Stats: 3,152,660 members, 7,816,692 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 03:25 PM

FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force - Politics (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force (20285 Views)

FG Appoints Pwc As Growth And Employment Project Administrator / FG Appoints Ladan, Director Of DPR / Peter Obi Appointed As Chairman Of SEC By President Jonathan (2) (3) (4)

Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by Nigerd(m): 11:39am On Feb 08, 2012
@ CRITICS,

We tends to allow, Religious, Ethnic and Religious affiliation to govern our Love for this Country,

IF we agree that there are cartel in the oil Industry or in Government generally, and Ribadu is a man of proven integrity , why not allow him assist Nigerian in keeping tap on FUNDS accrue from OIL sales,

Let priorities our Affinity,

Good Move GEJ,
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by Guk: 11:51am On Feb 08, 2012
Truly a Nation run by wasteful Fools!!!! This exercise has the same terms fo reference with NEITI, what a shame!!! I will be disappointed if anyone of them accepted the offer.

Looking at the names, a number of them are just good guys who have never had it in their DNA to rock the boat.

Steve tried as Head of Service, he was frustrated. He was deployed to investgate NDDC, what has come out of it.

Olisa Agbakoba, na so so mouth and turenchi, no results to show for it except fatter pockets

Supo Sasore, former Attorney General in Lagos state & Comm for Justice. Good Guy!!! but this job needs mad dogs

Ituah Ighodalo, Auditor par excellence, forthright & honest, another Good Guy, this is just an unnessary distraction for him just like Ogun state Cargo airport was, nothing came out of that white elepahant project by Gbenga Daniel

Abba Kyari; Ms. Benedicta Molokwu; Samaila Zubairu, all worked in UBA; FCMB & Afribank respectively many years ago, good people but will be ineffective against the battle tested corrupt DPR people.

Unfortunately, good people are drawn into a corrupt system of govt to give it a semblance of credibility, they accept believing that they can changed things but unfortunately, after bn used, they are dumped, & the beat goes on, what a shame
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by olajide8(m): 12:02pm On Feb 08, 2012
ribadu doing what he is supposed to do man of integrity
steve orosonye it took a man of his caliber to to sack the NDDC Stinking board
olisa agbokogba nice legal person and he has a vision he can see the true removal of dirty in the system
i doubt the others sha!
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by begwong: 12:13pm On Feb 08, 2012
Remain Mallam Nasir El-Rufai so that he can keep quite. The 29plots he sold/stole on the eve of his tenure will no longer be questioned.ShegeNigeria!
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by 989900: 12:39pm On Feb 08, 2012
The way to a more clean and transparent government is gradual (it won't happen in a day nor under one dispensation). Are they saints? No.

But 'd rather stick with these "known devils" (Ribadu and Agbakoba).

The masses just need to keep an open eye and an open mind. . . keep pressing and fighting for what's rightfully theirs . . . .bit by bit things will get cleaner and more transparent.
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by AZeD1(m): 1:03pm On Feb 08, 2012
Niger_d:

@ CRITICS,

We tends to allow, Religious, Ethnic and Religious affiliation to govern our Love for this Country,

IF we agree that there are cartel in the oil Industry or in Government generally, and Ribadu is a man of proven integrity , why not allow him assist Nigerian in keeping tap on FUNDS accrue from OIL sales,

Let priorities our Affinity,

Good Move GEJ,
Why not sack the current minister and replace with Ribadu? T
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by Niseamaka(m): 1:09pm On Feb 08, 2012
executinal:

Politics = Dirty game . . . . . . .  Agbakoba, so after all this noise, you only need this position  grin grin grin grin

WHAT`S WRONG IN AVAILING YOUR SERVICES TO YOUR COUNTRY?. ARE YOU IMPLYING THAT AS A PERSISTENT CRITIC OF NIGERIAN
WOES, THAT HE SHOULD NOT SERVE HIS COUNTRY, AN OPPORTUNITY FOR HIM TO PUT ALL HIS SERMONS INTO PRACTICAL STEPS.
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by CuteTj(m): 2:31pm On Feb 08, 2012
I dont even know what to say.
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by CuteTj(m): 2:34pm On Feb 08, 2012
WHAT`S WRONG IN AVAILING YOUR SERVICES TO YOU COUNTRY?. ARE YOU IMPLYING THAT AS A PERSISTENT CRITIC OF NIGERIAN
WOES, THAT HE SHOULD NOT SERVE HIS COUNTRY, AN OPPORTUNITY FOR HIM TO PUT ALL HIS SERMONS INTO PRACTICAL STEPS.

Thats true.
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by aglomar: 2:38pm On Feb 08, 2012
I hope PDP won't set him up and destroy his political career.
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by aglomar: 2:39pm On Feb 08, 2012
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by aglomar: 2:42pm On Feb 08, 2012
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by olajide8(m): 2:45pm On Feb 08, 2012
always my thought because if we are going to have another president from the north he and sanusi lamido sansi is the only credible people from that area
aglomar:

Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by ssjalo(m): 2:47pm On Feb 08, 2012
MAY GOD HELP THEM TO MEET UP PEOPLE DESIRED.

HOPE NAIJA WOULD BE BETTER.
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by badesco(m): 2:49pm On Feb 08, 2012
A welcome development, but i hope Nuhu Ribadu would not polarized by the power that are above him.
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by cjfavour(m): 2:53pm On Feb 08, 2012
no PDP yes man. Are u sure this is gonna work?
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by Nobody: 2:53pm On Feb 08, 2012
GoodLuck good luck

Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by johnie: 4:33pm On Feb 08, 2012
Ribadu Under Pressure Over New Appointment, ACN Says He’s On His Own
Published on February 8, 2012 by

Former boss of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, and presidential candidate of the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, Malam Nuhu Ribadu is under enormous pressure to either accept or reject his appointment as head of petroleum revenue task force.

It was announced Tuesday that Ribadu had been appointed to head the 17-member petroleum revenue special task force constituted by the Federal Government.

Those who want him to reject the job said it was demeaning for a presidential candidate to accept an appointment offered him by a minister, adding it would have been more honourable if it came from the president himself.

Ribadu, who could not be reached for comments at press time, is said to be away in Afghanistan on an assignment by the United Nations.

However, his party, ACN, has issued a statement regarding the appointment, saying he takes the job in his personal capacity.

According to the party, in the statement signed by its National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, “the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) has reiterated its long-standing position barring members of the party from accepting appointments from the PDP-led Federal Government.

‘’As a political party, we wish to reiterate our position barring any member of our party from taking any appointment whatsoever from the PDP-led Federal Government. Any member of our party who takes such an appointment does so in his personal capacity,’’ it said.

ACN said, however, that as a leading opposition party, it will continue to play its role in ensuring good governance and contributing to nation building through its regular constructive criticisms which, hitherto and unfortunately so, have fallen on deaf ears.

The party said despite its efforts, as well as those of other parties, individuals and organisations, in offering well-meaning suggestions to the inept Jonathan administration, the administration has not demonstrated good faith in this respect.

‘’For instance, on the vexed issue of removal of petroleum subsidy, it is on record that our party, the Action Congress of Nigeria, responded with patriotic and constructive suggestions during a meeting between the President in Abuja. At the end of that meeting, President Jonathan promised to further consult with us before taking any further step in respect of the matter.

‘’To our amazement, and true to the deceptive nature of this Administration, we all woke up on January 1st, 2012, to learn that the government has unilaterally removed subsidy from petrol. How then can we, in good conscience, work with such an Administration?

How can we be sure that these slew of appointments are not being used by the Administration to shore up its sagging – or totally sagged – credibility?

‘’We believe that when a party as clueless and inept as the PDP finds itself incapable of solving the myriad of problems facing it, as it is currently the situation, the party should be humble and honest enough to accept its failure and cluelessness and openly seek help from the opposition parties.

‘’However, rushing to poach credible personalities from the opposition without first accepting that it is overwhelmed by the problems facing it smacks of underhand tactics aimed at decimating the opposition and also tarnishing the well-earned credibility of such personalities. After all, one can never be sure – going by the deceptive nature of the PDP – that the kind of appointment now being offered to Malam Ribadu is being made in good faith or just to get credible people to launder the government’s badly damaged image and credibility.

‘’There is also the possibility that booby-traps will be deliberately set for such credible personalities to guarantee their failure in their stated assignment, after which they will be ridiculed and dumped like an ordinary chump!’’ ACN said.

However, family members say Ribadu is still considering whether to accept the appointment or not, reports Premium Times, an on-line publication.

Premium Times also said it could not ascertain Tuesday if Ribadu was consulted before the appointment was announced, as he is currently outside the country on a special international anti-corruption assignment in Afghanistan.

The publication said sources close to Mr. Ribadu said “the ex-police officer had been under intense international and local pressure to give the nation a helping hand in its accountability quotient especially in the corruption-ridden oil sector, but he had repeatedly excused himself giving his ongoing United Nations assignment in Afghanistan as evidence that he was busy beyond bounds.

“He had also reportedly said he was not opposed to serving the nation in any capacity to advance its good governance, but could not overload his availability because of the United Nations assignment.

“When a new wave of pressure reportedly mounted again last month in the wake of the national outrage over the removal of oil subsidy, Mr. Ribadu was unreachable because, family sources say, he was at a Manchester Hospital in the UK helping to save the life of his only sister.”

Premium Times further reports that “With the Afghan assignment at an advanced stage, Mr. Ribadu started getting calls again. Family sources expect that he will ‘most certainly accept’ the assignment.

The task force, which has the immediate past Head of Service of the Federation, Steve Oronsaye, as deputy chairman, also includes other prominent Nigerians as members.

They are a one-time President of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) and constitutional lawyer, Olisa Agbakoba; Abba Kyari, Benedicta Molokwu, Supo Sasore, Tony Idigbe, Anthony George-Ikoli, Omolara, Ituah Ighodalo, Bon Otti, Olusegun Okunnu, Samaila Zubairu, Ignatius Adegunle, Gerald Ilukwe and two ex-officio officers representing the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) and the Federal Ministry of Finance.

http://pmnewsnigeria.com/2012/02/08/ribadu-under-pressure-over-new-appointment-acn-says-hes-on-his-own/
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by whyman(m): 4:51pm On Feb 08, 2012
As a patriotic citizen, I would asked him to take the job.

But, on a second thought I would asked him not to. He can only take that job if he is a hybrid zombie (mumu), like he did partially with Obasanjo regime. If he want to be very active and progressive he should also think of late Chief Bola Ige.

With these set of people in government you can not be a rising sun while they would be a fading star. Ribadu had to act the script that would be given to him petroleum minister and directed by PDP.

They only want to give credibility to the task force. Within the party itself there are people if given free hand to operate would give us a very good result.

It is just like asking Buhari to head such a task force.

I dey siddon look.
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by MAYOWAAK: 4:58pm On Feb 08, 2012
johnie:

Ribadu Under Pressure Over New Appointment, ACN Says He’s On His Own
Published on February 8, 2012 by

Former boss of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, and presidential candidate of the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, Malam Nuhu Ribadu is under enormous pressure to either accept or reject his appointment as head of petroleum revenue task force.

It was announced Tuesday that Ribadu had been appointed to head the 17-member petroleum revenue special task force constituted by the Federal Government.

Those who want him to reject the job said it was demeaning for a presidential candidate to accept an appointment offered him by a minister, adding it would have been more honourable if it came from the president himself.

Ribadu, who could not be reached for comments at press time, is said to be away in Afghanistan on an assignment by the United Nations.

However, his party, ACN, has issued a statement regarding the appointment, saying he takes the job in his personal capacity.

According to the party, in the statement signed by its National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, “the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) has reiterated its long-standing position barring members of the party from accepting appointments from the PDP-led Federal Government.

‘’As
a political party, we wish to reiterate our position barring any member of our party from taking any appointment whatsoever from the PDP-led Federal Government. Any member of our party who takes such an appointment does so in his personal capacity,’’ it said.

ACN said, however, that as a leading opposition party, it will continue to play its role in ensuring good governance and contributing to nation building through its regular constructive criticisms which, hitherto and unfortunately so, have fallen on deaf ears.

The party said despite its efforts, as well as those of other parties, individuals and organisations, in offering well-meaning suggestions to the inept Jonathan administration, the administration has not demonstrated good faith in this respect.

‘’For instance, on the vexed issue of removal of petroleum subsidy, it is on record that our party, the Action Congress of Nigeria, responded with patriotic and constructive suggestions during a meeting between the President in Abuja. At the end of that meeting, President Jonathan promised to further consult with us before taking any further step in respect of the matter.

‘’To our amazement, and true to the deceptive nature of this Administration, we all woke up on January 1st, 2012, to learn that the government has unilaterally removed subsidy from petrol. How then can we, in good conscience, work with such an Administration?

How can we be sure that these slew of appointments are not being used by the Administration to shore up its sagging – or totally sagged – credibility?

‘’We believe that when a party as clueless and inept as the PDP finds itself incapable of solving the myriad of problems facing it, as it is currently the situation, the party should be humble and honest enough to accept its failure and cluelessness and openly seek help from the opposition parties.

‘’However, rushing to poach credible personalities from the opposition without first accepting that it is overwhelmed by the problems facing it smacks of underhand tactics aimed at decimating the opposition and also tarnishing the well-earned credibility of such personalities. After all, one can never be sure – going by the deceptive nature of the PDP – that the kind of appointment now being offered to Malam Ribadu is being made in good faith or just to get credible people to launder the government’s badly damaged image and credibility.

‘’There is also the possibility that bosom-traps will be deliberately set for such credible personalities to guarantee their failure in their stated assignment, after which they will be ridiculed and dumped like an ordinary chump!’’ ACN said.

However, family members say Ribadu is still considering whether to accept the appointment or not, reports Premium Times, an on-line publication.

Premium Times also said it could not ascertain Tuesday if Ribadu was consulted before the appointment was announced, as he is currently outside the country on a special international anti-corruption assignment in Afghanistan.

The publication said sources close to Mr. Ribadu said “the ex-police officer had been under intense international and local pressure to give the nation a helping hand in its accountability quotient especially in the corruption-ridden oil sector, but he had repeatedly excused himself giving his ongoing United Nations assignment in Afghanistan as evidence that he was busy beyond bounds.

“He had also reportedly said he was not opposed to serving the nation in any capacity to advance its good governance, but could not overload his availability because of the United Nations assignment.

“When a new wave of pressure reportedly mounted again last month in the wake of the national outrage over the removal of oil subsidy, Mr. Ribadu was unreachable because, family sources say, he was at a Manchester Hospital in the UK helping to save the life of his only sister.”

Premium Times further reports that “With the Afghan assignment at an advanced stage, Mr. Ribadu started getting calls again. Family sources expect that he will ‘most certainly accept’ the assignment.

The task force, which has the immediate past Head of Service of the Federation, Steve Oronsaye, as deputy chairman, also includes other prominent Nigerians as members.

They are a one-time President of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) and constitutional lawyer, Olisa Agbakoba; Abba Kyari, Benedicta Molokwu, Supo Sasore, Tony Idigbe, Anthony George-Ikoli, Omolara, Ituah Ighodalo, Bon Otti, Olusegun Okunnu, Samaila Zubairu, Ignatius Adegunle, Gerald Ilukwe and two ex-officio officers representing the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) and the Federal Ministry of Finance.

http://pmnewsnigeria.com/2012/02/08/ribadu-under-pressure-over-new-appointment-acn-says-hes-on-his-own/

NO! NO!! NO!!! Mohammed Lai you are damn wrong, Ribadu was serving PDP-led govt before you used him to launder your party's image. In fact Ribadu's credibility was drastically washed away for identifying with Tinubu.
Again as party you may have opposed the subsidy removal policy, because that is your main job to oppose anything from the ruling party. But, it is instructive to let you behold that ACN Governors was among the governors forum that ask for subsidy removal and gave it a staunch support.Adams Oshiomole came out and boldly defended it and Fashola was among the delegation that parleyed with TUC/NLC to end the protest.Ribadu was not the creation of ACN, whatever claim you want to make on Ribadu, the credit should go to PDP. ACN betrayed Ribadu that they were able to get victory for fashola,all senators,house of rep and local government in Lagos but failed to ensure Ribadu's victory in Lagos, so shut up!
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by ak47mann(m): 5:31pm On Feb 08, 2012
Ribadu will clamp on all those ACN oil thieves subsidy,they think he forgot how he was used and dumped doing election i dey laugh chicken have come to roast cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by ak47mann(m): 5:40pm On Feb 08, 2012
ACN is just brain washing their people at the same time renegade their people/ACN members to the bottom without knowing  cool cool
Re: FG Appoints Nuhu Ribadu As Chairman Petroleum Revenue Task Force by MAYOWAAK: 6:28pm On Feb 08, 2012
I was greeted to numerous calls and mail yesterday when the administration
announced my name as Chairman of the 21-man Petroleum Revenue Special Task
Force.
Given my recent political pedigree, many inquirers naturally wanted to understand
what was happening, and whether it was true that I was consulted and whether I
would accept the offer.

The history of my life is a history of public service, and if we cast an honest look to
the recent protests in the wake of the oil subsidy removal, it will be clear to all that
the biggest single victory Nigerians scored was to put the question of corruption
squarely back on the top of our national policy agenda.
Regardless of our affiliations, our differences, and our engagements, it is at least
safe to say that we have a national consensus on the deadly impact of corruption on
our march to greatness, and on the capacity of our people, particularly the youth,
to earn a decent, promising, life.

If we would effectively isolate and defeat this scourge therefore, we must all see it as a preeminent national security threat. We must see it as a war within our borders, a war that has assumed a systemic and endemic character, but to which all must now urgently enlist with our different capacities, or accept to all go down with the ship.

At this point in my life, it is also easy to answer the honest question if it is
inappropriate to invest my modest talents and capabilities to my country what I
have readily offered many foreign communities, from sister nations in Africa to far
flung places like Afghanistan. This, if nothing, makes my decision very personal,
freeing all affiliations [social and political] of complicity, but investing the decision
also with the unique character that when people reach evaluations in favour of
their larger communities, it doesn’t necessarily blemish their moral identity.

This therefore is a national call. In answering it, I go back to the template of my
own parents who taught me that honest public service is the greatest asset a person can offer his community. It was the same lesson I learnt from his biographical example when my own father returned home as a federal legislator in Lagos to take job as a local council official in Yola—it is all about the community, and it is sometimes bigger than our personal egos.

http://www.facebook.com/ribadu?sk=app_187528191289132#!/ribadu?sk=wall

Corruption Is Massive Under Jonathan – US / 70 Christians Massacred In Plateau / Governors Approve Withdrawal Of $1 Billion From ECA To Fight Boko Haram

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57