Stats: 3,153,437 members, 7,819,606 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 06:58 PM

Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) - Music/Radio - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Music/Radio / Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) (1082 Views)

Poll: True or False

True: 85% (6 votes)
False: 14% (1 vote)
This poll has ended

Wack As Hell Hip Hop Album Covers. / Asa - Caught With Heroine In London Heathrow Airport: True or False? (Rumour) / M.I Best Nigerian Rapper For Now: (true/false) (2) (3) (4)

Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by otepuking(m): 5:41pm On Mar 25, 2010
It's funny how many of us have forgotten this  legend.  cheesy
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by ElRazur: 5:50pm On Mar 25, 2010
Not only is he a true spitter, he uses complex words and packs his verse filled with so many words. He died before his time in my opinion.
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by rapjunkie(m): 7:41pm On Mar 25, 2010
I still play his album 'Capital Punishmnet' on a regular basis.

He has been overlooked in hip hop history cos he aint black. . . .

Twinz - Feat Fat Joe

This song still gets me pumped up

[flash=500,400]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-okIgFd024&hl=en_GB&fs=1&" type="[/flash]
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by ElRazur: 7:50pm On Mar 25, 2010
I don't think he is overlooked. If anything he is regarded as one of the all time greats. He made the top 20 of so of the greatest ever rapper or something along those lines. That is an honour in my opinion.
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by Genuflect(m): 5:17am On Mar 26, 2010
Pun!! Damn, dude had crazy multies. Flow was ill too. Definitely a legend
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by frijos(m): 11:25am On Mar 26, 2010
my favorite track is 100% and how we roll ft ashanti, Big Pun came from nowhere and ruled the game at a point. He's special.
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by rapjunkie(m): 2:00pm On Mar 26, 2010
ofokaofoki:

the fool el razur wants to argue again ,
thats how he starts  his foolish argument everytime , ''.i dont think he is overlooked ''' asshole

@el razur

make ur peace with ofoka quick, quick. . . . .  .i'm trying not to take sides but if you read ur own comment: 

ElRazur:

I don't think he is overlooked. If anything he is regarded as one of the all time greats. He made the top 20 of so of the greatest ever rapper or something along those lines. That is an honour in my opinion.

u just made a statement without backing it up. . . . . . . . . Top 20 of what list? where?. . . .  . . . .and shouldn't Pun be in a Top 10 list?. . . . .  .
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by sinistyle(m): 11:06pm On Mar 26, 2010
simply put, big pun is a legend. Still listen to 'Its so hard' like it was made yesterday
Btw: I believe we are begining to treat some jerks like celebs. Anywaiz, na una get Ofoka time!
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by Scooby1(m): 12:27am On Mar 27, 2010
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by ElRazur: 12:43am On Mar 27, 2010
@rapjunkie

The list was composed by Mtv base or something. This is from years back. There were loads of rappers from shakur, llcoolj, rakim, big l, down to african-bambata etc. Making a top 20 in such list is a honour.

There is nothing unclear about my post, but each to their own. There are all sort of "greatest" this and "greatest" that. But if it is composed by a reputable organization, then it most likely a true reflection.
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by chrisical(m): 12:55am On Mar 27, 2010
A true legend.He was ill wiv his lyrics back then.
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by emarketer1: 2:21am On Mar 27, 2010
All hail BIG PUNISHER!!!
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by mufasa(m): 11:09am On Mar 27, 2010
The guy was ill.
Had like 3 of his albums

My fave track is definitely - Deep Cover (with Fat Joe)
Also loved his album 100% we used to tear it down back in those OSU days.
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by Kratos007(m): 12:47pm On Mar 27, 2010
big pun is legendary mannnnn, i still remember being blown away by some of his lines, smoking ganja from bible paper, priceless
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by funkybaby(f): 2:50pm On Mar 27, 2010
@ post .

TRUE ! The guy had some really crazy lines.

my most fav. song of his. . . . punish me ft miss jones
i wonder who he was referring to in that song

[Big Punisher]
I was the luckiest man on Earth, my wisdom was worth
any purse but had a curse that hurt worse than givin birth
My first verse explains some of the game she was playin
I'm blamin myself cause in my wealth was her pain would haven
Behavin like a money hungry hooker, funny how the money took her
from a average honey to a stunning looker
I look back and reminsce how we used to kiss
and smash hips in the GS I bought her last Christ'
She got too big for her britches but The Britch is Over
Not the one in Queens I mean the one she dreamin wasn't sober
Told her how I felt, gassed me when she cried for help
Supplied the guilt trip and I was whipped without a fuckin belt
I felt stupid Cupid struck me with a poison arrow
Shoulda drowned ya when I found ya crushin in my boy's Camaro
I didn't bother but you probably find your lover dead
You robbed me of my honor, you ain't shit like my mother said

Chorus: miss jones

Come back come back come back come back to meeeee, Punisher
Punish me, ahhhhhhhIII've been so bad, so bad
Won't you come back?

[Big Punisher]
Nah baby, I'm Not Gon' Be Able to Do It; You blew it
Threw it all the way cause you was stupid -- girl why'd you do it?
I mighta knew it by the way you gave me your baby
Then left a day before I ever saw the son that God made me
It's hard maybe we can make amends, be friends
But `were only hurtin all of us for certain by forsakin him
Just take it in, don't even say a word, observe
the way you were, preserved, these words so you won't play the herb
ever again, never pretend that he doesn't have a father
I'm always there and you don't wanna bother
I honor my word on my father's grave, guide him through his hardest age
So he can thrive and survive in these modern days
I wanna raise my little man but you keep resistin
I'm insistin you chill for real before you come up missin
Listen, I don't wanna fight I'd rather do what's right
A boy needs a father that's the most important part of his life

Chorus 2X

[Big Punisher]
I gave you everything, love letters and sweaters with leather seams
Feathered wings, and rings with emeralds right out of Geraldine's
Simple dreams a dream fulfilled, the green DeVille Cadillac
to mack, not a fact ?redeemed to build?
I mean for real I can play it mami how you wanna stay
at Monty Frask, givin the next nigga my kitten
You want me back cause he hit it wrong, now you wanna get it on
with the Long Don, word bond my shit is strong (come back)
Girl don't even start again, I beg your pardon
and get your hands off my six button Cardigan
This ain't no love lost between us far as I'm concerned
Please leave, cut that busted weave I've been dyin to burn
Go buy a perm, try and earn some respect
It's better to have loved and lost than live with regret

[miss jones]
Come back, to, me
I want you to

Chorus 2X

to me, yeah yeah
Alright, don't go, no
Ohhhhhahahaooahhoahhohhh, hmmmmmm ohh hmmm hmm
Yeahhhhhhhhh, take my hand, and punish me
Hmm, been so bad, come punish me, yeahh
Take my hand, and punish me, ohhh
Been so bad, come punish me,
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by rapjunkie(m): 5:06pm On Mar 27, 2010
@funkybaby

u sabi ur music well well . . . . .another great track. . . . great hook as well.

Puns speed of delivery and way with words was awesome

[flash=500,400]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9hXAvReZdyU&hl=en_GB&fs=1&" type=[/flash]
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by funkybaby(f): 6:55pm On Mar 27, 2010
rapjunkie:

@funkybaby

u sabi your music well well . . . . .another great track. . . . great hook as well.

Puns speed of delivery and way with words was awesome

i dey try small small

i could almost swear that i have watched years ago the original music video for that song

but i have searched youtube. . . . . nothing !
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by noblegas2(m): 7:50pm On Mar 27, 2010
frijos:

my favorite track is [size=13pt]100%[/size] and how we roll ft ashanti, Big Pun came from nowhere and ruled the game at a point. He's special.
me too
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by altavista(m): 11:07pm On Mar 27, 2010
funkybaby:

@ post .

TRUE ! The guy had some really crazy lines.

my most fav. song of his. . . . punish me ft miss jones
i wonder who he was referring to in that song

[Big Punisher]
I was the luckiest man on Earth, my wisdom was worth
any purse but had a curse that hurt worse than givin birth
My first verse explains some of the game she was playin
I'm blamin myself cause in my wealth was her pain would haven
Behavin like a money hungry hooker, funny how the money took her
from a average honey to a stunning looker
I look back and reminsce how we used to kiss
and smash hips in the GS I bought her last Christ'
She got too big for her britches but The Britch is Over
Not the one in Queens I mean the one she dreamin wasn't sober
Told her how I felt, gassed me when she cried for help
Supplied the guilt trip and I was whipped without a fuckin belt
I felt silly Cupid struck me with a poison arrow
Shoulda drowned ya when I found ya crushin in my boy's Camaro
I didn't bother but you probably find your lover dead
You robbed me of my honor, you ain't poo like my mother said

Chorus: miss jones

Come back come back come back come back to meeeee, Punisher
Punish me, ahhhhhhhIII've been so bad, so bad
Won't you come back?

[Big Punisher]
Nah baby, I'm Not Gon' Be Able to Do It; You blew it
Threw it all the way cause you was silly -- girl why'd you do it?
I mighta knew it by the way you gave me your baby
Then left a day before I ever saw the son that God made me
It's hard maybe we can make amends, be friends
But `were only hurtin all of us for certain by forsakin him
Just take it in, don't even say a word, observe
the way you were, preserved, these words so you won't play the herb
ever again, never pretend that he doesn't have a father
I'm always there and you don't wanna bother
I honor my word on my father's grave, guide him through his hardest age
So he can thrive and survive in these modern days
I wanna raise my little man but you keep resistin
I'm insistin you chill for real before you come up missin
Listen, I don't wanna fight I'd rather do what's right
A boy needs a father that's the most important part of his life

Chorus 2X

[Big Punisher]
I gave you everything, love letters and sweaters with leather seams
Feathered wings, and rings with emeralds right out of Geraldine's
Simple dreams a dream fulfilled, the green DeVille Cadillac
to mack, not a fact ?redeemed to build?
I mean for real I can play it mami how you wanna stay
at Monty Frask, givin the next nigga my kitten
You want me back cause he hit it wrong, now you wanna get it on
with the Long Don, word bond my poo is strong (come back)
Girl don't even start again, I beg your pardon
and get your hands off my six button Cardigan
This ain't no love lost between us far as I'm concerned
Please leave, cut that busted weave I've been dyin to burn
Go buy a perm, try and earn some respect
It's better to have loved and lost than live with regret

[miss jones]
Come back, to, me
I want you to

Chorus 2X

to me, yeah yeah
Alright, don't go, no
Ohhhhhahahaooahhoahhohhh, hmmmmmm ohh hmmm hmm
Yeahhhhhhhhh, take my hand, and punish me
Hmm, been so bad, come punish me, yeahh
Take my hand, and punish me, ohhh
Been so bad, come punish me,

U sabi the song reach like dis, abi u just google-paste lyrics for us? tongue grin
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by Sauron1: 9:02pm On Mar 28, 2010
rapjunkie:

I still play his album 'Capital Punishmnet' on a regular basis.

He has been overlooked in hip hop history cos he aint black. . . .

Twinz - Feat Fat Joe

This song still gets me pumped up

Any rap fan without Capital Punishment is a plonker. grin grin grin grin
All the 3 BIGs were Rap Legends.(Big L, Biggie, Big Pun).

Jeeez, the album is mad, dope, crazy, brilliant and exquisite.
Deep Cover remix was mad but it wasn't ma favourite cos Dre/Snoop did it better in 1992.
Ma best track on that album is 'Glamour Life'
Pun just murdered everyone on that track spitting hard from his core to the crust.

[flash=425,420]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNKpkTmFMDc&hl=en_GB&fs=1&"[/flash]

The glamour life, play precise, defense is tight
I'm out to settle the score, let's do it right
Enough for looking at grave, It's paying back tonight
Yo Twin pass the lah, pass the light

The glamour life, this life I live is trife as shyte
Least my wife and kid got somewhere nice to live
I used to live in the gutter, me and my mother
Now she's fifty years old, pushing a hummer

The glamour life, hand me a knife I'll slice and dice
Mini-mize, send them to Christ in the after life
Pass the mic down the line, let them hear it
Let them fear it, send it screaming to the Holy Spirit.
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by ElRazur: 10:01pm On Mar 28, 2010
I very much doubt folks around here really know Big L when he was alive. I think my favourite track was "Ebonics" Kai, that guy really "break it down" for that track.

Also his Post Humus collaboration with Tupac was blazing. It is hard to say was was better on that particular track.
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by Sauron1: 10:03pm On Mar 28, 2010
ElRazur:

I very much doubt folks around here really know Big L when he was alive. I think my favourite track was "Ebonics" Kai, that guy really "break it down" for that track.

Only the REAL heads do. . . . .Others r mostly Kanye and Mase fans. grin grin grin grin

Also his Post Humus collaboration with Tupac was blazing. It is hard to say was was better on that particular track.

Big L was a freak with his punchlines.
His death was so untimely.
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by eldee(m): 10:26pm On Mar 28, 2010
ElRazur:

Hehehe . . . erm, it's Big Pun they're talking about grin grin
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by ElRazur: 11:05pm On Mar 28, 2010
Teacher teacher teacher oh/ no be lecturer be your name?

No teach me I dey go.

I was replying to Sauron who made a mention of Big L.

**Should have been to spec savers**

Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by eldee(m): 11:12pm On Mar 28, 2010
ElRazur:

Teacher teacher teacher oh/ no be lecturer be your name?

No teach me I dey go.

I was replying to Sauron who made a mention of Big L.

**Should have been to spec savers**

Hehehehe . . . erm . . .sue me tongue tongue tongue tongue tongue
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by funkybaby(f): 11:36am On Mar 29, 2010
altavista:

U sabi the song reach like dis, abi u just google-paste lyrics for us? tongue grin

sharrap dia tongue grin
it's not rocket science for you to figure that i obviously got the lyrics from another site. grin
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by bkbabe97: 1:49pm On Mar 29, 2010
Im glad peoples finally realizing this Boricua illa monster spitta was a beast. for those of yall aint never heard his very FIRST rhyme to the world, click on the link below!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M59OTuUE1BA
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by 4peace(m): 2:36pm On Mar 29, 2010
Christopher Lee Carlos Rios (November 9,
1971 – February 7, 2000), better known by his
stage name Big Pun (short for Big Punisher),
was a Puerto Rican rapper who emerged from
the underground rap scene in The Bronx in the
late 1990s. He first appeared on albums from The
Beatnuts, on the track "Off the Books", and on Fat
Joe's second album Jealous One's Envy, on the
track "Watch Out", prior to signing to Loud
Records as a solo artist. Big Pun's career was cut
short in 2000 at age 28 when he died of a fatal
heart attack.
Re: Big Pun One Hell Of A Spitter (true Or False) by 4peace(m): 3:03pm On Mar 29, 2010
Career
During the 1980s, he formed the Full a Clips Crew
with Triple Seis, Prospect and Cuban Link who
was at the time named "Lyrical Assassin". At this
point Big Pun was operating under the alias Big
Moon Dawg. Rios met fellow Puerto Rican and
Bronx rapper Fat Joe in 1995 and made his
commercial debut on Joe's second album, Jealous
Ones Envy, in addition to appearing on a b-side
to Joe's "Envy" single, "Fire Water" and "Watch
Out." Later, "I'm Not a Player" (featuring an O'Jays
sample) was supported by a significant
advertising campaign and became an
underground hit. The song's remix, "Still Not a
Player" (featuring Joe) produced by Knobody,
became Big Pun's first major mainstream hit. His
full-length debut Capital Punishment followed in
1998, and was the first album by a solo Latino
rapper to go platinum, peaking at #5 on the
Billboard 200. Capital Punishment was also
nominated for a Grammy, but lost out on the
award to Jay-Z's Vol. 2: Hard Knock Life. He
became a member of Terror Squad, a New York-
based group of rappers founded by Fat Joe, with
most of the roster supplied by the now-defunct
Full a Clips Crew who released their debut album
The Album in 1999. In 1999 he co-starred in the
Albert Pyun-directed ghetto-movie Urban
Menace, alongside his frequent collaborator Fat
Joe.
Death
Excluding his adolescence, Big Pun struggled with
his weight for most of his life; his weight
fluctuated in the early 1990s between obese and
morbidly obese. but he eventually quit the
program before completing it, returning to New
York and gaining back the weight he had lost.[1]
On February 7, 2000, Big Pun suffered a fatal
heart attack and respiratory failure while
temporarily staying with family at a Crowne Plaza
Hotel in White Plains, New York during a home
renovation. Pun was pronounced dead at the
hospital after paramedics could not revive him.[3]
Posthumous works
His second album, Yeeeah Baby, completed
before his death, was issued as scheduled in April
2000. It peaked at #3 on the Billboard charts and
earned gold record status within three months of
its release. A posthumous compilation album,
Endangered Species, was released in April 2001.
Endangered Species collected some of Pun's
" greatest hits," previously unreleased material,
numerous guest appearances, and remixed
"greatest verses." As with his other albums, it
also peaked in the top ten of the Billboard 200,
reaching #7, but didn't sell as much as the
previous Pun albums had.
Big Punisher was featured with Fat Joe on Duets:
The Final Chapter, an album of tracks featuring
the Notorious B.I.G, also deceased. The track "Get
Your Grind On" begins with a Big Pun radio
interview in which he said he would perform a
duet with Biggie at the gates of heaven.[4]
Punisher was also featured on a track from the
revived Terror Squad's second album, True
Story, on the track "Bring 'Em Back" with Big L.
On May 2, 2001, a Bronx City Council committee
stalled plans to rename a small portion of Rogers
Place in honor of Big Pun because of distaste over
Big Pun's lyrics, which according to The New
York Times "include profanity and references to
violence and drug dealing".[5]
Sony Records has been considering releasing a
second posthumous album featuring unreleased
material [6], but the project is being delayed by
Sony.[7] Liza Rios also held an auction in 2005 for
her deceased husband's Terror Squad medallion,
citing financial difficulties in the wake of Pun's
death, and again claiming to have not received
any royalty checks for Pun's posthumous album
sales (save for a small check from the sales of
Endangered Species).[8]
Big Pun: The Legacy documentary
A tribute documentary Big Pun: The Legacy was
released on September 15, 2009. The film
contains multiple interviews with artists, actors,
close friends and others whose lives were
touched by Big Pun, as well as rare exclusive
performances and scene interviews with Big Pun
himself. The film also features appearances by
Bone Thugs-n-Harmony, Snoop Dogg, DMX,
Method Man, U-God, Liza Rios, Xzibit, Cuban Link,
Swizz Beatz, DJ Skribble, Chino XL and many
more. Film is directed by Vlad Yudin. It is
distributed through Vivendi Universal and The
Soundtrack is released through Legacy/Columbia
Records, Sony Music.
4rm wiki

Ashanti To Join The Black Eyed Peas / Brand New Rock Single To Emerge From Nigeria (premiered @ Bella Naija) / Albums You Bought More Than Once(nigerian Artistes Only)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 69