₦airaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,163,927 members, 4,715,082 topics. Date: Thursday, 24 January 2019 at 01:13 AM

Safari's Movie Reviews - TV/Movies - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / Safari's Movie Reviews (10853 Views)

LionHeart: Ugezu J Ugezi Reacts To Reviews Of Genevieve Nnaji‘s Movie / Can You Write Movie Reviews / Bleep: Xander Of Cage Movie Reviews (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (Reply) (Go Down)

Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 2:24pm On May 23, 2018
So, I have been thinking of starting a thread strictly for movie reviews, but a certain movie I watched some days ago prompted me to really put my plan into action

The purpose of this thread is to post my honest, unfiltered opinion about different movies which I've watched. The movies will strictly be Hollywood and Nollywood movies (sorry, I don't watch Korean and Indian movies)

I will be rating the movies based on plot, cast, execution etc.

So, here goes. Feel free to drop your opinion on any of the movies if you've seen it

5 Likes 1 Share

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 11:44pm On May 23, 2018
Movie Title: I Think He Loves Me

Year: _____

Cast: Jim Iyke, OC Ukeje, Ebele Okaro, Daniella Okeke, Bryan Okwara

Genre: Drama

Industry: Nollywood

Plot:

A young lady, Ivie (Okeke) finds it difficult to secure a job. She constantly gets propositioned for sex whenever she goes jobhunting and this has taken a toll on her. She finally gets an opportunity, when she is interviewed for the position of a PA to a superstar actor, Bob (Iyke). She gets the job much to her surprise, but her struggling, underemployed boyfriend (Ukeje) disapproves, and asks her not to take it. She takes it. Initially, Bob is a total jerk, she endures him for that period. Eventually, Bob starts warming up to her ans she to him. She starts to catch feelings and this endangers her relationship with her boyfriend.


Review:

So, this movie was so woeful, it prompted me to start this thread. When I saw that Daniella Okeke was both producer and actress, I should have sent the movie to my Recycle Bin and when they spelt Jim Iyke's name wrong (Jym), I should have deleted it from the recycle bin, but I erroneously thought that with a cast so stellar, hundred Daniella Okekes wouldn't ruin it badly.

I was wrong.

I mean, it was bad enough that I had to watch Daniella and her bad acting (like her weathered features weren't hard enough to watch), but it seemed like everyone else was trying to outdo her in her poor acting. The only people who survived were OC, Ebele, May Owen and the little girl who acted as her sister. Let me not even get into the cringe-worthy attempts by Jim Iyke and Bryan Okwara to imitate some version of the American accent.

Not only was the acting poor, apparently, they couldn't even be bothered enough with their location. A particular scene had Jim Iyke riding a speedboat in an incredibly dirty body of water. There were empty sachets of water and nylon floating in the water. How hard is it to get one of those nets used in pools, to clean the side of the water you are using to shoot? Did the budget not cover that? Even worse, there was a scene where Ivie visited the market place, and somehow, Daniella Okeke thought that it would be best to show the world the least hygienic market in all of Lagos. IT WAS RIGHT IN FRONT OF A DIRTY SWAMP. Why would any sane person visit such a market if you're not trying to catch Malaria-Typhoid-Ebola fever or something like that?

Then, let us get to their kwekwe story. I don't know about anyone else, but I am sick and tired of the same old story where half of the movie is essentially someone's dream or flashback. This time, Daniella employed the 'dream' card and as usual, it was not impressive.

The entire movie was one big joke and the only thing I was able to get at the end of the movie, is confirmation that Daniella Okeke is closer to 60 than 35.


Rating: 3/10.

Play/Trowey: Trowey

PS: I don't know who is responsible for forcing Zainab Sheriff into movies, but whoever he or she is, we must find them and make sure they stop her while she's still relatively unknown

28 Likes 1 Share

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by tmx21(m): 10:39am On May 24, 2018
Im still wondering how "DADDY YO" by wizkid got into PACIFIC RIM II. I'll review it later tho.

Nice job safarigirl

7 Likes

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by queenitee(f): 11:13am On May 24, 2018
Following o
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by PoliticalThuG(m): 1:47pm On May 24, 2018
Rubbish!

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by queenitee(f): 12:03pm On May 25, 2018
PoliticalThuG:
Rubbish!
How have you been??
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by PoliticalThuG(m): 3:00pm On May 25, 2018
queenitee:
How have you been??
I Been Good Oo. U Nko?
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by queenitee(f): 5:29pm On May 25, 2018
PoliticalThuG:
I Been Good Oo. U Nko?
Been fine. You don vex for us for Lit section ni?
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by PoliticalThuG(m): 10:18pm On May 25, 2018
queenitee:

Been fine. You don vex for us for Lit section ni?
Them No Dey Update As I Like
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by queenitee(f): 2:50pm On May 26, 2018
PoliticalThuG:
Them No Dey Update As I Like
Eeyah, you don vex? No vex, come back. We don miss you
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 4:18pm On May 27, 2018
#2

Movie Title: The Visit



Year: 2016

Cast: Nse-Ikpe Etim, Blossom Chukwujekwu, Femi Jacobs, Bhaira Mcwizu

Genre: Drama

Industry: Nollywood

Time: 2h 21m

Plot:

Two exrremely different couples who share a compound, are brought together in unlikely circumstances. In the process, secrets are uncovered and they learn more of each other in the space of one day


Review

This is one Nigerian movie I can recommend for anyone. There are so many good things to take away from this movie.

Let me start with the storyline, believe it or not, this movie had just four characters. You would wonder what four people could do in two hours, but they did far more than what a 20-man cast could ever accomplish. The story of a perfect couple, clashing with a dysfunctional couple isn't very familiar in Nollywood. Even more, what were the odds that the perfect couple would end up being the actual nutjobs and the nutjobs would turn out to be far better? I liked the spin of it all, I especially liked the whole idea of not judging a book by its cover, because the entire idea which was gotten at the beginning was turned on its head by the end.
This story was set in ONE location. 80% of it shot in one house and somehow, they made it work, both the cast and the producers.
Nse-Ikpe Etim shone, as always, playing the role of Ajiri, the crazy, nympho, marijuana-smoking wife of Lanre (Chukwujekwu), an equally crazy guy who happens to be a struggling music producer. Femi Jacobs was equally brilliant as Chidi, the somewhat caged husband of Eugenia, a perceived Stepford wife, who turned out to be anything but.

There were so many right things about this movie that it was hard to find the wrongs. It's 2 hours of your life, you will not regret wasting. The high points were rib-cracking and jaw-dropping and the cliffhanger in the end, was just right. While it gave room for more, it wasn't a frustrating end.
I would recommend The Visit for any lover of good movies, it is best watched when you have nothing else to go to and I can promise, there will be no regrets


Rating: 7/10

Play/Trowey: Definitely Play

26 Likes

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by folake4u(f): 11:38pm On May 27, 2018
safarigirl:
#2

Movie Title: The Visit

Year: 2016

Cast: Nse-Ikpe Etim, Blossom Chukwujekwu, Femi Jacobs, Bhaira Mcwizu

Genre: Drama

Industry: Nollywood

Time: 2h 21m

Plot:

Two exrremely different couples who share a compound, are brought together in unlikely circumstances. In the process, secrets are uncovered and they learn more of each other in the space of one day


Review

This is one Nigerian movie I can recommend for anyone. There are so many good things to take away from this movie.

Let me start with the storyline, believe it or not, this movie had just four characters. You would wonder what four people could do in two hours, but they did far more than what a 20-man cast could ever accomplish. The story of a perfect couple, clashing with a dysfunctional couple isn't very familiar in Nollywood. Even more, what were the odds that the perfect couple would end up being the actual nutjobs and the nutjobs would turn out to be far better? I liked the spin of it all, I especially liked the whole idea of not judging a book by its cover, because the entire idea which was gotten at the beginning was turned on its head by the end.
This story was set in ONE location. 80% of it shot in one house and somehow, they made it work, both the cast and the producers.
Nse-Ikpe Etim shone, as always, playing the role of Ajiri, the crazy, nympho, marijuana-smoking wife of Lanre (Chukwujekwu), an equally crazy guy who happens to be a struggling music producer. Femi Jacobs was equally brilliant as Chidi, the somewhat caged husband of Eugenia, a perceived Stepford wife, who turned out to be anything but.

There were so many right things about this movie that it was hard to find the wrongs. It's 2 hours of your life, you will not regret wasting. The high points were rib-cracking and jaw-dropping and the cliffhanger in the end, was just right. While it gave room for more, it wasn't a frustrating end.
I would recommend The Visit for any lover of good movies, it is best watched when you have nothing else to go to and I can promise, there will be no regrets


Rating: 7/10

Play/Trowey: Definitely Play



I've watched this movie and truly, it's LIT!


Loved the part where Blossom Chukwujeku had sex with his wife at the car garage and Bayray McNwizu (Eugenia) couldn't take it anymore, told Chidi to go and warn them to keep it down.


Crazy movie. cheesy

13 Likes

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 2:08pm On May 28, 2018
#3

Movie Title: The Greatest Showman



Year: 2017

Cast: Hugh Jackman, Zac Efron, Michelle Williams, Zendaya, Rebecca Ferguson

Genre: Musical, Drama

Industry: Hollywood

Time: 1h 44 min

Plot:
This movie tells the story of PT Barnum, the man who started the circus. It tells how PT Barnum, went from a poor, tailor's son to the owner of a circus; his trials and how he overcame them.


Review:

The Sound of Music has been hailed as an iconic musical and the best of the 20th century, well, The Greatest Showman is the greatest musical of this century so far and I might even add, better than TSM. Not only was EVERY song from this movie a hit, everything from the choreography, to the storyline and the acting was perfect.
The story is set in New York, in the early 20th century, we see how Barnum (Jackman) first met his love, Charity (Williams), as a child, he shows her a life he sees for their future, despite how poor he is at the time and how rich her family is. His father's death leaves him wandering the streets, however, he eventually grows older and seeks her hand in marriage. Her father grudgingly accepts and he takes her away, but Barnum isn't the rich man he thinks his wife deserves. Eventually, he comes up with the idea of gathering 'misfits' to form a show which people pay for. He enlists the help of rich kid, Phillip Carlyle (Efron) to help in hosting the shows. Phillip introduces him to Jenny Lind (Ferguson) an opera singer, who distracts him from his circus and nearly destroys his career and marriage
There are so many lessons to learn in this movie, whether it's the lesson of believing in each other, of seeing someone more for what they can add to your life, rather than what they look like, of never forgetting your roots, or of never paying attention to people's opinions, the lessons are inexhaustible. And each song tells a lesson, each song speaks to someone.
Watching the movie, can lift anyone's spirits. No matter how low you feel, The Greatest Showman will surely make you feel better.
This is another movie that was so good, there was hardly a fault. The one fault I did notice however, was a scene where he hopped on a train, the graphics were so poor, I could tell it was fake. However, it had little or no impact on the core of the movie.
Like I have told the over twenty people I have recommended the movie to, The Greatest Showman is the greatest musical you will see in a long time.

Rating: 9/10

Play/Trowey: Play a Gazillion times

28 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by joseph1013: 9:48pm On Jun 02, 2018
safarigirl:
#3

Movie Title: The Greatest Showman



Year: 2017

Cast: Hugh Jackman, Zac Efron, Michelle Williams, Zendaya, Rebecca Ferguson

Genre: Musical, Drama

Industry: Hollywood

Time: 1h 44 min

Plot:
This movie tells the story of PT Barnum, the man who started the circus. It tells how PT Barnum, went from a poor, tailor's son to the owner of a circus; his trials and how he overcame them.


Review:

The Sound of Music has been hailed as an iconic musical and the best of the 20th century, well, The Greatest Showman is the greatest musical of this century so far and I might even add, better than TSM. Not only was EVERY song from this movie a hit, everything from the choreography, to the storyline and the acting was perfect.
The story is set in New York, in the early 20th century, we see how Barnum (Jackman) first met his love, Charity (Williams), as a child, he shows her a life he sees for their future, despite how poor he is at the time and how rich her family is. His father's death leaves him wandering the streets, however, he eventually grows older and seeks her hand in marriage. Her father grudgingly accepts and he takes her away, but Barnum isn't the rich man he thinks his wife deserves. Eventually, he comes up with the idea of gathering 'misfits' to form a show which people pay for. He enlists the help of rich kid, Phillip Carlyle (Efron) to help in hosting the shows. Phillip introduces him to Jenny Lind (Ferguson) an opera singer, who distracts him from his circus and nearly destroys his career and marriage
There are so many lessons to learn in this movie, whether it's the lesson of believing in each other, of seeing someone more for what they can add to your life, rather than what they look like, of never forgetting your roots, or of never paying attention to people's opinions, the lessons are inexhaustible. And each song tells a lesson, each song speaks to someone.
Watching the movie, can lift anyone's spirits. No matter how low you feel, The Greatest Showman will surely make you feel better.
This is another movie that was so good, there was hardly a fault. The one fault I did notice however, was a scene where he hopped on a train, the graphics were so poor, I could tell it was fake. However, it had little or no impact on the core of the movie.
Like I have told the over twenty people I have recommended the movie to, The Greatest Showman is the greatest musical you will see in a long time.

Rating: 9/10

Play/Trowey: Play a Gazillion times

I absolutely love this movie. It was incredible.

3 Likes

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by joseph1013: 9:49pm On Jun 02, 2018
safarigirl:
#2

Movie Title: The Visit



Year: 2016

Cast: Nse-Ikpe Etim, Blossom Chukwujekwu, Femi Jacobs, Bhaira Mcwizu

Genre: Drama

Industry: Nollywood

Time: 2h 21m

Plot:

Two exrremely different couples who share a compound, are brought together in unlikely circumstances. In the process, secrets are uncovered and they learn more of each other in the space of one day


Review

This is one Nigerian movie I can recommend for anyone. There are so many good things to take away from this movie.

Let me start with the storyline, believe it or not, this movie had just four characters. You would wonder what four people could do in two hours, but they did far more than what a 20-man cast could ever accomplish. The story of a perfect couple, clashing with a dysfunctional couple isn't very familiar in Nollywood. Even more, what were the odds that the perfect couple would end up being the actual nutjobs and the nutjobs would turn out to be far better? I liked the spin of it all, I especially liked the whole idea of not judging a book by its cover, because the entire idea which was gotten at the beginning was turned on its head by the end.
This story was set in ONE location. 80% of it shot in one house and somehow, they made it work, both the cast and the producers.
Nse-Ikpe Etim shone, as always, playing the role of Ajiri, the crazy, nympho, marijuana-smoking wife of Lanre (Chukwujekwu), an equally crazy guy who happens to be a struggling music producer. Femi Jacobs was equally brilliant as Chidi, the somewhat caged husband of Eugenia, a perceived Stepford wife, who turned out to be anything but.

There were so many right things about this movie that it was hard to find the wrongs. It's 2 hours of your life, you will not regret wasting. The high points were rib-cracking and jaw-dropping and the cliffhanger in the end, was just right. While it gave room for more, it wasn't a frustrating end.
I would recommend The Visit for any lover of good movies, it is best watched when you have nothing else to go to and I can promise, there will be no regrets


Rating: 7/10

Play/Trowey: Definitely Play

I don't watch Nollyhood movies, but I might just give this a trial.

LOve your reviews. Great stuff.

3 Likes

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by TheSuperNerd(m): 10:10pm On Jun 03, 2018
Chaaiiii... So Boss Joseph dey hia too... cheesy Nna mehn... See what I have been missing bikonu in all my time away from social media because of work and projects. it is well shaa... Keep them coming Safarigirl. That The Greatest Showman movie was the bomb!! An absolute watcher. wink
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by joseph1013: 8:04am On Jun 04, 2018
TheSuperNerd:
Chaaiiii... So Boss Joseph dey hia too... cheesy Nna mehn... See what I have been missing bikonu in all my time away from social media because of work and projects. it is well shaa... Keep them coming Safarigirl. That The Greatest Showman movie was the bomb!! An absolute watcher. wink
grin grin grin
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by TheSuperNerd(m): 1:56pm On Jun 05, 2018
Having seen the movie again and again and reading this review of yours now again... I can now fully understand how you came about that signature of yours. grin Took me a while to notice that your signature is same with the lyrics of that awesome song in the Movie.

The movie's message is brilliant. And the "This is me" song wraps up absolutely and deeply the core of being human and being oneself. Nothing like being an Original and running with it to the very end.



safarigirl:
#3

Movie Title: The Greatest Showman



Year: 2017

Cast: Hugh Jackman, Zac Efron, Michelle Williams, Zendaya, Rebecca Ferguson

Genre: Musical, Drama

Industry: Hollywood

Time: 1h 44 min

Plot:
This movie tells the story of PT Barnum, the man who started the circus. It tells how PT Barnum, went from a poor, tailor's son to the owner of a circus; his trials and how he overcame them.


Review:

The Sound of Music has been hailed as an iconic musical and the best of the 20th century, well, The Greatest Showman is the greatest musical of this century so far and I might even add, better than TSM. Not only was EVERY song from this movie a hit, everything from the choreography, to the storyline and the acting was perfect.
The story is set in New York, in the early 20th century, we see how Barnum (Jackman) first met his love, Charity (Williams), as a child, he shows her a life he sees for their future, despite how poor he is at the time and how rich her family is. His father's death leaves him wandering the streets, however, he eventually grows older and seeks her hand in marriage. Her father grudgingly accepts and he takes her away, but Barnum isn't the rich man he thinks his wife deserves. Eventually, he comes up with the idea of gathering 'misfits' to form a show which people pay for. He enlists the help of rich kid, Phillip Carlyle (Efron) to help in hosting the shows. Phillip introduces him to Jenny Lind (Ferguson) an opera singer, who distracts him from his circus and nearly destroys his career and marriage
There are so many lessons to learn in this movie, whether it's the lesson of believing in each other, of seeing someone more for what they can add to your life, rather than what they look like, of never forgetting your roots, or of never paying attention to people's opinions, the lessons are inexhaustible. And each song tells a lesson, each song speaks to someone.
Watching the movie, can lift anyone's spirits. No matter how low you feel, The Greatest Showman will surely make you feel better.
This is another movie that was so good, there was hardly a fault. The one fault I did notice however, was a scene where he hopped on a train, the graphics were so poor, I could tell it was fake. However, it had little or no impact on the core of the movie.
Like I have told the over twenty people I have recommended the movie to, The Greatest Showman is the greatest musical you will see in a long time.

Rating: 9/10

Play/Trowey: Play a Gazillion times
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by Ignatio(m): 7:02am On Jun 07, 2018
Nice thread. Keep it up.
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 9:06pm On Jun 18, 2018
#4.

Movie Title: Acrimony

(Many have probably not seen this movie. There will be spoilers)



Year: 2018

Cast: Taraji P Henson, Lyriq Bent, Crystle Stewart, Ajiona Alexus, Antonio Madison

Genre: Drama

Industry: Hollywood

Run Time; 2 hrs

Plot:

A woman invests her life fortunes in her man, only to feel betrayed by him many years later when they split up. She becomes obsessed with vengeance and goes to extreme means to get her revenge


Review:

This story seems pretty simple at first, but it is not as cut and dry. It is basically a story of young love filled with all its promises and dreams, but reality and time get the best of it


It's quite difficult to review this story without a few spoilers....okay, a LOT of spoilers, so, close your eyes or run away if you don't want to see it cheesy. The movie opens with Melinda (Henson) in court, being ordered by a judge to see a therapist. She goes to the therapists office and the therapist, like everyone else who's watching, wants to know why she's mad (Like why? Why is she mad? Why is Taraji mad? Taraji is mad 80% of the time, just....WHY?), anyway, Melinda decides to take us back to where it all started

Rewind, about 20 years ago, a young Melinda (Alexus) meets Robert (Madison) in college. She's not so bright and from a well to do home, he's the brilliant chap with an innovative idea on a self-charging battery, who isn't quite as wealthy. Initially, we get the idea that Robert is just another opportunist, using a nice girl with lots of money (thanks to about $350k in life insurance her late mum left her). It's hard to see him for anything else, especially after he convinces her to get him a car, a car he uses to cheat on her. Melinda is a smart girl, so she drives to his house and catches him with some other chic, Diana (who will make a reappearance two decades later). In a rage, she tips over his RV with her Jeep, an act that leads to causing internal injury for her. Her ovaries are ruptured, Melinda is barren at 21. Thanks to Robert? Anger? Or both? Well, we see this scenario later in the movie with disastrous consequences once again

But, let's get back to the story.....Robert is truly remorseful for his act, so much that he marries her against the wishes of her sisters, who see him as an opportunist. He promises her an apartment at a high-rise building, a diamond ring (cuz he engaged her with a plastic piece), and a yacht with "Mrs. Gayle" written on it.....all as soon as a certain Prescott company sees the genius in his self-charging battery and pays him a fortune for it

20 years later and the only thing Prescott sees is a nuisance who has sent multiple letters and videos, enough to be blacklisted. At this point, all of their money has been sunk into the battery, they even mortgaged her mother's house to fund it and both of them are just breezing through time. Before getting blacklisted though, Robert (now Lyriq Bent), finds out the 'slut' he was smashing 20 years ago, Diana, is now the PA to Prescott himself. He has asked her help in convincing her boss.

Meanwhile, the mortgaged house is about to be foreclosed because they can't pay for a thing. Melinda's sisters find out and offer Robert a REAL job, with which he can raise money to pay for the house. He drives their supply truck for some time, only to get a call on a day he is to deliver goods to their biggest client- Diana has set up a meeting with Mr. Prescott and he wants to see him by 11:30. The goods are to be delivered not later than 11:00 PM...what to do? Robert can't pass up on a 20-year wait, for a delivery. He goes home to get the documents and prepare for the meeting.

My people, home is not where this man's heart should be. Why? His sister-in-law found a purse belonging to Diana in the truck and has gone to report his 'cheating ass' to his wife. Melinda wants an explanation, Robert is in a hurry, he can't offer one because "Prescott called". He goes to the meeting and is offered $800k, in return, he won't get any rights or royalties. He's selling off everything, Robert rejects because he can't imagine selling off his rights for such an amount or any amount at all. The project is way too valuable

This means, he goes home to an angry wife, disappointed in-laws and a story nobody believes. Melinda is done, Robert is kicked out. The house is taken by the bank and Melinda has to move into her sisters house. SHE DIVORCES HIM. Robert does odd jobs and lives in a shelter for some time, but when Diana (Stewart) finds out what has become of him, she offers him a place to stay.

Sometime later, Prescott gets back to him with a better offer- $150 Million plus Property Rights. Robert gives his now ex-wife $10 Million for all her investments and faith in him over the years, he has also bought back the mortgaged house and he gives her the keys.

Restitution?

Not quite

Melinda wants him back, but he's now taken, by Diana.....who lives in the apartment he promised her, is wearing the ring he promised her, driving the car he promised her, gets the yacht he promised her AND is Pregnant


Melinda is not having it, she wants her life. The life he promised her and she goes through extreme measures to get it.



Basically, this is another crazy/angry, back woman story. If you're done with the stereotypes, this movie is not for you. There were so many eye-roll moments in this movie, like, is it really that serious? Yes, it may be hurtful losing someone after suffering with him, only for him to receive his breakthrough and you can't participate in it.......but he gave her $ 10 Million for her investments. The guy try, especially as he wasn't the one who asked for a divorce

The settings were fine, a few times, I noticed the whole green wall, special effects thing. Sloppy job IMO, I don't want to notice when a scene is in front of a green wall.

This movie is about how far a woman would go when she feels scorned and how not to trigger crazy people basically. It's an okay movie. Nothing spectacular, the story was controversial enough and brought up some questions, it's a nice watch on a lazy day.


Rating: 6/10

Play/ Trowey: Play if you have time

7 Likes

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by DONADAMS(m): 6:51am On Jun 19, 2018
safarigirl..please do you have any link I can get that nollywood film "74" by izu ojukwu starring Ramsey Noah and Rita Dominic.. it's not in the cinema anymore
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by festwiz(m): 4:21pm On Jul 10, 2018
Acrimony is "meh" at best. Overhyped crass.
#IMO

3 Likes

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by CanineOfJackal: 6:03pm On Jul 10, 2018
Safarigirl please come and do more reviews.


where is LivingFree the troublemaker
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by Nobody: 6:07pm On Jul 10, 2018
CanineOfJackal:
Safa.rigirl please come and do more reviews.



where is Livi.ngFree the troublemaker

Who have you been hiding from undecided
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 6:11pm On Jul 10, 2018
CanineOfJackal:
Safarigirl please come and do more reviews.



where is LivingFree the troublemaker
i was just writing one before network just spoil everything and my entire draft deleted

I'll try again in some minutes
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by CanineOfJackal: 6:12pm On Jul 10, 2018
LivingFree:


Who have you been hiding from undecided

It's World Cup fever and guys don't talk Love when a football match is to be played.


How are you doing?


Are you a fan of Nollywood?



Give your ratings for those movies reviewed let me see how much you are a cinema freak
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by Nobody: 6:12pm On Jul 10, 2018
I need a download link. Can you help me?
safarigirl:
i was just writing one before network just spoil everything and my entire draft deleted

I'll try again in some minutes
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by CanineOfJackal: 6:16pm On Jul 10, 2018
safarigirl:
i was just writing one before network just spoil everything and my entire draft deleted

I'll try again in some minutes
I'm not a movie buff with the social media buzz and the political climate which takes my free time but I'm enjoying your reviews here and won't mind if you focus more on Nollywood since it's homegrown and you can do it from a position of strength
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by Nobody: 6:27pm On Jul 10, 2018
CanineOfJackal:
It's World Cup fever and guys don't talk Love when a football match is to be played.


How are you doing?


Are you a fan of Nollywood?



Give your ratings for those movies reviewed let me see how much you are a cinema freak

I barely enjoy Hollywood, and you're talking nollywood grin

I watched Rampage and Jurassic world, and I didn't enjoy either. In fact I walked out of Rampage 20 minutes into the movie, I decided time is precious. I really wanted to see 1 horror film called 'Hereditary' but I haven't found the time and I'm not sure if it's still in the cinema. I'll go and check online and if it is then I'll treat myself to it tomorrow.

P.s I'm well thanks for asking, how have you been?

2 Likes

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by CanineOfJackal: 6:42pm On Jul 10, 2018
LivingFree:


I barely enjoy Hollywood, and you're talking nollywood grin

I watched Rampage and Jurassic world, and I didn't enjoy either. In fact I walked out of Rampage 20 minutes into the movie, I decided time is precious. I really wanted to see 1 horror film called 'Hereditary' but I haven't found the time and I'm not sure if it's still in the cinema. I'll go and check online and if it is then I'll treat myself to it tomorrow.

P.s I'm well thanks for asking, how have you been?
Nollywood is a continuation of Nairaland gossip and "gbagun"

I'm not a fan of Horror flicks but I will check out the trailer to that one you mentioned.


Do you go to cinema alone because I find it cold just being alone with nobody to hold and laugh with or eat popcorn because that's the only thing that keep me glued to a 180minute flick.



P.S doing well and girl hunting tonight on Nairaland
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by Nobody: 6:50pm On Jul 10, 2018
.
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 11:12pm On Jul 10, 2018
#5

Movie Title: Banana Island Ghost




Year: 2017

Cast: Chioma 'Chigurl' Omeruah, Patrick Diabuah, Bimbo Manuel, Ali Nuhu, Tomiwa Edun, Tina Mba

Genre: Comedy

Industry: Nollywood

Run Time: 1hr 49 mins


Plot:
A young man dies, but is given one last chance to find his soulmate before he has to leave to Heaven. God sends him to Ijeoma (Chigurl), a social misfit who has the impossible task of raising 18 million naira to stop the foreclosure of her late father's Banana Island mansion in 3 days.

Review:

The idea of a ghost finding a soulmate sounds ridiculous, right? Well, I can assure you that this movie made it worse
, this movie is one of the worst excuses I have seen of comedy in all my life. Unless you have an IQ of 0.5 or less, the likelihood of you even cracking a smile at the forced jokes in it is incredibly low. However, you are likely to laugh at the ridiculousness of the pathetic show. There are so many things wrong with BIG, from the casting, to the plot and even down to the acting.

However, it is not all doom and gloom for this failed attempt at comedy, let me first pick out the good parts of the movie.

Quite easily, the score and choice of songs for the movie were top notch, the producers would have had more success if it was just a compilation of top Naija tracks than bothering with the cast and other jargons. The cinematographer was also great, I mean, the picture quality of the movie was top notch and they captured the city of Lagos quite impressively, it could easily have been mistaken for a foreign country, then we have......okay, I think that is all the good parts I can think of.

Now, to the bad. Trust me, there is a LOT of bad.

First bad has to be the casting. Let it be said now, that there is no reason why anyone has to endure seeing Chigurl on their screens for more than three minutes at any point. Lord, she made the entire movie bad, it was distracting counting the rolls on her neck and watching her waddle her way through it all, but we could have very well persevered if Chigurl's acting was at least half decent. The girl could not even decide on which accent she wanted to flow in, her acting seemed forced part of the time and she was just an all round shitty actress in the movie.
Then there is Bimbo Manuel playing God, really? Like seriously? I mean, Bimbo is a great actor, but I could very well have thought up better suited actors for the role if Olu Jacobs and Pete Edochie were unavailable or too expensive. Off the top of my head, Kalu Ikeagwu would have played the role perfectly and maybe the wardrobe guy could have even gotten him an outfit that didn't look like he had to squeeze himself into it.
Only Tomiwa Edun successfully gave a good account of himself in that movie, playing Ijeoma's (Chigurl) two-timing, gold digging boyfriend (who only interacted with her once, when he came to borrow money). Even Ali Nuhu had some cringeworthy moments......but, no need to lengthen this post

Next up, advert placements. Everyone knows these big budget movies have some sponsors who they advertise in the movies. Well, in BIG, someone forgot to add subtlety to the adverts. I mean, there was an entire scene lifted from a Cocacola advert, but there were other sponsors too, such as Sunlight Liquid Soap, Cold Stone Creamery, Lipton Tea, HealthPlus Pharmacy, Kilimanjaro Restaurant and some Dap-something. All that money, wasted on a trash movie cry


Now, moving on. The plot was bad, but oh the scenes were worse. There were pervert police officers who couldn't stop going on about Ijeoma's (Chigurl) 'yansh'....and yes, they pronounced the word in the crudest of ways. There were some mean girls, who turned out to be her colleagues, but could very well have been overaged high schoolers going by how juvenile their teasing was.

I never understood why Chigurl wouldn't stop harping on about the Banana Island mansion; a house that was obviously not a mansion, looked more like a random one-storey building in Mushin, and was occupied solely by her. I mean, for all the sentimental value this house carried, it was surprising that her mother neither lived in it nor bothered to contribute a cent towards saving it. Was the house really that important?

Then there was a scene where Ijeoma (Chigurl), who was on low cut, still managed to sleep with her wig and make-up on undecided....oh, and might I mention that she settled into the idea of a ghost coming into her life quite quickly. I mean, she faints once and the next time she sees the ghost, she's talking to him like she converses with ghosts regularly. Ghost whisperer perhaps?
There are so many poorly thought-out parts to this movie that everything just culminated into a disaster of epic proportions.

If you are looking to introduce an unbeliever of Nollywood with this movie, I would advise you don't. In fact, anyone who can go twenty minutes in this movie without turning it off in anger, has a high tolerance rate.


Rating: 2.5/10


Play or Trowey: Trowey inside the closest lagoon

16 Likes 1 Share

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (Reply)

A Nairalander Drops Comedy Skit Video "Job Interview" / Your Favorite Movie Genres? / The TV Advert That Currently Impresses You?

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 290
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.