Stats: 3,151,796 members, 7,813,626 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 03:13 PM

Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper (48399 Views)

The NTA Did Not Ask General Gowon To Speak In Hausa / President Buhari Salutes General Gowon At 86, Calls Him A Gallant Soldier / General Gowon Sitting And Eating On The Floor In Benin In 1967 (Throwback Photo) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by StOla: 1:15pm On Oct 20, 2023
Magnanimity as a post-war policy, is where Gowon stands out as a leader.
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by LordBillionz: 1:17pm On Oct 20, 2023
Gowon is the man that instituted the divide and rule tactic that has very much being weaponized and is being used against us.

He killed this country through institutionalisation of tribalism.

Triablism = Gowon
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by press9jatv: 1:17pm On Oct 20, 2023
Happy birthday to General Yakubu gowon . Meanwhile, Ojukwu Ran Away From Biafra With Money, Leaving His People Poor and Starving”

~General Yakubu Gowon

Video Credit: Dr pen king on Twitter

https://twitter.com/drpenking/status/1711480218043531665

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RBjbQY8bfR0?si=84J5zsTT3ISouJcz

Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by ErenXSatoru(f): 1:18pm On Oct 20, 2023
Go On With Killing Igbo People
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Godstiger(m): 1:18pm On Oct 20, 2023
Atleast he is still alive to witness the continuety of his project "one nigeria"
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Leeok2: 1:18pm On Oct 20, 2023
hbd to him

Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by MrBanner(m): 1:18pm On Oct 20, 2023
Leeok2:
hbd to him
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by omooba969(m): 1:19pm On Oct 20, 2023
This life though...Ojukwu is still being grateful to Gowon, even in death. grin

Igbos should celebrate Gowon more! grin

Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Kobojunkie: 1:19pm On Oct 20, 2023
farem:
General Gowon is 89 today!
Nigerian Herald first edition 50 years ago.
Happy birthday Gen Dr Gowon@89 !!!
This is a man who helped render Nigeria the way it is today with his lack of foresight while he was president. Yet Nigerians continue to celebrate him over 50 years late. lipsrsealed
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Giftedhand47(m): 1:20pm On Oct 20, 2023
The youngest president Nigeria ever produced. What an honour

I fix faulty or dead iphones panels
Contact me via siggy below
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by lapintoz: 1:20pm On Oct 20, 2023
A very intelligent man. Showed Ojukwu and Co... shege!

Happy Birthday our former HS and C in C.
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by VinnyBaba: 1:21pm On Oct 20, 2023
Antoeni:
This Man That Slaughted Present Day IPOB Fathers and Grandfathers , When Greedy Col. Ojukwu Decided to Fight a Senseless War With The Nigeria Military, Senseless Ojukwu is Late And Gowon is Still Kicking,
HBD Gen GOWON

You Guys should stop diz Nonsense! πŸ˜•πŸ˜’

Both Men have Written their Names in GOLD!πŸ™‚πŸ™‚
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Lumarstone: 1:22pm On Oct 20, 2023
TemplarLandry:
Go On With One Nigeria!

A statement made when PDP, APC, LP, APGA, NNPP, EFCC, INEC, NNDC, ICPC, NYSC, FRSC, NUC, RAMFC, IPOB, ETC was not in existence.
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by YorubaSamurai: 1:22pm On Oct 20, 2023
The man who killed biafrans and raped the women grin grin grin
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Kobojunkie: 1:24pm On Oct 20, 2023
b3llo:
HBD Dr Gen Yakubu Jack Gowon GCFR. The father of Nigeria
Yes, he is the man who threw away Nigeria's biggest chance at becoming a developed nation when the opportunity presented itself during the Oil boom years. undecided

Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by CaptainFM1: 1:24pm On Oct 20, 2023
TemplarLandry:
Go On With One Nigeria!

How about the full meaning of TINUBU?
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Maga123: 1:26pm On Oct 20, 2023
Happy birthday great icon.For those still reigning curse and spreading death rumours about Gawon woe unto u. Thank God history is there.some people can be hypocritical in all they do forgeting that their tribes men pulled the hit that eliminated prominent leaders in the north the likes of Ahmadu Bello, Tafawa belewa etc.So this bone of contention dates back to ages long.I celebrates and wish rt.Gen. Yakubu gawon and may what ever u wish him this day be your portion
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Bahamas95(m): 1:27pm On Oct 20, 2023
I still can't believe none of these guys could fix the epileptic power supply in Nigeria. It's one of the things I hate most about this pathetic country......The power supply was even better when I was much younger, now to see light for 2hours a day na problem.
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Kobojunkie: 1:28pm On Oct 20, 2023
Bahamas95:
I still can't believe none of these guys could fix the epileptic power supply in Nigeria. It's one of the things I hate most about this pathetic country......The power supply was even better when I was much younger, now to see light for 2hours a day na problem.
Gowon had the opportunity and resources to do so but lacked foresight and intelligence necessary to rule a nation. undecided
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Okiton: 1:29pm On Oct 20, 2023
Evil man

I won't wish him evil but leave him for God judgement
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Irony1: 1:29pm On Oct 20, 2023
Mvnster:

When your biafra soldeirs went about killing leaders of other regions except your region, you expected the northerners to path on your back for a job well done? Gowon is a big clown definitely but you should accept responsibility for the result of your actions.

Oga shut up the Biafrans did not start the agression it was the northern soldiers that fired the first shot at Ogoja
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by CaptainFM1: 1:30pm On Oct 20, 2023
Kobojunkie:
Yes, he is the man who threw away Nigerias chance at becoming a developed nation when the opportunity presented itself. undecided

All successive government and heads of states failed. There's no time the opportunity/Chance of becoming a developed nation was never there. Even right now, the opportunity is very present if we are ready to take it. Governance is a continuum.

Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by zinaunreal(m): 1:30pm On Oct 20, 2023
The man who brought Nigeria to its present ugliness
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by omooba969(m): 1:30pm On Oct 20, 2023
Racoon:
The youngest Nigerian military Head of State, but he supervised the genocide of the Nigerian state against the East. Yet Gowon and TY Danjuma are not confessing their atrocities in the events of 1966 that have landed Nigeria where it is today.

Why do you absorb Odumegwu of his responsibility in the events of the civil war?

Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Irony1: 1:31pm On Oct 20, 2023
HeadlessMob:

That is why Ojukwu is now rotten in hell for being responsible for the deaths of over 2 million Children and women before running away to Abidjan with his family during the senseless civil war

And you are now God that decreed Ojukwu is in hell abi? Oga just shut and stop being unintelligent
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Kobojunkie: 1:31pm On Oct 20, 2023
CaptainFM1:
β–  All successive government and heads of states failed. There's no time the opportunity/Chance of becoming a developed nation was never there. Even right now, the opportunity is every present. Governance is a continuum.
Gowon had not just the opportunity but resources in abundance to make it happen. He failed to do so. undecided
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Akaegwu(m): 1:32pm On Oct 20, 2023
StOla:

You cannot suppress the Igbo in you.

You see why those that want Nigeria to progress have to avoid giving critical roles to those who only love Nigeria when they are the ones ruling.

See example below.

Very cunning patriots.
If the situation of things in Nigeria is OK with you. Go on. I can't keep quiet while politicians are mismanaging the scarce resources available in the country. With the current sets of politicians in Nigeria, we are doomed.

Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Irony1: 1:32pm On Oct 20, 2023
Antoeni:
This Man That Slaughted Present Day IPOB Fathers and Grandfathers , When Greedy Col. Ojukwu Decided to Fight a Senseless War With The Nigeria Military, Senseless Ojukwu is Late And Gowon is Still Kicking,
HBD Gen GOWON

The funny irony about this is that it was Nigerian army that fired the first shot all in the name of a police action. There was an agreement in Aburi that required Nigeria to adopt a confederation system of government similar to what is obtainable in spain. who reneged on the agreement after coming back to Lagos and meeting Awolowo and other Nigerian diplomats?
when you are honest with your responses you have your answer.

Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Trumpdonald5: 1:33pm On Oct 20, 2023
muykem:
That's when he dealt decisively with Ojukwu and his Biafra soldiers.

Dealt? The people he had to sell a whole Oil rich Bakassi to Cameroon before he could defeat?

Ojukwu was a better soldier than him.
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by correctguy101(m): 1:37pm On Oct 20, 2023
Akaegwu:
Go on until Nigerian becomes very useless and uninhabitable.

No matter how useless it becomes, it'll still be habitable albeit unbearably so... humans are that persistent and crazy... smh

The country is a sunk ship already. It's been drawing in too much water for too long and the results are what we're experiencing now.
Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by Judolisco(m): 1:39pm On Oct 20, 2023
Racoon:
The youngest Nigerian military Head of State, but he supervised the genocide of the Nigerian state against the East. Yet Gowon and TY Danjuma are not confessing their atrocities in the events of 1966 that have landed Nigeria where it is today.
did ojukwu apologise to his people for leading them to an unprepared war and then running away?

Re: Happy 89th Birthday To General Gowon. See This 50-Year Throwback Newspaper by juman(m): 1:39pm On Oct 20, 2023
Happy birthday to the general of generals.

Buhari Meets Service Chiefs (Photos) / NNPC Grants Dangote License To Import Fuel / Obidients Stage March For Peter Obi In Oyo (Video, Photos)