Stats: 3,331,267 members, 8,449,491 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 July 2026 at 09:10 PM

Abdkabir's Posts

Nairaland ForumAbdkabir's ProfileAbdkabir's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 23 pages)

Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Whom Do You Like On Nairaland Or Want To Be Friends With? by abdkabir(m): 12:34am On Apr 07, 2007
I call u J names cos i know u.What do u think. THose shoes r pawaful O. Was that pic taken in d Summer.
CultureRe: Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! by abdkabir(m): 12:32am On Apr 07, 2007
Why not intermarry with the Yorubas or the Japanese (www.uneme.com) so as to preserve the language in the diaspora. grin
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Whom Do You Like On Nairaland Or Want To Be Friends With? by abdkabir(m): 12:28am On Apr 07, 2007
'Cos i know u.or @ least i think i do. What gives u the impression i have the impression that the j in j-girl suggests ur real name wink
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Whom Do You Like On Nairaland Or Want To Be Friends With? by abdkabir(m): 12:23am On Apr 07, 2007
okeeee you're not jumoke, where else will i be from, i am from the earth.I non alien liek you're.So r u Joy?
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Whom Do You Like On Nairaland Or Want To Be Friends With? by abdkabir(m): 12:17am On Apr 07, 2007
J-girl,it appears u've freaked out of the conversation cheesy cheesy cheesy. Well sha, i shall remember our chat as the one i had with with jumoke till i know ur name.
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Whom Do You Like On Nairaland Or Want To Be Friends With? by abdkabir(m): 12:13am On Apr 07, 2007
I'm waiting.
Forum GamesRe: Be The Last Person To Post Here: by abdkabir(m): 12:12am On Apr 07, 2007
I'm d 17225th cheesy
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Whom Do You Like On Nairaland Or Want To Be Friends With? by abdkabir(m): 12:09am On Apr 07, 2007
Wow, u can call abdulKabir @ least u know my Name.
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Whom Do You Like On Nairaland Or Want To Be Friends With? by abdkabir(m): 12:05am On Apr 07, 2007
So Jumoke wink may i know ya second name, u know mine already
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Whom Do You Like On Nairaland Or Want To Be Friends With? by abdkabir(m): 12:01am On Apr 07, 2007
We are getting there gradually. So how r u doing tonight, jumoke.
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Whom Do You Like On Nairaland Or Want To Be Friends With? by abdkabir(m): 11:56pm On Apr 06, 2007
I know u more than u think. wink Perhaps you could start interacting with me as well.
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Whom Do You Like On Nairaland Or Want To Be Friends With? by abdkabir(m): 11:48pm On Apr 06, 2007
Hey jumoke, wheres ma name.Or am i in the special list. grin
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Most Lagos Girls Are Ugly Why? by abdkabir(m): 11:46pm On Apr 06, 2007
Maybe its because of the Lagos Stress. U should go to Abakaliki to see the beautiful ones grin
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Gamine; The Love Of My Life by abdkabir(m): 11:45pm On Apr 06, 2007
Long Time my people.

@topic

This beta be an april fool's expression of love Kitaun as i'm the preferred candidate for La Senorita (Gamine). U shld be informed i'm about to finish the auction of my belongings to pay for the bride price. wink

So please i wish u guys to wish the duo a nice time. Kitaun, abeg, leave road for us now, don't behave like Obasanjo grin
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Acidrop don kill me o o o ! by abdkabir(m): 11:39pm On Apr 06, 2007
The Game Continue.

@acidrop

Which one be the first thing , the pic. Abegi Na Fight. Love isnt about d looks but the person. grin grin grin
CultureRe: Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! by abdkabir(m): 2:08am On Apr 06, 2007
The Uneme issue still goes on. huh huh huh

Well am no more talking about the Unemes but of one of them.

@Gamine, these ya picture dey kill me o. If Unemes are all like these then i'm Uneme for sure. wink
PoliticsCourt Rulings Are Complimentary says NBA by abdkabir(op): 11:52pm On Apr 04, 2007
Well, The lawyers say the recent INEC/Atiku related court rulings aren't contradictory but complemetary. Legal Analogies. wink So what do you think.

The Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) has said that there was no confusion or contradictory judgment arising from the verdict of the Court of Appeal and that of the Federal High Court on Vice President Atiku Abubakar‘s suit against the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Read More: http://www.tribune.com.ng/05042007/news/news4.html
IslamRe: God and Allah: Are they the same? by abdkabir(m): 3:49am On Apr 03, 2007
@stimulus

U will marvel @ how Faith, the Destiny of Man and the world around us fascinates me. I can tell u i've been mostly reading or finding info on religion since i wrote that post till n now.and its late already.

As regards the Nicene issue,

After reading so many things from, the council of nicea, Athanasius, Arius,Origenes, intermingling political and religious issues, et al (Many Thanks to Wikipedia). I guess it can be safe to say the councils, (Nicea et al) played a role in defining what we call the new testament today (A[i]s such, prior to cononization, there could have been ambiguity as regards the authenticity of some gospels[/i]). As you would agree with me, there were discrepancies as to which Gospel was apocryphal or not among pundits of early chistianity. A case wherein there was diverse opinion is d following:

Irenaeus was the first Christian writer to list all four of the now canonical Gospels as divinely-inspired, possibly in reaction to Marcion's edited version of the Gospel of Luke, which he (Marcion) asserted was the one and only true gospel.

more details under the Irenaeaeus asserts divine inspiration of canon section. @ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irenaeus.

From what i have found, the use of a common set of NT texts could be traced from the time of Athanasius. By then there was considerable/serious work towards compilation and some kind of standardization:

Athanasius is also the first person to identify the same 27 books of the New Testament that are in use today. Up until then, various similar lists of works to be read in churches were in use. A milestone in the evolution of the canon of New Testament books is his Easter letter from Alexandria, written in 367, usually referred to as his 39th Festal Letter. Pope Damasus, the Bishop of Rome in 382, promulgated a list of books which contained a New Testament canon identical to that of Athanasius. A synod in Hippone in 393 repeated Athansius' and Damasus' New Testament list (without the Epistle to the Hebrews), and a synod in Carthage in 397 repeated Athanasius' and Damasus' complete New Testament list.

Scholars have debated whether Athanasius' list in 367 was the basis for the later lists. Because Athanasius' canon is the closest canon of any of the Church Fathers to the canon used by Protestant churches today many Protestants point to Athanasius as the father of the canon. They are identical except that Athanasius includes the Book of Baruch and the Letter of Jeremiah and places the Book of Esther among the apocrypha along with the Wisdom of Solomon, Sirach (Ecclesiasticus), Judith, Tobit, the Didache, and the Shepherd of Hermas.[17] See the article, Biblical canon, for more details.

More info @ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athanasius.

As regards the authorship of "John", heres an info i read:

Authorship

The authorship has been disputed since at least the second century, with mainstream Christianity believing that the author is John son of Zebedee. Modern experts usually consider the author to be an unknown non-eyewitness, though many apologetic Christian scholars still hold to the conservative Johannine view.

The text itself is unclear about the issue. John 21:20-25 contains possibly autobiographical information. Conservative scholars generally assume I (v. 25), the disciple (v. 24) and the disciple whom Jesus loved (also known as the Beloved Disciple, v. 20) are the same person;[5][6] they further identify all three descriptors with the Apostle John through a combination of external and internal evidence.[7] Critics point out that the abrupt shift from third person to first person in vss. 24-25 indicates that while the author of the epilogue, who is supposed a third-party editor, claims the preceding narrative is based on the Beloved Disciple's testimony, while he himself is not the Beloved Disciple.[8][9]

Ancient testimony is similarly conflicted. Attestation of Johannine authorship can be found as early as Irenaeus.[10] Eusebius wrote that Irenaeus received his information from Polycarp, who is said to have received it from the Apostles directly.[11] Epiphanius, however, takes note of an early Christian sect, sometimes called the Alogi, which believed the Gospel was actually written by one Cerinthus, a second-century Gnostic (Panarion 51.3.1-6). In corroboration with this evidence is a quotation by Eusebius of Caesarea (History of the Church 7.25.2) in which Dionysius of Alexandria (mid-third century) claims the Apocalypse of John (known commonly as the Book of Revelation) was believed by some before him (7.25.1) to also have been written by Cerinthus.

Critical scholarship starting in the 19th century further questioned the apostle John's authorship, arguing that the work was written decades after the events it describes. The critical scholarship argues that there are differences in the composition of the Greek within the Gospel, such as breaks and inconsistencies in sequence, repetitions in the discourse, as well as passages that clearly do not belong to their context, and these suggest redaction.[12]

Raymond E. Brown, a biblical scholar who specialized in studying the Johannine community, summarizes a prevalent theory regarding the development of this gospel.[13] He identifies three layers of text in the Fourth Gospel (a situation that is paralleled by the synoptic gospels): 1) an initial version Brown considers based on personal experience of Jesus; 2) a structured literary creation by the evangelist which draws upon additional sources; and 3) the edited version that readers know today (Brown 1979).

More details @ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gospel_of_john#Authorship

Please the info i have provided is in no way to smear christianty but to discuss the issue using a source(wikipedia) i assume is relatively impartial to religious issues considering its critical and scientific stance.

Cheers. wink
IslamRe: God and Allah: Are they the same? by abdkabir(m): 12:43am On Apr 03, 2007
@stimulus

I dey with on the Jews/New Testament one.

Heres some info on the Nicene huh?:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicene
IslamRe: God and Allah: Are they the same? by abdkabir(m): 12:41am On Apr 03, 2007
drbelloim:
Madam Syrup i think you need to know more about the nicene creed before you start talking ,

No wonder the Jews believe in the new testaments that they wrote for you ,
I seem to disagree with your position that the followers of the Jewish religion believe in the New Testament. If they did they would be Christians.
IslamRe: Mohammed Never Yawned All His Life? by abdkabir(m): 12:38am On Apr 03, 2007
Enjoy yourself.
I didnt say you said so. Here is what i said: wink
abdkabir:
@Davidylan
It would be very unrealistic and unnatural to think [/b]Muhammed never yawned his life.
I don't see as amazing holding/ presentation of different views on religious issues. Particularly on an issue which doesnt constitute the core of Faith[b](sneezing).Muhammed is just a human being more important to us is his message that None is due of worship but the One. That holds us together regardless of our views.I guess it could be said that such a phenomenon(different views) isnt unique to islam, It exists in other idiosyncracies (religious or not).
IslamRe: Mohammed Never Yawned All His Life? by abdkabir(m): 12:21am On Apr 03, 2007
@Davidylan

U seem to relish tagreting muslims. Unfortunately, some of your arguments are clearly sentimental and not objective. The Knowledge opf Din(The path of Religion) is a continious process and in understanding the ifnormationpassed down on us we must be careful in not taking the words out of context. Its interesting that this position holds for both Islam and Christianity.

Allow me explain the issue of yawning (and still God knows Best), the Hadith you reproduced reports an (advice) of the prophet on the issue of yawning while on prayer. General uinderstanding of the Hadith would suggest that "Yawning during prayer should be suppressed as it could be a precursor to having sleeping while on prayer".Islam requires that we try to be in our most alert state while in prayer and thus try to avoid anything that could reduce our alertness concentration. It is believed that sneezing has a relieving effect aand thus be grateful to God by give praises (Alhamdulillah) after sneezing. The subsequent invocations following are advised to promote good relations btw anybody around the sneezer.

It would be very unrealistic and unnatursal to think Muhammed never yawned his life.He was after a a human being like me and you. He definately must have sneezed as Jesus Did.
IslamRe: Muslims: What Did You Learn In Islam Recently? by abdkabir(m): 12:05am On Apr 03, 2007
grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin Felicitations to everyone! grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
PoliticsRe: Next Yoruba President - How Long Will It Take ? by abdkabir(m): 10:33am On Apr 02, 2007
Don't really care! More boothered about when we'II be having a good president.
PoliticsRe: Inec Awards N4 Billion Election Transmission Contract To Pdp Senatorial Candidat by abdkabir(op): 7:27pm On Mar 31, 2007
I hope and Pray Reltel does the Job Accurately and Rightly.
PoliticsRe: Inec Awards N4 Billion Election Transmission Contract To Pdp Senatorial Candidat by abdkabir(op): 6:42pm On Mar 31, 2007
I don't believe INEC decision to contract Reltel for the Transmission of "Impartial". INEC has until now shown relative partiality in favour of teh ruling government. I guess this is just an additon.I advise you read this:

http://www.sunnewsonline.com/webpages/news/national/2007/mar/30/national-30-03-2007-01.htm

http://allafrica.com/stories/200703300269.html

http://allafrica.com/stories/200703270612.html

http://www.vanguardngr.com/articles/2002/viewpoints/vp122032007.html
CultureRe: Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! by abdkabir(m): 6:04pm On Mar 31, 2007
Hey, Long time, where have ya Been.For once i though, the G.O had censored yo participation from N/L. Hope u've seen my comment on ya New Pic.It clear it isnt Beyonce.

Should I take that as a Yes so i start selling my belongings to pay the Bride Price grin
PoliticsInec Awards N4 Billion Election Transmission Contract To Pdp Senatorial Candidat by abdkabir(op): 5:54pm On Mar 31, 2007
The worst electoral scandal is now brewing at INEC as Saharareporters has discovered that the company to which INEC recently awarded the N4 billion contract to transmit election results nationwide on election day is owned by an operative of the People Democratic Party (PDP).

Reliance Telecommunications Limited (RELTEL) is owned by Annie Okonkwo who is a close political and business associate of the PDP gubernatorial candidate in Anambra State, controversial Emmanuel Andy Uba and also Annie Okonkwo is the Senatorial candidate of Anambra State. His name is amongst those cleared by INEC in a recently released list of candidates . Annie Okonkwo is the candidate for Anambra Central in the April 2007 elections assuming the election hold as sched
uled.

From saharareporters.com

My search (reltel +okonkwo ) on google produced some news articles which corroborates saharareporters.

http://www.sunnewsonline.com/webpages/features/cybersun/2004/july/05/cybersun-july5-002.htm

http://www.sunnewsonline.com/webpages/features/ceomagazine/2004/sept/06/ceomagazine-sept06-001.htm

http://www.thenewsng.com/modules/zmagazine/article.php?articleid=13112

Food for Thought!
Christianity EtcRe: Facts About Palestine by abdkabir(m): 11:19pm On Mar 30, 2007
Hello There,
I've just seen this thread.I invite those seeking an objecvtive view to this issue to please read or listen to the audio on this link:

http://www.democracynow.org/finkelstein-benami.shtml

http://ia300229.us.archive.org/1/items/dn-finkelstein-benami/dn-finkelstein-benami_64kb.mp3

The reference, democracynow.org, is known for it works on the representation of the disenfranchised left and views u might necesarily see on corporate media. Democranow has championed human rights causes among other issues. A famous journalist froom the group Amy Goodman, made a fantastic report on the abuses Shell et al was commiting in the NIger delta. The site has got loads of fantastic articles. If u are interested in seeing a side of Media, different from what traditional "corporate media" bombards us with. Democracy now is a nice Place to be. wink

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amy_Goodman
Christianity EtcRe: Gombe Muslim Students Have Put Me In Sorrow By Killing My Friend by abdkabir(m): 11:04pm On Mar 30, 2007
Commiserations! cry cry cry

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 23 pages)