Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,195,038 members, 7,956,863 topics. Date: Monday, 23 September 2024 at 08:57 PM

Help! Where Did I Go Wrong? - Programming - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Programming / Help! Where Did I Go Wrong? (3363 Views)

I Want My Son To Be A Programmer, How Do I Go About It / Urgent Help: Where To Download Udemy Courses / Should I Go For Cybersecurity Or Computer Science? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

Help! Where Did I Go Wrong? by HealerC: 6:38pm On Nov 28, 2017
I started learning java not quite long but now I am faced with this problem in the screenshot.
I don't know why it happens like this. Please someone should proffer a solution. Thanks.

Re: Help! Where Did I Go Wrong? by Nobody: 7:12pm On Nov 28, 2017
You are multiplying String with Integer why not cast to int before doing that, read a proper book
Re: Help! Where Did I Go Wrong? by HealerC: 10:50pm On Nov 28, 2017
pcguru1:
You are multiplying String with Integer why not cast to int before doing that, read a proper book
Thank you pcguru1 for your swift response. According to what I read, "you can assign char values to int variables". But neverthrless I did what u suggested. See The same thing

Re: Help! Where Did I Go Wrong? by HealerC: 10:52pm On Nov 28, 2017
Or could you please give me an alternative in getting single integer values from integers without first converting to string and using charAt?
Re: Help! Where Did I Go Wrong? by Nobody: 11:02pm On Nov 28, 2017
Stop wasting your time go and read a Java book that's not how you cast string to it, you use the Integer class check the Javadoc API read the fundamentals and data types for a start , Charat returns a String which is why Interger classes were created though am interested how that number came to be. I might try to find out tomorrow
Re: Help! Where Did I Go Wrong? by Nobody: 11:03pm On Nov 28, 2017
HealerC: