Stats: 3,151,840 members, 7,813,826 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 07:16 PM

English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? - Sports (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? (33994 Views)

Who Has The Best Midfield Trio In The Epl This Season (photo) / Best Midfield Trio ? Xavi-busquets-iniesta Or Kroos-casemiro-modric? / RETURN LEG: Which Team Has What It Takes To Enter The Next Round Of Hifl® 2018? (2) (3) (4)

Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by EBEk101(m): 2:57pm On Aug 05, 2021
Mrjonah:

Tout kee you der onuku

One spotted
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by proxillin(m): 2:57pm On Aug 05, 2021
MrColdsweat:

Kante is a good tackler but he is very limited. Kante cannot do the job of a deep lying playmaker.

Non tactical that messed modric and his army up.

How tactical do you have to be to do that?

Maybe you have to be God to be tactical

Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Mangekyo: 2:58pm On Aug 05, 2021
MrColdsweat:
typical loud mouthed chelsea fan.

Granit xhaka is a more complete midfielder than ngolo kante. Kante can only tackle and break up play. Xhaka can tackle, can assist, can shoot, long pass accuracy, free kicks etc.

Typical assnalTARD! If you're really comparing xhatrash who wouldn't even be mentioned in the top 50 premier league midfielders to kante, then I don't see how you aren't deluded. Xhaka should be compared to the likes of Fred & donny van de Beek. *spits

Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Cnach: 2:59pm On Aug 05, 2021
IBILEmayweather:
Fool, you intentionally omitted Arsenal ��‍♂️
Guy e do make them omit arsenal
Club wen him fans no fit go watch any match they laugh come back.
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by proxillin(m): 3:00pm On Aug 05, 2021
MrColdsweat:

Granit xhaka is a more complete midfielder than ngolo kante. Kante can only tackle and break up play. Xhaka can tackle, can assist, can shoot, long pass accuracy, free kicks etc.

that kid called gilmour is better than xaka.

We know who is getting mentioned in ballon d'or

Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Cnach: 3:01pm On Aug 05, 2021
Mrjonah:

Tout kee you der onuku
Oga Jonah y u dey abuse person on top English football mata? Na fun it suppose b bc e no too concern us
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by PropertyVendor(m): 3:04pm On Aug 05, 2021
MrColdsweat:

Even Granit xhaka won't agree with you..
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Asiseeit: 3:12pm On Aug 05, 2021
koladebrainiac:
ManCity has the best midfield follow by Man united

But the most effective midfield is Chelsea

Very well said. The finesse, silk, swagger and personality (as in the way the players are heralded) are with the 2 manchester clubs midfield. But Chelsea's midfield is super efficient/effective. They do their jobs to the T.

Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by noble2faith(m): 3:12pm On Aug 05, 2021
Lamasta:

Manchester City still has the best midfielders so far in EPL...

De Bruyne

Gondoghan

Mahrez

Fernandinho

B.Silva

Rodrigo

Foden

Tell me why we will not still win the EPL this season cool

With all these, their ass was whooped thrice in the space of 6 weeks. Mancity got the luck that Tuchel didn't take over very early of last season.
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by MrColdsweat: 3:16pm On Aug 05, 2021
PropertyVendor:

Even Granit xhaka won't agree with you..
Listen. Being good at your job doesn't make you the best. Kante tackling and intercepting doesn't mean he's best. We saw how kante struggled when lampard pushed him high up the pitch.

Even jorginho is a better midfielder than kante.

Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Lamasta(m): 3:16pm On Aug 05, 2021
noble2faith:

With all these, their ass was whooped thrice in the space of 6 weeks. Mancity got the luck that Tuchel didn't take over very early of last season.

Oga una don win now na to dey shout Tuchel dis Tuchel that we dey here na 1 season or 2 I give the Tuchel before una tone go change....Na here we dey league go soon start we will see what your Tuchel wants to offer grin
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by dammywapes(m): 3:16pm On Aug 05, 2021
But wait o OP dey ask who geh better midfield sm pple dey talk one player ino get Kna only one player dey make midfield... 21/22 city midfield will b fire cos dem don agree grealish fee but kna still league dem go collect. Dem b local champion dem no geh champe sense. I b man utd omo we no geh midfield o kna clown dey support pogback n Fernandez.... fred&tomminay grin
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by MrColdsweat: 3:18pm On Aug 05, 2021
proxillin:

that kid called gilmour is better than xaka.

We know who is getting mentioned in ballon d'or

Kante wey no enter epl team of the year?

Chelsea people grin

Cho cho cho fc
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by OMNIVIRUS(m): 3:19pm On Aug 05, 2021
Mangekyo:

What are you even saying? There's nothing like a 4-4-3 formation.
Kante can function in a 4-3-3 formation, if that's what you meant. He's done it so many times in the French national team
Nope.
He is in a 4-2-3-1
With either pogba or maituidi in that world cup winning campaign
He's part of a double pivot, with him being the main dm and the other the box to box
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by proxillin(m): 3:24pm On Aug 05, 2021
MrColdsweat:

Listen. Being good at your job doesn't make you the best. Kante tackling and intercepting doesn't mean he's best. We saw how kante struggled when lampard pushed him high up the pitch.

all chelsea players struggled under lampard...this mason mount we are praising now was nearly stoned during lampard era. Kante has won EPL best player in the past. Where was xhaka.

It even sound stupid arguing with you on this xhaka stuff. When Kante took on Mancity and Madrid and won man of the match. He faced Verane, Modric, casemiro, Toni Kross, Berdando silver et.c.. Xhaka can't even lace the boots of all these players.

Tell us what xhaka has done.

Abi you intentionally whining us ni?

Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Eillyeillz(m): 3:24pm On Aug 05, 2021
BigDawsNet:

Let hope Elliott get that chance to enjoy good football at Liverpool

Saul is a likely deal ...I'm pretty sure we can't sell gini without a replacement...

Rumor Philippe is heading back to Anfield

I read it too, and I know it's never happening, but he might still end up in England, I hope he enjoyed his days at barca.
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by dammywapes(m): 3:24pm On Aug 05, 2021
Which xhaka bros?
MrColdsweat:

Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by MrColdsweat: 3:24pm On Aug 05, 2021
Mangekyo:

Typical assnalTARD! If you're really comparing xhatrash who wouldn't even be mentioned in the top 50 premier league midfielders to kante, then I don't see how you aren't deluded. Xhaka should be compared to the likes of Fred & donny van de Beek. *spits

Actually Fred is also a more complete midfielder than kante. Fred can tackle, can assist, can shoot from distance, can score free kicks etc.

You Chelsea noisemakers only use tackles as a metric for comparison when it comes to kante. Because kante can tackle more than xhaka, does it mean he's better xhaka?

Xhaka can score free kicks. He even scored a free-kick against Chelsea.

Has kante scored a free-kick in his entire career?

Midfield football is much more than tackles.
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by proxillin(m): 3:28pm On Aug 05, 2021
MrColdsweat:

Kante wey no enter epl team of the year?

Chelsea people grin

Cho cho cho fc

and he enter Champions league.. won champeeeeeeee. Arsenal lolzzzz..arsenal fans...I have never seen a lousy set of people.

You no even go champions league, you are still arguing here...

The op no even put arsenal in the list...una get problem oooo

mumu haters...even football pundits has never talk this ur mumu talk..

werey plenty for nairaland ooo...african football analyst
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Mangekyo: 3:32pm On Aug 05, 2021
OMNIVIRUS:

Nope.
He is in a 4-2-3-1
With either pogba or maituidi in that world cup winning campaign
He's part of a double pivot, with him being the main dm and the other the box to box

Im not talking about this year's euro 2020. I'm talking about world cup. France used 4-3-3 in World cup and won it with kante playing as a, lone defensive midfielder. Sit down man
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by noble2faith(m): 3:35pm On Aug 05, 2021
MrColdsweat:

Stop arguing blindly.
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Craggybogg: 3:35pm On Aug 05, 2021
sebrenaayo:
Man city first.. followed by Chelsea

Got defeated 3times back to back, with the combination of those midfield players. KBD only stands out
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by MrColdsweat: 3:37pm On Aug 05, 2021
proxillin:

and he enter Champions league.. won champeeeeeeee. Arsenal lolzzzz..arsenal fans...I have never seen a lousy set of people.

You no even go champions league, you are still arguing here...

The op no even put arsenal in the list...una get problem oooo

mumu haters...even football pundits has never talk this ur mumu talk..

werey plenty for nairaland ooo...african football analyst

The funny thing is, I'm not even an arsenal fan. But you can have a good time laughing at yourself.

There are several defensive midfielders with better footballing abilities than Kante. Casemiro, fernandinho, alcantara, jorginho, Fernando reges, gundogan, kimmich, joan jordan, dani parejo, but I'll stick with xhaka for now.

If use tackles as your yardstick for comparison, I'll use free-kicks.

Please, tell us, when has Kante scored a 40 yard screamer or a free-kick in his career?
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Mangekyo: 3:38pm On Aug 05, 2021
MrColdsweat:

Actually Fred is also a more complete midfielder than kante. Fred can tackle, can assist, can shoot from distance, can score free kicks etc.

You Chelsea noisemakers only use tackles as a metric for comparison when it comes to kante. Because kante can tackle more than xhaka, does it mean he's better xhaka?

Guy your brain dey leak?
So you're acrually saying Xhala is better than Kante? grin I can't believe this. Typical assnaltard! See lemme tell you, Xhaka wouldnt make it into Chelsea's 23 man squad. It's not a joke.

Kante is a defensive midfielder. He does his role well and this season hes shown he can do what normal cm and attacking midfielders do too.

It would be an honor for Xhaka to lace the boot of the world cup and Uefa Champions league winner cheesy
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by noble2faith(m): 3:38pm On Aug 05, 2021
proxillin:

all chelsea players struggled under lampard...this mason mount we are praising now was nearly stoned during lampard era. Kante has won EPL best player in the past. Where was xhaka.

It even sound stupid arguing with you on this xhaka stuff. When Kante took on Mancity and Madrid and won man of the match. He faced Verane, Modric, casemiro, Toni Kross, Berdando silver et.c.. Xhaka can't even lace the boots of all these players.

Tell us what xhaka has done.

Abi you intentionally whining us ni?

Oga, u get time to dey argue with day arsenal guy oo. Person wey u suppose put for hibernation mode.
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Euegene100001: 3:39pm On Aug 05, 2021
Lead city
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by proxillin(m): 3:39pm On Aug 05, 2021
MrColdsweat:

Chelsea have captain, freekick and penalty taker. Kante is not one of them.

Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Asiseeit: 3:41pm On Aug 05, 2021
OMNIVIRUS:

Kante is an incredible Dm, but tactically speaking, he cannot function as a lone pivot in a 4-4-3.
Kante is limited to either a 4-2-3-1, 3-4-3 or 4-4-2, with another box to box and very good wingers.
The implications is that he is a specialist dm and will need other players to augment in terms of the goals and assist department.
The best midfield right now in world football is Mancity.k
With KDB, Gundogan, Rodri, Bernardo Silva, Fernandinho, Phil Foden is already mouthwatering.
With the inclusion of the technically gifted Jack Grealish, that proposition becomes scary.
The can morph into any variations you want and retain attacking intent.... its scary

Hmmmn... This your analysis get as e be.
For starters, the post is talking about best midfield composing 3-5 players, but you seem to be talking about best midfielder, 1 player. At least the part where you mentioned Kante.

So e dey 1 kind. But even at that, the analysis still bend.

Kante is a DM(with M meaning midfielder). Currently, he is the best in that position and it takes a lot of tactical nous to be a DM. You break up play with tackles and interception and immediately launch an attack. He has to do all these without getting sent off and he succeeds!

After SIX years in the PL as a successful DM he has 29 yellow cards(5 every season) and Zero red card!!

The other players you mentioned are excellent midfielders (except Rodri last season, it wasn't his best season imo ) but none of them currently can do what Kante does in a team. Case in point - A 'Kante player' in the manchester team would have made it more difficult for Chelsea to win the champions league.

Many people also overlook the creative side of the man. He is often the the guy that pass the ball to the guy that makes the assist. E.g Assist for Havertz shot against Madrid that Werner scored and assist for Pulisic assist that Mount scored. He was heavily involved going forward last season. That's the reason they say Kante is everywhere... From front to back!

That said, Manchester city's midfield(5 players - with Fernandinho instead of Rodri) is silkier than Chelsea's - they are more beautiful to the eyes and that is why most of their play go through midfield unlike Chelsea that prefer wingbacks bombing forward...
Only say Guardiola dey overtinker them in big matches.

Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by Kingcalls: 3:42pm On Aug 05, 2021
proxillin:

The best midfield won the champions league last season...chelsea haters should use their brain for once

English Premiership and not champions league...dint u see the topic...u guys even struggled to mk top 4 on the last day
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by noble2faith(m): 3:42pm On Aug 05, 2021
Lamasta:
[/b]
Oga una don win now na to dey shout Tuchel dis Tuchel that we dey here na 1 season or 2 I give the Tuchel before una tone go change....Na here we dey league go soon start we will see what your Tuchel wants to offer grin

I no dispute that one. E fit happen. Wetin I dey tell u b sey dis same Mancity midfielders wet u dey worship so no see anything do against Chelsea three times dey meet.
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by BobbyZrealist(m): 3:48pm On Aug 05, 2021
Pastorjohn2:

Leave football for men
Go back to your brothel

Daughter of Jezebel

She made more sense than you.
Chelsea has the best midfield.
And still all u could do is to throw tantrums.
U sound misogynistic.
Grow up!! Don't be petty.
Re: English Premier League: Which Team Has The Best Midfield? by MrColdsweat: 3:49pm On Aug 05, 2021
proxillin:

Chelsea have captain, freekick and penalty taker. Kante is not one of them.

Football is much more than tackles. Have you wondered why Milner is highly rated?

Milner can play every position on the pitch. And he plays it well. Milner spent a full year as a left back and gave 10 assists.

How is Kante better than Milner when Milner can play his DM position and even played the position AM where Kante struggled?

Chukwuma Agbo Is Dead! Eagles Assistant Coach Dies / 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™: The Five Best World Cup Games To Watch... / This Is How The Next Super Eagles Team Should Be

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51