Stats: 3,325,298 members, 8,421,221 topics. Date: Saturday, 06 June 2026 at 02:04 AM

Godymn's Posts

Nairaland ForumGodymn's ProfileGodymn's Posts

1 2 3 4 (of 4 pages)

TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 2:07pm On Nov 05, 2015
flairlady:
please i want to pay an application fee using gtbank master card or diamond bank visa card.I see the exchange is about 152 naira =1 Canadian dollar,but i think banks charge more.please does anyone has an idea of how much these banks would charge?lets say i am to pay 125 cd,how much would that be in naira.Thanks
My experience with both banks are annoying. Those exchange rates are not the real thing. Just make up your mind that you will be charged 167-172 Naira=1CAD

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 1:57pm On Oct 13, 2015
lakusi:
Pls kindly sort the TRV hopefuls by date for better clarity and easy tracking !!! wink
Done!

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn:
LIST OF TRV HOPEFULS ( WINTER - JAN 2016 )

S/N -- Moniker -- Date Of Submission -- Mode Of Submission -- Institution -- Level Of Study -- Status -- Comments

1 Lakusi -- September 7th -- Online -- U of R -- M.Eng -- IN PROGRESS -- No Comment
2 Aigbogun01 -- September 9th -- Paper -- U of R -- M.Eng -- MEDICALS -- No Comment
3 Morgan2006 -- August 27th -- Paper -- Lambton -- PGD -- IN PROGRESS -- No Comment
4 Orhfor1 -- September 15th -- Paper -- U of Ottawa -- M.Eng -- MEDICALS -- Medicals Call (29th Sept.) Medicals Done (1st Oct)
5 Ikem01-- October 12th -- Online -- U of Ottawa -- M.Eng -- IN PROGRESS -- No Comment
6 Khalesi -- September 26th -- Online -- U of Ottawa -- M.Eng -- MEDICALS -- Passport Requested on October 8th
7 Favourities -- September 3rd -- Online -- U of Ottawa -- M.Eng -- IN PROGRESS -- No Comment
8 thesojBro -- October 5th -- Online -- Conestoga -- PGD -- IN PROGRESS -- No Comment
9 Beyeta -- October 7th -- Online -- U of Windsor -- MSC -- IN PROGRESS -- No Comment
10 Obiscolly -- October 10th -- Online --- U of Manitoba --MSC -- IN PROGRESS -- No Comment
11 Tangled --- August 28th --Online -- U of Manitoba -- MBA -- IN PROGRESS -- No Comment
12 Omonjoe -- August 11th -- Online -- Conestoga -- PGD -- IN PROGRESS -- No Comment
13 EmmaMSC -- October 2nd -- Online -- U of R -- M.Eng -- IN PROGRESS - No Comment
14 Brvheart -- June 22nd -- Paper -- George Brown College -- PGD -- IN PROGRESS -- Admission Deffered
15 Dotmons -- October 6th -- Online -- U of R -- MSC -- IN PROGRESS -- No Comment

If you have admission and have applied for TRV

Please provide the following information below:

**Submission date
**Institution
**Mode of submission: Online/Paper
**level of study

Note: Lets endeavour to provide complete information as incomplete information will not be added to the table.

***Updated***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 6:55pm On Oct 12, 2015
ayooluwatoni:
That is also true, it can tell more about one's family situation......but it has to be hyped, and not call it land in a village. ....
Thanks for the input.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 4:45pm On Oct 12, 2015
ayooluwatoni:
In my opinion, NO! Home tie is something that is so important to you that will compel you to return home after a short stay abroad. So now imagine, what is ur business with your dad's land? But if the ownership of the land has been transferred to you.....then it's ok!
Valid point though. Was thinking the land can help boost ones finances as per the dad can sell it should any need arise....

What's your input on this?

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 3:43pm On Oct 12, 2015
ayooluwatoni:
Bros na village land na, where u wan see receipt? Lmao.....e fit be great great great grand papa get am sef.... it's not compulsory u use land, ur family is enough, especially if you ain't working. Besides, the fact that your family has a land does not prove anything. It is not your own, there's no proof u have a share in it, so just take your mind off it. You will be fine without it
You this ayooluwatoni, your not well sha....Just kept laughing at the bolded. I think it would have been better if the land was on his name. But for someone who's parent has a land, can the child use that as a home tie since his father is the owner?

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 11:22am On Oct 12, 2015
ugonnachimezie54:
It's still far.. But I need it now because of the time for visa
processing.. They extended it for me till November 6th....i
jus wanna get the receipt and apply for the visa on time
that's why am worried am tired of waiting
Well, I think you have to be patient with the bank and also inform them of the urgency of the receipt. If possible, storm the bank and ask what's causing the delay.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 10:59am On Oct 12, 2015
ugonnachimezie54:
PLEASE I need HELP my transaction for my fees to lambton has not been completed and I paid through ECOBANK form A and this is a week plus now.. Please anyone with an idea here
What's the deadline set by Lambton to pay fees?.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 10:56am On Oct 12, 2015
kwenu:
hey guys , please i like to know ,my family have landed properties at the village, but theres no C of O for the lands, can i use or mention such landed properties to the Canadian embassy

how do i make known to the embassy that a particular landed property belongs my family as i intend to use that as home ties during my TRV processing

is it advisable to use such?
How was the land purchased?. Are there no prove of document(s) that the land belongs to your family? i.e receipts, agreement etc.

Between, who is your sponsor?

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 10:52am On Oct 12, 2015
expertman:
Okay Boss Thanks.

But all this Delayed after Medicals dey scare me o.

I appreciate ur response Bro.

May all the hopeful come back to Praise God Here Before the end of this week.

Amen
Just stay positive.

Remember, if it is good, it is GOD and if it is GOD, it is good.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 9:23am On Oct 12, 2015
airhunde:
Something like this
LIST OF TRV HOPEFULS (FALL -SEPT 2015)

1.Moheat: April 8 Humber College, Diploma, onlinedelayed 
2. Sexysammy0906: April 8, Vancouver Island University, MBA, Paper TRV
3. Jakay: April 8, MI of MUN, Adv. Diploma, Onlinedelayed
4.Bepzi4jesus: April 8th, Okanaga College, Diploma, Online route delayed
5. tosinfemi: April 17, fanshawe, pgd, online delayed
6. Manover: April 21 Humber College Pgc Onlinedelayed
7..Gravition2 : April 21 UPEI Online UG delayed
8. Darefestus: April 23rd, UofL, PG, Online delayed
9. SeyiMilan: April 23, Conestoga, PGD, Online delayed
10.. CruzAj: April 24, NSCC, Pgd, paper Route 
11. HayqinsbFX: April 27, Seneca, Adv dip, paper route
12. Chubbybarbie: April 31, york uni Msc Online.
13. nigeriannewbie: May 5, U of Ottawa, PGD, paper
14. berexio1: May 7, university of waterloo, Meng, online
I think it will be better if we start tracking from Winter 2016, as Fall 2015 is already gone.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 9:20am On Oct 12, 2015
expertman:
Hello house,

Can any one help me with the price of Medicals at IOM?

I just called IOM and I was told Medical test is 28K.

Hope that's not too much?
Not at all, that's their fixed price. Don't bother negotiating grin

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 9:18am On Oct 12, 2015
ayooluwatoni:
we are saying exactly the same thing bro. If one didn't do well in that particular course, they will never waive it, but my point is they won't or shouldn't use the post secondary transcript to make admission decisions.
Ok, I think I understand you well now. The courses that relates to the intended school and your performance at post secondary will determine the number of course load one will do. While decision for admission is dependent on if you meet their UG requirements.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 5:09am On Oct 12, 2015
austinebode:
Hi guys.
Please, do we now have just one VAC centre in lagos now? Tot there is one around Oregun
They have long moved to Lekki.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 4:56am On Oct 12, 2015
ayooluwatoni:
I doubt if any school will use an applicant's past undergrad record to judge such applicant, else they will be encouraging applicants not to disclose such info. They also know shit happens, the fact that you didn't do well in biology does not mean you won't do well in physics, the fact that you didn't do well in Nigeria does not mean you won't do well in Canada. I think admission decision will be based on the school's or department's admission requirements, I.e waec or neco, toefl or ielts etc. The post secondary transcript is just to award course/credit waiver. But this applies to undergrad admission only.
Just my thinking, I stand to be corrected.
I understand where your coming from. But there are schools out there that do not only compare the courses you did at post secondary, they also look at your performance. Lets take it like this, if there is a course you did at post sec. and it relates with theirs and your performance in that course isn't all that good, i doubt if they will wave that for you as they also have standards.
My thoughts though...

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 7:16pm On Oct 11, 2015
Royat1:
thanks! someone told me that they don't really check the polytechnic or university degree certificate, that its used as study gap.. like they want to know what you have been doing, since you graduated from secondary school. am I right?
I can't say about that. You might be correct. Though some schools might wana know your performance and use that to know/rate you if you can cope in the program you applied for. Schools won't wana spoil their reputation.

Hope this helps...

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 4:57pm On Oct 11, 2015
Royat1:
please what's the meaning of post secondary transcript for undergraduate students? please someone should shed more light.
The school you attended after your secondary school. It might be a Polytechnic or even college.

Hope this helps...

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 8:13pm On Oct 02, 2015
EmmaMsc:
No it doesnt matter. The salary account only shows to the VO that he is gainfully employed and that the source of funds is from his empoyment.
Cheers
Ok, thanks for the advise.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 4:20pm On Oct 02, 2015
EmmaMsc:
I suggest you attach both SOA. The salary accoint will show the source of fund. Also, let your sponsor state in his letter of sponsorship that money moves from his salary account to the other one just to be very clear.
Cheers
Ok, I will attach both account SOA...but hope it doesn't matter that the salary account is scanty as he does not do much on the salary account apart from receiving his salary? But his other accounts is where traffic is.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 1:13pm On Oct 02, 2015
Dear All,

In a situation where my sponsor moves his salary from his salary account to another bank account every month. How do I now present it to the VO because the SOA I will be using is not his salary account and it wont reflect that the company he works for pays him X amount monthly.

I don't know if anyone understand what I am trying to say.

Please, advise.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 9:12am On Sep 29, 2015
thesoj:
Many of the recent questions on this thread have been repeatedly answered over the last month, including your question about where to find a notary in Lagos. This trend is not good, as it devalues the thread if the same information is repeated every fifteen pages.

In any case, the answer to your question is easy to find. Either use Google to search through this thread, or look through posts from the past month in Part 9.

Do a google search of [notarize document lagos "travelling to canada part 9" site:www.nairaland.com] without the square brackets and the answer is in the first few search results.

No offense intended, it just hurts to see that all the information repeatedly and recently provided on here is not being put to good use. It is discouraging. I'm not trying to start a fight or anything... just stating the facts. Pls don't be offended.
Ok, I understand. Though, I already said I was going to make my research on it.

However, thanks for the insight.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 7:39pm On Sep 28, 2015
ayooluwatoni:
Look for a notary public, not sure there's a fixed price, it all depends on the notary public. I can hook you up with one if you reside in Ibadan. But I don't think a notary public is hard to find anyway.
Thanks for the response.
I dont reside in Ibadan. Stay in Lagos...would have loved to get any around Ikeja axis. Between, the one at Ibadan, like how much do they charge?

Will research though....buh please if you know any around Lagos, do let me know.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 2:03pm On Sep 28, 2015
Dear All,

Please, if I want to notarize documents I will be sending to Canada, how do I go about it and what's the cost?

Please, advise.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 10:11pm On Sep 27, 2015
Cr22424:
Thanks.
I have my mind set on elect elect. . My fear is I've read here that nait is hard to get into. Do you know any other institutions I should try?
Yeah, the truth is that Nait is hard to get in. Buh u can make out a strategy for nait. As for other schools, U can usee google to chk out schools offering your course. Just take your time, you will surely find.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 4:24pm On Sep 27, 2015
Cr22424:
Pls guys I know this may be a dumb question but I honestly need urgent help.
I intend to apply to Nait as an undergrad. One of the requirements for admission is transcripts.
Do our secondary schools issue those too?
Pls help me out
Yes, they do. I think its called Statement Of Result where the school list out your courses and grades on their letter head.

What course are u goin for?

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 3:54pm On Sep 15, 2015
afroxyz:
Please what is the minimum amount of money one should have in his statement of account while applying as for a student visa.
To be on a safe side, its advisable that one has 6M and above.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by Godymn: 2:14pm On Sep 15, 2015
Dear All,

Please, which bank works like wizard for payment of application fee and the charge isn't much?

Please advise.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 8 by Godymn: 4:55pm On Aug 07, 2015
bonushadow:
@Godynm. Adding up to what @TheBea has said.
They won't have reasons to ask for the proof if you follow suit. FYI NAIT & SAIT I Gz have similar application steps.(usually ask for Eng. proficiency proof).
So long as have mInimum Eng. C6 in your WAEC/or NECO.
To prove that to them,ff steps
*if your doing paper route application; include a WAEC/or NECO scratch card in your application envelop.( Un-scratched o!)
*if Online route; snap the scratch card side bearing the pin 1st(fig. 1), before scratching it to unveil the pin(now showing the pin) then make another snap showing the pin (fig 2).
Upload both afterwards.(Point: both pic's shows evidence of authenticity). Such worked for a friend.
Thou. I will also advice you call the admission office to aline this *online route step to them.
All the best.
Thanks bonushadow for the addition. I'll following your guidelines when applying. I'll also write to the school get more insight.

Please, do you know if NAIT needs one to send their transcript via courier or they allow scan documents?

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 8 by Godymn: 3:10pm On Aug 07, 2015
pcachuks:
Currently am looking my Tuition for the Baist program , its approximately 15000 for the first one year and 2500 per semester for work placement which is a total of 20000 for the entire programs s an international student .

You will also need a Computer/laptop which will cost you minimum 1200 dollars . computer requirement is minimum 16GB Ram AND CORE 7 with so many other stuffs . That's was the same requirement when i did the computer network admin program .

Lastly, as an international student its a tough spot but dont worry because i think you have all necessary requirement for this program, My tips will be : Make sure your apply Oct 1 which is the first day of application opening and secondly if put on a waiting list don't worry, just use another school for your TRV because it takes 5 months before admission is granted .

If still dont granted admission after you have obtained TRV, still no problem, just show in the school and i will show you the chairman of the program , trust me admission status will change when international student is standing in NAIT building .
Thanks so much pcachuks.

I'll do my best and apply on October 1. For the computer, is it compulsory we buy from the school? what if I have a laptop already that even supersedes their requirements, will it be accepted?.

You've done well by giving me a rough estimate. However, the accommodation in Alberta, is it friendly?....what's the cost estimate for a room that I can stay in?

I'll even write to the school this weekend to get more information.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 8 by Godymn: 8:46pm On Aug 06, 2015
SAHEETO:
Second Degree. Started the application in late November and got the admission early April.
Mehn, thats about 5months processing. That means, one has to have a plan B option on ground.

Please, how much am i likely to spend a year as i dont know if the fee on their website is valid (6985cad)?

I'l appreciate if you can give me the total cost a year that NAIT gave you for both tution, other fees and accommodation.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 8 by Godymn: 8:30pm On Aug 06, 2015
Fhemmmy:
Now you are talking and if you plan to be into Networking, why would you wanna go to university to spend 4 years, i think the college is much better for you, sir. . . .
Don Fhemmmy, was even gonna apply as a transfer student hoping i'l get admitted into the 3rd year so that i'l jst spend 2yrs n come out with my Bsc.

***Appreciate***
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 8 by Godymn: 7:49pm On Aug 06, 2015
Fhemmmy:
Please stop stressing yourself jooo . . . . Apply and bring me gala to Canada . . .
Don Fhemmmy, no mind guys jare. Just trying to let all ma doubts out and seek advise before proceeding.

Thanks for your kind words and advise, it really went a long way.

As for the Gala, i'l look into it ....hehehehe

***Appreciate***

1 2 3 4 (of 4 pages)