Stats: 3,325,188 members, 8,420,723 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 10:05 AM

Humility017's Posts

Nairaland ForumHumility017's ProfileHumility017's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 (of 252 pages)

SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 8:14am On Dec 09, 2019
Odunayaw:
You're not wrong to say they are 'less ambitious' but anyone telling me they are overall not ambitious is going to have to make me unsee the last years of my life.

There is less perchance for Education but I have tutored brilliant minds in Niger and Nasarawa born by relative illiterates. Mind you, these are in the tens and not trickles here and there. Many of these kids form an opinion of who they want to be by media (Bollywood, Nollywood etc). Even my colleagues in University at times leave me questioning what I've heard of the North before (All from poor backgrounds). You see farmers here (don't know what letter O looks like) hustling hard to get mechanized farming equipment.

You forget that history isn't static? if I go by your analogy of "common place" things, I'd say Ibadan has the highest concentration of mad people in Nigeria grin but that'd be blanket isn't it?
ibadan having the highest concentration of mad people is not something that will continue over time....

but you see alot of nigeria problems all started from colonial era
even the repressive and draconian nature of the police force all stems from the colonial era...
money laundering as well.... this subsequently follow the self rule that prevailed after....
try get PETER EKE (Colonialism and the two publics) it is an article...it takes about the civil and primordial culture.

many of this issue of illiteracy prevalent in the north is something that will linger on for a long time and will return hurt the nation and Nigeria at large...which it has already started. ....
my undergraduate thesis was on insecurity and going through the numerous research works It goes to reveal that illetracyis partly response for the upsurge of the bokoharam activities and religion fanaticism

many of the average northerners I will say this a milion time...are not ambitious especially when compared to the southerners....

try engage many in discussion as regard the current economy woes and you'll be surprised at their response..... many will tell you it is not the government's fault but the will of God....
little reason why they can be easily deceived.....
compare the quest for education and self improvement in each of the geopolitical regions and you marvel at your findings...

their preoccupation with the quest for political power have not gone to better the lives of majority of their people....
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:27am On Dec 09, 2019
Odunayaw:
I live in the north. Not all North is "North" abeg. I shuttle Niger-Nasarawa well and I've seen my fair share of ambitious northerners hence I said its not entirely true.

I've not been further North (Zamfara, Katsina etc) tho
Smiles..... I stated there how this issue rooted in little education emanate right from the colonialist and the northern elites who took over continue to perpetuate the same act on their people....

if you look close well.... you'll see amajiri all over with plates moving from shop to shop, house to house begging for food...

if you look through you'll see zinc huts made from place to place with like 5 northerners seeking solace there still harbouring wives and plenty kids somewhere....

you'll see full grown adults who don't even hear English let alone communicate in English plenty kids don't even hear at all....and are not in school....
in this 21st century for a country with English as an official language it speaks much.....

education expose you and makes you enlightened and as well builds dreams in you as it equip you with a broad and thorough peoblem solving mindset.....

I still say it..... the depriving of this Nigerians the needed education and now their elites, have gone to make them less ambitious and imbide in them less drive for self growth and development.

you really have to take your time observe when next you shuttle especially for a state like Niger which has produced over 3 heads of state still with little penchant for education.

if you look very well the few northerners you see that are very ambitious are the educated ones
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 3:05pm On Dec 08, 2019
Mujtahida:
The thing is that Nigerians are afraid to acknowledge the reality of our existence. We are very ethno-religious in our biases, in our orientation and identity yet everybody tends to shy away from the issue. We have refused to be truthful and thats why we lumped ourselves up in this sickening Mish mash called 'one Nigeria' and hence we have remained stuck in one place.

Restructure the damn shit if not in a thousand years it would not make progress.
thanks bro....it is hypocrisy to trying to run away from our plural nature....

we are heterogeneous...Yes that has not been our problem.... our problem stems from the inability to manage our diversity to our advantage.....

many countries are sure heterogeneous but some have been able to use it to their advantage but unlike us the colonialist instituted the divide and rule scheme to milk us dry as well keep us disunited and now our politicians are doing same....and all we think best is to pitch tenth in the hypocrisy of trying to deny our tribal differences....

the best way this can be managed is by embracing TRUE FEDERALISM.....
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 2:59pm On Dec 08, 2019
Koboko99:
So you be uniben boy. My real nigga. Tuale for you! Can't forget all those boring GST lectures at Basement back in the days.
I tell you bro.... during holidays then...I read tire for uselu secondary school...

those GSTs was fun sha..... I had As in all.
I am glad to meet my fellow Alma mata.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:57am On Dec 08, 2019
andrewbaba44:

You don find trouble o

Now you don insult my tribe ,but I will forgive you
thanks bro....
so sorry...
it wasn't an insult....

if you could look at it from another angle...
you'll see contentment... they're the most contended group and more straightforward folks we have in Nigeria....
they own their leaders strict loyalty who they see as demi gods...

this all can be traced back to the happenings in the 60s,50s etc which has gone to shape their lifestyle...it has internalised in them this principles...

then the colonial masters forbid the spread of education to the north because of the doctrine of Christianity being spearheaded by the missionaries who were in charge of education....
the caliphates system in the north was so well and it best suited their indirect rule tactics....and as such never wanted any briges on the already existing system and to create religious tensions...also the education being attained by the southerners made them so enlightened and grew to the point that some of them begin to challenge the colonialists and demand for self rule...

this was some of the paramout reasons for the low spread of education to the core north. ...
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:50am On Dec 08, 2019
Joebie:
Garba Lawal was a very industrious player in his playing days. Also Tijani Babangida still remains one of our best wingers till date. Please don't bring tribal stuff into this thread. I won't even bother reading all of your post.
the problem with you...is that you interpret everything from your parochial mindset...
was thinking I could engage in an intellectual discussion with you but failed...

you've no idea that happenings in the 60s,50s, 40s in each reguons and the country in a whole best interpret reason for our actions and the happenings today.....
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:44am On Dec 08, 2019
Joebie:
K. Nwakali and Yahaya, what's the difference? grin
one is a carpenter and the other a brick layer...

that's the only difference for now....
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:42am On Dec 08, 2019
Joebie:
hmmmm prejudice
I know that's what you will say ...

but that's kind of true....
I studied a bit of sociology back in school....
especially ethnography of various Nigeria ethnic groups.... and some other courses..

but to my knowledge... few of the individuals from the core north are barely ambitious...

many don't even care for a house.... as long as they have tools for shoemaking or doing maruwa and can construct a place to stay with zinc they are good to go...and don't mind have up to 4 wives and breed kids they can't even feed.

unlike the average south west espcially from ondo and ekiti where meritocracy and excellence is a watchword....
you'll see an electrician in this two states already bagged his MSc and has kick start his PhD.

the South east.... an Ibo man don't mind take years to learn from his master trade for years and when he starts you'll be surprised at the success he makes....
in the south east the women goes to school... more than the men and it stems from the colonial era... (please try get Nigeria people and culture ~ university of Benin GST222) and read it more..

we cannot shy away from this...the northerners preoccupation with political power and military etal has robbed them of the needed human capital development prequiste for regional growth.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:33am On Dec 08, 2019
andrewbaba44:
Me self I prefer ebuehi to yahaya

As jobie call yahaya I just Laff
That Yahaya is not ambitious for once...

sorry to say this...still don't understand why many of this players from the core north...I mean the Hausa/fulanis are not ambitous with their careers.....

that's why I rarely put hope on any talent from that region..... Aliyu Abubakar, Rabiu Ibrahim, Musa Mohammed, Shehu Abdullahi and even Malian Garba Lawal self....
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:30am On Dec 08, 2019
Joebie:
guy follow the convo. These players are not SE materials based on current form. It was a comparison.
now I get you...
because komekn for roast us alive should ROHR invite Yahaya...
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:29am On Dec 08, 2019
Joebie:
I like Ebuehi too, but actually I like every player that performs. when your form drops, I drop you for another player that is performing better.
IS Yahaha performing better...huh
because if he was I am so sure by now he should have been in PORTO main team...huh

forget those write ups we all read here...if dude is really good as claimed he should be in PORTO main team by now or one of the Portuguese league clubs would have shop for his services (on loan player) by now.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:27am On Dec 08, 2019
andrewbaba44:
Bros Na still Porto b
going by the words here....
that class is permanent and form is temporary I will prefer Ebuehi playing for Benfica under 23 to Yahaya
we all know what Ebuehi can do... he still has the skills and potentials only not on form and moreover the coach may not be disposed to him to play him just to help him regain match fitness.......

I will advise he go on loan next January not minding the Dutch league or even Belgium....
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:05am On Dec 08, 2019
Joebie:
ehen.. sentiments aside. Ebuehi was one of my favorite players when he made his debut, but we have to call a spade spade.
Yahaya at least has proved better than Kelechi Nwakali at club level. These players should not come near the SE conversation for now.
where does Yahaya Play and how well has he played this season....
can you help us with stars?
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:04am On Dec 08, 2019
Joebie:
David Nwokolor has made the bench consistently for Rijeka this term. There is nothing wrong with trying him out. Cameroon's Fabrice Ondoa have been a regular benchwarmer in the Jupiler league although a starter in the past. There was a time he was even benching Onana of Ajax. You never know if you don't try him. I would try Nwokolor first before moving to div 2 keepers who are still in their teens. cc kog45
you will rather take a bench warmer in the crotian league over league two regulars in the Austrian and Isreali leaguehuh

it seems you've forgotten how constant bench or what constant bench warming did to Uzoho prior the nation's cup.....
how he could not even hold the ball any longer.....

a goal keeper playing regularly in modest league is better than one warning bench in a rated league.......

goal keepers need regular game time to keep them sharp and agile....it builds their confidence......
I don't see anything with Rohr scouting both goal keepers especially the one in Isreal...he has been doing well lately with his club sitting 3rd on the league table....
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 4:42am On Dec 08, 2019
andrewbaba44:
Naija people love success so they will love AJ, i am glad he is not representing naija
you may think you're being objective but deep truth is with your words you belittle your country and your people.....

you always arrive at words to downgrade the positive effect of nigeria/Nigerians....

Everyone loves success..... and deep down he appreciates the love shown to him...from this end and he knows even if he was not this successful nigeria boxing fans would have still love him anyway.

our corrupt officials deprived him the opportunity to star for us but still he is a nigeria by blood that's the bond.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 4:38am On Dec 08, 2019
semid4lyfe:
Unpopular Opinion

The worst defender in the Super Eagles fold presently is William Troost Ekong.
this is absolutely wrong......
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 4:35am On Dec 08, 2019
komekn:
Why would an agent or football associate.

Based in the UK go carry bad market.

Do you know how problematic it is too get a player from Nigeria to the UK. It's already a failed business plan.

When there are multiple African origin players who don't carry the problematic excess baggage allowance of work permit, TPI, signing dubiously with multiple agents, talking to the corrupt club chairmen and academy owners in Nigeria ,etc

That's a very very poor business plan.

When l can sit in England get a few players signed and pull in a few thousand every week not naira but £££
in Other words my assertion are true.....
or probably you could not comprehend my post...huh

good knowing you're here because of your pockets and not because you're a super eagles fan
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 1:49pm On Dec 07, 2019
Clementoke:
I trust my ever reliable Rohr
I tell you bro....
some of them gonna make costly mistakes that may ruin their international dreams......
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 1:28pm On Dec 07, 2019
charlesemeka85:
very big mistake that he may regret very soon. sentiment aside i will never drop tarkowski,stone or even mings for tomori cus they re far better and composed than him
at least it is on record that Rohr made an attempt and even Pinnick tried....
no one will come tomorrow.....and blame us for snubbing this Chelsea stubborn kids....

we tried and now Eze is threading same path.... Ilorfa did same and now he is crying for a call up....

Nigeria is a very proud nation even when they have nothing....they're just proud....

should the coach and officials come call.... gladly honour if you really wanna play for the country because should you refuse...the call up may never come again and even when it comes you must have begged for it tire
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 1:24pm On Dec 07, 2019
charlesemeka85:
i said it yesterday that i fear for him and tammy with chelsea transfer ban lifted. chelsea will spend big in the next 2 transfer windows and rumor has it already that lampard will be given 150m to spend next month
Tammy will likely scale through...not until they get a new and fire brand Caucasian scoring from all angles....

but for Tomori... I just laugh.
he made a silly mistake....he may likely regret because Chelsea may end up loaning him....
Eze is threading same path...the best time to play for Nigeria and enjoy it...is when the country officials and coach come calling....

anything after that...you're on your own....

should we get Ovie and he prove so good...in an AM role.... forget Eze
many Nigerians and Rohr will ignore him... and then he'll be the one crying for attention after which may be too late....
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 1:21pm On Dec 07, 2019
timay:
He was never going to make the final 23 man England squad before Na. When it comes to Centre backs, he's way down the ladder/ pecking order in the English team
dude made a silly mistake....a very silly one.
him and Troost by now would have been the first CBs in the super eagles by now.....
with aJayi and Omeruo being subs....

he may likely be the scape goat for other Anglo Nigeria kids to learn from in this era...
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 12:40pm On Dec 07, 2019
seankafor:
are you even sure he is what he claims to be?
This thread has had its share of impostors cheesy
yeah...sure there lots of agents here...and also journalists too..
some are related to this players by blood....

well.... but for komekn I can really say in my opinion...dude is here for business sake.
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 12:17pm On Dec 07, 2019
jihday:
Bia Kome, I'm certain you are either Iorfa'a agent or close friend this support no be ordinary
I have Said it here...
komekn is a business man he is more like those guys that visit teams training grounds and establish a connection with Nigerians in the teams...promising to help them get national call ups.... so as to boast their career and reputation.....

have you asked him what he does for a livinghuh
and why he visits most teams training ground and claim to know most Nigerians in this teams and somehow have related with the coaches/back room staffs one time of the other....huh

dude is likely not here for the supper eagles.... but for business sake...
man must chop
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 4:45am On Dec 07, 2019
Danielnino00:
Ideye, Utaka, Osaze, Taiye Taiwo and Ikpeba bossed the French league in their time ..

If Nigeria was a francophone country, we will be spoilt of choice of players playing in Europe top5 league and a pool of talented foreign born players too...
and France would stole a lot of our players...in their national team.

abeg thank God for us....
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 10:49pm On Dec 06, 2019
Mujtahida:
I am all for foreign borns to be included in the SE. In fact I believe that as we move forward they will dominate the team.

I do not regret Tammy choosing England. If I were him I'd chose England over Nigeria cos presently I don't like this country at all.
and also you don't like the way DSS beat up sowore in court and attempt to rearrest him right before the judges grin

c'mon Nigerians are getting what they deserve we all saw what the former ex military president...ObJ did to our democracy how he militarize our democrAcy and deliberately snub and violate court orders..... and some Nigerians that don't want the country's progress still went ahead to vote the current ex-military head of state.... to further weaken the democrAcy and dampen the priniciple of the rule of law....

please let's enjoy
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 3:28pm On Dec 06, 2019
at least it is clear to all that dude prefer the weekly pounds to his career progression.

Leicester City attacker, Kelechi Iheanacho, has reacted to rumours linking him with a January move to English Premier League side, Aston Villa.

Iheanacho returned to Leicester City’s bench in Wednesday’s home win over Watford, few days after helping the team overcome Everton.
With the next transfer window in January, reports in England suggest Aston Villa are ready to snap up the Nigerian as a crucial first team player on a permanent deal.
The 23 year-old, however, said he’s happy at the King Power Stadium and has no reason to leave.
“No, I’m happy here, everyone is happy,” he said. “The manager is a top manager who is friendly to everyone. I don’t see the reason why anyone could want to leave. I think he gives every- one chances, there are a lot of games coming up.
“I believe in myself if I get the chance.
sunnewsonline.com
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 11:02am On Dec 06, 2019
komekn:
Football is entirely about OPPORTUNITY first.

Some players just didn't get the OPPORTUNITY there are many players in Nigeria if given the OPPORTUNITY will make some of these guys people praise here look like amateurs. But unfortunately they didn't get the opportunity some were even denied opportunity.

You can have all the talent but without Opportunity it will come to NOTHING this is the harsh reality.

This is why l always say OPPORTUNITY must be clearly justified and deserved in a clear objective measured and transparent way.

People need to understand opportunity is everything. If Osimhen had stayed at Wolfsburg what would have become of him. Eberechi Eze was released 3 years ago by Millwall he was on his way back to college and working in supermarket. Then he got an opportunity at QPR the rest is history.

However, some players get opportunity but do nothing positive with it. So there is the other dimension SEIZING THE OPPORTUNITY.
with this post of yours...do you think Sadiq Umar was given enough opportunity in RANGERS.... huh
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 8:10pm On Dec 05, 2019
Starboytwo:
azin if the guy wan blow, now is the time... Age is not on his side... I don see the guy face, he fear me... I will leave it to Andrew to determine his real age... Na Andrew work be that...
c'mon the guy is just under 23...
he is not even up to 22...he has been 18 for about 3 years now...hopefully before he clock 23....he turns to a beast none of the teams in the top 5 league can afford...

real Madrid and man city will have to contribute money to buy him...with each club having the right to play 19 match each for both clubs...in a season.

dude is a beast about to be unleashed...
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 8:07pm On Dec 05, 2019
OMANBALA1:
You dont have to school me on Ndidi, I know his status and statistics. My point is that Zuby has been very unfortunate with securing a decent clubside and this is a common place with a lot of players who ply their trade in the deplorable Nigerian league.

EOD
mazi grin

zubby is the best DM in the world...I believe you big bro.....I believe you.
c'mon everyone please let's believe Mazi Omanbala1
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 8:00pm On Dec 05, 2019
charlesemeka85:
cheesy I still dey celebrate this victory
you've started again....grin
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:27pm On Dec 05, 2019
OMANBALA1:
He has quality and I know quality when I see one...be patient.
be patient with a player we all know his true age....
same way we exercised patience with raheem lawal..grin
SportsRe: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:22pm On Dec 05, 2019
komekn:
That's hypocrisy, bigotry and double standard .

Imagine we could test all our youth national players. With an offer of a change of allegiance to England, Germany, France, USA, etc resulting in a very lucrative football contract and nationality of these countries.

Tell what % do you think will opt to remain in Nigeria and playing in the NPFL for peanuts.

That proposition is simply birthed from a very parochial and biased view.

So what is LOYALTY and ALLEGIANCE in the Nigerian context. Do you know the % of technocrats from Nigeria in the UK that have changed Nationality by choice. Then pledged allegiance to the Queen are they now traitors according to you.

How many people on this thread given the option to denounce Nigeria and accept USA for a better life will actually do it.

Sorry you have a very superficial approach to most things no depth.
so much words with no substance...
I am not asking your borough players to denounce their citizenship but be able to take the super eagles as priority if they really wanna play for us like DESSERS

Iwobi still have his British passport...playing for the super eagles or D'TIgers doesn't stop you from being citizen in your birth country or not pledging your allegiance to the queen when reciting the national athem ...

oga please try and always understand prior you waste those words trying to explain something I think you know nothing about....
you should as well ask me what I meant or pride won't let you do that...huh

komekn no hard feelings ooo stay within the argument pls

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 (of 252 pages)