Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:38pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
Gwagone: Your parent want you out of school in time while my father doesn't care at all. My dad must not hear I bought jamb form, the time and last time I used my own money to buy jamb form, I don't even know how he got to know... He was very angry and said that 'instead of me to save and invest, I am thinking about school'. I am still not happy about it...... Make him understand that you want to go to school by all means and that you can hustle and try and finance your self if he isn't capable |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:35pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
UnitedFront: Your priority should be money needed to see your study through, life and good health to see the next seven years and beyond Of course man that is the Goal and that has always been the goal See you at the top  |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:32pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
UnitedFront: Should I bless you for describing "my journey" in life perfectly or curse for mocking "me"? I wanted to study pharmacy, that was all I wanted. I wrote UME six times and spent seven years at home. I ended up studying Agric Econs. Nine years now after graduation, I'm not even working with the certificate. I guess you're doing great?? |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:31pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
billbonesmd: Don't worry about her. Bend down and finish pharmacy. You will never regret it, ever.. I'm a Dr BTW.  Amazing!! Doctor of pharmacy or what? |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:30pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
oluwamile: one thing I have learnt is that do not let anyone put u under pressure,I gained admission at 21 unilag,same pharmacy,am going into my finals now,my dad was comparing me with people's children but I remained focus,just wait till wen u finish pharmacy,then u will see that u have surpassed those that have gone ahead of u in terms of finances  You dey give me hope small small bro Thanks Long live the "men of honour" |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:30pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
vowiski: Send me a mail, I have a story to tell you I'd be thrilled to hear i have sent an email  |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:28pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
Homguy: I am a Pharmacist who graduated from a Nigerian university fairly late. While it's quite insensitive of your mother to make comparisons with other people because we are all different, let me tell you that you only have to be focused. When you are done reading pharmacy, you will be the star of your family and be very comfortable financially. I had a lot, a lot of classmates that were in their mid - 30's when they graduated and they are all very very comfortable today. Also pharmacists are never jobless, it's a course that makes it easier for you to travel out and succeed anywhere like myself. So just be focused. Peace. Thank you very much for this I'm grateful Long live the "men of honour" |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:26pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
techliteup: Your own still better, Let me use myself as an example, I finish my secondary at the age of 19 and now I am 25years and I am yet to gain admission into a tertiary institution of my choice so never give up and never be discouraged. I'm sure there's a story behind it But we thank God you're still alive |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:26pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
frozen70g: My dear little sister, you just want to get disturbed because you took her words personally
What if you are gone, she would have preferred having you around her in whichever way
Your mum is preparing you for challenges and you are here allowing your emotions to detect for you
Shake it off and start going to school for registration and classes
Make sure you don't come home often and try and come out with distinction so that she will be humbled
Mothers can tell you things that will make you locate your placenter where it was buried
Drop those feelings before you take a decision that will affect you and she will still tell you the worst words Thank for this wonderful advice I promise you and my much that I'll come out with this distinction by God's grace  By the way I be guy o  |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:24pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
Leebeedo: OP, don't worry, everything will be fine. I had same experience and I must confess it sucked then.
I never knew God's plan for me. I sat at home for 7yrs despite passing JAMB severally.....Couldn't secure admission. I had to go for IJMBE and passed with 13 points yet couldn't secure admission.
I remember clearly when I went to ABU, zaria (2003) to struggle for admission, and maneuvered my way to the office of the academic secretary then (which is the admissions officer) to plead with him and he sounded a clear warning saying : YOUNG MAN LEAVE MY OFFICE , THIS SCHOOL IS NOT FOR SOUTHERNERS. I wept that day because I saw northerners with 3 points gaining admission and screaming allah akhbar at the main gate.
At a time , I threw away my WAEC and IJMBE cert when I was rejected at common Caritas University Enugu just because I'm from Delta State. The excuse was that Deltans usually engage in cult activities. That really hit the limit for me , I couldn't take it no more so I threw my certificates away on my way back to Lagos. Someone picked them up, saw my dad's mobile number written on the file and called him. My dad arranged for them to be posted to Lagos. That was how I got the docs back.
I finally secured admission, but I really put my family through hell. Tuition was really expensive and I felt bad and selfish but God was merciful and saw me through school. I channelled that anger towards my studies and made good grades.
Today, my story is different. So many of my age grade secured admission before me and at the so called right time but cannot come close to places I have access to. I've travelled to so many countries to the extent that I'm tired of travelling. I really thank God for his mercies.
As the for B.B Msheltlila (not sure of the spelling) the then academic secretary of ABU, Zaria (2003) that threw me out of his office, I have no grudge towards you, you prepared me for greater me.
To the OP, stay strong. You're being prepared for a greater you, channel this pain and anger towards your studies, pray , stay positive and watch your dreams come through.  OMG! This is very inspiring Thank God for your Life now oo |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:23pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
Unie30: Please babe, if you are not comfortable there, you can come over to my place ok.  I be Guy But can I still come over  |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:22pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
Opeoluwaabel: My dear Op, please i beg of you do keep your focus o, keep the star soaring as you have always been a star. i bet you by the time they start seeing that star shinning they will come to celebrate you, you will become there special one. you know, our parents can be insensitive at time, i beg just keep flying high, God bless you.  Best advice Thank you soooo much I'm happy |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:19pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
HacheNoire: Its not how far but how well.
We all using different watches.
I gained admission at 16 and ended up spending 10years in the university
Even when i knew it was over for me, I graduated to the amazing shock of my life. Got employed by a multinational 2 months after NYSC
Yeah, I got duded who graduated at the right time and doing fine even before I graduated but I caught up with them in few years and fell in their ranks
As of date, I can only give thanks to powers that make one breath.
Overlook those words and hope for the best.
I got duded who got admission early like myself presently in their graves.
Their is a set timing  I'm shook! Thank God you made it I'm happy for you  |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:17pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
InvertedHammer: / What percentage of graduates are living a fulfilled life in Nigeria? Some are unemployed or underemployed. Your biggest concern should be how to finance your education.
No be who first start dey win race. Life na general market.
Shoot me an email.
/ Thanks for this piece  I've sent you an email too |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:16pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
Judybash93: You've got a beautiful life ahead of you... You're young and from your post, i assume that you're a bright lady. Keep your head up and don't let anybody distract you... Thanks  But I be guy o  |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:12pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 6:08pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
EddyRx: Well. As a professional , that's not a bad age to start, just try and finish at your expected year of graduation, not an easy journey. You can still be in school meet your heart throb and get married it won't stop your professional path too. This post made me a naira land member and not a guest anymore because I want to encourage you. Thank you very much  seems you're a pharmacist I can see the Rx |
Education › Re: My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 12:54pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
Walewestt: Hey homie, that's African parents for you huh, my dad always compared me with a certain family friend that always came first in every class while I managed third at the most, now we are much older and out of the uni, she came out with first class again, while me the regular 2:2, but life always have a way of sorting things out, I'm extra intelligent, smart and I'm already established at 25, even own my own home but she's somewhere teaching for 15k, now I show him the distance with us and he realizes he's mistake but still cant change the fact that the comparism created a certain hatred in me that isnt suppose to be there, best I can do is never do such to my kids, always boost their ego no matter what !!!! Hope this helps honey ! Stop sounding Like a girl and try to do most thing on your own as well. Thanks alot for this piece  I'm I really sounding like a girl? Help me with Macho write up  |
Education › My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me by iaamxavier(op): 11:36am On Nov 13, 2019*. Modified: 12:50pm On Nov 13, 2019 |
 I'm writing this post with a heavy heart So I'm 21 and I finished secondary school at age 17 (2015) and to be honest I just got admission this year to study pharmacy while my mates are in their final year and it hurts alot because my mum keeps telling me that my cousin is in final year and is about serving next year and I'm just gaining admission to a university, she even uses her friend's child as an example and it made me go into a Little depression, I actually felt sad because for the first time a comparison actually hit me... She claims they (my parents)are supposed to be resting and not paying school fee. That I'm stressing them and ever since I was a teenager I always vowed that I wanted to leave my father house before 25yrs of age Now I'm studying a 5 years course (7 years to become a full graduate) and by then I'll be 28 I actually feel ashamed because this isn't what I wanted since I left secondary school I wanted to finish on time and remove the burden from them I've never failed jamb, my least Score was 245 but circumstances kept dragging me back I finished my ND program in 2017 (Distinction in SLT Yabatech) So it feels more like I'm parambulating up and down and don't know what I want for my self but I actually do!! I need an advice or something to make me feel better or confident about my self  |
Crime › Re: Man Resists Police Arrest For Not Telling Him Reason For The Arrest (Video) by iaamxavier(m): 8:50pm On Nov 05, 2019 |
KingLennon: Fight for your right, you go dey fear. Police want arrest you, you qo dey fear 
Tell him why you want to arrest him nah, he has the riqht to know This one na serious Collateral damage oo |
Education › Re: Sell Me Your Science Textbooks You Aren't Using Anymore by iaamxavier(m): 2:08pm On Nov 05, 2019 |
I can sell you
Essential biology at 1,000 New school physics 1,100 Ababio chem -800 the front page has worn out If you want advance textbooks Lemme know I've got some I don't use |
Education › Re: Pls, The Difference Between A Regular And Part Time Degree Certificates by iaamxavier(m): 2:02pm On Nov 05, 2019 |
No difference at all Just that you don't get to serve as a part time student |
Business › Re: What Business Can I Start At The University? by iaamxavier(m): 1:28pm On Nov 05, 2019 |
Well I want to start selling vintage shirts and some denim trousers
I have a tailor who makes them at a discount |
Celebrities › Re: Bleaching: Laura Ikeji Looking Darker In Throwback Photo by iaamxavier(m): 6:06pm On Nov 04, 2019 |
Okay in her before picture she was still fair in Complexion there..
You can't compare the megapixels used in snapping the photo then to what we have today
So when she said she only tonned I believe and before you quote me
Check your self and most of your family members and see if any of them have never bleached or tonned their skin
Ps: I detest bleaching, especially people that do cheap bleaching making them look like roasted plantain |
Crime › Re: Victims Recount Their Ordeal At Lagos Christian Rehab Home (video) by iaamxavier(m): 5:43pm On Nov 04, 2019 |
. |
Politics › Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by iaamxavier(m): 4:59pm On Nov 04, 2019 |
Hello this is my first time commenting on this thread Nice thread I must say
But I have questions? What are ur suggestions on the type of roads built in Anambra. Most time when roads are built they are usually left with sand deposits at the side walk way Which makes the road ugly and also why are drainage always open?? Why aren't the drainages always closed in correlation with 21st century city Even trees are not even usually planted at the side of the road to beautiful them Roads built are just usually left plain to look ugly. Then later the asphalt used to build the roads start depreciating in its look and making look like the road was never worked upon
For example as big as onitsha is, Its very hard to see roads with closed drainage or even pedestrian Lanes Even the ones found usually look like you're walking a flight of stairs |
Travel › Re: Flood Alert: Edo, Edo, Anambra, Delta, Rivers, Bayelsa Warned By Agency by iaamxavier(m): 4:10pm On Nov 04, 2019 |
So why did Cameroon Keep quiet since then?
Are they still pained from border closure |
Politics › Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by iaamxavier(m): 7:09pm On Nov 03, 2019 |
Is ebonyi state really poor or it's just a propaganda? |
Politics › Re: Highway Patrol: The Car I Saw Nigeria Police Force Using Today (Photo) by iaamxavier(op): 6:59pm On Nov 03, 2019 |
Larryfest: Highway patrols use 'confirmed' SUV right from time, they don't use what the regular police patrol uses. Yeah we know but not a whole Prado SUV!!! |
Politics › Re: Highway Patrol: The Car I Saw Nigeria Police Force Using Today (Photo) by iaamxavier(op): 6:00pm On Nov 03, 2019*. Modified: 7:13pm On Nov 03, 2019 |
Too bad every thing "Federal" or govt owned Lacks maintenance culture
Just look at how they are destroying that fine SUV |
Politics › Highway Patrol: The Car I Saw Nigeria Police Force Using Today (Photo) by iaamxavier(op): 5:56pm On Nov 03, 2019 |
On my way to the South east today I saw High way patrol officers using a Toyota Prado SUV Like 3 at different check points Like a whole Prado I shock oo  LOL Hope it's not what I'm thinking sha  But sadly it's already dilapidating and the maintenance culture is zero