Stats: 3,155,544 members, 7,827,036 topics. Date: Tuesday, 14 May 2024 at 05:19 AM

Access Bank Unveils New Logo - Business (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / Access Bank Unveils New Logo (71582 Views)

CBN Announces Sale Of Polaris Bank, Unveils New Owner / Sterling Bank Unveils Auto Loan Scheme For Smes / First Bank Unveils Promo To Reward Verve Card Users (2) (3) (4)

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by bigtt76(f): 7:02am On Apr 01, 2019
Wigwe does not own Access bank undecided

IkpuMmadu:

Two Igbo Businesses merge

Access is Wigwe's Bank
Diamond is Dozie's Bank

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by PapaAdanna: 7:03am On Apr 01, 2019
Cool
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by PapaAdanna: 7:05am On Apr 01, 2019
grayht:
Not interesting!
Looks like all those N500 design on Nairaland Graphics Section undecided
If u can't do it better, shut up and soak ur garri without sugar
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Fidelismaria: 7:09am On Apr 01, 2019
Cool

Check my signature
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Osyxcel(m): 7:11am On Apr 01, 2019
bigtt76:
Yes O! In the case of Stanbic IBTC was slightly different. Stanbic bank is an external entity trying to make its way into the Nigerian market and would require a banking licence and all the wahala that goes with it. Instead of going through the stress, they bought IBTC. Now, banking licence are not transferable hence the need to include IBTC in its name and former IBTC bank filed for a change of name with CAC and CBN.

In the case of Access and Diamond Bank, being an acquisition, Diamond bank's licence would soon be retrieved by CBN. They were earlier on downgraded from International Bank status to National Bank.They stood the risk of being downgraded further to regional Bank status if not for the acquisition.

Both IBTC Chartered Bank and Stanbic Bank Nig Ltd were operational before they merged. The parent company of Stanbic only bought more shares in IBTC so that when the merger is completed, they'll have a majority holding in the new entity.
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by RTSC: 7:14am On Apr 01, 2019
chibuzorAbia:

Igboman no dey like truth! See as the truth pain una enter bone. Diamond was a useless Igbo bank, kee ya self.
Zenith, fidelity and UBA are igbo banks.
Zenith for example have always been headed by an ika man.
When Jim ovia retired , emefiele entered. Both from ika, in delta stat.

Fidelity have always been headed by an anambra man.
Even Access bank is owned by wigwe, an ikwerre man.

Are they not ran properly?

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by RTSC: 7:15am On Apr 01, 2019
bigtt76:

Wigwe owns it along with aig-imoukuede from edo state.

It is jointly owned.

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by pocohantas(f): 7:17am On Apr 01, 2019
sacramento1212:

Not only Lekki phase 1 ooo, many banking environment where you have both Diamond and Access will be affected because it's normal for Banks to open up branches in banking localities.

So it will make no sense to keep 2 Access Bank in the same area because ALL Diamond Bank premises automatically turns Access Bank. So let the former Diamond Bank staffs prepare their minds for the unexpected so it doesn't come to them as a shock.

Most Access bank properties are rented, unlike Diamond that builds their branches from scratch. Diamond bank's case isn't the worse if you ask me, their problem is most likely liquidity, but they sure do have assets that will help Access. It is a win win situation for both.

That said, nothing like "staffs". DB staff are already porting to other banks.
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by RichBoy247: 7:35am On Apr 01, 2019
lonelydora:
They should keep deceiving themselves. It's not a merger, it's total acquisition. They just don't want to cause panic. Soon that diamond logo will disappear and it will be Access logo.

Whether good or bad, I have moved all my money to StanbicIBTC. I no wan hear say them shoot bird, him mama fly.

Uzoma Dozie, you see your life?

StanbicIBTC is a South African bank. FG can sack all SOuth Africa corporations in Nigeria any time because of the nonsense these South African dogs are doing to other Africans. What happens to your money then?

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by TheAlchemist: 7:35am On Apr 01, 2019
Uzoma Dozie violated the golden rule "Don't get your honey from where you get your money".
Diamonds are forever but sadly Nigerians were sold a fake diamond under the management of Uzoma, hence the inevitable epic fail of Diamond Bank.
Uzoma Dozie as the ceo was given a script he couldn't act.
He preferred to have his little gun polished, while the ladies took away the real Diamond!

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Ikorodurealtor: 7:36am On Apr 01, 2019
lonelydora:
They should keep deceiving themselves. It's not a merger, it's total acquisition. They just don't want to cause panic. Soon that diamond logo will disappear and it will be Access logo.

Whether good or bad, I have moved all my money to StanbicIBTC. I no wan hear say them shoot bird, him mama fly.

You are too much

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Afrocentric: 7:48am On Apr 01, 2019
lonelydora:

CBN spokes man continue
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by ibietela2(m): 7:50am On Apr 01, 2019
Kobicove:
Some people have made a killing from this event

The Hotel
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by ibietela2(m): 8:04am On Apr 01, 2019
oseiwe:

It started with afribank. This is their 3rd title.

Afribank was bought by Sky Bank
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by bigtt76(f): 8:18am On Apr 01, 2019
Really shocked never occurred to me though. Thanks for clarifying

RTSC:

Wigwe owns it along with aig-imoukuede from edo state.

It is jointly owned.
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Christedsam(m): 8:27am On Apr 01, 2019
I was expecting to see something better that this picart design they call logo
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Nobody: 8:35am On Apr 01, 2019
Brunel:
The rise and fall of Diamond Bank should be studied in business schools.
It had so much promises, so much potential....

Access bank be swallowing up other banks..... first Intercontinental, now Diamond!

Atleast, it is far far better,
way longer,
and higher than Bank PHB

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Nobody: 8:40am On Apr 01, 2019
martphreak:
I don't know the wrong I did to all these banks o...anyone I use they must merge....from oceanic to ecobank, skyebank to Polaris, Diamond now to access I think bank PHB to UBA...who did I offend....

you are blessed.
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Boyooosa(m): 8:47am On Apr 01, 2019
Previous one makes mad sense. This one is just an adulterated version of diamond's. What a great mistake!
Adapting access logo would have bn more fantastic cos of the former's creative concept.

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by poseidon12: 9:13am On Apr 01, 2019
Chekitaut:
If cares is not taking Access will be affected in short time. Mark my words. UBA experience same to acquire Standard trust Bank. Where is UBA today? A new identity or maintain full Access identity a better solution.

Standard Trust Bank acquired UBA, not the other way around.

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by my2019mind: 9:19am On Apr 01, 2019
chuksanambra:
Another Igbo business collapses.

Tribalism, nepotism, greed are the reasons why Igbo-owned businesses don't survive the second generation.

Look at Diamond Bank, the founder gave the bank to an incompetent, unproductive, randy fellow to run just because he's his son. That one specialised in sleeping with married women in the bank.

Go and check the debtors list of Diamond Bank. You'll see that the present and previous management gave loans based on "my brother, my brother". Now, the bank is dead.

Don't worry, you'll soon hear them selling their assets to pay Access bank in the coming days. Access would collect every kobo from these titled debtors.

Run businesses like okrika shops at Idumota, why would they last? Put competent people in charge, mba. It is Okafor and Sons. Not minding if the son is a corporate cancer like Uzoma Dozie.

But the Jews run family business structure and they are very successful at it, as a matter of fact, that is one of their key points of success. I am not supporting family structure business policy in its entirety but I know it has it's advantages. Though I must say giving loans to family members is a very bad idea, especially in this parts of the world.

By the way, Access Bank is also being run by an Igbo man.

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by IkpuMmadu: 9:32am On Apr 01, 2019
bigtt76:

Just like nobody owns any bank
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by IkpuMmadu: 9:34am On Apr 01, 2019
bigtt76:

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by IkpuMmadu: 9:35am On Apr 01, 2019
my2019mind:

But the Jews run family business structure and they are very successful at it, as a matter of fact, that is one of their key points of success. I am not supporting family structure business policy in its entirety but I know it has it's advantages. Though I must say giving loans to family members is a very bad idea, especially in this parts of the world.

By the way, Access Bank is also being run by an Igbo man.

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Brunel(m): 9:45am On Apr 01, 2019
Surely the bank is in distress. They first started with selling off foreign assets and claimed they were focusing on expanding local presence...... Here we are now......
grandstar:

They still claim it's a merger and not a takeover.

But why will Diamond need to merge when at a time it was a bank to reckon with. It's obviously in trouble and looking for a place to hide it's head

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Brunel(m): 9:47am On Apr 01, 2019
Bro, the future of diamond bank is bleak. This is an acquisition not merger. If you followed the trail of happenings, you'd understand better.
Diamond bank should be competing with Access not 'merging' under normal circumstances.
Venerable612:

They didn’t collapse. I don’t think it’s a bad idea to merge. Both banks leveraged on its strengths

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by grandstar(m): 10:08am On Apr 01, 2019
Brunel:
Surely the bank is in distress. They first started with selling off foreign assets and claimed they were focusing on expanding local presence...... Here we are now......

The morning does show the day.

That's why one should never mix business with family

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by shakyum: 10:14am On Apr 01, 2019
if the tell how much the design that logo ba, you will just weep
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by Venerable612(m): 10:14am On Apr 01, 2019
Brunel:
Bro, the future of diamond bank is bleak. This is an acquisition not merger. If you followed the trail of happenings, you'd understand better.
Diamond bank should be competing with Access not 'merging' under normal circumstances.

I understand why you are confused... you probably are not familiar with schemes of merger.

From a legal perspective-
A merger occurs when two separate entities combine forces to create a new, joint organization.
That’s Access had to change its logo... and Shareholders of Diamond are compensated with cash and shares in the new organisation- so in sense, schemes of merger are more friendly.

Meanwhile, an acquisition refers to the takeover of one entity by another. Very little negotiation is done here... it’s just an organisation acquiring another - nd the target company may not havea say in the matter.

You can read up Part XII of the Nigerian Investments and Securities Act to understand better.

Again- nothing wrong with a company seeking to gain competitive edge Nd increase customer value - even if it means loosing your identity. It’s different from collapsing - Cos at that point the company will be underpriced/undervalued and investors may not even want to deal at all.

But Access Nd diamond bank merger is one of the most sort after stocks on the capital market now. Investors are looking forward to the union
Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by 49cents(m): 10:15am On Apr 01, 2019
chuksanambra:
Another Igbo business collapses.

Tribalism, nepotism, greed are the reasons why Igbo-owned businesses don't survive the second generation.

Look at Diamond Bank, the founder gave the bank to an incompetent, unproductive, randy fellow to run just because he's his son. That one specialised in sleeping with married women in the bank.

Go and check the debtors list of Diamond Bank. You'll see that the present and previous management gave loans based on "my brother, my brother". Now, the bank is dead.

Don't worry, you'll soon hear them selling their assets to pay Access bank in the coming days. Access would collect every kobo from these titled debtors.

Run businesses like okrika shops at Idumota, why would they last? Put competent people in charge, mba. It is Okafor and Sons. Not minding if the son is a corporate cancer like Uzoma Dozie.

Inter continental bank too was owned by akingbola an igbo man from the east....or Skye bank or oceanic bank too were all igbos....

Bunmi Oke, the disgraced MD of Cadbury who forged books like the sarakis of SGBN were igbos too right..

Businesses run down my poor management leave tribalism out of it. Tribalsim is a mental disease but it's curable

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by ruffhandu: 10:46am On Apr 01, 2019
I've read through virtually all the comments here, and it's obvious a lot of people don't understand the difference between merger and acquisition.

When the rumour surfaced initially, I told someone that he'll know if it's merger or the other by their logo and the name of the new entity eventually. If there is an element of each, then it is a merger, but if not, then it is an acquisition.

But, perhaps because they would always want to gain customers' confidence, and perhaps ego, this always happens this way: And that's why we can predict these like this.

UBA and STB actually merged, the reason they retained STB logo, with UBA as name. There is no policy that stops a corporate entity from changing logo or brand name anytime, you just follow a process. So, UBA and STB can actually merge and their new name becomes 'Eleja', that's for the management to decide; but we all know that's not good for business.

New mergers, especially in Nigeria, still wants to retain signatures of the merged entities after merger- a lot of negotiations actually lead to such decisions.

NUB, Inland bank, First Atlantic and IMB all merged in the early/mid 2000s to form FirstInland Bank, which later re-branded to Finbank (changed both name and logo).

Please step out to the nearest Accessbank to you and see that the new logo is a fusion of old access and diamond. The diamond logo is now made of former access thin lines and logo, and I see the green diamond colour on their signage.

Las las, in every merger, there are terms and conditions. Both brand may not maintain the equity contributions in the new deal; you will actually know this from the new value of the shares from both entities. Eg, if each of access former share may be == 1.5 of the new share, while each of diamonds old share== 0.8 of the new share, then know access has an upper hand in the merger; and vice versa.

Some mergers are actually so lopsided it is a glorified acquisition.

Re: Access Bank Unveils New Logo by lonelydora: 11:06am On Apr 01, 2019
RichBoy247:

StanbicIBTC is a South African bank. FG can sack all SOuth Africa corporations in Nigeria any time because of the nonsense these South African dogs are doing to other Africans. What happens to your money then?

Before then, i move it to First Bank

9-Year-Old Girl Set Ebeano Supermarket On Fire (Video) / How Many People Remember This Advert Way Back In The 90’s / Folorunsho Alakija Gorgeous In Native Wear, Poses With Her Numerous Awards

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49