Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,965,573 members, 7,197,051 topics. Date: Friday, 02 December 2022 at 03:04 PM

Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice - Jobs/Vacancies - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Jobs/Vacancies / Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice (10944 Views)

Imo Records Highest Rate Of Unemployment As NBS Releases Statistics / Why Unemployment Will Stay With Us For Long? / Unemployment Is Affecting My Self Esteem! (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by RegalLady: 1:37am On Feb 20, 2018
[img]https://4.bp..com/-tq0qzTaptVs/Woth6sTeTRI/AAAAAAAAANA/T3O3rrdjlRQpVR6AqiWB-W4QVmWF7klnQCLcBGAs/s1600/Unemployment%252Bgeneric1.jpg[/img]

Unemployment is a critical problem that never fails to grab the headlines. And it rightly should considering that youths are full of strength that is left untapped. It gets worse when people who acquired formal education through stress and determination cannot find paid jobs.

However, there is a flawed mentality which has been ingrained in the minds of Nigerians from childhood. It is that all we needed do was study and expect jobs as a reward for tertiary education. In fact songs were composed back in the days to drive home this point.

Nevertheless, that mentality was factual and the songs were no lies. Considering the period the songs were popular, one would easily realize that formal education was rare and many families struggled to have at least a child sent to school up to university. And there were indeed jobs waiting for those who were educated.

However, the music has long changed but many people are still dancing the old steps. Today, there are more people in school than the jobs available. This year’s JAMB has over one million students who registered for it. Meanwhile, new graduates will be released into the labour market to compete with those who have stayed at home for 1, 3 or more years at home with no good job.

Three foremost problems with some of today’s graduates

Everyone who has had the opportunity to talk with some unemployed graduates with no regular source of income can easily spot 3 problems that are common to almost all graduates. This is not to slight unemployed graduates. No, not at all.

1. Blame game

If you would be sincere with yourself, you know this point is factual. Most unemployed graduates blame the government for not providing jobs. They blame politicians for looting monies that could have been out to better use. They blame the public universities for sub-standard education and HR managers for frustrating them. The blame may be valid but the question is, “what does it change?”

2. Pride

Unemployed graduates have high regard for their certificates and their educational background. This makes it difficult for them to conceive the thought of learning new hand craft or new skills because they are not blue collar jobs and don’t involve sitting in an office. Hardly do they realize that hundreds of thousands unemployed people have the same certificate.

3. Shiny pot syndrome

Naturally, we, Nigerians are optimistic people. This also extends to the hope that a good job will come soon. Well, it may come but how long should one wait idly for it? Should graduates remain for months and years for jobs without improving themselves? This is another problem.

Real reason why unemployment is a choice

A lot of things have changed since the nineties and early 2000s. Opportunities have sprung up with the improvement in technology. These opportunities have created opportunities for people to now earn a living from the comfort of their home with no regards to their tertiary degree.

Unlike regular jobs, the floor is open and anyone can choose to earn. No one can shut another out of the opportunity to earn and there are several models to pick from. So if anyone refuses to learn a skill and also refuses to turn to the various digital money making models (as many are doing,) then they have likely chosen to remain unemployed.

It doesn’t make sense to discard as non-working what others are profiting from. It’s absurd.

Digital money making models you can start earning from

There are several digital money making models you can start earning from.

Model 1

Kindle Direct Publishing: Do you enjoy writing? Then this is definitely for you. With Kindle, you can begin to publish your books. The good news about this is that your reach is not restricted but rather global! You can always track the number of sales you make on each book that you publish.

How it works:

When you register on the site, you are immediately eligible to commence publishing. The more the number of sales you are able to make, the more your income will increase. However, Amazon will deduct 30% of your earnings if you are not a US person or if you do not reside in countries with tax treaties with the US. You will get your earnings in US dollars 60 days after every month that you have made sales.

Advantages

- The market is global which means more chances to make sales
- Once you publish a book, you will continue earning royalties for life
- You can publish books at your own convenience or pace

How to start


More: http://www.nigeriaonlinebusiness.com/2018/02/opinion-why-unemployment-is-choice.html

2 Likes

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by dingbang(m): 1:41am On Feb 20, 2018
Educative...

I enjoin unemployed youths who have skills to make the best out of freelancing.

By the way, I am looking for people who are math gurus.. Abeg if u sabi solve mathematics, even all these dy/dx kind of maths, please just hit the follow button on my profile, I will follow you back. Thanks..

8 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by veekid(m): 6:25pm On Feb 20, 2018
Yeah it's a choice Buhari made for Nigerians

3 Likes

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by deedondavi(m): 6:26pm On Feb 20, 2018
Informative!
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by Nobody: 6:27pm On Feb 20, 2018
Underemployment is a choice, unemployment most times is not when you relate it to Nigeria situation. Truth is achieving full employment in an economy is almost impossible.

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by mmafhew(m): 6:27pm On Feb 20, 2018
Interesting. Buh things work for people in different ways

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by jonaifame22(m): 6:28pm On Feb 20, 2018
.
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by vladimiros: 6:33pm On Feb 20, 2018
Another digital marketing snake oil salesman

Nothing to see here abeg..

7 Likes

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by Edge1(m): 6:34pm On Feb 20, 2018
Shebi the choice is our own?

Pls, next topic

4 Likes

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by petkoffdrake2(m): 6:35pm On Feb 20, 2018
Nice one OP










Lemme begin
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by pautex: 6:36pm On Feb 20, 2018
Waiting for part two where Op will pen down his phone numberand email for those interested. Another E- warrior loading grin

4 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by don4real18(m): 6:38pm On Feb 20, 2018
Sometimes, it is not their choice as you make it sound

4 Likes

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by Akalia(m): 6:58pm On Feb 20, 2018
Nice write up OP. I started publishing on amazon KDP platform last year - I have just one ebook to my credit and some royalties that promises an auspicious future for my publishing endeavor on Amazon. I look forward to releasing my second ebook on the platform in Q1 of 2018. I am not jobless though but I took to writing because I am passionate about it; my motivation isn't the royalties but the passion behind my writing and publishing endeavor. So guys try it out, if only you have got it in you.

4 Likes

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by festwiz(m): 7:01pm On Feb 20, 2018
I have three books i'd like to publish. I need critics first.
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by MIKOLOWISKA: 7:13pm On Feb 20, 2018
RegalLady:


More: http://www.nigeriaonlinebusiness.com/2018/02/opinion-why-unemployment-is-choice.html
so if everybody goes online
who will produce the food or the wires the online exists on or the radios or the ......real sector jobs not pie in the sky information jobs that can only profit a few
everyone can survive as a farmer
we will starve if we all go online

5 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by Nobody: 7:18pm On Feb 20, 2018
I have followed you sir.
dingbang:
Educative...

I enjoin unemployed youths who have skills to make the best out of freelancing.

By the way, I am looking for people who are math gurus.. Abeg if u sabi solve mathematics, even all these dy/dx kind of maths, please just hit the follow button on my profile, I will follow you back. Thanks..

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by dingbang(m): 7:20pm On Feb 20, 2018
thedewunmi:
I have followed you sir.
seen.. Will get in touch with y'all tomorrow.
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by hadex90(m): 7:21pm On Feb 20, 2018
dingbang:
Educative...

I enjoin unemployed youths who have skills to make the best out of freelancing.

By the way, I am looking for people who are math gurus.. Abeg if u sabi solve mathematics, even all these dy/dx kind of maths, please just hit the follow button on my profile, I will follow you back. Thanks..
hi, wat do u need maths guru for?
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by dingbang(m): 7:24pm On Feb 20, 2018
hadex90:
hi, wat do u need maths guru for?
freelancing. I thought I hinted about it in my first post
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by Gaddafithe2nd(m): 7:52pm On Feb 20, 2018
dingbang:
Educative...

I enjoin unemployed youths who have skills to make the best out of freelancing.

By the way, I am looking for people who are math gurus.. Abeg if u sabi solve mathematics, even all these dy/dx kind of maths, please just hit the follow button on my profile, I will follow you back. Thanks..
I have followed you.
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by jaychubi: 7:53pm On Feb 20, 2018
grin jobless ppl are lazy with oversized ego mostly

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by Gaddafithe2nd(m): 7:54pm On Feb 20, 2018
MIKOLOWISKA:
so if everybody goes online
who will produce the food or the wires the online exists on or the radios or the ......real sector jobs not pie in the sky information jobs that can only profit a few
everyone can survive as a farmer
we will starve if we all go online
Farming is the big deal. I have had interest in it, when I went for service.
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by KillerBeauty(f): 8:01pm On Feb 20, 2018
Unemployment is a world wide issue. Not just a Nigerian problem.

4 Likes

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by sexdoll: 8:04pm On Feb 20, 2018
MIKOLOWISKA:
so if everybody goes online
who will produce the food or the wires the online exists on or the radios or the ......real sector jobs not pie in the sky information jobs that can only profit a few
everyone can survive as a farmer
we will starve if we all go online

In your wildest imagination, do you think it's possible for everyone to go online?

The OP is not suggesting that everyone should go online.

The OP is suggesting that if you are still unemployed, maybe it's high time you try online business rather than choosing to be idle and be blaming the government up and down which at the end of the day will still not solve your problem.
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by MIKOLOWISKA: 8:11pm On Feb 20, 2018
sexdoll:


In your wildest imagination, do you think it's possible for everyone to go online?

The OP is not suggesting that everyone should go online.

The OP is suggesting that if you are still unemployed, maybe it's high time you try online business rather than choosing to be idle and be blaming the government up and down which at the end of the day will still not solve your problem.
reread the post and see how many paragraphs he donated to marketing online scam and stop foaming.dude is marketing himself to vulnerable youth
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by MIKOLOWISKA: 8:11pm On Feb 20, 2018
Gaddafithe2nd:

Farming is the big deal. I have had interest in it, when I went for service.
ok
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by Aleboss(m): 8:14pm On Feb 20, 2018
dingbang:
freelancing. I thought I hinted about it in my first post
Am pretty much above average, I studied maths
Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by sexdoll: 8:16pm On Feb 20, 2018
MIKOLOWISKA:
reread the post and see how many paragraphs he donated to marketing online scam and stop foaming.dude is marketing himself to vulnerable youth

The problem with uninformed folks like you is that you are always too willing to kill the messenger without even listening to his message.

Your problem is that he is marketing himself abi?

What efforts have you made to buy his market before concluding that it is all scam?

I'm sorry for dolts like you.

You think attacking him by calling him a scammer will solve your own unemployed status?

You better wake up now!

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by MIKOLOWISKA: 8:22pm On Feb 20, 2018
sexdoll:


The problem with uninformed folks like you is that you are always too willing to kill the messenger without even listening to his message.

Your problem is that he is marketing himself abi?

What efforts have you made to buy his market before concluding that it is all scam?
we have tried it
we have been burned
the scammers collected huge amount for ''training''
if its so lucrative ,why is he giving out free info
why have you never heard about how to get int political office or nnpc or central bak
but i guess you are a fellow scammer or wish to learn the hard way
so i will leave you the brainy non dolt to your folly

I'm sorry for dolts like you.

You think attacking him by calling him a scammer will solve your own unemployed status?
i am a farmer
i am not unemployed like you thieves

You better wake up now!
i'm woke
it's poor unfortunate youth i'm worrid about

3 Likes

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by sexdoll: 8:26pm On Feb 20, 2018
MIKOLOWISKA:
we have tried it
we have been burned
the scammers collected huge amount for ''training''
if its so lucrative ,why is he giving out free info
why have you never heard about how to get int political office or nnpc or central bak
but i guess you are a fellow scammer or wish to learn the hard way
so i will leave you the brainy non dolt to your folly i am a farmer
i am not unemployed like you thieves i'm woke
it's poor unfortunate youth i'm worrid about

You're welcome.

It's a free world.

1 Like

Re: Opinion: Why Unemployment Is A Choice by MIKOLOWISKA: 8:40pm On Feb 20, 2018
sexdoll:


You're welcome.

It's a free world.
yes it is

(1) (2) (Reply)

Why Do The Majority Of Job Applicants Never Get Hired? / Has Anyone Been Able To Collect FJSC Forms? / UAC Of Nigeria Plc Job Recruitment

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2022 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 164
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.