day, 40 years from now another mad delusional Afro-nut will come online or wherever and say Vietnam's inevitable astronomic success is because of magical oyibo, which you indirectly worship as the mighty magical source of all power, including making your homeland the arsehole of the earth.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by austinvsb1(m): 5:23am On Jul 19, 2017
tensazangetsu20:

Well to start with am a marine engineer and in the maritime sector in Africa the Ghanaian, Egyptian and south African licenses are well respected. The first job I got straight out of school was with my Ghanaian certificate and to think that the company was located in Texas. I am also working on another company now and once I told them where I graduated from they were very excited to have me join them but in Nigeria the reverse is the case our licenses are not even respected in Nigerian waters talk less of outside the country. Someone who has never even sailed before in Nigeria can forge a captains license. Nigerians ruined the maritime industry and the Nigerian license. The other federal universities like KNUST and university of Ghana are well respected all over. They have exchange programs with top universities in Europe and the USA, very quality lecturers. Their universities are well funded. Neat campuses, nice classrooms and well maintained hostels.

And Ghana has far better infastructure than Nigeria. Though they have smaller single carriage roads, roads are well maintained. They have constant electricity and their citizens live far better lives than Nigerians.

and this soo called respect was from who? let me take a quick guess. 'not blacks' for sure. #slavementality
Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by austinvsb1(m): 5:30am On Jul 19, 2017
freshest4live:

Last time l checked, nothing stops them from doing it now in Nigeria to show excellent example.

Really man. i can only admire your tenacity in trying to beat some sense and self worth into this people with extremely bastardised esteem. It definitely cant be an easy one going through pronounciations whose origin is that of self loathe as well as summoning the strength to reply. I'd have given up by now for sure grin
Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by ezeagu(m): 5:36am On Jul 19, 2017
freshest4live:

You are right, Vietnam is way better today and has made steady progress after the war though still not there yet.
One thing we must consider though is that Nigeria for a large part of her history after independence has been under military rule following a series of coups and political instability till 1999, and obasanjo also did little in terms of infrastructure. The military made some positive improvements though but not enough compared to what they looted and the years of stagnancy.
Nigeria is on the path of great change, the problem now is the internal crises and the structure that allows such high corruption, and old school/clueless men to lead her in this age. The biggest problem however in my opinion is the dependence on oil for revenue (considering that oil only makes up 10% of Nigeria's GDP), as well as her lack of unity along religious and ethnic lines.
Notwithstanding l would not deny that Nigeria is on the path of great progress punching below her weight slowly.

That's a bit like saying a car would drive really fast only if it had tires, the whole point is in getting to a working state, otherwise you're not going anywhere, everything is just a possibility and hypothesis, which is why 20 years from now Vietnam will be near or probably at the level of "tiger economies" while Nigerians will continue to swim is filth and make excuses about a possibility. This is not even mentioning The Philippines.

https://www.virgin.com/entrepreneur/the-worlds-best-start-up-hubs-ho-chi-minh-city-vietnam

An what's happening in Vietnamese city centres is what Lagos is desperately trying to recreate in Eko Atlantic which is working at a snails pace. You can't compare the road works of Vietnam to Nigeria, or the new builds and high rises.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by austinvsb1(m): 5:45am On Jul 19, 2017
Warship:
"........As for Biafra. If you secede from Nigeria you will be assuring your own demise, as you will lose access to Africa's largest market of 200 million, and be forced to compete with Japan, China, and the west for access to foreign markets. That is the last thing you need, as nations set up protectionist tariffs, while preferring trusted technology from familiar partners......." Rossikki

What are the populations of South Korea, Japan, Singapore, South Africa, France, Germany, Switzerland, etc.?

Are they bigger than 100million in each country.?

Do you know how many Biafrans exist on Earth.?

If Biafrans take Technological Education and Award seriously, they will become a nation of industrialists which will give them access to every nation of the world including wretched Nigeria.

The world market is over 7billion.

why is anyone still interacting with this thing? And this are the 'intelligent minds' that will 'develop' biafra right?? i laugh in congolese grin

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Nobody: 5:54am On Jul 19, 2017
ezeagu:

That's a bit like saying a car would drive really fast only if it had tires, the whole point is in getting to a working state, otherwise you're not going anywhere, everything is just a possibility and hypothesis, which is why 20 years from now Vietnam will be near or probably at the level of "tiger economies" while Nigerians will continue to swim is filth and make excuses about a possibility. This is not even mentioning The Philippines.

https://www.virgin.com/entrepreneur/the-worlds-best-start-up-hubs-ho-chi-minh-city-vietnam

An what's happening in Vietnamese city centres is what Lagos is desperately trying to recreate in Eko Atlantic which is working at a snails pace. You can't compare the road works of Vietnam to Nigeria, or the new builds and high rises.
oga, stop comparing Nigeria with Vietnam jor.......Vietnam ko,vietnam ni
Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by oyatz(m): 9:07am On Jul 19, 2017
Okay, I now understand the situations better.
Even though, I know that the electricity generating stations were built after independence, I have for long wondered the sources of electricity supply in colonial Nigeria.
Thanks bro for providing this piece of Vital information which many Nigerians don't ever know.

Rossikki:

The colonialists provided electricity to select communities, usually middle class/colonial-inhabited parts of big cities..(the places we call GRAs today). They used huge imported generators which guaranteed 24/7 power, but had very limited coverage. Total national capacity was about 200 megawatts. A national grid wasn't actually built until after independence, together with real power stations.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Warship: 9:18am On Jul 19, 2017
deedeedee1:

South Koreans are 50 million in population while Igbos are 40. I dont see much difference if you ask me.
Do mind that op. He does not know what he is saying

We are more than 40million if the Nigerian State can be honest
Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Warship: 9:20am On Jul 19, 2017
austinvsb1:

why is anyone still interacting with this thing? And this are the 'intelligent minds' that will 'develop' biafra right?? i laugh in congolese grin

That thing is far more intelligent than your ancestors and descendants to be that is why everyone is interacting with the thing.

Afonjas are hopeless beings.
Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by mikolo80: 11:38pm On Jul 19, 2017
austinvsb1:

still quoting and using the world 'doctorate' is why he reffered to you as brainwashed. why he kept responding to you is why i cant even phantom as you obviously have self esteem issues.

my best friends are whites and even they make similar and worse assertions like the OP that the west was and still pillages african countries! 'Former' british colonies like nigeria and ghana even have it better. Visit or Read up on the true economic state of most of the 'Former' french colonies and you'd understand the true concept of Neocolonialism.

while our leaders absolutely share portions of the blame for the sorry state of nigeria and most african countries, trying to in dismiss the huge impact the west had and still has in limiting the continent's progress is the height of folly
referred is one f
fathom not phantom
none of you have the self esteem I do.
no be by blaming white man for your problem.
the west not your problem, you are.
nobody owes you anything.
they saw what they wanted, they took it, your great grandfathers let them take it like mumus and you're still letting them take it like the grandmumus you are.
beating chest like orangutans

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 2:31am On Jul 20, 2017
ezeagu:

What does it say when power cuts make the news from 2010 and 2015? How many articles on Nigerian papers headline power cuts in Lagos? Please go and check the electricity production of Vietnam vs. Nigeria, even the article you googled talked about one power cut per day, and that was under certain circumstances in 2010.

The article speaks of a POWER CRISIS in Vietnam. And speaks of daily power cuts. Of course there are news articles dealing with Nigerian power cuts. What are you on about?

Maybe you also don't know that the Nigerian economy operates on oil? Is that an argument? How many articles are you going to Google till you find the Vietnamese version of Boko Haram or Fulani Herdsmen?

There is a huge rise in violence in Vietnam, which I posted a link to. Does it matter if their names are not Boko Haram or Fulani herdsmen? Crime is crime, even if it doesn't come with a name.

You don't know how life expectancy works, life expectancy is calculated in a number of ways including the average age of a siblings death. Yes, people in Nigeria live much shorter, this is even reflected in entertainment. That's not even counting the deaths from Fulani terrorists, Boko Haram, road accidents which are some of the worst in the world, pollution which are some of the worst in the world, malnutrition which are some of the worst in the world, bad or nonexistent health care, and so on.

Yawwwnnnnn. When your white masters were here weren't all those problems 100 times worse? That is what this thread is about. ie that we have made PROGRESS. For instance, infant mortality rate in 1960 was over 250 per 1000. By 2015 it had fallen to 69 per 1000. IS THAT NOT PROGRESS?

Here's the graph:

https://knoema.com/atlas/Nigeria/Infant-mortality-rate

If you cared so much about Nigerians why are you so silent on the colonial ra/pe, that looted at least a trillion dollars in today's money, from this country? Angrily attacking those of us who point it out.

So because we have some corrupt leaders today, we must forget about the looters of yesterday. Why? Because they are white? Being white gives you the right to loot Nigeria? I don't think so.

No matter how many images of shacks you find, an average westerner which is where the huge amount of tourism money comes from will run a mile before picking dirty Nigeria over Vietnam. You're lucky you have monopolists like Folorunsho and Dangote to up your statistics.

Dude, most 'tourists' to Vietnam are old Americans suffering guilt over their criminal bombardment of that country in the 70s. Spare us the crap about the whole world rushing to visit Vietnam.

Lost, wandering desert tokunbo Jew, you still haven't added Vietnam's backstory. At the end of the day, 40 years from now another mad delusional Afro-nut will come online or wherever and say Vietnam's inevitable astronomic success

There is NOTHING INEVITABLE about Vietnam's future success or otherwise. It is your racial inferiority complex that makes you think their success is ''inevitabe''. Stronger nations than her have fallen into conflict and disaster, or economic collapse.

Look at Venezuela. 20 years ago they were among the richest and most promising nations in South America. Today, their people have to cross the border into Colombia to find soap. Food is a luxury. Riots are a daily occurrence. SO NOTHING IS GUARANTEED TO ANYBODY IN LIFE. Get it?

As for Nigeria, her future is bright by all expert calculations. She is projected to be among the world's top 10 economies by 2050, based on current economic growth rates. I didn't see Vietnam on the list:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/economics/11401466/How-the-world-will-look-in-2050.html

because of magical oyibo, which you indirectly worship as the mighty magical source of all power, including making your homeland the arsehole of the earth.

Your village is the arsehole of the earth. WE LOVE OUR NIGERIA. If you can't stand it, get lost and stay lost.
Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 3:00am On Jul 20, 2017
ezeagu:

You can't compare the road works of Vietnam to Nigeria, or the new builds and high rises.

Show us the highrises. Is it that stuff you posted above? Those antiquated buildings? Dude, just respect yourself.

And don't try to claim Vietnam hasn't got its fair share of bad roads, 'cos i will post them here to shatter your lies. Just like you claimed there were no shanties in Ho Chi Minh City, and then got angry when I posted images of the shanties.
Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by ezeagu(m): 3:20am On Jul 20, 2017
Rossikki:

The article speaks of a POWER CRISIS in Vietnam. And speaks of daily power cuts. Of course there are news articles dealing with Nigerian power cuts. What are you on about?

There is a huge rise in violence in Vietnam, which I posted a link to. Does it matter if their names are not Boko Haram or Fulani herdsmen? Crime is crime, even if it doesn't come with a name.

Yawwwnnnnn. When your white masters were here weren't all those problems 100 times worse? That is what this thread is about. ie that we have made PROGRESS. For instance, infant mortality rate in 1960 was over 250 per 1000. By 2015 it had fallen to 69 per 1000. IS THAT NOT PROGRESS?

Here's the graph:

https://knoema.com/atlas/Nigeria/Infant-mortality-rate

If you cared so much about Nigerians why are you so silent on the colonial ra/pe, that looted at least a trillion dollars in today's money, from this country? Angrily attacking those of us who point it out.

So because we have some corrupt leaders today, we must forget about the looters of yesterday. Why? Because they are white? Being white gives you the right to loot Nigeria? I don't think so.

Dude, most 'tourists' to Vietnam are old Americans suffering guilt over their criminal bombardment of that country in the 70s. Spare us the crap about the whole world rushing to visit Vietnam.

There is NOTHING INEVITABLE about Vietnam's future success or otherwise. It is your racial inferiority complex that makes you think their success is ''inevitabe''. Stronger nations than her have fallen into conflict and disaster, or economic collapse.

Look at Venezuela. 20 years ago they were among the richest and most promising nations in South America. Today, their people have to cross the border into Colombia to find soap. Food is a luxury. Riots are a daily occurrence. SO NOTHING IS GUARANTEED TO ANYBODY IN LIFE. Get it?

As for Nigeria, her future is bright by all expert calculations. She is projected to be among the world's top 10 economies by 2050, based on current economic growth rates. I didn't see Vietnam on the list:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/economics/11401466/How-the-world-will-look-in-2050.html

Your village is the arsehole of the earth. WE LOVE OUR NIGERIA. If you can't stand it, get lost and stay lost.

Sorry, but none of this rubbish you concocted is stoping the fact that these southeast Asians were on your level at independence and are now steady whizzing past you, or are already miles ahead. Even the so called excuse of American help is nonsense, because Nigeria was under British order during the Nigeria-Biafra war, yet they couldn't use their brain to ask for help apparently. Of course Nigeria's economy is rising, as poverty levels and the wealth gap deepens and the crisis all over the country worsens, and infrastructure stays in 2000 BC, a country that basically only exports oil but imports petroleum products, are you not ashamed at all? Nigeria's life expectancy is in the 50s, yes or no? People who love their country do not trek over deserts and seas to run away from such country, how many British people visit Nigeria because of colonial guilt? A white person in Nigeria is like a white elephant outside of the little towns the oil companies have built for them in places like Bonny. Better luck trying to convince someone else, ask an average Nigerian on the street if they would stay in Nigeria or have a free ticket to Vietnam who produce twice as much electricity as Nigeria by the way.

Bonny LNG, and other oil expatriate facilities at near developed standard, while the rest of Nigeria is behind because of some excuse or whatever. Look at how people have set up and developed parts of your country in under a few years while you're trying to diminish other countries success and have nothing to show in your own country.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by ezeagu(m): 3:26am On Jul 20, 2017
Rossikki:

Show us the highrises. Is it that stuff you posted above? Those antiquated buildings? Dude, just respect yourself.

And don't try to claim Vietnam hasn't got its fair share of bad roads, 'cos i will post them here to shatter your lies. Just like you claimed there were no shanties in Ho Chi Minh City, and then got angry when I posted images of the shanties.

You didn't show anything, you showed a shack that was on the rim of the town, as I said, in 5 years probably those will be gone and the people moved into affordable housing, weren't the people of the waterside slums in Lagos chased into the ocean to sleep and live exposed on the water just a few weeks ago?

How pointless would it be posting every high rise in Vietnam, they have multiple buildings and projects going up at once, in multiple cities, not in two overrated and congested cities like in Nigeria. The real upper hand they have is with their detail and urban planning.

Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 5:11am On Jul 20, 2017
ezeagu:

Sorry, but none of this rubbish you concocted is stoping the fact that these southeast Asians were on your level at independence and are now steady whizzing past you, or are already miles ahead.

You can lie to yourself as much as you like. They are whizzing past YOU, and no one else.

Even the so called excuse of American help is nonsense, because Nigeria was under British order during the Nigeria-Biafra war, yet they couldn't use their brain to ask for help apparently.

Peabrain, it is not about Nigeria ''asking for help''. The Asian Tigers did no ask for help after WW2. They got the ''help'' as a consequence of western desperation to keep out communism from Asia. It was all about western interests. Which is why each and everyone of those Asian Tigers is protected by thousands of US troops today, and have military protection treaties with the US, UK, etc. Why? Because they were created by the west and are considered western assets.

Of course Nigeria's economy is rising, as poverty levels and the wealth gap deepens and the crisis all over the country worsens, and infrastructure stays in 2000 BC

Yawwwwnnn. Where is your visa? Won't Vietnam accept you? Hope you don't push drugs like your brothers.

a country that basically only exports oil but imports petroleum products, are you not ashamed at all?

What do YOU produce? Can't you start a business and export? Do you realise that people are exporting products from this country in their private business capacity? Did Innoson, a car manufacturer, not just receive an order from Mali to supply a thousand vehicles?

Is Innoson not a Nigerian? People like him are working, building, manufacturing, and exporting, while loafers like you sit around moaning all day, rubbishibg the country while doing zero to contribute to its development, and kissing Vietnamese asss even though they can't stand the sight of you. Have you no shame?

People who love their country do not trek over deserts and seas to run away from such country

China is an economic superpower. So how come there are millions of Chinese immigrants in the US and Europe? There are so many of them in the US that they have whole city areas named Chinatown, complete with shop signs written in Chinese! If your logic is that immigrants leaving a country means the country is hopeless, then China must be hopeless. Nonsense.

how many British people visit Nigeria because of colonial guilt?

Who cares?

A white person in Nigeria is like a white elephant outside of the little towns the oil companies have built for them in places like Bonny.

You must be talking of a different country. What ignorant nonsense.

Better luck trying to convince someone else, ask an average Nigerian on the street if they would stay in Nigeria or have a free ticket to Vietnam

Your fellow drug pushers will move to Afghanistan and Syria if the money was good enough. Most serious and honest Nigerians will not move to Vietnam for ANYTHING.

Bonny LNG, and other oil expatriate facilities at near developed standard, while the rest of Nigeria is behind because of some excuse or whatever. Look at how people have set up and developed parts of your country in under a few years while you're trying to diminish other countries success and have nothing to show in your own country.

What is this? Is this what you call ''near developed standard''?

With open drains?

You must be drunk. Is any of that crap you posted comparable to Abuja, Calabar, Uyo, Enugu, and many parts of Lagos?
Re: Why Was Nigeria Underdeveloped After 63 Years Of White Rule? by Rossikki: 5:24am On Jul 20, 2017

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

PDP Leadership Intervenes As Makinde, Fayose Feud Deepens / Majority Of Nigerians Feel Less Safe Than They Did 5 Years Ago – World Risk Poll / Pictures Of "Dying Buhari" Inside The Ambulance @ Heathrow Airport In London

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 190