Stats: 3,325,035 members, 8,420,006 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 09:22 AM

Hydeka's Posts

Nairaland ForumHydeka's ProfileHydeka's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 (of 12 pages)

HealthRe: Appreciating The Place Of Drugs And Medical Procedures In Handling Of Illnesses. by hydeka: 3:11am On Oct 21, 2014
Good post.
Nairaland GeneralRe: The 10 Types Of People You'll Meet on Nairaland! by hydeka: 9:24am On Oct 07, 2014
nice
FamilyRe: The Unique Life Of Nigerian Children And Their Parents by hydeka: 5:31am On Oct 07, 2014
ruffhandu:
I remember once when my elder brother claimed there wasn't enough salt in the soup we all ateate.
Without consulting any of the stakeholders, he added extra salt in the soup.
stakeholders lol grin
FamilyRe: The Unique Life Of Nigerian Children And Their Parents by hydeka:
smiley
bigfrancis21:
I watched Nneka the pretty serpent as a child and the movie really scared the hell out of me, especially the part 2 where Nneka did a lot of sudden appearances and disappearances. I watched the movie recently and even as an adult I still shuddered each time Nneka displayed her witch prowess. grin grin
FamilyRe: The Unique Life Of Nigerian Children And Their Parents by hydeka: 6:14pm On Oct 04, 2014
bigfrancis21:
Another hilarious comment by someone pulled out too.

Nigerian films scare me even in the daytime. There was a film Liz Benson was in where a group of boys dug up her grave and stole her jewelry. She came back to haunt them. That wasn’t the scary bit. What was scary was the powder she packed onto her face to show that she was a ghost. I could not sleep for days! Nigerian scary films made me think at a time that a witch was going to pop out of nowhere.
You can now see why Nigerians won't stop binding the devil and raining holyghost fire on witches. grin Nollywood movies have led to too much devil-consciousness among people and that's why 'fire' ministries will continue to spring up and flourish. grin
someone please move this topic to the frontpage. Thank you.
FamilyRe: The Unique Life Of Nigerian Children And Their Parents by hydeka: 2:51pm On Oct 04, 2014
My mum could shout your name when you're miles away and what is she calling you for? To get her the tv remote that is just a few steps away from her on the center table. huh grin
Nairaland GeneralRe: 10 Most Dumb And Hilarious Yahoo Answer Questions by hydeka: 6:27pm On Oct 03, 2014
hydeka: very hillarious grin. Mods,Mynd44, take this to frontpage. grin
FamilyRe: Profound Statements That Will Surely Change The Way You Think by hydeka:
Saying someone is ugly doesn't make you any prettier. This one is a bullet to the heart of haters/bullies.
FamilyRe: Having Or Being A Male Nursery Teacher: Your View by hydeka: 8:10am On Sep 26, 2014
Augustbreak: Which kain Man go free come do that kain Job sef. Not in naija.
That is what i'm saying. There will only be a few men who would want to do it. I have stated my own reason in my first post.
FamilyRe: Having Or Being A Male Nursery Teacher: Your View by hydeka: 8:07am On Sep 26, 2014
On the issue of molestation, it is not only men that are guilty. Women too are capable of that but men seem to have scored more points in that regard from what we see and hear around us.
FamilyRe: Having Or Being A Male Nursery Teacher: Your View by hydeka:
@Banana, bro calm down. Are you not taking this too personal? Some people are not comfortable with it and it's their choice. If your intention is probably for them to think otherwise, you have done a very poor job with this defensive and abusive front that you've put up. You can present your case without attacking another person. Please ignore this guy(oh, she is a woman sef), some people just don't know how to express themselves without throwing insults
FamilyRe: Having Or Being A Male Nursery Teacher: Your View by hydeka:
Speaking as a male, my own problem is that I can't handle that many kids at once with all their trouble. Like 20 kids crying and making noise in my ears? No way! I think I'll also start crying.... I will be saying, what have I gotten myself into? embarassed grin In fact I'll resign within a short time if I ever try it. Dealing with kids at that age requires that one be able to communicate with them and understand their unique behaviour because each kid is unique. I would want to believe that there are men who may be able to handle it. But I think women are more suited for the job considering the motherly instinct and patience they possess. Kudos to the women. Someone may be asking what I would do when I have my own kids. Well, that's going to be one kid at a time not like 20 or more needing my attention at once.
Nairaland GeneralRe: 10 Most Dumb And Hilarious Yahoo Answer Questions by hydeka:
lmao
Nairaland GeneralRe: 10 Most Dumb And Hilarious Yahoo Answer Questions by hydeka:
very hillarious grin. frontpage. grin
HealthRe: What's The Worst Drug Side-effects You Have Experienced by hydeka: 10:30am On Sep 17, 2014
laivwire: Another one, I used one crazy anti malarial drug like that without eating. it was a nightmare. I just kept seeing scary things that vanished as soon as I tried to fight them. Terrible mehn
My cousin was sick and he took a certain drug (didn't tell me the name), he had terrible and useless dreams. In fact he said he was chasing a cow in his dream. I was like 'you chasing a cow and not the other way round?' The drug really messed with his brain.
Nairaland GeneralRe: "Like" Feature Temporarily Disabled For Experiment by hydeka: 2:22pm On Sep 10, 2014
chidooh1: As if you know that today's posts don't Worth it
seriously, today is a good day to have a 'likes' holiday. Just dry.
Nairaland GeneralRe: "Like" Feature Temporarily Disabled For Experiment by hydeka: 2:00pm On Sep 10, 2014
Seun: Fellow Nairaland Members,

You may have noticed that you can no longer "like" posts. This is because we temporarily disabled the feature as part of an experiment.

We plan to bring it back as soon as the experiment is complete, though that outcome also depends on the result of the experiment.

Please bear with us; we do not mean to inconvenience you.

[color=#aaa]PS: Please use the share button to share posts that are worth sharing, so that great posts will flow through the follower network.[/color]
Seun, a dislike button could be a potential tool for bullying. You know nigerians. If anyone doesn't like a post, let him just ignore it or better still call the person to order by quoting and replying as we have now. I agree that it can reduce the number of senseless posts but also consider from the angle I just pointed out. What do you think?
Nairaland GeneralRe: "Like" Feature Temporarily Disabled For Experiment by hydeka:
ok
HealthRe: Post Info. On Internship Recruitment For Pharmacists, House Officers & Others by hydeka(op): 6:46pm On Sep 07, 2014
Please your contributions are needed.
CareerRe: A University Degree Without A Career Path. by hydeka: 8:36pm On Sep 06, 2014
Mynd44, please help this guy by taking this to the frontpage.
CultureRe: How Are Your Older Folks Responding To New Technology? by hydeka: 5:25pm On Sep 05, 2014
vikel2104: There is an apparent discrepancy between older generations and younger generations when it comes to the use of new technology. Older people tend to be less proficient in their use of technology. It is usually difficult to teach the older people new manual tasks, such as operating DVD recorders , computers or iPods.

I'll use my older folks as examples. By older folks I mean parents, uncles/aunties and grandparents.

Between parents, my mum is way ahead of my dad in terms of using new technology. My dad who is in his late fifties does not know much about computers and he doesn't care to know! He's a civil servant but his job doesn't require the use of computers so I guess that even made him close his mind to learning it.

My mum on the other hand, has a laptop which she uses and even browses for information on the internet using her modem. She recently joined Facebook. She has a smart phone unlike my dad who prefers his good old Nokia torch! My mum isn't perfect in using these devices though. She sometimes forgets some functions and where to locate some things on her laptop and when a virus causes her to lose some files on her computer, she simply blames it on the last person who touched the computer even if all the person did was to press the 'on' button. I have tried to explain to her severally that viruses don't fly into people's computers just like that.
Back to my dad. When he buys a new appliance, he will insist on reading the manual to get all the functions instead of simply looking at the appliance and applying the knowledge of how similar appliances work to get the machine running.

As for my uncles, they are pretty good with new technology but we the younger generation are still better.

My grandmother, though in her eighties, knows how to use her phone. At least she can save and locate contacts on her phone. Boy, she can make calls! But that's all she knows. If you go on to explain other ‘complex’ functions to her, you will just be wasting your time.

Now over to you.

How are your older folks responding to new technology? How good are they with these new devices?
HealthRe: Post Info. On Internship Recruitment For Pharmacists, House Officers & Others by hydeka(op): 11:33am On Sep 04, 2014
University of Uyo Teaching Hospital is calling for applications. Anybody there should please provide details.
HealthRe: Post Info. On Internship Recruitment For Pharmacists, House Officers & Others by hydeka(op): 11:32am On Sep 04, 2014
I will get the call rolling. Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital Nnewi is calling for application for various internship slots. View details here: http://www.medicalworldnigeria.com/2014/07/nnamdi-azikiwe-university-teaching-hospital-internship-openings-2014

I heard that the application form will cost #1000 to be paid at Zenith bank in the hospital premises. The teller will be converted at the pharmacy section. Two copies of each document is required.
HealthPost Info. On Internship Recruitment For Pharmacists, House Officers & Others by hydeka(op):
This thread is to serve as a platform to post any information you have about internship slots/recruitments for pharmacy/medicine/medlab grters. It is usually difficult to get this information as people reside in different parts of the country and most of this information is not found online. So, please feel free to give accurate and detailed information on any ongoing or upcoming internship recruitment that you know of.
Graduates or interns of other health professions in various hospitals can contribute as well if you have any information related to the subject.
From experience, recruitment is usually done at the same time for doctors/pharmacists/physiotherapist/medlab scientists etc.

Your contribution will be highly appreciated.
Nairaland GeneralRe: 37 Things You’ll Regret When You’re Old by hydeka: 8:44am On Sep 03, 2014
irejahmaigmail: what is the meaning of op and mod huh
dont gerrit
linked: op means operator and
mod means moderation..... my guess anyway
Op means 'original poster' that is the person who created the topic. Mod means 'moderator' of a section. That is, the guy who wouldn't hesitate to give you a ban when you break any rules on the forum.
FamilyRe: Why Our Daily Living Is Becoming Less Fulfilling by hydeka:
Very much correct. Our lives these days are too fast paced. And we have come to see it as normal. I personally can be very much occupied with many things that I sometimes forget my own needs. I'm so busy that I don't call people often and sometimes when I'm having a conversation with someone, I'm thinking of how to quickly wrap it up and go pursue other things on my mind. But I'm coming to realise that life is too short for one to engage oneself with so much that one misses out on the very essence of life. I need to create more time for myself and my loved ones. The joy and satisfaction one derives from doing just one thing of quality at a time is none existent when one takes up so many things at once and never really does anyone well enough.
PoliticsRe: Jonathan Responsible If Ebola Cases Worsen In Nigeria, APC Tells Nigerians. by hydeka: 7:11am On Sep 01, 2014
barika2011: so don't tell us people still go to those places wen u go with extra caution...
I believe they also attend the rallies with extra caution...
FamilyRe: Help!! I Forgot To Give Offering In Church Today by hydeka: 1:31pm On Aug 31, 2014
The most important offering God is looking for is your life, your love. God is not short of money.
FamilyRe: Childrens Education &scholarship by hydeka: 1:24pm On Aug 31, 2014
Sorry, nobody gives such information to 'bad people' #just kidding
FamilyRe: 7 Types Of Difficult People by hydeka:
So many views and little responses.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 (of 12 pages)