Stats: 3,154,007 members, 7,821,532 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 02:25 PM

Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria - Politics (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria (12252 Views)

Obasanjo Writes Letter To Sanusi: Your Dethronement As Emir Is Good And Bad / Lamido Sanusi's Dethronement As Emir And Exile (Video) / Sanusi Lamido Arrested, Exiled To Nasarawa After Dethronement As Emir Of Kano (2) (3) (4)

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by juman(m): 1:59am On Mar 11, 2020
ghostwon:

the absurdity of some of you fools baffles me.
When was the last time you saw anybody bow down to a local government chairman ?

That what the constitution says.
Go and read what kano governor said on the issue.
He said the emir supposed to be dealing with the local chairman not him.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Nobody: 2:03am On Mar 11, 2020
juman:

That what the constitution says.
Go and read what kano governor said on the issue.
He said the emir supposed to be dealing with the local chairman not him.
I urge you to go and bow down to your local government chairman,
or to go and get a degree in common sense from corrupt ganduje.
Let ganduje's words be considered as good as the words of God from now on.
Fool, your education has failed you.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Justice009(m): 2:38am On Mar 11, 2020
ogmask:
For me, the Oba of Benin is the only king among the ones mentioned that can not be replaced until he dies.
Yes, the political authority can unseat a traditional ruler according to our constitution but that authority can not
appoint just anybody to ascent the throne in Benin.
Dethroning the Oba of Benin is like totally eradicating the Benin Royal stool. Even the British with their almighty
colonial powers couldnt replace Ovoravwen. Onyaregbulem, ones military administrator, had issue with Oba Eradiauwa an we
all know how that ended.

Pls how did it end...... I really want to learn this from someone like you
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by NGpatriot: 3:05am On Mar 11, 2020
ghostwon:

so they would sack sanusi from his citizenship ?
What is your fvcking point ?

Was his Nigerian citizenship taken away? I said they also sack people for what they see sacked him for in Nigeria so what's citizenship got to do with anything?

You lame Sha..
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Nobody: 3:19am On Mar 11, 2020
NGpatriot:

Was his Nigerian citizenship taken away? I said they also sack people for what they see sacked him for in Nigeria so what's citizenship got to do with anything?

You lame Sha..

I wrote the following:

ghostwon:
My advise to Emir Sanusi:

Leave nigeria and settle in England or America, get the citizenship of the country and broadcast from there.
Let your people hear you.

And your reply was the following:

NGpatriot:

News flash, they also sack people for insubordination and lack of respect for constitutional authority in America.

Kolomentality people, they think they can get away with lawlessness in America.

And my reply to your reply was the following:

ghostwon:

so they would sack sanusi from his citizenship ?
What is your fvcking point ?

Now, are you sober enough to understand you are on planet earth and not in alice's wonderland ?

NGpatriot:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WeYsTmIzjkw
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by juman(m): 4:03am On Mar 11, 2020
ghostwon:

I urge you to go and bow down to your local government chairman,
or to go and get a degree in common sense from corrupt ganduje.
Let ganduje's words be considered as good as the words of God from now on.
Fool, your education has failed you.

Well sha bro, I dont have time to waste with you.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by NGpatriot: 5:45am On Mar 11, 2020
ghostwon:

I wrote the following:

And your reply was the following:

And my reply to your reply was the following:

Now, are you sober enough to understand you are on planet earth and not in alice's wonderland ?

Citizenship won't prevent him from getting sacked, banned or from his broadcasting license getting withdrawn in America @ any act of lawlessness, disrespect of any authority in the US the same way citizenship didn't prevent him from getting sacked in Nigeria for the same offense.

American citizens don't get sacked?

You are slow no be small..
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Stirling0: 6:31am On Mar 11, 2020
NGpatriot:

Citizenship won't prevent him from getting sacked, banned or from his broadcasting license getting withdrawn in America @ any act of lawlessness, disrespect of any authority in the US the same way citizenship didn't prevent him from getting sacked in Nigeria for the same offense.

American citizens don't get sacked?

You are slow no be small..
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Stirling0: 6:32am On Mar 11, 2020
NGpatriot:

You lame Sha..
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Stirling0: 6:32am On Mar 11, 2020
NGpatriot:

News flash, they also sack people for insubordination and lack of respect for constitutional authority in America.

Kolomentality people, they think they can get away with lawlessness in America.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Stirling0: 6:35am On Mar 11, 2020
NGpatriot:

Says who? You?

Traditional leaders all over Nigeria are public officials functioning under state laws? No Oba, King or Emir in Nigeria is above their state governor or state laws.

Oba of Benin is a well respected traditional ruler in Nigeria and he not only respect himself, he has enough wisdom and maturity to stay out of open politics and shenanigan beyond his palace and scope of authority.

Let him step out of that role and see how fast he gets dethroned.

Read the Nigerian and state constitution before your next post.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Stirling0: 6:35am On Mar 11, 2020
NGpatriot:
They are very very touchable, but they won't be touched not because because they are sacred, but because they have more than enough sense not to overstep their bounds or openly swim in politics and volatile issues beyond their palace.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Stirling0: 6:40am On Mar 11, 2020
NGpatriot:
[s][/s]

More ignorant than I thought..

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Stirling0: 6:40am On Mar 11, 2020
NGpatriot:

Questions, please tell us where the Oba of Benin gets his staff of office from?

Where? From himself or from the governor?

Your comedy is really getting stale.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Stirling0: 6:42am On Mar 11, 2020
NGpatriot:

lmao. The funniest joke of the day? Is Benin a different country outside Nigeria with their own different constitution??

Stop talking irrelevant rubbish, there's a difference between succession and state law's supremacy over traditional rulers.

Any state in Nigeria can dethrone any king regardless of the replacement or succession line.

I honestly think I'm wasting my time with this comedian.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by ednut1(m): 6:47am On Mar 11, 2020
famouscargo4u:

He was dethroned by Awolowo but what happened thereafter? Awolowo died a very shameful death and Bode Thomas his right hand man barked till he died.
lies
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by ednut1(m): 6:56am On Mar 11, 2020
kapelvej:
No. He fought the British. Mo one replaced him on while in Calabar. The throne was empty till he died. The throne was taken by his son after he died. The oba of Bini are usually not human, they are gods.
gods but was beaten blue black by the small british forces smh

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Babacele: 7:12am On Mar 11, 2020
CharleyBright:

What do you know small boy?
Didnt Sani Abacha remove a Sultan of Sokoto?
U werent born then i guess.

Just to let you know, things have changed. This is not precolonial era. Traditional rulers are now puppets on a string. They are no more powerful as they were before, they can be removed at anytime if they dont play ball... and they know it.
By the way, who pays their bill?

leave am make e dey dream.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by nengibo: 7:54am On Mar 11, 2020
The same Oba of Benin that was exiled and his charms and artifacts are on display in uk
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Malawian(m): 10:26am On Mar 11, 2020
seunmsg:

The fact is that the British dethroned him exactly the same way Dosunmu was dethroned in Lagos. They removed him, looted his palace, burn down whatever was left of the palace and exiled him to calabar. And guess what, nothing happened to the British officers that conquered him.

Has the Oba of Benin been dethroned before? Yes. It makes no difference if it was done by a conquering British government or the government of Edo State.

The British colonized Nigeria without dethroning so many traditional ruler. In fact, after Ovonramwen surrender himself, he begged the British to leave him on the throne but they refused. He was dethroned and banished deliberately.

The point of the argument is clear, governors can dethrone any traditional ruler within their state. Oba of Benin is not an exception. If Oba involves himself in politics and becomes so unlucky that the person he supported publicly lost, and the victorious governor is a vindictive and crazy person like Ganduje, he will dethrone the Oba and nothing will happen.

Power lies where men believes it does, and for the Bini people, power lies with their Oba!! In all, everyone on this thread has only repeated a single fact... The one with the bigger guns is the law. Can the Nigerian government go the Britain to dethrone the Queen of England? The Nigerian Governors may be able to dethrone a king in their domain because they have the bigger guns. Without those guns, can they do shit? Just look at the military presence when Sanusi was being escorted out. If it was Sanusi that had such guns, who in his right senses will go there to dethrone him? Abubakar Shekau (The Boko King) is somewhere in his palace in Sambisa Forest, Oya go and dethrone him. Afterall, we all know he has big guns of his own.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Laxra: 10:53am On Mar 11, 2020
ghostwon:

Mental health issues is a real problem in Nigeria:

1) where did you see me defending the Bible or the Qur'an ?
2) religion is a myth, history is verryfiable facts.
3) what the guy was saying is not my history nor folklore, rather a story meant to humiliate a brave emperor, Omo n'Oba n'Edo Ovonramwen.

Please have a shrink examine you, you are not well in the head.
the Bible and Quran is just an example of what you'll defend even when its not yours.
but for your history is fuzzy to you while the history written on paper is legit to you.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Laxra: 11:01am On Mar 11, 2020
ghostwon:

Precolonial maps of Benin Kingdom:

Some of the maps:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b77595185.r=Benin?rk=21459;2

http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b7759521n.r=Benin?rk=21459;2

An other map of Benin made in the 17th century once again:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b530530714.r=Benin?rk=214593;2

An other map of Benin from the 17th century:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b8595583b.r=Benin?rk=193134;0

This one date to the 19th century:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b846939

"Oral history" is made up story. Only uneducated people would pay attention to "oral history".
Normal history requires every element to be proven.
According to precolonial maps and other precolonial records, Ishanland is part of Benin empire.
Recently, being part of Benin empire has transformed into "migrating from Benin". Nope, you are part of Benin, not Benin city but Benin empire !
Yes the Enogies are related to the Oba of Benin.
That is in order.
its individual like this that i hate.
when was paper invented(written language),every information was orally transmitted,does that make oral information less valuable to written information?
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Laxra: 11:04am On Mar 11, 2020
[quote author=HornyTave post=87336091]

When you discuss written History, you also look from the angle of the writer also, the Bini has no method of writing except 'sculptures ' 'Night folk tales' 'songs '.

IN MY OPINION the only history that's credible on my part about the Bini History is the Portuguese account. The written History by the British Empire about Bini on my part is a story of the Conqueror over the Conquered
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Nobody: 1:11pm On Mar 11, 2020
Laxra:

its individual like this that i hate.
when was paper invented(written language),every information was orally transmitted,does that make oral information less valuable to written information?
try and make sense. You are clearly mentally ill.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Nobody: 1:12pm On Mar 11, 2020
Laxra:

seriously,the British are more credible to our ancestral kings.
folks like you will always believe that whites are better to black man.
You are clearly mentally ill.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Nobody: 1:12pm On Mar 11, 2020
Laxra:

the Bible and Quran is just an example of what you'll defend even when its not yours.
but for your history is fuzzy to you while the history written on paper is legit to you.
Makes no sense at all. You are mentally ill.
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Hyperchi(m): 1:17pm On Mar 11, 2020
kapelvej:
No. He fought the British. Mo one replaced him on while in Calabar. The throne was empty till he died. The throne was taken by his son after he died. The oba of Bini are usually not human, they are gods.

So what makes the British who exile him King of gods
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by TylerDurden: 1:28pm On Mar 11, 2020
GeneralTopic:
Ever since Sanusi Lamido Sanusi was ousted as the emir of Kano, by the Kano State Government, I have been reading comments in here like...

"they can never try this with (Inserts the name of one compound chief from a remote village)"

"the government will never attempt to uninstall (inserts the name of a family chief)"

Bla Bla Bla...

See, there is Royalty and there is Royalty. There are momentous levels to this game that goes beyond our 50 kobo sentiments...

The aura and charisma a traditional stool oozes, together with its historical progression and significance is how it will be treated...

Apart from these SS3 boys below:

Ooni of Ife
Oba of Benin (this particular one is nobody's mate)
Sultan of Sokoto

Your traditional ruler is at the mercy of the state government. The government will install and uninstall him like a mobile app and nothing will happen�... It is a very bitter pill to swallow. I know that. But let's resist the urge to argue about "realism" and "idealism" today... On this discourse, please ignore what is ideal and rather talk about what is obtainable.

Written by: Teddy Benson

Sultan of Sokoto that Abacha sacked..

Go and ask about Sultan Dasuki
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by kapelvej: 1:38pm On Mar 11, 2020
Hyperchi:

So what makes the British who exile him King of gods
E pain am
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Lifestone(m): 1:45pm On Mar 11, 2020
mrvitalis:

He has been dethroned in 1955 relax
The father of the current Alafin
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Hyperchi(m): 2:03pm On Mar 11, 2020
kapelvej:
E pain am

U dry pass sahara

Turkish Shipyard Dearsan To Modernize Nigerian Navy’s Flagship / Edo 2024: INEC Publishes Final List Of Candidates / Governor Ajimobi Sacks SSG, Commissioners & Advisers

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 50