Stats: 3,152,122 members, 7,814,939 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 12:22 AM

Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? - Health (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? (24149 Views)

Onitsha General Hospital Is Now Officially Federal Medical Center Onitsha (photo / Ijeoma Akunyili Appointed Chief Medical Officer By Jersey City Medical Center US / Flood Overtakes Federal Medical Centre Otuoke, Bayelsa (Photo) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Yankee101: 8:29pm On Apr 16
Teaching of course
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Angelfrost(m): 8:29pm On Apr 16
Even from their names, you can easily know the difference...!

There are cases where FMC has no choice but to transfer to the nearest Teaching Hospital.

That should answer your question.
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by mrvitalis(m): 8:30pm On Apr 16
Is this even a question... Teaching hospital na by far

A mere consultant can head a department in a medical Center

But can't happen in a teaching hospital

Teaching hospital are the Zenith of medical hospitals

They are the last bus stop.. Research Institute too
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Drbarmes(m): 8:31pm On Apr 16
How important is this question, pls?
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Btruth: 8:34pm On Apr 16
NHS Hospital @ Seven Kings......lol
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by DesireV: 8:34pm On Apr 16
Finlja:
Na Practical all of them dey use poor man do.

Most especially that Uch..my dad (of blessed memory) see shege there,

40 days + below knee amputation and Las Las he still go.

May his soul continues to R.I.P
Sorry about your loss but may I know if he was diabetic and for how long?
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by fortunechy(m): 8:38pm On Apr 16
Teaching hospital is far higher. FMC can reffer patients to teaching hospital...
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by otokx(m): 8:39pm On Apr 16
Teaching Hospitals especially the federal owned
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Holysucker(m): 8:48pm On Apr 16
okezuoemmanue:
FMC Owerri just got upgraded to Federal University Teaching Hospital... I think that answers ur question

Are you in owerri?
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by godwon01(m): 8:50pm On Apr 16
Teaching hospital of course. You will see a lot of consultant and several professors of Med/Sur. Several top allied professionals and of course students Nurses that always add glamour to the environment.

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Fiscus105(m): 8:50pm On Apr 16
Kemistri3:
Which is higher in rank between a...

Federal Medical Center and

A University Teaching Hospital

I'd appreciate your comments

Some medical centres are also teaching
hospitals.

Meanwhile, FMCs in term of personnel and facilities are better than several states' teaching hospitals.

Teaching hospitals of federal schools are the best.

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by heysquare(m): 8:52pm On Apr 16
Kemistri3:

Federal Medical Centre (General Hospital) is a secondary health care while Teaching Hospitals is a tertiary health care

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by KennethOkonkwo: 8:54pm On Apr 16
Finlja:
Na Practical all of them dey use poor man do.

Most especially that Uch..my dad (of blessed memory) see shege there,

40 days + below knee amputation and Las Las he still go.

May his soul continues to R.I.P
You lack knowledge!..na UCH dey give life?

Sorry for your loss though.

Yaradua,Stella obasanjo,ojukwu,Akeredolu etc that all died in a hospital abroad,I guess it was a "practical" whatever you called it that cost their life too.

Most time when the private hospitals are done emptying your pocket,Its still the same UCH and other TH you often return to

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by KennethOkonkwo: 8:55pm On Apr 16
dontrulee:
Teaching hospitals are higher ranked, they have more staffs, more specialists and more facilities. I have worked in both teaching hospitals and federal medical centers.

However, the federal medical centre in Owo is higher ranked than the stupid teaching hospital in Akure, Ondo state. It baffles me how a teaching hospital will be sending referrals to a federal medical center.
Its because you lack knowledge of how health system actually works!

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by KennethOkonkwo: 8:57pm On Apr 16
dontrulee:

So sorry about your loss.
May his soul rest in peace.
I agree with you, usually the workload in most teaching hospitals and federal medical centers is too much that patients are not getting the bests of care leading to their untimely demise. It's so sad, may Nigeria never happen to us

I guess it was Nigeria that happened to all our politicians that ended up dying in hospitalsabroad from Akeredolu to Abba kyanite to Stella obasanjo to Ojukwu etc!
Una just dey spit rubbish

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Alawode01(m): 8:59pm On Apr 16
Federal medical center, Teaching hospital is just a practical facilities under federal medical staff are all qualified and certified medical personnel while teaching hospitals are for trainers.
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Cathyg: 9:01pm On Apr 16
I used to think FMC is another name for teaching hospital, i didn't know theres even a difference 😏

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Kavod: 9:02pm On Apr 16
Kemistri3:

NA HOW YOUR BRAIN DE FUNCTION, SCHOOL NOR REALLY MATTER... I KNOW PEOPLE WHEN GO COVENANT UNIVERSITY WHEN WORSE PASS PEOPLE WHEN GO NEKEDE POLYTECHNIC
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by BoldBrainz(m): 9:02pm On Apr 16
I get better health services at FMC Abuja though.
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by ellizy(m): 9:03pm On Apr 16
Dem dey transfer patients from FMC to LUTH
This should answer your question
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by RichDaniels: 9:06pm On Apr 16
Kemistri3:

Both are the same, there is no teaching hospital that doesn't have the same facilities as a Federal Medical Centre. Nonetheless, FMC are for states that do not have federal universities that require a teaching hospital. All states in the federation has a teaching hospital if they have a federal university offering medicine and an FMC if they do not have a medical facility that is fedral

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Father4all: 9:07pm On Apr 16
They are both specialist in malaria and typhoid only grin
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by dontrulee: 9:07pm On Apr 16
KennethOkonkwo:

I guess it was Nigeria that happened to all our politicians that ended up dying in hospitalsabroad from Akeredolu to Abba kyanite to Stella obasanjo to Ojukwu etc!
Una just dey spit rubbish

Alright, may you find yourself in a teaching hospital in Nigeria and you'll know if I dey spit rubbish.
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by dontrulee: 9:09pm On Apr 16
KennethOkonkwo:

Its because you lack knowledge of how health system actually works!

No need to reply someone like you who lack basic understanding
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by KennethOkonkwo: 9:09pm On Apr 16
dontrulee:

Alright, may you find yourself in a teaching hospital in Nigeria and you'll know if I dey spit rubbish.
Let what befall Akeredolu and co who died in their hospital abroad befall you first!
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by santaclaws: 9:09pm On Apr 16
Kemistri3:

Teaching hospital ranks higher and you would face more cases that would help you develop your medical knowledge.

FMCs aren't as tedious as teaching hospitals, so you might enjoy the experience more if that's your aim.

But as per ranking, FMCs are just like general hospitals owned by the FG. Even some can't measure up in a state like Lagos where the general hospitals are top notch.

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by dontrulee: 9:12pm On Apr 16
KennethOkonkwo:

Let what befall Akeredolu and co who died in their hospital abroad befall you first!

It will befall you first since you talk say I dey speak nonsense. And when Nigeria finally happens to you, you'll remember my word this day. Have a wonderful night
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by tiswell(m): 9:19pm On Apr 16
tolaade1960:
Teaching hospitals higher in terms of consultancy and advanced health care services . but a state that does not have Teaching hospital , Fmc is located.
lies, Anambra has both fmc and teaching hospitals

Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by Orangedreams: 9:20pm On Apr 16
Teaching Hospital is way ahead of FMC.

FMC is a very smaller unit of a teaching Hospital.
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by prophetfire: 9:21pm On Apr 16
Kemistri3:

Teaching hospitals rank higher.
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by jude5240(m): 9:21pm On Apr 16
santaclaws:

Teaching hospital ranks higher and you would face more cases that would help you develop your medical knowledge.

FMCs aren't as tedious as teaching hospitals, so you might enjoy the experience more if that's your aim.

But as per ranking, FMCs are just like general hospitals owned by the FG. Even some can't measure up in a state like Lagos where the hospitals are top notch.

A point minus 0.4 IMO
Re: Between Federal Medical Center And Teaching Hospital, Which Is Higher Ranked?? by critic007(m): 9:21pm On Apr 16
blamingthedevil:
Teaching Hospital is the highest in any jurisdiction

Depends.

Most states teaching hospitals are not as equipped compared to the federal teaching hospitals... So not all teaching hospitals are higher than federal medical centers. So many factors determine.

Should Ac And Sc Genotype Marry / Pfizer COVID-19 Vaccine:Margaret Keenan Is 1st In world To Get It / Addicted To Coca-Cola

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37