Stats: 3,325,254 members, 8,421,000 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 04:25 PM

EngrSaks's Posts

Nairaland ForumEngrSaks's ProfileEngrSaks's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)

TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 5:01pm On Dec 04, 2018
newsheriffintown:
Am sorry for the way i lashout. It was in the heat of the moment.
Make una no vest
Reason you used a uk address is because Google removed Nigeria from the options of countries allowed to register Adsense accounts.

Don't try to paint the truth, verification will not affect anything about your app. It just means you can't cash out your funds when you make any money

Your best option will be to buy a verified account or find a relative in the uk willing to take the risk.

Your story has a lot of red flags because you are intentionally bending the truth, so a stranger cannot trust that you do not need the address for something else

Another option is to relocate, as IT savvy people are needed in the Uk
TravelRe: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by EngrSaks(m): 11:34pm On Oct 23, 2018
UKmigrant:
Tick tock, exactly a year since I moved here!!! Uhmm! what can I say? Bitter sweet-experience, but can't complain sha.

Any regrets so far? Absolutely not!

Are things going according to my plans? Well, kinda! grin

All I can say is, life gets busy really quickly here, too many things to do personally, professionally, socially, and if you're religious, thats additional time commitments.

In summary, no matter how rosy it may seem to be "abroad", you'll work very hard for everything and the system would also try to take as much from you as possible.

But if you are obsessed with societal functionality, you cannot complain.

So for now, I keep cracking on. No time to look back grin

Happy anniversary to me!
Happy anniversary!

Did you get to save as much as you planned?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 10:28pm On Jun 12, 2018
fatima04:
After 4months of consistent search, numerous applications, several interviews and plenty rejection mail and calls, calling several recruiters day in day out, editing CV and cover letter up and down, prayers and all. Almighty Allah has favoured with a good job relating to my profession (Quantity surveying) at the least time I expected it.

I wi'll post more epistle and processes later to encourage so many spouses of intending and present migrant on Tier 2 or other visas
Mega Congratulations, so happy for you. You have a very good heart so you deserve the very best!!!

Enjoy the new job!
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 1:48pm On Jun 11, 2018
teejay231:
Contract web and software developers can charge upwards of £400 per day depending on experience and skill level. Investment bankers and stock brokers earn upwards of £10k to £30k per month excluding end of year bonuses of sometimes over £100k.

If you are interested in IT, you will need to research the market on what skills are in demand. A lot of companies in the UK tend to favour particular programming languages such as C#, PHP (WordPress, Drupal, Symfony, Laravel), Android (Java) and Python. Designers are also highly in demand especially UX and front-end designers with skills in modern JavaScript (Vue, React, Node.js). You have to be willing to learn as much as possible as quickly as possible. Information security is another in demand sector.
Thanks for the info
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 11:51am On Jun 11, 2018
Ralphlauren:
the financial services sector - banks, private equity firms, etc. this doesn't just apply to UK alone. it applies to EU and also the US.
the stats do not lie.
https://www.libf.ac.uk/study/financial-capability/my-financial-career
there is more to financial services/banking than depositing or withdrawing money. A lottttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt goes on at back office.

I have some friends in some of the major retail companies also earning big bucks - Data analytics roles and the likes.
Good stuff, thanks
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 11:48am On Jun 11, 2018
wonlasewonimi:
You only earn those higher daily rates with years of experience under your belt and you get into organisation and add value.
It's really not for everybody cos you are taking a big risk. In contracting world, the end client might decide they don't need you again after a week on the role and you have to start looking for another.
You can't just jump in there... For me it took about 6 years to get my foot in the door. To me it's a way of life and the ability to pick up new skills at various places whilst providing solutions to their problems.

It is actually very cheap for companies to pay those humongous rates cos they don't have to deal with employees NI, flexible benefits, pensions and redundancy etc Everything is paid in bulk and they fire and hire as they like.

With your case, if you start learning programming languages such as python or Ruby (they are easy to learn compared to others) you should be fine.
That makes it clearer, thanks
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 11:38am On Jun 11, 2018
Killingmesoftly:
Thanks for your encouragement is just that I am beginning to be scared again with all these informations I keep getting of going bk to Nigeria. I will try to leave.
I think the decision to go back to Naija will favour you only if your visiting visa hasn't expired. If it has expired and you go back to Naija that's trouble for you
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 9:32am On Jun 11, 2018
Our seniors in the house can you please throw more light on sectors/jobs that pay good money. It Would be an advantage to know the sectors outside the medical field that are balling.

Looking through Job websites I see jobs with salaries of £30-40k per year but people here have talked about jobs that pay £500, £650, £700 per day and someone even said £20k per month.

Those with such info should please help us in demystifying the uk job market Abeg o

TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 9:15am On Jun 11, 2018
Killingmesoftly:
@Fatima dear I am still waiting for your response or response from the house concering the online program. Ps brothers and sisters d'nt feel I am disturbing u guys with my issue. I am seriously making plans for my self and I am trusting in God that I will excel in this UK. There is nothing impossible with God. I need u all, u guys are the only friends I av now. I appreciate u all.
All is well, don't worry too much because things will fall into place
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 4:39pm On Jun 10, 2018
wonlasewonimi:
Which area of IT do you enjoy? You can can follow these lucrative career path because of money... You need passion and money will follow.

A fresh area for me would be programming and software development...but other areas I would be very comfortable
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 2:42pm On Jun 10, 2018
fatima04:
You like money oo just because u have heard ordinary 600 quid per day now, u wan change profession grin grin grin grin
Lol yes o, plus I.T is something I naturally enjoy so it would be nice to explore that path
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 2:30pm On Jun 10, 2018
wonlasewonimi:
You can't break into it.. You plan and work towards it. Perseverance and determination back by God.
Nothing good comes easy, can you help with the steps needed?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 1:55pm On Jun 10, 2018
wonlasewonimi:
All the devops engineers I know are on £650 per day

If you are an infosec professional wink and you are on less than £500 a day you are not balling.
Very interesting, how can someone break into that sector Abeg ? grin
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 11:56am On Jun 10, 2018
wonlasewonimi:
I know people on 10k per month and still broke and I know people on 2500 who seem to get it together . So, income and expenditure is relative.
What kind of jobs bring in 10k a month please
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 1:18pm On Jun 09, 2018
Mamatukwas:
Thanks alot. How will they know how many years driving experience I have though without Proof? I only have my most recent drivers license even though I've been driving since 09.
Your most recent licence will have the date of ist issue at the bottom, that is the date you got your ist ever licence
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 8:33am On May 12, 2018
fatima04:
Come quickly to add ur own experience
Yes oh, see you guys before the year ends, God willing
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 8:32pm On May 11, 2018
The information on this thread is super awesome! Good job guys cool
BusinessRe: Femi Otedola's First Automobile As A Kid In Throwback Photo by EngrSaks(m): 7:46pm On May 10, 2018
Little beginning how? His father was a governor na!
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 3:19pm On May 02, 2018
Gracefav:
The 25k is before tax, though locum jobs & extra shits excluded. The husband will also have to take up any available job just to augment.
Most of my friends who are medics in the uk earn about 3k after tax so please don't settle for bad deals. I hear some agencies short change people who rush offers, take your time to get a good deal...25k before tax is for non medics
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 3:11pm On May 01, 2018
Ralphlauren:
such roles are sometimes sensitive and usually required detailed checks/vetting. Majority will require security clearance - something that can only be gotten if you have lived a specified number of years in the UK.

that said, go to the career section of top engineering firms like Schneider and also top conglomerates and see what jobs/roles they've got available.

it is too early to start talking about pay - get in first, apply for the jobs, get called for interviews, PASS, get offered the role/work contract and then you can worry about pay. keep your options open and do remember that you might have to start from the bottom and work your way up.

your Nigerian degrees won't get you far. however, your work experience (depending on the type of companies you've worked for), your level of intelligence and the skill set you possess will open doors for you.
Noted, thanks
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 3:09pm On May 01, 2018
fatima04:
In dt case start preparing ur CV and register for job alert on reed, cvlibrary, total jobs and indeed. Just to get started and familiarise ursef with d salary scale, job description in ur field etc. but Nigeria address and phone number may cause some limitations because you won't even know the region you are targeting ur search towards and getting a call back is likely not to happen.

Once you land, intensify all effort, call the company or agency u have seen dre vacancy to follow up and don't give up.
Many thanks
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 9:13pm On Apr 29, 2018
dupyshoo:
Are you in the UK? If no, it is very difficult to get a job from outside UK. If yes and you have the right to work, then it will be easier. The salary will depend on your experience and the company you ard working for.
thanks for the reply. i will be in the UK soon and will be eligible to work as well...i asking because i want to know if i should stick to chemical engineering or go into the IT sector. i have about 8 yrs experience in large scale water treatment in Nigeria. i am also COREN registered in Nigeria too but i dont know if its relevant over there
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 5:36pm On Apr 29, 2018
EngrSaks:
Greetings everyone,this is a really great zone for info...I have gone through everything....

Thanks for this thread fatima04

Please I need info about chemical engineering jobs in the uk...how easy is it and how much I'm I looking to be paid...I got my ist and 2nd degrees from Naija
Any info on this please?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by EngrSaks(m): 7:29pm On Apr 28, 2018
Greetings everyone,this is a really great zone for info...I have gone through everything....

Thanks for this thread fatima04

Please I need info about chemical engineering jobs in the uk...how easy is it and how much I'm I looking to be paid...I got my ist and 2nd degrees from Naija
AgricultureRe: My Experimental Snail Farm by EngrSaks(op): 10:27pm On Nov 10, 2016
Yep the 3rd snail just layed a couple of eggs...so much eggs ☺
AgricultureRe: My Experimental Snail Farm by EngrSaks(op): 9:35am On Nov 07, 2016
Project going great...

All snails and eggs in perfect condition....

They love to eat ugwu leaves, spinach,lettuce is one of their favourite meals...They also love cucumber....

With the right meals and the right moisture in the soil (I wet the soil every 2days).

They are happy

2 have laid eggs so far...The 3rd has been burying itself in the soil a lot since yesterday so I'm guessing it will soon lay some eggs....

The 4th isn't matured enough so for now it just eats and sleep

Note: Ensure there is enough food distribution because they tend to fight (they bite each other) over food if its put in one location
AgricultureRe: German Cabinet Approves Draft Law Banning GMO Crops by EngrSaks(op): 7:10pm On Nov 02, 2016
Farmers beware of GMO Crops
AgricultureGerman Cabinet Approves Draft Law Banning GMO Crops by EngrSaks(op): 7:09pm On Nov 02, 2016
The German cabinet has approved a draft law banning cultivation of crops with genetically modified organisms (GMOs), government sources told Reuters on Wednesday.

Germany had announced in September 2015 that it will ban cultivation of crops with GMOs under new European Union rules allowing member states to opt out of their cultivation.

An EU law approved in 2015 cleared the way for new GMO crops to be approved after years of deadlock. But the law also gave individual countries the right to ban GMO crops even after they have been approved as safe by the European Commission.

Under the draft German law, applicants seeking EU approval to cultivate GMO crops will be asked by the German government to remove Germany from the area in the EU where the crops are approved for growing.

If this is refused, a ban on growing the GMO crop in Germany can be imposed even if the EU approves the plant strain as safe to cultivate.

Widely-grown in the Americas and Asia, GMO crops in Europe face divided opinion. Britain is partly in favor of them, while France and Germany are among countries that oppose them.

There is general agreement in Germany that the country should ban GMOs but disagreement whether the bans should be imposed by federal or state authorities caused a long delay in agreeing the draft law on the ban.

(Reporting by Hans-Edzard Busemann, writing by Michael Hogan, editing by Louise Heavens)
http://uk.reuters.com/article/us-germany-gmo-idUKKBN12X13S
AgricultureRe: My Experimental Snail Farm by EngrSaks(op): 11:03pm On Oct 31, 2016
Neduzze5:
Nice one.... You can check out my thread as well on snail farming. I once started small like this. Hoping to restart on a bigger scale though. Just need to out a few things in order.

Where's your location??
Nice thread u have on snail farming...I'm in the F.C.T
AgricultureRe: My Experimental Snail Farm by EngrSaks(op): 6:57am On Oct 31, 2016
Snails doing great....2nd snail laying

AgricultureRe: My Experimental Snail Farm by EngrSaks(op): 5:53pm On Oct 29, 2016
Snails love vegetables and leaves

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)