Stats: 3,325,153 members, 8,420,587 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 05:21 AM

AudreyTimms's Posts

Nairaland ForumAudreyTimms's ProfileAudreyTimms's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 (of 67 pages)

LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 10:16am On Oct 23, 2014
Toeyean1507:
*Getting ready for november's double celebration. I foresee a story dat will bench Unfulfilled promises.U know why? November is a unique month for unique tins and unique people like me. My bday gift frm u is certain already. *Going to book Third mainland bridge for the opening ceremony.
Hmmm....Unfulfilled Promises is still my all time favorite. I don't know if it would ever be benched. What's happening to you by November? Whisper it into my ears please. Third mainland bridge? Lmao! Thanks dear
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 10:13am On Oct 23, 2014
ConsciousMind:
How did you get intouch with your sugar mummy? I have business abroad for women like her.
Lol!
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 10:12am On Oct 23, 2014
Divepen:
Do you enjoy this story and that of others, are you going to keep on reading and not nominate your best writer. Please, do at the link below...
https://www.nairaland.com/1958564/literature-section-awards-nomination-thread

#Nairawriters
Weldone dear. Keep up the good work
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 10:10am On Oct 23, 2014
Emzypaz:

Guys, its time to nominate that writer you so wish to have interviewed this saturday on Nairaland. Just go in here and hit the like button on any post which has your favourite writer's name.
This is the link to the thread;
https://www.nairaland.com/1952165/weekly-interview-thread-subsidiary-dammysammytv/4....
You can also read the last edition of the interview. The guest was
Royver.

2. Crime
3. Comedy
4. Thriller
5. Romance
6. Fantasy and many more.
The link to the nomination thread is;https://www.nairaland.com/1958564/literature-section-awards-nomination-thread
Weldone dear. Keep up the good work
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 10:07am On Oct 23, 2014
Missmossy:
Dont mention,am on page 73 now. Enjoying every bit of your story,its a nice one.
Okay! Weldone. Thanks dear. I'm glad you're enjoying it
LiteratureRe: *****SCENARIO 75***** by AudreyTimms(f): 9:54am On Oct 23, 2014
Awwww! You're through with part one? *sniffs* And I didn't get to read even a single line of it. *sniffs again* Name my punishment. Anything!

*Stands up like a japanese warrior about to commit suicide for failing his emperor*
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 9:01pm On Oct 20, 2014
Missmossy:
Beautiful story Audrey Timms,stumbled upon it yesterday been glued to it ever since then. Now on page 33,well done.
Thanks dear. Hmm.....try to be fast sha. Contact me if you find any page missing.
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 8:55pm On Oct 20, 2014
fadario:
al-fadario is back...
ghost mode...**comes outta d shadow**

LUV U AUDREY

**Retracts into d shadows**
Welcome back. Love you too! Come back soon!
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 8:49pm On Oct 20, 2014
joe17:
November loading fast fast! *smiling as I imagine the fun ahead* **Greets Ma'am Audrey, gently walks out looking back**
*waves at him*. November is indeed fast approaching. Praying for it to slow down though.
WebmastersRe: How to Spot Rogue Web Developers before giving a project by AudreyTimms(f): 12:23pm On Oct 20, 2014
Guys, I need a web developer.
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 11:18am On Oct 09, 2014
daveP:
all naaah, i dont accept per se. Even terry G grin and pasuma? shocked grin
Lwkmd! I've got nothing against Terry G but pasuma? God forbs! grin
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 4:26pm On Oct 08, 2014
daveP:

Johnny Cash

Taylor Swift

Mumford sons....

how about Nigerian? Dont tell me you dont know. Or (smooches beard) arent you in Nig?
Lol! I'm in naija. All of them! grin
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 9:49am On Oct 08, 2014
daveP:
you dont fancy concertos/acappella? (narrows eyes)
Nah! I'm more into country music
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 9:48am On Oct 08, 2014
Divepen:
Hnmmmm...*Testing with Lie dectector*
Answer:
65% Loading...
..Loading....
Lwkmd!
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 5:35pm On Oct 07, 2014
Hameenat94:
dear Im 5n... I trust u nw.. Mrs Twister. Na 2 carry geepee tank join body by November
Lol!
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 5:33pm On Oct 07, 2014
daveP:
(sniff decemberness in the air) we'l all take a necessary 'holiday' soon, dont worry. wink

(whispers) are you a fan of handel or hadyn?
Nah! My uncle is though
LiteratureRe: A Thread For Appreciation For Our Literature Section Amazing Authors! by AudreyTimms(f): 3:40pm On Oct 07, 2014
Thanks so much, dear. You guys make it worthwhile.

@Bros Prince, I see you!
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 3:16pm On Oct 07, 2014
daveP:
grin that means the record still stands. Many just doze off in comfort when its on play@ concerts. Though not as bad as Enya's.

Hope youre cool? How was your buildup to this workshop? (she exhales)
Beethoven, Mozart, Enya, Yanni- Lullabies!

I'm cool. Hmmm.....strenuous! *she exhales*
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 3:10pm On Oct 07, 2014
ToriEmManson:
I dey o...jst dat I dey miss Oleng and Eric...Even u sef
Lol! Don't worry, they'll soon be replaced
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 2:45pm On Oct 07, 2014
ToriEmManson:
Sis Audrey
Sis Tori. How far?
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 2:39pm On Oct 07, 2014
morgann:
amazayn just had to create an acc n comment dis thread had me laughing n crying n of course kept me up late at night
I fell in love with dis series on naija stories n wen u did nt update there for a while I just had to check if it was on somewhere else u should av seen me wen I found it I was just xo happy
I relate with oleng cause am a teenager n I see this things happening a lot to girls
it has been an amazayn 2day ride with d comments some ppl made dat made me laugh expecially d one dat opted to sell handkerchiefs at a bargin price after daves death dat made me laugh admist my tears
thank you so much for sharing this story with us I am glad I found it u are nah officially my madam at the top in writing I LOVE U AUDREY TIMMS no homo
Awww! Thanks so much dear. I was having a problem with naijastories website. Hmmmm...yeah, I really enjoyed the comments too. Lmao! I'm so glad you loved it. I LOVE YOU TOO MORGANN, no homo. Lol!
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 2:12pm On Oct 07, 2014
Fatalveli:
Haa! Finally we are gonna have our Audrey back! *November tins loading* winks
Yayyyy! Can't wait to be back. Hopefully by November.
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 2:07pm On Oct 07, 2014
Hameenat94:
November? I jst decided 2 come here as a ghost reader buh pls its 2 far.. Hw have u been doing?
Lol! I've been very busy, my dear. I haven't even reached half of the story I'm to post by November. grin But I'm working on it. I don't want to post as I write. I want a complete story by then since I enjoy twisting stories. How you dey?
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 1:51pm On Oct 07, 2014
daveP:
(enters in concerto master's suit divided at the back like kirk franklin's. Takes a bow and picks up wand from table.

@ the click of a finger, a hidden wall gives way to a concerto band equipped with clarinets, trombones, OBOE, triangle, trumpets, saxos, violins and whatever is good for orchestral bewilderment. Waves hands as band stimulates the airwaves with a piece of Beethoven.

It ends on a high) Thank you! smiley (sits at piano) my fellow writers. Heres a song for y'all. smiley......

( test runs piano, as band kicks in with support. In high baritonic accent)

As we go on,

we remember,

all the times we, had together

and as our lives change, and whatever,

we will STILL BE....

FRIENDS FOREVERRRRRR........

(Stands to exit after applause, but floodlights refuse to off)

omo make this guy off this thing nah grin (runs)

One Love.

(comes back as Dave)
Lmao! Na wa o! So much drama! I slept off during the beethoven rendition sha!
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 1:45pm On Oct 07, 2014
repogirl:
You're most welcome, divepen, I appreciate the opportunity given me to participate, for it was a good learning experience for even myself. I wish you the best in your endeavors and many more great ideas as this one.
She took the words right out of mouth, Divepen. grin
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 12:53pm On Oct 06, 2014
Shokoloko:
I think I will just sit down here and wait till the next book comes out
Lol! You go wait till November be that!
LiteratureRe: Unfulfilled Promises By Audrey Timms by AudreyTimms(op): 12:51pm On Oct 06, 2014
Mj45:
Audrey I promise u I will scatter Eric and Oleng's "happily 4ever after" if u don't start d next bk as u promised oh................... Haba girly, u said 2 wks nah.

Pls don't let me be a home breaker.
Lol! When did I say two weeks? I remember saying November o! You can't scatter it o!
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 1:27pm On Oct 03, 2014
Wow! Repogirl, go and become a lecturer na! I totally loved it- concise and straight to the point. Weldone girl!
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 3:59pm On Oct 02, 2014
whitemosquito: Audrey darling, muchas gracias. Youre a rep saver. Lol. Thanks. Finally got hold of a laptop only to be told that the wi fi is dead.. Mssstchew. Ill deal with Divepen later.
You're welcome, dear. Glad I could help. I understand how you feel. Don't deal with Divepen too much sha. The guy has been through a lot! grin
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 3:11pm On Oct 02, 2014
(POSTED ON BEHALF OF WHITEMOSQUITO)

Types of Narrator
I'm humbled to have been given the opportunity
to share of my really very little knowledge/
experience...Most importantly, I'm excited to
have been included at all. It is the usual thing to
stick with people that you know or are familiar
with when it comes to things like this, and I'd
never related with Divey before, so imagine my
pleasant surprise to be included in such a great
idea.....I've never truly forgiven Larry for
shooting me down in his first Collabo thread.
LOL...
I'd like to start by giving a brief pedigree of
myself.
I started writing at age seven. Before that, like
most writers, I'd read my fair share of Enid
Blyton's and children literature as well as
anything I could lay my hands on, which
included, and was certainly not limited to, my
little Kiddies Dictionary.I read it in its entirety,
and I could tell the meaning of all the words
therein. No small feat for a seven year old; it was
157 page book. I think my fascination with
literature as a whole was birthed then. My
mother being the smart woman that she is, knew
her daughter was on to something and wholly
encouraged me.
I continued writing fiction till age twenty, when I
stopped, abruptly. For personal reasons. But,
that was when my Editing career began, and over
the next few years- six years plus till date- I have
edited literary works, whole magazines, etc non
stop.
I only began writing fiction again with my debut
novel, She Came With Hope, right here on
Nairaland... So, if I say that Im passionate about
literature, I think that would be a gross
understatement... Lol.
I however maintain, to anyone with whom I've
had that opportunity, that there is no new story
under the sun. There are those who would fight
me on that. Once again. Larry seems to be my
nemesis, Lol....but let's think about it for a
minute, shall we?
Stories have always been told from the beginning
of time. From the Bible stories of the Fall of Man
and the Angels, to the classics of Hansel and
Gretel, Cinderella, to the African myths and
Folklore of Nigeria's Tortoise and the Ghanaian
Kweku Anansi, stories have formed a huge part
of our existence. It's been how we preserve it..
Although the periphery may have changed, the
basic themes running through these stories;
themes of love, hate, fear, war and its
consequences, the opposing forces of good and
evil, etc are the same. If the gods are not
descending to earth to impregnate mortals and
sire[ the Fall of the angels, and the Greek myths],
then it is humans ascending to other planets/
space to be impregnated by Higher life forms[the
sci fi movie, EXTANT]..and the themes have
remained the same..
There really isn't any new story under the sun!
It's all been told before..and its part of the job of
a writer to recognise that, and rather than fight
it, embrace it, understand it and use it.
Personally, I like the way Divey has titled this
topic, but it is commonly referred to as FORMS
OF NARRATIVE. Sometime ago, on my thread Eru
ti Ife, I had cause to talk briefly about it, so below
is a highly simplified explanation of the different
narrative forms as it appears in my thread. I
hope you'll find it as comprehensive as possible.
So, I had to take time out to sort this once and
for all.. Because, I've noticed that a lot of Nl
writers stick strictly to the first person dialogue,
even when its obvious [to me, anyway] that their
story would be better told in the third person.
And may also be why most readers find my
writing style strange. grin
Why do you think you enjoy some stories more
than others? Its way more than mere
storyline;I've always maintained that there is no
new story under the sun. It has EVERYTHING to
do with how engaged the writer made you feel-
which is a function of the NARRATIVE.
Hopefully, this should clear all doubts and
misgivings:
There are many points of view for a writer to
choose from, and each has different problems,
responsibilities and effects. The available points
of view are first, second and third person.
The First Person
First of all, you need to decide how this story is
being told. Is the character writing it down?
Telling it out loud? Thinking it to their self? And if
they are writing it down, is it something meant to
be read by the public? Or is it a private diary? A
story meant for one other person? The way the
first person narrator is relating the story will
affect how you write it, the language you choose,
the length of your sentences, your tone of voice
and many other things. The reader should have
at least some sense of this as well. The way they
interpret a story could be very different if it is
told as a secret diary or if it is a public statement.
Another aspect to think about is how much time
has elapsed between when the character
experienced the events of the story and when
they decided to tell them. If only a few days have
passed, the story could be related very
differently than if the character was reflecting on
events of the distant past. Also think about why
the character is telling the story. What is their
motivation? Are they just trying to clear up
events for their own peace of mind? Make a
confession about a wrong they did? The reason
why a story is told will also affect how it is
written, and you at least should know the
answer, even if it never makes its way into the
text. And not only Why? but Why now?
A first person narrative is often more effective
when it is a first person narrator telling someone
else's story (in other words, when the narrator is
not the main character). This allows a certain
distance between the narrator and the events
which is impossible for the main character. On
the other hand, the inability to see the bigger
picture can sometimes be exploited to good
effect.
First Person Protagonist: For this point of view, a
character relates events that occurred to them;
the "I" is the main character, telling her or his
own story.
E.g
My stomach rumbled from the sour 'moimoi' I
had at my CDS dinner early in the evening. It had
seemed like a good idea at the time even though
I suspected the meal had spent way too much
time in the cooler or had been exposed to air
without proper preservation. - culled from 'She
came with Hope' by White Mosquito.
First Person Witness: The story of the main
character is told by another character observing
the events.
Her stomach rumbled from the sour 'moimoi'
she had at her CDS dinner early in the evening.
She had thought it a good idea at the time, even
though she suspected that the meal.....
First Person Re-teller: The story is told, not by a
witness to the events, but by someone who has
heard the story from yet another person.
Her stomach rumbled; I don't know why; it
probably was the sour 'moimoi' she had at her
CDS dinner early in the evening. You know how
sometimes you decide to risk eating something
even when you should know better. She had
thought it a good idea at the time, even though
she suspected that the meal....
The Third Person
Characters are referred to as "he" and "she" in
third person. In this case the narrator (who may
be indistinguishable from the author) is not a
character in the story. Depending on the type of
third person point of view, the narrator may
know -- and be able to tell about -- the thoughts
and feelings of all characters, or only one
character, or they may only be able to report
what is seen or heard.
Sometimes a third person narrator requires the
reader to accept the narrator's authority, which
they may be hesitant to do. Just because a
narrator sounds like they know it all, doesn't
mean they do. This may be why the first person
point of view has become more and more
popular -- it can be harder to get the reader to
identify with a nameless, third person teller.
However, third person narration is very flexible
and should not be discarded without thought. It
is still the most common point of view, and for
good reason.
When a writer is turning personal experiences
into fiction, it is often easier to write in third
person (even if they intend to put the final draft
in first person). This is because the third person
distances the reader (and the writer) from
events. It is easier to write about personal things
when you write as if they are happening to
someone else. It is also easier to change events --
often necessary to turn reality into fiction --
when you aren't claiming that it was you who
experienced them.
Third Person Omniscient: The narrator knows
everything; all thoughts, feelings, and actions
may be related to the reader (or they may be
withheld).
Her stomach rumbled. She had sour 'moimoi'
earlier in the evening at her CDS dinner. She had
struggled within herself, she suspected that the
meal had spent way too much time outside the
cooler, exposed without proper preservation.
She argued that she ought to eat it after all it was
her money's worth. You know how it feels to
cough up the compulsory fee for those blasted
Corper events. But it looked good. Just eat it now
and suffer later. You know you don't have food
in the house. I don't care. Yes you do..
Third Person Objective: The narrator can only
relate to the reader what is seen or heard. A
good writer can tell a completely objective story
in such a way that the reader is able to
determine the feelings and sometimes even the
thoughts of the characters through what those
characters say and do, even though the thoughts
and feelings are never described.
Her stomach rumbled throughout the night. She
kn ew it was the sour 'moimoi' from her CDS
dinner earlier that evening. So she swore.
"Dammn it," she said. "I should never have
discredited my better judgement." You see, she
had suspected it was stale when she caught a
whiff of the meal as it was served her. She was so
sure it had spent a considerable amount of time
outside the cooler without proper preservation..
Third Person Limited: The narrator is able to see
into the mind of a single character. Sometimes
the point of view may zoom in so close to that
character that the narrator begins to use that
character's manner of speech and thought, and
sometimes the narrator may step back to take a
more objective view. This point of view is sort of
the "default" in fiction -- it is the most common
because it can be used the most effectively in the
majority of situations. If there is no reason not
to use a third person limited point of view, then
it is probably the best choice (but you will find it
useful to experiment before choosing the point
of view for any given story; third person limited
may often work, but it isn't always the best point
of view. Don't be afraid to use other points of
view, just make sure you have a reason for your
choice). In longer forms like novels, third person
limited can be made even more effective by
changing the character that the point of view is
limited to. You must always be sure the reader
knows when you have switched points of view
and who you have changed to, however. If you
are going to use shifting third person points of
view, it is often best to change at a chapter or
section break, at least until you are proficient
enough at it that you won't lose your reader.
Her stomach was rumbling throughout the night.
She glanced at her watch. It was already half past
eleven. "Dammn that moimoi," she said, thinking
of how hungry she had been at her CDS dinner
earlier that evening. She had argued with herself
for an hour about whether she should eat it. She
had coughed up the entire fee charged each
corper by the Cds, so she was determined to
have her money's worth. Even though she
suspected the meal had spent way too much
time outside the cooler, without proper
preservation..
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 7:34pm On Oct 01, 2014
chibwike: you always dancing shoki. Longest tym audrey, hw have u been
Na shoki dey reign na. Lol! I'm good
LiteratureRe: Nairaland E- Workshop For Writers--Last Day Of 6(OCt5) by AudreyTimms(f): 12:41pm On Oct 01, 2014
PrettySpicey: Well done, Audrey Timms. I completely enjoyed it and learned something too.

Way to go, girl
*dancing shoki* Thanks dear. I'm glad you enjoyed it and learnt something. Loved yours too! I'll ask questions in private.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 (of 67 pages)