Stats: 3,153,786 members, 7,820,754 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 08:57 PM

Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food - Politics (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food (30845 Views)

Revolution Has Started' - Aisha Yesufu On Looting Of Truck Carrying Food Items I / London Judge Orders Confiscation Of $130M From Ex-governor Ibori / Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeriaโ€™s Borders (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by Yashita: 7:59am On Feb 10
iyke2frankeze:

Certain crops can grow very well in the North but not in the south while some grow in the south but not in the North. If we are one country as they claim, there is no need for that action.

Weโ€™re not one country, leave unity fantasy alone. Every state should think towards independent development and get ready for the breakup when the time comes.

Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by ChiefOkporghe: 8:00am On Feb 10
malali:
This is an Intelligent Decision by Niger state Governor.

[b]Controlling the open market to prevent bulk buyers from causing scarcity for small retail buyers involves implementing various measures and strategies:

Regulatory Policies: Implement regulations to prevent hoarding and price manipulation by bulk buyers. This may include setting limits on the quantity of goods an individual or entity can purchase within a specific timeframe.

Market Monitoring: Establish mechanisms for monitoring market activities to detect irregularities such as hoarding or price gouging. This could involve regulatory bodies, market surveillance teams, or technology-driven solutions like data analytics to track market trends and detect anomalies.

Price Controls: Consider implementing price controls or price ceilings on essential food items to prevent excessive price hikes that disproportionately affect small retail buyers. However, this approach should be carefully implemented to avoid unintended consequences such as black markets or reduced supply due to unprofitability.

Supply Chain Management: Improve supply chain management to ensure efficient distribution of goods from producers to retailers. This includes addressing logistical challenges, improving infrastructure, and promoting transparency and fairness in the supply chain.

Support for Small Retailers: Provide support and incentives for small retailers to enhance their purchasing power and competitiveness. This could include access to credit, training programs, and cooperative purchasing arrangements to leverage economies of scale.

Market Information: Facilitate access to timely and accurate market information for both bulk buyers and small retailers. This empowers market participants to make informed decisions and reduces the likelihood of sudden shortages or price spikes.

Promote Competition: Encourage competition in the market by reducing barriers to entry for new players and fostering a diverse supplier base. This can help mitigate the dominance of large bulk buyers and create a more level playing field for small retailers.

Public Awareness and Education: Raise public awareness about responsible consumption practices and the impact of hoarding on market stability. Educating consumers about their rights and responsibilities can help foster a culture of fair trade and discourage speculative behavior.

By implementing a combination of regulatory measures, market monitoring, supply chain improvements, support for small retailers, and promoting competition and consumer education, authorities can better control the open market and mitigate the adverse effects of bulk buyers on small retail buyers.[/b]

Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by spacechuks(m): 8:02am On Feb 10
Slimlord:

How can you compare oil with farm produce? Is farm produce a natural resource?

No, farm product is not a natural resources, it is artificial resources, it is planted on human body and produce food from human body,

Anything from the soil is natural,

Plant and animal fossils made up oil and gas,

So get sense,

If the south stop oil exploration from their land and water, Nigeria will be gone,

Just subsidy removal, people are dieing of hunger and poverty

Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by theredaddy: 8:08am On Feb 10
malali:

[b]Controlling the open market to prevent bulk buyers from causing scarcity for small retail buyers involves implementing various measures and strategies:

Regulatory Policies: Implement regulations to prevent hoarding and price manipulation by bulk buyers. This may include setting limits on the quantity of goods an individual or entity can purchase within a specific timeframe.

Market Monitoring: Establish mechanisms for monitoring market activities to detect irregularities such as hoarding or price gouging. This could involve regulatory bodies, market surveillance teams, or technology-driven solutions like data analytics to track market trends and detect anomalies.

Price Controls: Consider implementing price controls or price ceilings on essential food items to prevent excessive price hikes that disproportionately affect small retail buyers. However, this approach should be carefully implemented to avoid unintended consequences such as black markets or reduced supply due to unprofitability.

Supply Chain Management: Improve supply chain management to ensure efficient distribution of goods from producers to retailers. This includes addressing logistical challenges, improving infrastructure, and promoting transparency and fairness in the supply chain.

Support for Small Retailers: Provide support and incentives for small retailers to enhance their purchasing power and competitiveness. This could include access to credit, training programs, and cooperative purchasing arrangements to leverage economies of scale.

Market Information: Facilitate access to timely and accurate market information for both bulk buyers and small retailers. This empowers market participants to make informed decisions and reduces the likelihood of sudden shortages or price spikes.

Promote Competition: Encourage competition in the market by reducing barriers to entry for new players and fostering a diverse supplier base. This can help mitigate the dominance of large bulk buyers and create a more level playing field for small retailers.

Public Awareness and Education: Raise public awareness about responsible consumption practices and the impact of hoarding on market stability. Educating consumers about their rights and responsibilities can help foster a culture of fair trade and discourage speculative behavior.

By implementing a combination of regulatory measures, market monitoring, supply chain improvements, support for small retailers, and promoting competition and consumer education, authorities can better control the open market and mitigate the adverse effects of bulk buyers on small retail buyers.[/b]

For an Exam i might score you 100% but one thing i have learnt being a Nigerian for over 3 decades is that, Nigeria market forces don't respond to conventional theories and textbooks, no thanks to corruption, greed & get rich quick syndromes

1st and foremost, do Nigeria have enough food on ground to cater for over 200million population, before insecurity challenges we don't even have enough farmers doing the do

From a holistic approach, the best the govt can do is Open our borders and lift ban on contrabands, Opening of border

a. it will ameliorate the control of Middlemen

b. It will reduce the demand on dollar

c. Different sourcing of food supply will promote a competitive market

d. Excessive supply of food into the market reinforces market forces to determine price not few individuals, with excessive supply prices will crash

The only thing Govt have to do here is issue a directive to Open the Border, every other thing will fall in line by peoples action

Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by FarmPlanetNG: 8:11am On Feb 10
Righthussle:
I'm always surprised when Christians complain about hardship. It's either they don't know how powerful their god is, or their god has lost his power, or they're not asking in the proper name of their god. A god that turned water to wine in a party should be able to turn sand to rice or garri, stones to pieces of meat in a time like this for his worshippers. Just ask

John 14:14, If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it.

Your brain is twisted with your twisted narrative. Did the scriptures not say seed and harvest time shall remain!? Why cry that the barns are empty in harvest time? If you all labour during the time for work, would you suffer lack ? When rain falls in China, they rush to the farmlands, in Nigeria, you all rush to brothels for nonsense

Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by goldmatrix(m): 8:11am On Feb 10
That is the resource control we have been talking about.. Each Zone should provide for her people politically, economically and otherwise
That alone bring growth of the republic
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by peesleem(m): 8:12am On Feb 10
gbagyiza:

This is a temporary measure put in place to bring down the raising food scarcity in the state. It's meant to reduce the level of hunger in the state. Yes there will be scarcity of cash but availability of food for citizens to eat will be prioritised. Moreover, payment of salaries for workers, pension for pensioner's n bills for contractors will go a long way to make cash available within this period. Also trade by barter will as well help to stabilise things within this period. Like I said this iniative can only stand on a temporary ground not longterm plan. The focus now should be on how to overcome shortage of food n prices hike by the government.
1. There is no shortage of food.
The bone of contention is the high price of food.
What are the factors that leads to the high price of food, we should not forget that there farmers have also inccure debt, when generating capital and other expenses for cost of production and maintenance of the crop planted. So therefore the cost of production will be recoup by the products which also leads to high price of food stuff, not even talking of transportation now.

Will the farmer sell below the price index

And also most of these goods are perishable goods
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by maiunguwar: 8:12am On Feb 10
oskopy:
Very soon, there will be scarcity of cash in poor niger state.the decision will have a very big side effect
Don't mind the ijiot gwabna,he seems not to know that the Niger masses have to sell those commodities to afford other essentials
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by Yashita: 8:12am On Feb 10
thinkartvisuals:
This is indirectly asking other states to ingage positively to it's farming to be fit to feed it's inhabitants. Well, this isn't too bad, so many lands has been vacant enough, Nigerians has refused to farm, we are on the verge were your money won't be able to buy you food items / farm produce, except the ones you harvest from your farm. I still remember how President Buhari adviced Nigerians to embrace farming, but we thought it was some kind of joke.

He advised to embrace farming but when his people the Fulani herdsmen started disturbing and killing farmers on their farmlands, he did nothing.

Let people feel secured working on their farms first, people will really farm, I believe.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by Okoroawusa: 8:15am On Feb 10
This one don smoke something
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by okorogodwin4(m): 8:16am On Feb 10
Greedy governors you stole and confiscate federal allocation monthly and load it in trucks and bullion van to your bank account shame on Nigerian politicians
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by WINDSOW(m): 8:17am On Feb 10
The disadvantages of this policy out-weight the advantages.
Excess food items will get spoilt and shortage to the farmers. I also hope the aim is not a silent fight against non-Northerners.
Infact, Nigeria is disgusting.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by ibinaboonline: 8:19am On Feb 10

Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by DarkJeddi(m): 8:20am On Feb 10
malali:

Capping rubbish..
This is unconstitutional and you are very myopic,if you think banning the sale of farm produce is the panacea for the hunger in the land..
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by danilo16(m): 8:22am On Feb 10
If that's the case, the South should start importing food from somewhere. This is terrorism , knowing full well that the South depends 50% on the food supply from the North, likewise the north depends on the resources from the South.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by smileyoo: 8:22am On Feb 10
FutureFocus:
Every state should take food security seriously ,
Those unused land should be used for farming, your youth can not be sitting idle all days pressing phones and be expecting food to be imported at cheap price, arrest them and send them to the farm by force by fire.

Government officials suvs should be confiscated, sold and the proceeds use to buy tractors for farmers.
without the government addressing the issue of national insecurities, especially the killings of farmers in their farmlands, nothing will force people to farm, not even hunger will force the citizens to go to farm.
why is the APC government reluctant to face the real problems confronting Nigerians, especially farmers, which is national insecurities ?
it's not fair to be blaming Nigerians of laziness, because average Nigerian had never ever depends on the government for anything, but the irresponsibility of the FG in protecting the lives of Nigerians, especially farmers, had created toxic environment for every Nigerian, especially farmers.
the heinous activities of Fulani -herdsmen terrorists across the nation need to be checkmated by the government urgently, at this crucial period, this government has no more choice than to do the right thing.

Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by faceland: 8:22am On Feb 10
saintjimos:
Hunger in the land

I know it is not the trader fault but I can't help hate them for the WEEKLY increase of food stuff... That is how all the poor are looking at middle-class.

Unfortunately, I can't boycott food or I would.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by theredaddy: 8:23am On Feb 10
Chimarto:
They're benefiting from our oil free of charge and they don't want us to buy food with our own money?

Is the We.st that cos this unity else they won't have been holding the south to his balls . Let open our border for food importation quickly.

Make I hold this my one bag of rice very well, I will never complain because I'm learning the political lesson the EBI PAWAers are teaching us.

Th North don't hold us be the balls, as a matter of fact locally Nigeria don't have enough food or farmers to cater for the population

The pressure and demand on the North is tew much at the moment, hence why the govt have to apply a temporary solution which is to open our borders and lift ban on food item

Most of these contraband dominate our market at exorbitant prices already its not as of the Ban are effective, Govt should lift the ban and we will witness price crash

When the north produces more than enough for themselves to consume, they will be compelled to sell to South at reasonable prices (fear of waste) but when North starve themselves to meet South demand it will definitely come at high price

Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by faceland: 8:24am On Feb 10
smileyoo:
without the government addressing the issue of national insecurities, especially the killings of farmers in their farmlands, nothing will force people to farm, not even hunger will force the citizens to go to farm.
why is the APC government reluctant to face the real problems confronting Nigerians, especially farmers, which is national insecurities ?
it's not fair to be blaming Nigerians of laziness, because average Nigerian had never ever depends on the government for anything, but the irresponsibility of the FG in protecting the lives of Nigerians, especially farmers, had created toxic environment for every Nigerian, especially farmers.
the heinous activities of Fulani -herdsmen terrorists across the nation need to be checkmated by the government urgently, at this crucial period, this government has no more choice than to do the right thing.

All the traders say it is mostly transportation. They must survive. They must make a profit. If after selling they are at a lose, then why spend energy and time selling? So they artificially increase price until it is worth opening shop.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by Gmajor(m): 8:26am On Feb 10
One Nigeria only when it favours them.
Nonsense
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by Bobolanko(m): 8:27am On Feb 10
This will not work, it will only create new income opportunities for the police and other enforcement people like civil defense and vigilante who will be collecting Roger before allowing the produce trucks to move. Some will even escort the truck until they get outside the state premises.

No be this Nigeria we dey? Dey play.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by udemzyudex(m): 8:28am On Feb 10
malali:

He is ensuring and guaranteeing food security for Niger State.

Trash trash trash loads of trash.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by cardoctor(m): 8:29am On Feb 10
U dey sleep before abi? Just waking up.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by GoldenJAT(m): 8:30am On Feb 10
Righthussle:
I'm always surprised when Christians complain about hardship. It's either they don't know how powerful their god is, or their god has lost his power, or they're not asking in the proper name of their god. A god that turned water to wine in a party should be able to turn sand to rice or garri, stones to pieces of meat in a time like this for his worshippers. Just ask

Isn't it obvious that you are a nonentity? What is in your brain is sand! Ordinary sand. If you don't have anything sensible to say, it will be better you keep shut.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by Yashita: 8:32am On Feb 10
danilo16:
If that's the case, the South should start importing food from somewhere. This is terrorism , knowing full well that the South depends 50% on the food supply from the North, likewise the north depends on the resources from the South.

Eliminate โ€œdependencyโ€. Look into regional independent production of everything in all aspects and see how things will work like China ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ณ
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by Cassandraloius: 8:32am On Feb 10
Na wa! I reserve my comment.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by smileyoo: 8:33am On Feb 10
faceland:

All the traders say it is mostly transportation. They must survive. They must make a profit. If after selling they are at a lose, then why spend energy and time selling? So they artificially increase price until it is worth opening shop.
but if there is surplus produce of farm products as it used to be, the traders will have no choice than to sell it at the normal price.
all these that this governor is doing is just a window dressing, that will have it own negative consequences.

Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by Righthussle: 8:36am On Feb 10
GoldenJAT:
Isn't it obvious that you are a nonentity? What is in your brain is sand! Ordinary sand. If you don't have anything sensible to say, it will be better you keep shut.

๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ your god is fake
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by Righthussle: 8:38am On Feb 10
FarmPlanetNG:

Your brain is twisted with your twisted narrative. Did the scriptures not say seed and harvest time shall remain!? Why cry that the barns are empty in harvest time? If you all labour during the time for work, would you suffer lack ? When rain falls in China, they rush to the farmlands, in Nigeria, you all rush to brothels for nonsense

๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ your god is fake.

John 14:14, If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it. ANYTHING
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by Righthussle: 8:39am On Feb 10
ExudeLoveToAll:

Get well soon.

Your god is fake and full of lies. Sorry.
Re: Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food by ahmedio2017(m): 8:40am On Feb 10
Righthussle:

Lolz you are not serious ooooo, that religion is a scam walai, Jesus Christ PBUH knew nothing about Christianity....

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

Wike Commissions Old Aba-port Harcourt Road, Iriebe Housing Estate Today / EFCC Closes Case Against Metuh / Bukola Saraki Sacks 98 Aides

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 141