Stats: 3,150,600 members, 7,809,184 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 03:32 AM

Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic - Health (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic (44096 Views)

Can A Diabetic Foot Be Treated Or Best Amputated? / Unripe Plantain Is A Diabetic Diet For Diabetes And Iron Deficiency / American Herbalist Sentenced To Prison After Death Of Diabetic Boy (Photo) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by ayobj: 10:17pm On Jun 10, 2019
Younghacka:

We Have Asked A Doctor But They Either Tell Us To Eat Wheat Or Eat Eba In Small Quantity, Anytime He Tries The Eba His Blood Sugar Skyrockets.

So I Thought Maybe Any Experience Person Here Might Help Out.
when was he diagnosed and does he check his sugar everyday
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by 1bunne4lif(m): 10:18pm On Jun 10, 2019
Younghacka:
My Dad Is Diabetic And He Has Been Having Issues With A Choice Of Swallow.

Eba(Garri) And Loi-Loi(Fufu) Are Out Of The Equation Because Of Their High Starch Content.

He Was Using Plantain Flour But He Complained Of Constipation And He Stopped Using It. . . He Was Also Using Wheat Flour But He Stopped Due To Some Health Complications (I Think Something Concerning Blood Group O+).

Any Advice Or Experience Will Be Appreciated.

P.S: For Some Months Now He Has Not Eaten Swallow, Just Diabetic Rice And Other Food Suitable For Diabetics, But We Are Nigerians And Man Must Swallow.
get plantain flour
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Afospecialk: 10:21pm On Jun 10, 2019
When there is absolute cure for DIABETES why limiting urself to some certainr food only
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Younghacka(m): 10:22pm On Jun 10, 2019
akereconfi:
My dad has being diabetic for like 35 years now, even before I was born. We boil unripe plantain and pound it into swallow. We use the local mortar and pestle.

He's doing well and takes his usual insulin injection although lately he has being taking one new medication called DOUBLE STEM CELL. Ever since he started taking it, there has been a lot improvement in his health
We Used To Do That Before, We Might Go Back To It.
About The STEM Cells, Please How Did He Come To Start Using It Cos Right Now My Dad Is In The Hospital And His Blood Glucose Level Is 20+, The Insulin Is Not Helping Matters @ All. How Do You Apply The STEM. Thanks.

Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by tuboi: 10:23pm On Jun 10, 2019
dominique:
I wanted to suggest unripe plantain flour but you've already scratched it out. You can try couscous, just that it is not very popular here in the south but you can find it on shelves of malls and large stores. It's very cheap and easily available in the north.

Plantain flour is the best for such person... I did a research on it few yrs back...
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by definateli: 10:26pm On Jun 10, 2019
Add grinded roasted soyabeans to the plantain flour. It's like you make it too strong and maybe he is not drinking at least 3 l of water daily and also not eating enough vegetables hence the constipation.

You can at times give him cabbage swallow, vegetable swallow, Acha swallow, quacker oat swallow, coconut flour swallow for variety sake.

Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by folake4u(f): 10:30pm On Jun 10, 2019
Younghacka:

How Accessible Is This, I'm Based In The South Southern Part Of Nigeria Not In Lagos.

OK. She's based in Warri, Delta State and not in Lagos as you may think.

Plus, they supply nationwide so it's not a problem where ever you are.
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Efikoroy: 10:38pm On Jun 10, 2019
Just get oat ( the usual oat people take for break fast ). Blend it and place it on fire add water and prepare the way you prepare your plantain flour. Simple.
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Musjada: 10:41pm On Jun 10, 2019
Acha aka hungry rice

Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by nathpope(m): 10:43pm On Jun 10, 2019
knowledgeable
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by sirjakez(m): 10:50pm On Jun 10, 2019
Amala
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Eveking(f): 10:52pm On Jun 10, 2019
Try oat flour and guinea corn... that's what my mum usually swallow
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by toscolee(m): 11:05pm On Jun 10, 2019
ppeessuu:
Buy original elubo(yam flour) pls be careful of mixed one ooooo

Op no just try am...yam get sugar
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by sleekman(m): 11:09pm On Jun 10, 2019
Younghacka:

Eba(Garri) And Loi-Loi(Fufu) Are Out Of The Equation Because Of Their High Starch Content.

He Was Using Plantain Flour But He Complained Of Constipation And He Stopped Using It. . . He Was Also Using Wheat Flour But He Stopped Due To Some Health Complications (I Think Something Concerning Blood Group O+).

P.S: For Some Months Now He Has Not Eaten Swallow, Just Diabetic Rice And Other Food Suitable For Diabetics, But We Are Nigerians And Man Must Swallow.

He can do a combination of flours. Rice flour(our local varieties) combined with plantain flour, corn flour combined with plantain flour/wheat/oats.
In any case he should be doing 4times more soup than the swallow. Yoruba's aren't in the habit of taking plenty soup with their swallow. Apologies to my Yoruba brothers. No harm intended. There is Eldris oats. Head to mile 12 market if you're in Lagos. Buy pure wheat. You can blend it there in the market. You can also blend with others too. Yam, plantain, corn, millet etc.
Another thing is to purchase lime or lemon. Dice it up and put in drinking water. He should drink that while eating. He should also form the habit of taking tea after meals. Helps with digestion too. I suspect your dad might be having ulcer or heartburns. He needs to see a specialist doctor fast. If he likes beans then parboil the beans just like you do rice. That greatly reduces the constipation/heartburn. His swallow should be about the size of a childs clenched fist.
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by sleekman(m): 11:15pm On Jun 10, 2019
Afospecialk:
I wonder how some people believe only orthodox treatment can cure their bailment when original herbal mixture can perform better

I give any kind of DIABETES patient just 4 weeks of treatment, You will be totally cured of DIABETES

Contact my signature
Na so u go dey make mouth.
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by okosodo: 11:44pm On Jun 10, 2019
If he takes the right dose of humulin 70/30, he can eat whatever he likes. Speaking from long term experience
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by okosodo: 11:45pm On Jun 10, 2019
Afospecialk:
I wonder how some people believe only orthodox treatment can cure their bailment when original herbal mixture can perform better

I give any kind of DIABETES patient just 4 weeks of treatment, You will be totally cured of DIABETES

Contact my signature
sharap there
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Kenobi14: 11:47pm On Jun 10, 2019
Pls can you help us with the name of the drug. Tnx.
soloehis:
First what type of diabetes? My mum was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes but there is this drug my brothers in Germany always buy for her yearly that enables her eat every thing..for the type of food I think you should have it processed yourself so u can be sure of the content.. U can get bunch of unripe plantain peel and slice, then put it in the sun to dry after that u grind it..try it and u will see the difference

Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Kenobi14: 12:00am On Jun 11, 2019
Pls bro, if he sends you the f.b address forward to me also. kenobiabia@gmail.com tnx
Younghacka:

I'll Really Love That.
You Can Email Me: wisdomgbaranbiri@gmail.com
Thanks.

Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Nobody: 12:14am On Jun 11, 2019
Dry unripened plaintain, ground to powder and make Amala with it.... Healthy and no sugar.
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Nobody: 12:16am On Jun 11, 2019
ppeessuu:
Buy original elubo(yam flour) pls be careful of mixed one ooooo

Yam flour is contains a lot of sugar
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Nobody: 1:04am On Jun 11, 2019
Get the old fashioned quaker oats, blend it and make it into swallow.

Benefits are too numerous to mention here smiley

Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by megareal: 1:13am On Jun 11, 2019
Oats swallow is good. Try it.
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Lemosh: 1:17am On Jun 11, 2019
Sorry, what has he taken for his condition? You can reach me on 08166518020 if you are willing to talk more.
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Juliearth(f): 1:29am On Jun 11, 2019
Younghacka:

Fonio(acha)

Unripe plantain flour(the constipation may be because it's not well cooked. After moulding it into a solid paste, its supposed to be left to cook on low heat for about 15 minutes. Also the mixture shouldn't be too solid because it solidifies upon cooling)

Eggplant swallow

Oat swallow...

The patient can make it a habit to drink or chew on bitterleaf once a week

Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by oluwafreshkid(m): 1:41am On Jun 11, 2019
Try oat flour
Particularly Rayna oats flour.
You can do me for more info
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Soneh(m): 3:03am On Jun 11, 2019
Younghacka:

What's This Acha. . . I've Never Heard Of It Here.
I don't know how to describe the plant, but you can check google for "hungry rice". If you know anyone living in Jos or Bauchi you can ask them to get it for you.

Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Nobody: 3:30am On Jun 11, 2019
Younghacka:

We Have Asked Doctors But They Either Tell Us To Eat Wheat Or Eat Eba In Small Quantity, Anytime He Tries The Eba His Blood Sugar Skyrockets.

So I Thought Maybe Any Experience Person Here Might Help Out.
Guy ask a nutritionist. They'll give you the best advice. Asking a doctor ke?
Better still ask a pharmacist
Re: Which Swallow Would You Recommend For A Diabetic by Nobody: 3:53am On Jun 11, 2019
Craziestgirl:
Nothing beats asking a Medical Doctor.
The worst place to seek medical advice is the internet.

It is crazy how you sensibly answered the question despite being so crazy to the extent of being the craziest girl in the world.

Wait... before you attack me, I only said what I observed.. and trust me, I was really sincere angry

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

'Taking Too Much Sugar Or Sugary Drinks Does Not Cause Diabetes' - Doctor Says / Hen Laying Egg On Hospital Bed In Imo - Facebook User Shares Photo / Entrance Of Lagos University Teaching Hospital Will Shock You (photo)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35