Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,422,261 members, 5,434,129 topics. Date: Friday, 21 February 2020 at 08:23 AM

Safari's Movie Reviews - TV/Movies (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / Safari's Movie Reviews (14378 Views)

Movie Reviews Up In Da Hood / Can You Write Movie Reviews / Bleep: Xander Of Cage Movie Reviews (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by crackhaus: 11:35am On Jan 31, 2019
cinderellashoes:


I am trying to download a movie on the site but it keeps taking me to a betnaija website.
Depending on the browser you're using, once it does that you either go back and click again or if the betnaija site opened on a new tab, close it and go back to the old tab and click again.

Or you can just simply go to your browser setting and block 'pop-ups'. Note that this may also block a pop-up download link for the movie you wish to download.
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by cinderellashoes(f): 6:30pm On Jan 31, 2019
crackhaus:
Depending on the browser you're using, once it does that you either go back and click again or if the betnaija site opened on a new tab, close it and go back to the old tab and click again.

Or you can just simply go to your browser setting and block 'pop-ups'. Note that this may also block a pop-up download link for the movie you wish to download.

OK thank you. smiley
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by Isomerizm(m): 7:45pm On Jan 31, 2019
Guess the launcher of this thread primarily opened it to hit front page and then sail off.
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 9:10am On Feb 02, 2019
Isomerizm:
Guess the launcher of this thread primarily opened it to hit front page and then sail off.
guy, my phone was stolen last week Saturday

I have spent the entire week running around to do sim swap and get a new phone, i am yet to even reopen my blocked bank accounts, so, how you expect me to be posting movie reviews anytime soon is beyond me.

Do you even know the psychological trauma that comes from being burgled in your own home?

I started this thread early last year and didn't post anything for at least four months, I only returned to it this year because I finally had time to see movies and review, so your FP was never my motive. I just want to post my opinions on movies i see


But this is not the time. I am going through a lot right now, thanks for caring

4 Likes

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by Isomerizm(m): 7:05pm On Feb 02, 2019
safarigirl:
guy, my phone was stolen last week Saturday

I have spent the entire week running around to do sim swap and get a new phone, i am yet to even reopen my blocked bank accounts, so, how you expect me to be posting movie reviews anytime soon is beyond me.

Do you even know the psychological trauma that comes from being burgled in your own home?

I started this thread early last year and didn't post anything for at least four months, I only returned to it this year because I finally had time to see movies and review, so your FP was never my motive. I just want to post my opinions on movies i see


But this is not the time. I am going through a lot right now, thanks for caring
I didn't know.
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by queenitee(f): 6:33pm On Feb 03, 2019
Isomerizm:
I didn't know.
Exact reasons why people shouldn't jump into conclusion and you should make your grumbles known with love.
Even the bible says with praise and thanksgiving, make your supplications known(if I quote correctly tho) but I'm trying to say is, criticize, complain in love
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 12:59pm On Dec 08, 2019
By popular demand, I am reviving this thread with some new reviews before the year ends.

Bear in mind, I haven't been to the cinemas in 7 months, because I don't have any access to them over here, so some of these reviews may not be for movies that are all that new, if you regularly visit the cinema.

I will try to update on some of my best 2019 movies though.

Disclaimer: I will not be reviewing movies like Living in Bondage: Breaking Free, neither will I be reviewing movies set to premier this month such as Merry Men 2, Muna and the highly anticipated, Sugar Rush, as they are all in cinemas. However, I will resume by February, when I will be able to visit the cinemas. Thanks for your understanding

2 Likes

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 1:07pm On Dec 08, 2019
Movie Title: Smash



Year: 2018

Cast: Gideon Okeke, Enyina Nwigwe, Uzor Arukwe, Chibuzor ‘Funnybone’, Steve ‘Yaw’ Onu, Iyabo Ojo, Ebele Okaro, Kiki Omeili

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Producer: Yaw Naija Production

Director: John Njamah

Run Time: 1h 53Mins

Synopsis: Five friends navigate the challenges that come with bachelorhood in the city of Lagos.

Review:
It’s been a while I saw a good Nollywood movie, that incorporated the modernity and professionalism that is expected from the new age Nollywood productions, with the hilarity and naturalness that obtained in the old Nollywood. This movie merged those features and did so brilliantly well.
If you watch Smash and you don’t laugh loudly at certain points, then, the Buhari administration must be dealing you a worse hand than Sowore is currently getting. The great thing about the comedic nature of the movie is that, it wasn’t limited to the obvious comedians, in the persons of Funnybone and Yaw, virtually every actor had moments in their separate storylines, that you would laugh at. By far, though, my standout actor in this movie is Gideon Okeke, his performance was BRILLIANT. We’ve seen enough of Gideon being a tough guy and an entitled heir, but Gideon being a promiscuous Lagos big boy, is something I never really thought of, but boy did he bring it, and he brought it hard.
I particularly enjoyed how easily Gideon, who plays Madu, a rich, promiscuous guy, with a generous heart, flowed in Igbo. I mean, I was rewinding parts of the movie just to hear Gideon’s Igbo, because, it was flawless.
Speaking of which, if the Oscars have to get in another Nigerian movie, Smash had sufficient indigenous languages injected into it. There was Igbo, pidgin (flawlessly delivered by Ufuoma McDermott, who also gave an impressive performance), and even Yoruba. The dialogue in the movie was impressive, the scriptwriting should highly be commended, because the dialogue stuck to what obtains in daily conversations in Nigeria. Nobody was trying too hard, the mixture of Igbo and English in the conversation amongst the guys was so realistic. The dynamics of the friendship between the five men (Madu, Anayo, Somachi, Somto and Hector) is very relatable and I’m sure a lot of Nigerian guys can watch that movie and see themselves or some of their friends in each of these guys.
As far as setting goes, the movie was set in Lagos. The cinematography was good, they didn’t need to blind us with high-end images of Lagos, there was no need for an obnoxious show of luxury, an act that new Nollywood employs a lot, to distract from their otherwise bland script sometimes (IN MY OPINION). It was nice to, for the first time in a while, see a movie that the average Nigerian could relate to, not just something only the ‘1 percent of the 1 percent’ could relate to.

Verdict:
Smash is one of the best movies you will see this year, from Nigeria. I kid you not. It has everything from comedy and romance, to things that beguile our society, like tribalism. It is a movie for everyone, irrespective of gender or ethnicity, however, if you are male and/or Igbo, you will find it far more pleasing.

RATING: 8.5/10

Play or Trowey: I’ve played this movie at least four times in less than a month, and have gone back for certain scenes minus those four times. So, DEFINITELY PLAY UNTIL IT CRACKS.

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by toluxe0075: 2:13pm On Dec 08, 2019
safarigirl:
Movie Title: Smash



Year: 2019

Cast: Gideon Okeke, Enyina Nwigwe, Uzor Arukwe, Chibuzor ‘Funnybone’, Steve ‘Yaw’ Onu, Iyabo Ojo, Ebele Okaro, Kiki Omeili

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Producer: Yaw Naija Production

Director: John Njamah

Run Time: 1h 53Mins

Synopsis: Five friends navigate the challenges that come with bachelorhood in the city of Lagos.

Review:
It’s been a while I saw a good Nollywood movie, that incorporated the modernity and professionalism that is expected from the new age Nollywood productions, with the hilarity and naturalness that obtained in the old Nollywood. This movie merged those features and did so brilliantly well.
If you watch Smash and you don’t laugh loudly at certain points, then, the Buhari administration must be dealing you a worse hand than Sowore is currently getting. The great thing about the comedic nature of the movie is that, it wasn’t limited to the obvious comedians, in the persons of Funnybone and Yaw, virtually every actor had moments in their separate storylines, that you would laugh at. By far, though, my standout actor in this movie is Gideon Okeke, his performance was BRILLIANT. We’ve seen enough of Gideon being a tough guy and an entitled heir, but Gideon being a promiscuous Lagos big boy, is something I never really thought of, but boy did he bring it, and he brought it hard.
I particularly enjoyed how easily Gideon, who plays Madu, a rich, promiscuous guy, with a generous heart, flowed in Igbo. I mean, I was rewinding parts of the movie just to hear Gideon’s Igbo, because, it was flawless.
Speaking of which, if the Oscars have to get in another Nigerian movie, Smash had sufficient indigenous languages injected into it. There was Igbo, pidgin (flawlessly delivered by Ufuoma McDermott, who also gave an impressive performance), and even Yoruba. The dialogue in the movie was impressive, the scriptwriting should highly be commended, because the dialogue stuck to what obtains in daily conversations in Nigeria. Nobody was trying too hard, the mixture of Igbo and English in the conversation amongst the guys was so realistic. The dynamics of the friendship between the five men (Madu, Anayo, Somachi, Somto and Hector) is very relatable and I’m sure a lot of Nigerian guys can watch that movie and see themselves or some of their friends in each of these guys.
As far as setting goes, the movie was set in Lagos. The cinematography was good, they didn’t need to blind us with high-end images of Lagos, there was no need for an obnoxious show of luxury, an act that new Nollywood employs a lot, to distract from their otherwise bland script sometimes (IN MY OPINION). It was nice to, for the first time in a while, see a movie that the average Nigerian could relate to, not just something only the ‘1 percent of the 1 percent’ could relate to.

Verdict:
Smash is one of the best movies you will see this year, from Nigeria. I kid you not. It has everything from comedy and romance, to things that beguile our society, like tribalism. It is a movie for everyone, irrespective of gender or ethnicity, however, if you are male and/or Igbo, you will find it far more pleasing.

RATING: 8.5/10

Play or Trowey: I’ve played this movie at least four times in less than a month, and have gone back for certain scenes minus those four times. So, DEFINITELY PLAY UNTIL IT CRACKS.



Welcome back. grin

1 Like

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 4:13pm On Dec 08, 2019
toluxe0075:


Welcome back. grin
thanks dear
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 1:39am On Feb 12
SERIES

ASSISTANT MADAMS


CAST: Osas Ighodaro, Sophie Alakija, Tana Adelana, Kalu Ikeagwu, Yomi Blaq


Plot
Three women, Chioma (Osas Ighodaro), Tamara (Sophie Alakija) and Lara(Tana Adelana) decide to take advantage of their looks, charm and smarts, by making money off of rich, gullible men in Lagos.


Review:


A slight move away from movies, I would like to review the first four episodes of REDTv's "Assistant Madams"

The idea behind the series seems interesting enough; wouldn't we all like to know about the lives of every high class runs girl in Lagos? undecided the execution though, is possibly, one of the most mind-boggling things New Nollywod has to offer

Well, first of all, I would like to give kudos to the producers for thinking of a show that has some girl power theme, of sorts. It would have been nicer though, if, once again, these girls were not shown to be just a bunch of man eaters, whose survival and luxurious lives are tied to some rich men. I mean, really? They could have been any other thing in the world. One chance to make women feel like their stories matter, to make them the centre of attention, and still, REDTv finds a way to debase women....because no woman can climb up a ladder without f*cking a bunch of 'Billionaire' men.

Point 2: The amount of times, the word 'billionaire' is thrown in the movie, they should have named it "Assistant Madams to Billionaires'....okay, we get it, everyone is a billionaire, can we move on?

Thirdly, I'm sorry, but I have slight issues with the casting; Tana Adelana, Sophie Alakija and Osas Ighodaro are great actresses....just not together. Every scene seems overly rehearsed, they are trying too hard to pass on this whole idea of what the ladies who sleep with the rich are to sound like, the accents are KILLING ME

You know what else is killing me? Tana's blonde wig and Sophie's make-up. Whoever is in charge of make-up is doing a great disservice to Sophie, in particular. Half the time, she looks like a can of spray tan was finished on her face...they don't even have the decency to blend the foundation to her neck. Are they managing the foundation? Is it not bad enough they can't find her colour?

Osas' character is the only one worth watching. At least, there is an established method to the madness. That's why their first episode, introducing her character, was their best episode. It just went downhill from there.

Sophie's character is an indictment on Nollywood, quite unnecessary, makes no sense at all.

Tana's character is a bit believable; rich girl with daddy issues, sleeping with men her daddy's age, her acting though, is not.

And the episode four, where they all linked up and came up with this grand plan to play the men, as a team, rather than continue with their individual games, is so shambolic and incoherent, the writer might as well have been inebriated while writing it. The progression of events makes no sense, they had no business being in a room together, and girls are simply not that nice and accepting of each other, that three total strangers, would meet and decide to work against the men they are all smashing, and certainly not, if one of the three, has her eyes on the other's father.

And for the love of God, why are there only TWO Bilionaires in all of Lagos Island, that these three women are sharing? Surely there are more randy billionaires in Lagos aside John (Ikeagwu) and Jola (Blaq), if actual billionaires spent money the way these two guys have spent it in four episodes, they wouldn't be billionaires anymore undecided

The entire show is a trainwreck that has possibly happened. It was nice in the beginning, but not anymore. I would advise the showrunners to return to the drawing board and give us something worth our 30 minutes of viewing time. I cannot go from watching compelling American Series like Prodigal Son and All American, to watching BRAIN FART like Assistant Madams.

We don't need shootouts and bombings, just give us something to think on and marvel at, not everytime, man and woman quanta. Is it only man and woman relationships they can come up with in Nollywood?

Romance is getting drab and boring. Give us thrillers, mystery, intrigue. A man should end up dead, and we get to guess "who did it" for the entire season. Please, get creative angry


Rating: 2/10

Play/Trowey: Don't waste your time

PS: I had to attach a screenshot of Sophie's awful make-up, so, y'all know, this is a genuine problem angry

3 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by drmuchin: 1:11pm On Feb 14
@safarigirl it's February oooo don't let this candle burn out
Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 12:57am On Feb 17
Movie Title: God Calling

Year: 2018

Genre: Drama

Cast: Zainab Balogun, Karibi Fubara, Richard Mofe-Damijo, Nkem Owoh, Onyeka Onwenu, Tina Mba, Diane Egwuatu, Adedoyin Ademola, Eku Edewor.

Producer: Momo Spaine, Ibukun Awosika

Director: BB Sasore (Also the writer)

Run Time: 1h 59 mins


Synopsis: A woman's cynical views of God and Christianity are challenged when she loses her only child and received a call from God


Review:

Move over war room, Nigeria has gotten a non-Mount Zion-produced Christian drama of their own, and it is indeed compelling.

While this story is not centered on how to pray away a man's cheating ways, it does have it's own theme on faith, love and family, and the execution of it all is perfect.

Where do I begin with God Calling?

Yes! The Special Effects...an odd place to begin, but damn, the effects were a thing of beauty, in comparison to what obtains in Nigerian movies. Bless the souls that thought of that green background and performed the magic that was the effects in the movie; everything was so on point, I was genuinely impressed....

That being said, let's go to the acting. I have to give kudos to everyone involved in this movie, I mean, the casting alone should give anyone with a decent knowledge of Nollywood, a reason to watch. Veteran actors like RMD, Nkem Owoh and Onyeka Onwenu are naturally enough to let you know it's not some piss and dump script, but then you add the passionate Tina Mba and an incredibly brilliant Zainab Balogun, and you know the magic is complete, but then, there were still others.....Karibi Fubara, I've never seen you before this movie, but man, you deserve so much more screentime. Playing the role of Francis Okereke, may have been almost as emotionally demanding as playing Shade (Balogun), Francis had to support a wife whose relapse into drugs may have caused the death of their only daughter, he had to struggle with temptation, while his world fell apart, he had to ask himself if he had done his best to his daughter, if he had failed her as a father, and still, he had to decide if he was to believe a druggie wife suddenly started getting phone calls from God.

Fubara wasn't the only one who shone in this movie though, Diane Egwuatu, the little girl who played Lola, their daughter, may have gotten brief screen time, but she left with so much hope for child actors in Nigeria. Her diction was lovely and she was so adorable and believable, I hope her parents let her play more roles and I hope producers look to her if they need child actors for certain roles.

RMD....I mean, do I need to reiterate how brilliant RMD is, at all times? It was easy to see how Shade (Balogun) became a cynic, since her father wasn't much of a believer anyway. RMD was the ever suave, billionaire dad, who didn't quite believe his daughter was speaking to God, until he had a personal encounter.

When I saw Nkem Owoh's AMVCA nomination for this movie, I wondered what he acted in it, and even while watching, I didn't think he had enough screentime to justify a nomination....until I reached the scene RMD came to visit himself and his wife (Onwenu), his reaction to Shade's father's(RMD) presence was so hilarious, it was the one time I laughed long and hard.

Zainab, Zainab, Zainab..she was stellar in this movie, her emotions were so precise, she played the role of Shade so beautifully, her delivery was top notch and she deserves every award she will get for the movie. And all the while, rocking her beautiful natural hair wink

And my baby boy, Adedoyin, who played the Angel, looking all peng with his jerry curls and lovely dark skin...while his words were limited, he did all the acting brilliantly well. Nollywood should cast him for any role that requires a heavenly body, white looks good on him grin

Generally, the story was compelling, there was space for all the unbelievers to find God and explanations as to why they became so. There were so many lessons, from the importance of family, to forgiveness and reconciliation

The settings were great, I loved the church hall, everything was just so clean in this movie.

But once again, the special effects....MAD OOHHHH!!


Verdict:

I recommend this movie to EVERYONE....be you Christian, Muslim, Traditionalist or Unbeliever. It's not a feel good movie, but it will certainly have you in your feelings.

Rating: 8/10

Play/Trowey: Play

3 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by safarigirl(f): 1:42am On Feb 17
Movie Title: Merry Men 2 (Another Mission)



Year: 2019

Cast: Ramsey Noah, Ayo 'AY' Makun, Jim Iyke, Folarin 'Falz' Falana, Williams Uchemba, Ufuoma McDermott, Rosie Meurer, Iretiola Doyle, Damilola Adegbite, Nancy Isime, Regina Nwoko (nee Daniels), Linda Osifo, Alex Asogwa, Ben Touitou

Genre: Adventure Comedy

Producer: Darlington Abuda

Director: Moses Inwang

Run Time: 1h 50 mins (or thereabout)

Synopsis:

The Merry Men are called back into action when Naz' wife is kidnapped and held hostage by a devious politician, who promises her freedom, in exchange for wiping incriminating evidence from her care file.

Review:

People of God, if you cringed while watching Merry Men Part 1, I bring you good news, you will cringe less while watching the second part.

Many thought it could only get worse, but I am glad to report that the second part of the romantic action comedy, is much better than the first part, even though they employed many popular faces. So, let me get down to why Merry Men 2, is a better shot at romantic action comedy, than the mere romantic comedy the part one was.

We are reintroduced to the Merry Men, three and a half (AY, is the half) devastatingly handsome men, with impeccable style and charm. The team is retired since taking down Dame Maduka (Doyle) aka Amaju's (AY) sugar mummy. They now busy themselves with mundane things like building a family, and spending time with loved ones.

All is well, until a simultaneous attack on all four men, which results in the kidnap of Naz'(Iyke) wife and Ayo's (Noah) sister, Kemi (Meurer) pulls them out of this retirement. The attack is so swift that the team is left picking up the pieces, and adding it up with the help of a new entrant, Williams Uchemba, who steps in, while Femi (Falz) is MIA.

The team soon finds that the concerted attack was orchestrated by Dame Maduka and her goons, an elite team of female hit(wo)men, led by a certain old flame of Ayo's (Noah), Zainab (McDermott). All they need, is for the Merry Men, to wipe off all incriminating evidence they supplied, on Dame Maduka, from the ECC (read EFCC) files, a request that is far too dicey for the team.

Let me not spoil the movie for those who haven't watched it. I will get to what I did like about the movie

The fight scenes were far better this time, compared to Part 1. There was a lot of flying kicks and snake in the monkey shadow movements, but I promise you all, it was very much believable. The action-y scenes were well done and much cleaner. So, kudos to them on that

I also enjoyed the show of emotion, particularly from Jim Iyke and Ramsey. Naz' (Iyke) wife being kidnapped clearly makes him volatile and Jim does a good job of showing just how volatile a man in love with his wife can be, when she's kidnapped. It was very believable, I mean, I was laughing at all his ranting and threats, because I don't associate the whole overly emotional behavior with the negroid race (call me pro-toxic masculinity grin), but Jim Iyke sold the hell out of that role and I was reminded just how great an actor he is.

Ramsey, also sold his role. His sister was kidnapped, but while Jim was the hothead, Ramsey executed the calm exterior brilliantly well too. He was the ying to Jim's yang, the cold to his hot, the balance to his topsy turvy. You could tell he was troubled, but he wasn't losing his sh*t, which is just as well.

AY was, well....AY, I don't think there was much of an improvement to Amaju's character, and I certainly had no qualms with that.

What I did have qualms with, was the restriction of Falz' character, Femi, for the allowance of Williams Uchemba's character. Femi was basically sidelined most of this movie, and I get that there couldn't be more than two funny men per scene in the movie, but I genuinely wish I had seen more of Femi.

This second part was more of a combination of Ayo and Naz' story, while the other guys just featured in it, unlike with the first part that was all inclusive. I mean, the first part was still Ayo and Naz, but everybody got to flex their stuff at various scenes, the same didn't quite apply here. I'm undecided on whether I find that a positive or negative, as it could work both ways.

As usual, there were fancy cars, beautiful houses and a lovely musical score when nobody was talking. I particularly loved a scene where we were shown a distraught Naz (Iyke) and brooding Ayo (Noah) after they found out Kemi (Meurer) was held hostage by Same Maduka (Doyle), a cover of Teni's Power Rangers was used for that scene, and I kid you not, the song Ias both beautiful, and perfect for the scene.

Verdict:

This is definitely, your feel good movie

It's an upgrade from the Part 1 in many ways, and while it will still not be some people's glass of kunu, it's a decent watch.


Rating: 7/10

Play/Trowey: Play when it comes out on Netflix

But before then...check out McCheryl's cover of Teni's Power Rangers, if you haven't heard it. It's a real tear-jerker in the right moment

1 Like 1 Share

Re: Safari's Movie Reviews by Kaycee7(m): 8:37am On Feb 17
safarigirl:

Generally, the story was compelling, there was space for all the unbelievers to find God and explanations as to why they became so. There were so many lessons, from the importance of family, to forgiveness and reconciliation

The settings were great, I loved the church hall, everything was just so clean in this movie.
But did you find God, though? grin

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (Reply)

The Bisi Olatilo Show: Bos Is The Boss Of All Tv Talk Shows In Nigeria / Project Strongest States In Nigeria TV Show: Photos Of Delegates / Censors Board Raids Alaba Market, Seizes Pirated Films

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2020 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 212
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.